Round 3 team. Schneider in Curren out
- kosifantutti
- Saintsational Legend
Round 3 team. Schneider in Curren out
Mick Dwyer and Rodney Galt in for Collingwood.
- saintsRrising
- Saintsational Legend
Re: Round 3 team. Schneider in Curren out
:
COLLINGWOOD
FOLLOWERS
4 Brodie Grundy
13 Taylor Adams
10 Scott Pendlebury
ST KILDA
FOLLOWERS
18 Billy Longer
44 Maverick Weller
3 Jack Steven
FB 34 Alan Toovey 16 Nathan J. Brown 26 Marley Williams
FF 37 Jack Lonie 27 Josh Bruce 28 Tim Membrey
HB 8 Tom Langdon 45 Jack Frost 31 Jackson Ramsay
HF 20 David Armitage 12 Nick Riewoldt 13 Adam Schneider
C 18 Travis Varcoe 36 Dane Swan 25 Jack Crisp
C 16 Jack Newnes 7 Luke Dunstan 39 Cameron Shenton
HF 5 Jamie Elliott 9 Jesse White 29 Tim Broomhead
HB 5 Shane Savage 25 Sam Fisher 14 Jarryn Geary
FF 6 Tyson Goldsack 32 Travis Cloke 11 Jarryd Blair
FB 17 Dylan Roberton 21 Luke Delaney 24 Sean Dempster
INTERCHANGE
2 Sam Dwyer
40 Paul Seedsman
43 Adam Oxley
44 Corey Gault
EMERGENCIES
30 Darcy Moore
33 Patrick Karnezis
35 Jordan De Goey
INTERCHANGE
15 Jack Billings
34 Nathan Wright
38 Ahmed Saad
40 Jack Sinclair
EMERGENCIES
4 Eli Templeton
26 Tom Curren
32 Paddy McCartin
COLLINGWOOD
FOLLOWERS
4 Brodie Grundy
13 Taylor Adams
10 Scott Pendlebury
ST KILDA
FOLLOWERS
18 Billy Longer
44 Maverick Weller
3 Jack Steven
FB 34 Alan Toovey 16 Nathan J. Brown 26 Marley Williams
FF 37 Jack Lonie 27 Josh Bruce 28 Tim Membrey
HB 8 Tom Langdon 45 Jack Frost 31 Jackson Ramsay
HF 20 David Armitage 12 Nick Riewoldt 13 Adam Schneider
C 18 Travis Varcoe 36 Dane Swan 25 Jack Crisp
C 16 Jack Newnes 7 Luke Dunstan 39 Cameron Shenton
HF 5 Jamie Elliott 9 Jesse White 29 Tim Broomhead
HB 5 Shane Savage 25 Sam Fisher 14 Jarryn Geary
FF 6 Tyson Goldsack 32 Travis Cloke 11 Jarryd Blair
FB 17 Dylan Roberton 21 Luke Delaney 24 Sean Dempster
INTERCHANGE
2 Sam Dwyer
40 Paul Seedsman
43 Adam Oxley
44 Corey Gault
EMERGENCIES
30 Darcy Moore
33 Patrick Karnezis
35 Jordan De Goey
INTERCHANGE
15 Jack Billings
34 Nathan Wright
38 Ahmed Saad
40 Jack Sinclair
EMERGENCIES
4 Eli Templeton
26 Tom Curren
32 Paddy McCartin
Last edited by saintsRrising on Thu 16 Apr 2015 7:32pm, edited 1 time in total.
- kosifantutti
- Saintsational Legend
B Dylan Roberton, Luke Delaney, Sean Dempster
HB Shane Savage, Sam Fisher, Jarryn Geary
C Jack Newnes, Luke Dunstan, Cameron Shenton
HF David Armitage, Nick Riewoldt, Adam Schneider
F Jack Lonie, Josh Bruce, Tim Membrey
FOL Billy Longer, Maverick Weller, Jack Steven
I/C Jack Billings, Nathan Wright, Ahmed Saad, Jack Sinclair
EMG Eli Templeton, Tom Curren, Paddy McCartin
IN
Adam Schneider
OUT
Tom Curren (Omitted)
MILESTONES: Jack Newnes - Playing 50th game
B Alan Toovey, Nathan J. Brown, Marley Williams
HB Tom Langdon, Jack Frost, Jackson Ramsay
C Travis Varcoe, Dane Swan, Jack Crisp
HF Jamie Elliott, Jesse White, Tim Broomhead
F Tyson Goldsack, Travis Cloke, Jarryd Blair
FOL Brodie Grundy, Taylor Adams, Scott Pendlebury
I/C Sam Dwyer, Paul Seedsman, Adam Oxley, Corey Gault
EMG Darcy Moore, Patrick Karnezis, Jordan De Goey
IN
Sam Dwyer, Corey Gault
OUT
Alex Fasolo (Omitted), Ben Sinclair (Hamstring)
MILESTONES: Corey Gault - Played 1st game
HB Shane Savage, Sam Fisher, Jarryn Geary
C Jack Newnes, Luke Dunstan, Cameron Shenton
HF David Armitage, Nick Riewoldt, Adam Schneider
F Jack Lonie, Josh Bruce, Tim Membrey
FOL Billy Longer, Maverick Weller, Jack Steven
I/C Jack Billings, Nathan Wright, Ahmed Saad, Jack Sinclair
EMG Eli Templeton, Tom Curren, Paddy McCartin
IN
Adam Schneider
OUT
Tom Curren (Omitted)
MILESTONES: Jack Newnes - Playing 50th game
B Alan Toovey, Nathan J. Brown, Marley Williams
HB Tom Langdon, Jack Frost, Jackson Ramsay
C Travis Varcoe, Dane Swan, Jack Crisp
HF Jamie Elliott, Jesse White, Tim Broomhead
F Tyson Goldsack, Travis Cloke, Jarryd Blair
FOL Brodie Grundy, Taylor Adams, Scott Pendlebury
I/C Sam Dwyer, Paul Seedsman, Adam Oxley, Corey Gault
EMG Darcy Moore, Patrick Karnezis, Jordan De Goey
IN
Sam Dwyer, Corey Gault
OUT
Alex Fasolo (Omitted), Ben Sinclair (Hamstring)
MILESTONES: Corey Gault - Played 1st game
Interesting move. Schneider can't provide nearly as much pressure as Curren but far more polished.
Good news for Saad.
I liked Wright as a sub, really impacted the game well. So I wouldn't mind keeping him there but it's a bit rough on a players fitness to play as a sub consecutively.
Schneider has been a good sub so it could very well be him this week.
Good news for Saad.
I liked Wright as a sub, really impacted the game well. So I wouldn't mind keeping him there but it's a bit rough on a players fitness to play as a sub consecutively.
Not sure about Schneider. He's not exactly the future. He played ok against GWS when he got the ball in his hands but you could see how little run he can give. Rather get a game into Acres or McKenzie or let Wright have a full game. This is where I would like Pelchen hanging around so they don't slip into playing the oldies to get results.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Shneider is a very clever footballer.
15 possessions from Schneider is worth 30 possessions from Curren (not trying to poo-poo Curren, it's just that Schneider is very clever)
-
- Saintsational Legend
Acres needs to lift his work rate and improve his defensive skills. McKenzie needs a few kilos on him. They'll get their turn. There's plenty of time.
-
- SS Hall of Fame
I can see Schneider as the sub, and Wright given a full game. Wright was very good last week when he came on.FQF wrote:Interesting move. Schneider can't provide nearly as much pressure as Curren but far more polished.
Good news for Saad.
The sub role suits Schneider these days IMO.
Bluthy wrote:Not sure about Schneider. He's not exactly the future. He played ok against GWS when he got the ball in his hands but you could see how little run he can give. Rather get a game into Acres or McKenzie or let Wright have a full game. This is where I would like Pelchen hanging around so they don't slip into playing the oldies to get results.
We have plenty of young kids playing and I hope Pelchen had nothing to do with selection whilst he was there anyway.
-
- Saintsational Legend
plugger66 wrote:Bluthy wrote:Not sure about Schneider. He's not exactly the future. He played ok against GWS when he got the ball in his hands but you could see how little run he can give. Rather get a game into Acres or McKenzie or let Wright have a full game. This is where I would like Pelchen hanging around so they don't slip into playing the oldies to get results.
We have plenty of young kids playing and I hope Pelchen had nothing to do with selection whilst he was there anyway.
I think Schnieder was excellent in his last game and was probably in the best 3 players that day. With out Montagna it gives us a bit of experience. I'm happy to have him in.
Its about having that voice at the club who is provocative and keeping everyone on their toes and pointing out the big, long term picture. How many good games does Schneider have left in him? He was a rookie on the bottom clubs list. This seems a bit of a reactionary selection. We have Roo, Fisher, Dempster, Geary, Steven, Armo with good experience. I think Schneids will struggle to get around on the big MCG. I can kind of understand trying to get another win while we have our best chances early in the season. But I don't know if this is the best place for Schneids old legs.plugger66 wrote:Bluthy wrote:Not sure about Schneider. He's not exactly the future. He played ok against GWS when he got the ball in his hands but you could see how little run he can give. Rather get a game into Acres or McKenzie or let Wright have a full game. This is where I would like Pelchen hanging around so they don't slip into playing the oldies to get results.
Bluthy wrote:Its about having that voice at the club who is provocative and keeping everyone on their toes and pointing out the big, long term picture. How many good games does Schneider have left in him? He was a rookie on the bottom clubs list. This seems a bit of a reactionary selection. We have Roo, Fisher, Dempster, Geary, Steven, Armo with good experience. I think Schneids will struggle to get around on the big MCG. I can kind of understand trying to get another win while we have our best chances early in the season. But I don't know if this is the best place for Schneids old legs.plugger66 wrote:Bluthy wrote:Not sure about Schneider. He's not exactly the future. He played ok against GWS when he got the ball in his hands but you could see how little run he can give. Rather get a game into Acres or McKenzie or let Wright have a full game. This is where I would like Pelchen hanging around so they don't slip into playing the oldies to get results.
The MCG isn't that big really and Schneider deserves his spot after round one anyway. And like I said I hope Pelchen had nothing at all to do with selection. If he did it was a complete stuff up.
-
- SS Hall of Fame
Schneider doesn't excite me at all with our current situation. He is probably more vocal than most of the young guys and may help Billings, Lonie and Saad in some way.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Bluthy wrote:Its about having that voice at the club who is provocative and keeping everyone on their toes and pointing out the big, long term picture. How many good games does Schneider have left in him? He was a rookie on the bottom clubs list. This seems a bit of a reactionary selection. We have Roo, Fisher, Dempster, Geary, Steven, Armo with good experience. I think Schneids will struggle to get around on the big MCG. I can kind of understand trying to get another win while we have our best chances early in the season. But I don't know if this is the best place for Schneids old legs.plugger66 wrote:Bluthy wrote:Not sure about Schneider. He's not exactly the future. He played ok against GWS when he got the ball in his hands but you could see how little run he can give. Rather get a game into Acres or McKenzie or let Wright have a full game. This is where I would like Pelchen hanging around so they don't slip into playing the oldies to get results.
At the preseason training a heap of players mentioned that they thought Schnieder would be first off the rookie list. The consensus was that he was in vintage form and had completed a great preseason. His body like Fishers has been letting him down for a couple of seasons. He seems to have turned a corner. He was apparently going on the rookie list to help out the club with an extra spot. I think they might have told him he would get first chance at elevation even. I think anyone who is performing should get a game especially when the likes of Montagna and Farren are missing.
Schneider, Lonie & Billings kicking the footy inside 50...delicious.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Bruce might need to go take a cold shower during the call.....scrumptious..Old Mate wrote:Schneider, Lonie & Billings kicking the footy inside 50...delicious.
Hypothetically, if Riewoldt is a late withdrawal, do we go with either Curren / Templeton or do we play Paddy McCartin?
- Munga
- Saintsational Legend
You would think coming from Tassie that Templeton would thrive in the cold and wetnoob wrote:Hypothetically, if Riewoldt is a late withdrawal, do we go with either Curren / Templeton or do we play Paddy McCartin?
Munga wrote:You would think coming from Tassie that Templeton would thrive in the cold and wetnoob wrote:Hypothetically, if Riewoldt is a late withdrawal, do we go with either Curren / Templeton or do we play Paddy McCartin?
Surely McCartin plays unless it absolutely poring.
-
- SS Hall of Fame
Have to be McCartin. If we don't, when Bruce goes into the ruck we'll have Membrey as the only tall forward.noob wrote:Hypothetically, if Riewoldt is a late withdrawal, do we go with either Curren / Templeton or do we play Paddy McCartin?
I also wonder if there's room for Weller and Curren in the same team. Weller's the better option in my opinion and can do the negating role that Curren used to do.
SaintPav wrote:Bruce might need to go take a cold shower during the call.....scrumptious..Old Mate wrote:Schneider, Lonie & Billings kicking the footy inside 50...delicious.
Schneider deserves his spot and will be great influence on the younger guys.
Playing more kids doesn't equate to improving the team as a whole. We need to set an example to the younger guys about demanding a spot and just because you are a high draft pick doesn't mean you're an automatic selection.
If Chris Pelchen was calling the shots we may have traded Armo.
Playing more kids doesn't equate to improving the team as a whole. We need to set an example to the younger guys about demanding a spot and just because you are a high draft pick doesn't mean you're an automatic selection.
If Chris Pelchen was calling the shots we may have traded Armo.
Having 10 young kids in a winning team is far better for development than 15 in a losing one.
Absolutely 100% spot on.FQF wrote:Having 10 young kids in a winning team is far better for development than 15 in a losing one.
Also there would be nothing worse IMO than to debut McCartin on a wet night, against Collingwood on Friday night footy WITHOUT Riewoldt there to protect an support him.
McCartin will be good. But lets debut him in dry conditions again a Melbourne/GWS/DOGS/GC
Collinwood might not be travelling to well. But they'll get into him like they did Watts on the Queens Birthday.
Never underestimate the importance of having a big experienced body out there to protect the young fella.