What happens if The Druggies won't field a NAB Cup team?

This scum stuffed up our pre-season preparations two years ago when they were too arrogant and insisted on flying up despite numerous warnings about an atrocious weather forecast.

Now they are threatening to withdraw all their pre-2012 players from the NAB Cup which will leave them without sufficient numbers for a proper team for our March 7th game.

Why should we suffer AGAIN because of their incompetence and dirty drug dealings?
We should sue them?

Re: What happens if The Druggies won't field a NAB Cup team?

well the brisbane game isnt aired on tv anywhere so if the bombers sook it up and have a cry that'll be two games not aired in a row :evil:

Enrico_Misso wrote:We should sue them?
I agree. We should be compensated if they go through with this. This also inconveniences us with our membership drive in the Gippsland region. A public apology should at least be in order.

Thanks, Essendon! ...For nothing.

Why is everyone so scared of these pricks? They have said they don't want to play nab cup so lets take them at their word and just assume they aren't going to play. Lets either arrange to play GWS on March 13 or see if GWS want to play us in Morwell. But lets get on with it - not wait around and rely on the cheats. F*** em.

Sainternist wrote: We should be compensated if they go through with this. This also inconveniences us with our membership drive in the Gippsland region. A public apology should at least be in order.
A public flogging would be better as it would provide some replacement entertainment for the Gippsland locals :wink:

Con Gorozidis wrote:Why is everyone so scared of these pricks? They have said they don't want to play nab cup so lets take them at their word and just assume they aren't going to play. Lets either arrange to play GWS on March 13 or see if GWS want to play us in Morwell. But lets get on with it - not wait around and rely on the cheats. F*** em.

Are the Saints scared because they haven't arranged what you are suggesting? I cant see the link at all.

Sainternist wrote: We should be compensated if they go through with this. This also inconveniences us with our membership drive in the Gippsland region. A public apology should at least be in order.
A public flogging would be better as it would provide some replacement entertainment for the Gippsland locals :wink:
I'm with you Doc. We Gippsland Saints are absolutely fuming over the Bummers' reluctance to front up. They definitely had their heads in their nether regions when the chose a plane flight over two and a half hour bus trip to Wang the other year. If memory serves me correct teh AFL spat the dummy a few years back over the Morwell ground being to hard (ie, AFL clubs being too soft) and wouldn't play there. Yet they front up at Etihad week after week!

I reckon your suggestion has plenty of merit, Doc, and I know plenty of Valley Boys who would pay good money do dish out the punishment. It could be used as part of the AFL / ASADA sanctions, though if they copped a look at some of the rough-headed boys I know they might gladly cop a 6-month ban.

Another kick in the guts for Morwell if this game doesn't go ahead; I understand the match is almost a sell-out.

Surely the AFL has enough balls to let the. bombers know in no uncertain terms if they deliberately sabotage the NAB comp then they will be punished accordingly. We can't relegate offending teams as they do in european football leagues, but we can dock points. If the Bombers stuff up other teams preseasons, then stuff up Essendon's season proper. The Bombers are basically saying it's them that set their own rules - a big, sour, spoilt, up yours to the AFL.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Why is everyone so scared of these pricks? They have said they don't want to play nab cup so lets take them at their word and just assume they aren't going to play. Lets either arrange to play GWS on March 13 or see if GWS want to play us in Morwell. But lets get on with it - not wait around and rely on the cheats. F*** em.

Are the Saints scared because they haven't arranged what you are suggesting? I cant see the link at all.
Youve missed the point as usual.
I'm not talking about the Saints in particular. All 17 clubs are in the same boat in terms of pussy footing around and tip toeing around the cheats.
Most likely because thy have been bullied by Fitzpatrick.
The cheats are worried about 'privacy' and getting booed. The AFL is worried about 'pre-empting' the tribunal. So no-one wants to upset the cheats feelings. So we all have to sit back and let them call the shots. Will they play? Wont they? Its not the Saints fault. Its the whole way the AFL is treating the cheats. Like the teachers dont want to upset the naughty kid at school cos he might get mad and be even naughtier. So the naughty kid gets bolder and bolder. Thats what happening here.

Youve missed the point as usual.
I'm not talking about the Saints in particular. All 17 clubs are in the same boat in terms of pussy footing around and tip toeing around the cheats.
Most likely because thy have been bullied by Fitzpatrick.
The cheats are worried about 'privacy' and getting booed. The AFL is worried about 'pre-empting' the tribunal. So no-one wants to upset the cheats feelings. So we all have to sit back and let them call the shots. Will they play? Wont they? Its not the Saints fault. Its the whole way the AFL is treating the cheats. Like the teachers dont want to upset the naughty kid at school cos he might get mad and be even naughtier. So the naughty kid gets bolder and bolder. Thats what happening here.

Yep bullied by Fitzpatrick or more likely they have little interest in saying things because most realise it matters little what they say. I never miss your points. I just reckon most don't make sense. And you are talking about the Saints being scared because this topic only involves us so it matters little about the other clubs.

The honest truth is if both us and GWS only 2 Nab cup games it will make no difference to the round one clash as we play each other. It may hurt a little in round 2 but GC certainly have us covered anyway. After that it will have no effect at all. To be honest I wonder if it will really effect us anyway. Probably played about 10 scratch matches by round one anyway. And we will be playing a second rate Essendon side if they do field a side. That wont do a lot.

Trev from the Bush wrote:
I'm with you Doc. We Gippsland Saints are absolutely fuming over the Bummers' reluctance to front up. They definitely had their heads in their nether regions when the chose a plane flight over two and a half hour bus trip to Wang the other year. If memory serves me correct teh AFL spat the dummy a few years back over the Morwell ground being to hard (ie, AFL clubs being too soft) and wouldn't play there. Yet they front up at Etihad week after week!

I reckon your suggestion has plenty of merit, Doc, and I know plenty of Valley Boys who would pay good money do dish out the punishment. It could be used as part of the AFL / ASADA sanctions, though if they copped a look at some of the rough-headed boys I know they might gladly cop a 6-month ban.

Another kick in the guts for Morwell if this game doesn't go ahead; I understand the match is almost a sell-out.
With a bit of luck, there'll still be a match played, regardless of whether Essendon forfeit. I reckon Morwell and Gippland folk intending on attending the match should write to Essendon to let them know how cheesed off you are.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Youve missed the point as usual.
nah
he's just doing his usual thing

matrix wrote:
nah
yep only sees the good in people apparently, except when he wants to rock the boat on here then chooses not to see at all

mullet wrote:
matrix wrote:
nah
yep only sees the good in people apparently, except when he wants to rock the boat on here then chooses not to see at all

Yep if you disagree you are rocking the boat or not seeing the good in things. Only people who agree see the good in things. So you also think the Saints are scared of Essendon. Interesting. I don't. Sorry if that offends others.

mullet wrote:
matrix wrote:
nah

Yep if you disagree you are rocking the boat or not seeing the good in things. Only people who agree see the good in things. So you also think the Saints are scared of Essendon. Interesting. I don't. Sorry if that offends others.
You only see the good in people - except when you are slagging everyone off day in day out for merely having opinions and telling them you are right and they are wrong. Cos you know players. Yes we know. Keep telling us every 5 minutes in case we forget. Quick!

And yes - we are scared to speak out agains the bombers - clearly the 17 clubs are under instructions from the AFL. We actually know this as other club Presidents have said that they are under instructions from Fitzpatrick not to speak out. So we arent 'scared' per se - but we are ass covering because everyone is fearful of the implications for TV revenues. So in that sense - yes we are scared to place principle before commercial considerations. The same fear across the whole AFL and the 17 clubs. Cash before integrity. And they are still calling the shots. We are waiting on THEIR decision about playing nab challenge or not.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Fri 13 Feb 2015 1:54am, edited 1 time in total.

mullet wrote:
matrix wrote:
nah

You only see the good in people - except when you are slagging everyone off day in day out for merely having opinions and telling them you are right and they are wrong. Cos you know players. Yes we know. Keep telling us every 5 minutes in case we forget. Quick!

And yes - we are scared to speak out agains the bombers - clearly the 17 clubs are under instructions from the AFL. We actually know this as other club Presidents have said that they are under instructions from Fitzpatrick not to speak out. So we arent 'scared' per se - but we are ass covering because everyone is fearful of the implications for TV revenues. So in that sense - yes we are scared to place principle before commercial considerations. The same fear across the whole AFL and the 17 clubs. Cash before integrity. And they are still calling the shots. We are waiting on THEIR decision about playing nab challenge or not.

You have real problems Con. You seem to be the only one who keeps telling people I know players. What a strange person. And I don't tell people I am right if its an opinion and I don't tell people they are wrong if its an opinion. You are the one who seems to get upset and then get personal if someone disagrees with you. I don't think we are scared of Essendon. I think we know there isn't any point in saying anything but that doesn't make us scared of Essendon. I do notice you are now saying we are scared to speak out. Why don't you do what you usually do and edit the original post to say that instead of it saying we are scared of Essendon because they are completely different things. You do get that don't you? Anyway time to move again and again and again. Weight and see if we trade for country players this year. They may even get Ferg bacg as he has put on weight and moved to Hay.

Anyway got to go having a few drinks with Rooy, Pecko, Loewe and Welles Icke.

And yes there is no way we will speak out about the bombers if it puts our club in danger of folding. The one thing I have said all along is that if Essendon cant play for a long period it puts our club in a poor position. Cash will always win over integrity just about in any major sport. probably all major sports. If the wors for not speaking is scared then we are scared of the result but we aren't scared of Essendon.

Well the Bombers have rejected an AFL offer to use top-up players so we need to take the initiative and organise our own nab challenge fixture.
v GWS 13 March is one such option. That would be a shame for the good burghers of Morwell but maybe the AFL can get the March 13 match shifted to Morwell.

Either way - lets not pussy foot around the cheats worrying about hurting their feelings. Lets just get on with life without them.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Thu 12 Feb 2015 4:02am, edited 1 time in total.

Failing the Bummers turning up perhaps P66 v Con. In a cage! :D

won't help our pre-season preparation though, much rather see the Saints spiflicate the Bummers! :)

Time for our club to scream & yell that this is so WRONG. Richo has said that we have been planning for months to have 3 x quality hitouts before the season. This isn't going to happen now, thanks to Hird, Dank & Co. The AFL need to take charge and let Essendon know who is running the competition. We are all sick & tired of all these secret negotiations. The AFL has an obligation to 17 other clubs and the people of the Latrobe Valley to put on a (half decent) show.

On another note; Essendon sympathiser Chip Le Grandstander was on twitter earlier tonight spruiking that Essendon are showing no more disrespect to the nab cup than Grant Thomas did by wearing shorts when accepting the wok. When challenged, he said he was joking. He was advised not to give up his day job as comedy isn't his forte !!

Eastern wrote:Time for our club to scream & yell that this is so WRONG. Richo has said that we have been planning for months to have 3 x quality hitouts before the season. This isn't going to happen now, thanks to Hird, Dank & Co. The AFL need to take charge and let Essendon know who is running the competition. We are all sick & tired of all these secret negotiations. The AFL has an obligation to 17 other clubs and the people of the Latrobe Valley to put on a (half decent) show.

On another note; Essendon sympathiser Chip Le Grandstander was on twitter earlier tonight spruiking that Essendon are showing no more disrespect to the nab cup than Grant Thomas did by wearing shorts when accepting the wok. When challenged, he said he was joking. He was advised not to give up his day job as comedy isn't his forte !!
Neither is his "writing"

This is f****** ridiculous. f*** them. kill them

philtee

This is the Age story on the Wangaratta farce -
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/n ... 1ub3s.html

It was March 2012, right in the heart of the era covered on the Essendope thread.
Similar "superior" management mindset at work?

The Redeemer wrote:This is f****** ridiculous. f*** them. kill them
Kill them haha. You are one loose unit lol.

Malthouse outraged but AFL, Essendon closer to NAB deal
THE AUSTRALIAN FEBRUARY 13, 2015 12:00AM

“This is a national competition and it can’t be hijacked by one football club,” he said. “This is a great test for the AFL and its administrators to be very, very firm and strong. The tail cannot wag the dog.”

Malthouse indicated Essendon were in no position to be sitting at the negotiating table.

“I don’t think under the circumstances with what’s happened over the last two years that people can start dictating whether they’re going to play or whether they’re not.

“The rules are in place. There’s a competition at stake and I would personally expect that there would be nine games in the first round contested by 18 teams.”

Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley endorsed Malthouse’s comments and urged the league to take a firm stance with Essendon.

“It’s an 18-team competition and the AFL need to be strong in the way that they enforce their regulations and their expectations on each and every one of the clubs,” he said. “It just so happens that it’s Essendon on this occasion and you’d expect strong leadership from the top.”