2015 - Draft & Trade Thread

Re: 2015 - Draft & Trade Thread

I've only completed about 5 profiles, been flat out this weekend.

First Round Rolling Phantom Draft (Incomplete)

Pick 1 – Gold Coast - Aaron Francis
192cm – 89kg – West Adelaide
Position – Utility/Medium Defender
Playing Style – Brendan Goddard
Profile – Strongly built and aggressive utility who has played mainly in defense. Has had success playing as a forward and starting to show signs he will transition to the midfield. Good in the air, good at ground level. Skills good, with a penetrating kick. Contested game, one-on-one very good especially in the air. A complete player.

Pick 2 – Brisbane - Josh Schache
199cm – 96kg – Murray Bushrangers
Position – Tall Forward
Playing Style – Joe Daniher
Profile – Tall and athletic key forward. Good above his head taking marks at the highest point. Also exceptional below his knees and capable of kicking crumbing goals. Nice left footed kick for goal. Can look laconic but has a very good tank if beep testing is anything to go by. Quick off the mark.

Pick 3 – Carlton - Jacob Weitering
195cm – 90kg – Dandenong Stingrays
Position – Tall Defender
Playing Style – Ben Reid
Profile – Athletic tall defender, capable of playing accountable football but also offers run and offense. Reads the ball well and takes a number of intercept marks. Has been exposed to playing against AFL listed players when playing for the AFL Academy against VFL teams, and done well having the better of his opponents.

Pick 4 – Greater Western Sydney - Jacob Hopper (Melbourne Bid)
186cm – 82kg – North Ballarat Rebels
Position – Inside Mid
Playing Style – Oliver Wines
Profile – Strongly built and mature inside midfielder who dominates around the stoppages. Gets hands to the ball, is clean with it, and tackles hard defensively. Can go forward and impact the scoreboard. Not overly quick and lacks an outside game however he’s that dominant on the inside he more than makes up for it.

Pick 5 – Melbourne – Darcy Parish
181cm – 73kg – Geelong Falcons
Position – Outside Mid
Playing Style –
Profile – Quick midfielder who excels when given space to run and use the footy. Can hurt his opponents by gaining plenty of territory using his running game and hitting up teammates. Goes into contests hard and capable of winning clearances and impacting games. Good decision maker and uses the ball well. Some concerns that he is small but makes up for it by cracking in and being an elite talent.

Pick 6 – St Kilda - Harley Balic
186cm – 80kg – Sandringham Dragons
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style –
Profile – Comes from a basketball background and has transitioned those skills he learnt into footy. Good reader of the tap or crumb. Moves well in traffic and clean hands. Has spent a lot of footy playing forward as a medium-marking target however has begun to transition into the midfield with success. Gets plenty of the footy. Skills good without being damaging.

Pick 7 – Sydney - Callum Mills (Essendon Bid)
186cm – 73kg – North Shore
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style –
Profile – Balanced midfielder who can win it on the inside and also find space on the outside. Clean ball user, brings others into the game and can offer a marking target. Very well rounded midfielder that has no flaws. You know what you are going to get.

Pick 8 – Greater Western Sydney – Matthew Kennedy (Essendon Bid)
187cm – 84kg
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style –
Profile -

Pick 9 – Essendon - Rhys Mathieson
185cm – 79kg – Geelong Falcons
Position – Inside Mid
Playing Style – Rory Sloane
Profile – Tough, inside mid who regularly hits the scoreboard. Clean hands and gets his teammates into the game. Wins a lot of contested footy and needs to evolve his outside game. Skills okay however due to winning a lot of ball in the contest his efficiency suffers. Low risk, hard at it midfielder that will bleed for his club.

Pick 10 – Port Adelaide - Ryan Burton
191cm – 91kg – North Adelaide
Position – Medium Forward
Playing Style – Jack Gunston
Profile – Medium marking forward that wins most of his marks on the lead. Clean marking game and very good pace off the mark. Nice movement in the forward half, evasive and knows where to lead. Nice shot for goal. Natural forward however not the number one go-to man. Was considered a top 5 pick prior to breaking his leg.

Pick 11 – North Melbourne - Ryan Clarke
186cm – 84cm – Eastern Rangers
Position – Outside Mid
Playing Style – Jack Macrae
Profile – Smooth moving midfielder who is more than capable of going forward and hitting the scoreboard. Good lateral movement in traffic, very evasive and speed is good. Elite talent, plenty of upside. Preferred as an outside mid however capable of winning the clearances. More of an inside receiver than an inside distributor.

Pick 12 – Geelong - Charlie Curnow
191cm – 95kg – Geelong Falcons
Playing Style – Jake Stringer
Profile – Extremely athletic medium marking forward with a lot of x-factor. Very clean overhead, good movement and capable of hitting the scoreboard. He does not get a lot of the ball but generally gets it in dangerous positions. Is somewhat of a project player up forward but ceiling is extremely high and teams will invest heavily on him.

Pick 13 – Western Bulldogs - Darcy Tucker
184cm – 78kg – North Ballarat Rebels
Position – Outside Mid
Playing Style – Robert Murphy
Profile – Very athletic and quick outside midfielder. Has spent a lot of time playing as a small defender where he uses his pace and line breaking ability to gain metres for his team. Skills exceptional, like a left footed version of Bob Murphy. Still question marks whether he can transition into the midfield. Hasn’t shown the ability to win his own ball so he projects as a flanker or outside mid.

Pick 14 – Richmond – Josh Dunkley
189cm – 85kg – Gippsland Power
Position – Inside Mid
Playing Style – Josh Kennedy
Profile –

Pick 15 – Adelaide - Luke Partington
182cm – 75kg – Port Adelaide
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style – Dayne Beames
Profile – Balanced midfielder who wins a lot of the ball on the inside and outside. Capable clearance player but also has exceptional pace to create separation from his opponents and push forward. Goal kicking mid who is capable of playing a variety of midfield roles. Skills quite clean without being super damaging.

Pick 16 – Greater Western Sydney – Kieran Collins
193cm – 94kg – Dandenong Stingrays
Position – Tall Defender
Playing Style –
Profile -

Pick 17 – Hawthorn - Callum Ah Chee
182cm – 71kg – South Fremantle
Position – Small Forward
Playing Style – Jeff Garlett
Profile – Speedy small forward that offers x-factor. Doesn’t get a whole lot of the ball but makes it count with every disposal, impacting the scoreboard and bringing others into the game. Questionable whether he transitions into the midfield, likely stays as a small forward capable of taking some midfield minutes.

Pick 18 – Brisbane - Ben Keays (Collingwood Bid)
183cm – 78kg – Morningside
Position – Small Forward
Playing Style –

Pick 19 – Collingwood – Sam Weideman
196cm – 91kg – Eastern Rangers
Position – Tall Forward
Playing Style -
Profile -

Pick 20 – Sydney – Harry McKay
200cm – 85cm – Gippsland Power
Position – Tall Forward
Playing Style -
Profile -

Pick 21 - West Coast - Jade Gresham
177cm - 74kg - Northern Knights
Position - Balanced Mid
Playing Style -
Profile -

Pick 22 – Fremantle – Riley Bonner
191cm – 80kg – West Adelaide
Playing Style – Grant Birchall
Profile – Good sized medium defender/utility capable of playing a variety of roles for his team. A natural athlete that has good speed and a good leap. Nice left footed kick that teams will favour getting into the game. Can create off halfback and capable of playing forward. His best footy will be behind the ball though.

Good reading.
Appreciate the effort 'Old Mate'.

Gershwin wrote:Good reading.
No probs mate, thanks. I will update it weekly however post it in the Trade and Draft thread in the Saints section on Bigfooty, there's just not enough interest on this forum to justify spending any time on it.

Gordo' Sumner
Location: nyc for a spell, things didn't turn out so well, every dive i played, ffs was lucky i got paid !!!

Gershwin wrote:Good reading.
No probs mate, thanks. I will update it weekly however post it in the Trade and Draft thread in the Saints section on Bigfooty, there's just not enough interest on this forum to justify spending any time on it.
what gershwin said !!!!

appreciate your work too mate. :D and who is this bigfooty? i haven't seen them posting yet................... another muso ?????

now, based purely on what you've written there mate, i don't see the promised bumper crop of elite mid fielders ?????

high upside high risk :roll: ........... well flower me, i only like half of that equation .............

FFS you don't take bleeding heart 'project player' types with a flowering first round flowering pick !!!!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

but still early days. our recruiters will sift out the quality from the latte-drinking pretenders.

keep up your good work............ once again........... it's appreciated mate.

Fortitude Fidelity Sayntas.

After watching the televised games today I was disappointed with Parish and Tucker. Would have them behind Mathieson, Gresham, and a few other mid fielders now. Admittedly it is only on the one game, but still.

Bailey Rice equal top disposal winner for Vic Country with 18 - 13 kicks and 5 handballs at 83% DE - also 6 marks and 2 score assists

stjay

borderbarry wrote:After watching the televised games today I was disappointed with Parish and Tucker. Would have them behind Mathieson, Gresham, and a few other mid fielders now. Admittedly it is only on the one game, but still.
Heard Parish had a quiet one, can't work out if his injury is still an issue. His first game against Metro was outstanding.
Truth be told you'd be happy with Mathieson or Parish. Mathieson has been so consistent through the carnival and is genuine quality.

stjay

Old Mate wrote:First Round Rolling Phantom Draft (Incomplete)

Pick 1 – Gold Coast - Aaron Francis
192cm – 89kg – West Adelaide
Playing Style – Brendan Goddard
Profile – Strongly built and aggressive utility who has played mainly in defense. Has had success playing as a forward and starting to show signs he will transition to the midfield. Good in the air, good at ground level. Skills good, with a penetrating kick. Contested game, one-on-one very good especially in the air. A complete player.

Pick 2 – Brisbane - Josh Schache
199cm – 96kg – Murray Bushrangers
Position – Tall Forward
Playing Style – Joe Daniher
Profile – Tall and athletic key forward. Good above his head taking marks at the highest point. Also exceptional below his knees and capable of kicking crumbing goals. Nice left footed kick for goal. Can look laconic but has a very good tank if beep testing is anything to go by. Quick off the mark.

Pick 3 – Carlton - Jacob Weitering
195cm – 90kg – Dandenong Stingrays
Position – Tall Defender
Playing Style – Ben Reid
Profile – Athletic tall defender, capable of playing accountable football but also offers run and offense. Reads the ball well and takes a number of intercept marks. Has been exposed to playing against AFL listed players when playing for the AFL Academy against VFL teams, and done well having the better of his opponents.

Pick 4 – Greater Western Sydney - Jacob Hopper (Melbourne Bid)
186cm – 82kg – North Ballarat Rebels
Position – Inside Mid
Playing Style – Oliver Wines
Profile – Strongly built and mature inside midfielder who dominates around the stoppages. Gets hands to the ball, is clean with it, and tackles hard defensively. Can go forward and impact the scoreboard. Not overly quick and lacks an outside game however he’s that dominant on the inside he more than makes up for it.

Pick 5 – Melbourne – Darcy Parish
181cm – 73kg – Geelong Falcons
Position – Outside Mid
Playing Style –
Profile – Quick midfielder who excels when given space to run and use the footy. Can hurt his opponents by gaining plenty of territory using his running game and hitting up teammates. Goes into contests hard and capable of winning clearances and impacting games. Good decision maker and uses the ball well. Some concerns that he is small but makes up for it by cracking in and being an elite talent.

Pick 6 – St Kilda - Harley Balic
186cm – 80kg – Sandringham Dragons
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style –
Profile – Comes from a basketball background and has transitioned those skills he learnt into footy. Good reader of the tap or crumb. Moves well in traffic and clean hands. Has spent a lot of footy playing forward as a medium-marking target however has begun to transition into the midfield with success. Gets plenty of the footy. Skills good without being damaging.

Pick 7 – Sydney - Callum Mills (Essendon Bid)
186cm – 73kg – North Shore
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style –
Profile – Balanced midfielder who can win it on the inside and also find space on the outside. Clean ball user, brings others into the game and can offer a marking target. Very well rounded midfielder that has no flaws. You know what you are going to get.

Pick 8 – Greater Western Sydney – Matthew Kennedy (Essendon Bid)
187cm – 84kg
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style –
Profile -

Pick 9 – Essendon - Rhys Mathieson
185cm – 79kg – Geelong Falcons
Position – Inside Mid
Playing Style – Rory Sloane
Profile – Tough, inside mid who regularly hits the scoreboard. Clean hands and gets his teammates into the game. Wins a lot of contested footy and needs to evolve his outside game. Skills okay however due to winning a lot of ball in the contest his efficiency suffers. Low risk, hard at it midfielder that will bleed for his club.

Pick 10 – Port Adelaide - Ryan Burton
191cm – 91kg – North Adelaide
Playing Style – Jack Gunston
Profile – Medium marking forward that wins most of his marks on the lead. Clean marking game and very good pace off the mark. Nice movement in the forward half, evasive and knows where to lead. Nice shot for goal. Natural forward however not the number one go-to man. Was considered a top 5 pick prior to breaking his leg.

Pick 11 – North Melbourne - Ryan Clarke
186cm – 84cm – Eastern Rangers
Position – Outside Mid
Playing Style – Jack Macrae
Profile – Smooth moving midfielder who is more than capable of going forward and hitting the scoreboard. Good lateral movement in traffic, very evasive and speed is good. Elite talent, plenty of upside. Preferred as an outside mid however capable of winning the clearances. More of an inside receiver than an inside distributor.

Pick 12 – Geelong - Charlie Curnow
191cm – 95kg – Geelong Falcons
Playing Style – Jake Stringer
Profile – Extremely athletic medium marking forward with a lot of x-factor. Very clean overhead, good movement and capable of hitting the scoreboard. He does not get a lot of the ball but generally gets it in dangerous positions. Is somewhat of a project player up forward but ceiling is extremely high and teams will invest heavily on him.

Pick 13 – Western Bulldogs - Darcy Tucker
184cm – 78kg – North Ballarat Rebels
Position – Outside Mid
Playing Style – Robert Murphy
Profile – Very athletic and quick outside midfielder. Has spent a lot of time playing as a small defender where he uses his pace and line breaking ability to gain metres for his team. Skills exceptional, like a left footed version of Bob Murphy. Still question marks whether he can transition into the midfield. Hasn’t shown the ability to win his own ball so he projects as a flanker or outside mid.

Pick 14 – Richmond – Josh Dunkley
189cm – 85kg – Gippsland Power
Position – Inside Mid
Playing Style – Josh Kennedy
Profile –

Pick 15 – Adelaide - Luke Partington
182cm – 75kg – Port Adelaide
Position – Balanced Mid
Playing Style – Dayne Beames
Profile – Balanced midfielder who wins a lot of the ball on the inside and outside. Capable clearance player but also has exceptional pace to create separation from his opponents and push forward. Goal kicking mid who is capable of playing a variety of midfield roles. Skills quite clean without being super damaging.

Pick 16 – Greater Western Sydney – Kieran Collins
193cm – 94kg – Dandenong Stingrays
Position – Tall Defender
Playing Style –
Profile -

Pick 17 – Hawthorn - Callum Ah Chee
182cm – 71kg – South Fremantle
Position – Small Forward
Playing Style – Jeff Garlett
Profile – Speedy small forward that offers x-factor. Doesn’t get a whole lot of the ball but makes it count with every disposal, impacting the scoreboard and bringing others into the game. Questionable whether he transitions into the midfield, likely stays as a small forward capable of taking some midfield minutes.

Pick 18 – Brisbane - Ben Keays (Collingwood Bid)
183cm – 78kg – Morningside
Position – Small Forward
Playing Style –

Pick 19 – Collingwood – Sam Weideman
196cm – 91kg – Eastern Rangers
Position – Tall Forward
Playing Style -
Profile -

Pick 20 – Sydney – Harry McKay
200cm – 85cm – Gippsland Power
Position – Tall Forward
Playing Style -
Profile -

Pick 21 - West Coast - Jade Gresham
177cm - 74kg - Northern Knights
Position - Balanced Mid
Playing Style -
Profile -

Pick 22 – Fremantle – Riley Bonner
191cm – 80kg – West Adelaide
Playing Style – Grant Birchall
Profile – Good sized medium defender/utility capable of playing a variety of roles for his team. A natural athlete that has good speed and a good leap. Nice left footed kick that teams will favour getting into the game. Can create off halfback and capable of playing forward. His best footy will be behind the ball though.

Thanks for this Old Mate. Do you have a view on Jacob Allison & Eric Hipwood? Both had great games today.

Stjsy,

Really like Allison. Fantastic size, could be a big bodied mid. Skills nice and can find plenty of the ball.

Throughout the champs Hipwood has shown he has potential to be a capable key defender. Today he showed he has potential to be a capable key forward. Moves really well for a 200cm guy, raking left foot and versatile. He's someone that will feature in my updated mock draft.

I've also been impressed with Corey Wagner. Looks like a good value pick, but again he's an academy player...grew up a Saints supporter tho, would love to get him.

With Sydney taking pick 7, would they not lose their first pick at at 20?
Good work anyway. Any chance of you adding a few more picks to include our 2nd rounder?

Parish 29 touches & BOG today.

Balic instrumental in getting VM back into the game & over the line yesterday.

old mate please explain your selection process...............ie GWS pick 4 etc

Melbourne would still have pick 4 ...................gws would use their 1st draft pick to get Jacob Hooper under your scenario

GWS do not get pick 4 and 8 surely even under a revised draft point system

think you have to explain your phantom draft a bit better....................to explain the academy picks (Bris..GC..GWS...Syd....)

chook23 wrote:old mate please explain your selection process...............ie GWS pick 4 etc

Melbourne would still have pick 4 ...................gws would use their 1st draft pick to get Jacob Hooper under your scenario

GWS do not get pick 4 and 8 surely even under a revised draft point system

think you have to explain your phantom draft a bit better....................to explain the academy picks (Bris..GC..GWS...Syd....)
If a team chooses to match an academy player bid then their next pick is upgraded to the pick the academy player goes at. Under that example Melb's moves back a pick.

The AFL site has a PDF and explains it far better than I can. I would paste this link but on my phone. Google 'AFL draft academy players' or something similar and the page will come up.

stjay

Hey OM,
Got any thoughts on the possiblity of trading in James Aish? Was with Dunstan when they won the TAC cup and could be the elite mid-field type we desparately need.
Surely we must be taking a look at him. Given our likely draft position we might be wise to trade away our first round (which is what I assume will be required).

stjay wrote:Hey OM,
Got any thoughts on the possiblity of trading in James Aish? Was with Dunstan when they won the TAC cup and could be the elite mid-field type we desparately need.
Surely we must be taking a look at him. Given our likely draft position we might be wise to trade away our first round (which is what I assume will be required).
I would love him but not sure he would want to come to us. I suspect he goes to either a South Australian club or a big Vic club like the Pies. I also wouldn't give up a top 10 pick on him. In the unlikely scenario he chooses us then I would give our 2nd and 3rd picks and a player of the calibre of Saunders or Murdoch for Aish and their 4th or alternatively look at gaining a pick for Hickey and passing that on for Aish. I doubt Hickey would want to move out of Vic so a swap of Hickey for Aish wouldn't work.

stjay

I would love him but not sure he would want to come to us. I suspect he goes to either a South Australian club or a big Vic club like the Pies. I also wouldn't give up a top 10 pick on him. In the unlikely scenario he chooses us then I would give our 2nd and 3rd picks and a player of the calibre of Saunders or Murdoch for Aish and their 4th or alternatively look at gaining a pick for Hickey and passing that on for Aish. I doubt Hickey would want to move out of Vic so a swap of Hickey for Aish wouldn't work.
If AFC lose Dangerfield then I reckon he is a lock to go back to SA.
He went early in a strong draft and has shown enough IMO albeit he is obviously not settled in Brissy.
If he is determined to go to a big club then we've got no chance.
Hard to see BFC willing to take anything less than first round but it may be out of their control ultimately if it gets nasty.

stjay wrote:
He went early in a strong draft and has shown enough IMO albeit he is obviously not settled in Brissy.
Hard to see BFC willing to take anything less than first round but it may be out of their control ultimately if it gets nasty.
IMO the Pies will get one of Dangerfield, Treloar or Aish, and their wish list will be in that order. If they miss out on Danger (likely) they will throw everything at Treloar and won't get Aish. If I had to guess: Danger goes to the Cats, Treloar to the Pies and Aish to the Crows. We'll go to the draft, which I'm happy about considering our recent success rate!

stjay

stjay wrote:
IMO the Pies will get one of Dangerfield, Treloar or Aish, and their wish list will be in that order. If they miss out on Danger (likely) they will throw everything at Treloar and won't get Aish. If I had to guess: Danger goes to the Cats, Treloar to the Pies and Aish to the Crows. We'll go to the draft, which I'm happy about considering our recent success rate!
I'd be happy with the draft at this point also.
There are some rippers coming out of contract next year.
Do you think we'll trade to get another pick this year?

Not a lot of depth in this draft so wouldn't be surprised if we used our first two picks, upgraded Sinclair and looked to bring in a player or two via trade. I don't think we'll make more than 5-6 changes to our list and don't think we heavily invest in the draft like the previous two years.

stjay

Old Mate wrote:Not a lot of depth in this draft so wouldn't be surprised if we used our first two picks, upgraded Sinclair and looked to bring in a player or two via trade. I don't think we'll make more than 5-6 changes to our list and don't think we heavily invest in the draft like the previous two years.
That would be the pragmatic way to go based on everything we hear coming out of the recruiters about the draft pool.
The only thing is whether that approach is a departure from the list strategy they are working from.
I get the impression that in order to be in line with the strategy they would still need to be aggressive in getting early picks.
If that is the case, I hope they are a little flexible with it bc of what you've pointed out.
Trading emerging talent into a weak draft pool could be a disaster, not to mention how disruptive it could be to the team.

I dont believe the draft pool is as weak as some suggest. I think the first two rounds at least would contain good players, after that a lot of luck but is'nt that the normal situation?

I would like us to pick up a gun mid, a fast mid, and a full back. Probably do with a couple of speedsters. And maybe another big defender as we have several due to rerire in the near future.

stjay

borderbarry wrote:I dont believe the draft pool is as weak as some suggest. I think the first two rounds at least would contain good players, after that a lot of luck but is'nt that the normal situation?

I would like us to pick up a gun mid, a fast mid, and a full back. Probably do with a couple of speedsters. And maybe another big defender as we have several due to rerire in the near future.
It is a bit difficult to know who to listen to - there seems to be differing opinions on the depth in this year's pool.
If you saw the afl.com article we are 18th for centre clearances so we definitely need to seriously improve our midfield.

Die Hard 7

Draft:
Ideally we somehow manufacture a 3rd pick in the top 30 so as to end up with around 5, 23, and lets say 27(Still only estimates). As stated about we rank 18th for clearances so pure mids should be a focus for us.
Pick 5: Parish or Mathieson (Both Vic C) (mids)
Pick 23: Keays (QLD) or Partington (SA) (mids)
Pick 27: Kieran Collins (Vic C) (Full back)
Pick 41: Bailey Rice (Vic C) (mid) - also only If he nominates us
Pick 59: Kieran Lovell (Tas) or Hagan(NT)
Upgrade Sinclair with 77.

Trade: A couple names which we could go after and are out of contract (may cost in some cases, but nonetheless talented)
Out of ContracT
Rory Thompson (GC)
Steven Motlop (GEE)
Adam Treloar (GWS)
James Aish (BRIS)

Mitch Brown?
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-07-15/s ... itch-brown
AFL.com.au understands St Kilda, Essendon and Fremantle have expressed interest in Brown, with recruiters from several clubs keeping a watchful eye on his progress.

After playing his final game for the Cats in the 2014 semi-final, Brown joined St Kilda affiliate Sandringham and has impressed both as a key forward and back in 2015.