Draft Machine

I would urge all of you to take a look at the draft machine section on the AFL website.

There are nice highlights packages on all the players in the draft, so you get to see up close and personal at the likely candidates for a Saints jumper in 2015.

And it gives you a chance to make an assessment as well.

It goes without saying, Petracca's showreel is impressive.

But there were at least two others that caught my eye.

Young Reece Mckenzie, Warren's son. First time look for me. He is one very big unit. Amazingly quick for a guy his size. Did the 20 metre sprint at the combine in a tick under 3 seconds. Equal best in the clean hands competition. Good on the lead. Can clunk a contested mark. Reads the flight of the ball really well. Think Rhys Stanley only bigger and stronger. Not surprised we are interested. If he's available at pick 21 then I hope we grab him.

The other guy I just can't go past is Caleb Daniel. I know he's got some fans on this forum. I confess I am one. This kid is small but he has every trick in the book. Instinctively knows how to get the ball. Really quick, great skills, rarely wastes a kick. I think in the Under 18 championship he had 92 percent efficiency with his kicking. Great peripheral vision. If you'll pardon the pun his stature is a small, small problem and not something that is ever going to stop him from becoming an elite player IMO.

If I were one of our recruiting guys I would hope we could grab him with pick 41.

That would give us pick one as well as McKenzie at 21 who I think the Blues are also chasing but won't get if we grab him. Pick 22 could be another big bodied utility or specialist defender. Not sure who.

Take a look at draft machine and share your opinions. I'd be interested in hearing them.

Re: Draft Machine

damienc wrote:Young Reece Mckenzie, Warren's son. First time look for me. He is one very big unit. Amazingly quick for a guy his size. Did the 20 metre sprint at the combine in a tick under 3 seconds. Equal best in the clean hands competition. Good on the lead. Can clunk a contested mark. Reads the flight of the ball really well. Think Rhys Stanley only bigger and stronger. Not surprised we are interested. If he's available at pick 21 then I hope we grab him.
I know it's a highlights reel, but what impressed me was that he seemed to read the drop of the ball well, and was one strong grab. Almost reminded me of Plugger.......lol.

The Draft Machine is here http://www.afl.com.au/draft/draft-machine

falka

After getting paid to watch the young stars today (I did no work as I was intrigued to watch this in the office instead) there is no way in hell Cackatoo will be available at 21. If he is and we take him with Petracca then we re set.
Others to really take the eye were Ahern, Weller and DeGoey, but as mentioned probe won't be available

falka

After getting paid to watch the young stars today (I did no work as I was intrigued to watch this in the office instead) there is no way in hell Cackatoo will be available at 21. If he is and we take him with Petracca then we re set.
Others to really take the eye were Ahern, Weller and DeGoey, but as mentioned probe won't be available

HitTheBoundary wrote:
damienc wrote:Young Reece Mckenzie, Warren's son. First time look for me. He is one very big unit. Amazingly quick for a guy his size. Did the 20 metre sprint at the combine in a tick under 3 seconds. Equal best in the clean hands competition. Good on the lead. Can clunk a contested mark. Reads the flight of the ball really well. Think Rhys Stanley only bigger and stronger. Not surprised we are interested. If he's available at pick 21 then I hope we grab him.
I know it's a highlights reel, but what impressed me was that he seemed to read the drop of the ball well, and was one strong grab. Almost reminded me of Plugger.......lol.

The Draft Machine is here http://www.afl.com.au/draft/draft-machine

Yeah when I saw that highlight reel I thought Plugger might have been visiting Lance Whitnall's mum 18 years ago. Love the way he plays. He looks a better prospect than Mc cartin from that.

Looked at McKenzie and Cockatoo - both impressive, especially the former. Very good hands. And seemed like a good kick for goal too. Cockatoo has that touch of elusiveness. Great backpedal too to get out of a tackle.

Also watched my cousin Liam Duggan! Would be a delicious irony if he became a Sainter!

Middo

Garlett and Conner Blakley will do me at 21/22 if one of them are there...Garlett impressive highlights !!

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!

Middo wrote:Garlett and Conner Blakley will do me at 21/22 if one of them are there...Garlett impressive highlights !!
Actually there was a very interesting article about Garlett in a Western Australian paper a few weeks back. He was asking people not too compare him with his cousin (who has a few indiscretions to his name).

Article mentioned how he had been living with his grandparents for some time now, to get away from some unruly influences of family, friends. His grandfather is a well respected Parson and Aboriginal Elder. Said he wanted to focus on his schooling and his football and to keep away from the wrong crowd. Didn't say exactly who they were, but reading between the lines it may have been other members of his extended family. But maybe I shouldn't make that assumption.

Media talk in WA is that Eagles are very keen to pick him up.

saintpeter

Reece McKenzie

Clean hands not one juggled mark, makes it look effortless.

reece has good straight line speed.................turn of the titanic though

kicking only ok

but can clunk them

struggled to impact against the better defenders of the TAC

chook23 wrote:reece has good straight line speed.................turn of the titanic though

kicking only ok

but can clunk them

struggled to impact against the better defenders of the TAC
Sounds like Stewart Loewe and I reckon he was a pretty good player for us. We have a Development Academy who would love to get their hands on McKenzie. What you see now can be improved upon and I think you can't go pass a bloke who can clunk marks.

Blakely looks like he has really good awareness around the stoppages and great breakaway speed. His kicking style reminds me of Farren Ray, though

stevie wrote:Looked at McKenzie and Cockatoo - both impressive, especially the former. Very good hands. And seemed like a good kick for goal too. Cockatoo has that touch of elusiveness. Great backpedal too to get out of a tackle.

Also watched my cousin Liam Duggan! Would be a delicious irony if he became a Sainter!

Duggan is a good player. Should be proud ...I would have been talking up how I taught him everything he knows.

stevie wrote:Looked at McKenzie and Cockatoo - both impressive, especially the former. Very good hands. And seemed like a good kick for goal too. Cockatoo has that touch of elusiveness. Great backpedal too to get out of a tackle.

Duggan is a good player. Should be proud ...I would have been talking up how I taught him everything he knows.
Lol yes! He's like my third cousin - his grandmother and my mum are first cousins.

My 7 year old asked the other day if I wanted him (my son) to play footy for the Saints or gridiron for the Niners!

I said the Saints but I'd be happy either way. He'll prolly end up as a Sun as he was born here on the Coast lol. Out of the mouth of babes...

SaintSimmo

I'm disappointed we don't have another pick around 10-15 would've loved Ahern, reckon he'll be a jet.

Sainter for life.

Using my extensive knowldge of this years draft, i.e. google and the draftmachine, I like these guys as possible rookies;

All are listed as "smokies" on the draftmachine.

MIDFIELDERS, prerequisite: pace and skill.

David Mennen
"Capable of busting games open with his run-and-carry, Mennen can play midfield but Bushies coach Darren Ogler primarily used him on a wing or off half-back. Still 17, Mennen is a smooth mover with the ball, handles it well, has pace, and can deliver from both sides of his body. Ogler says he's a "70 to 80m player" capable of influencing the outcome of games."

Campbell Floyd
"A midfielder blessed with pace and endurance, Floyd has improved immeasurably over the past two years with the Geelong Falcons' TAC Cup team. Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs are among the AFL clubs to have reached out to the 18-year-old, who played 18 games for the Falcons in 2014. Averaging 11 possessions, three marks and two tackles per game, he put in a solid showing at the combine."
And every side need a ranga from Geelong.

BACKMEN, prerequisite: height and skill.

Ryan Tester.
"Originally a midfielder at Under-16 level, Tester overcame hamstring problems to grow to 198cm and become a key defender. He played full-back for the Northern Knights this year and kept highly fancied draft prospect Peter Wright goalless in a game. He played full-back for Vic Metro at the Under-18 championships with good success."

All quoted comments ripped from here; http://www.afl.com.au/draft/draft-machine
View highlights of each in the "smokies" section.

HTB, those 3 guys are worth drafting purely on the potential of nicknames based on their surnames:

BLACK

PRETTY BOY

CUL

:roll: :lol: :D :mrgreen:

Reece McKenzie's highlights were disappointing.

Yes, one grab marks... but against small opponents. Slightly awkward kicking action too.

But the big issue for me... was there even one highlight that was not mark and then set shot for goal? :shock: Not even any ruckwork, for a bloke his size...

Brayshaw was also a bit underwhelming c/f what I've read. Another slightly awkward kicking action... and, peeps were having a go at Petracca for not hitting targets...? :shock: (From memory, our Christian hit every target when he had a moment to spot someone up.)

Would be a wonderful surprise if young Nakia C was still there at 21. I'd rate him as second only to Petracca of the blokes I've seen. Will be a star.

And little Caleb still has as good a highlights package as anyone. I hope we can land him. I'm confident that he can impact significantly.

Dave McNamara wrote:Reece McKenzie's highlights were disappointing.

Yes, one grab marks... but against small opponents. Slightly awkward kicking action too.

But the big issue for me... was there even one highlight that was not mark and then set shot for goal? :shock: Not even any ruckwork, for a bloke his size...
You can only beat the player you are on. He is 196cm and over 100kg. Hardly his fault or surprising if his opponents were smaller than him.
As for no ruckwork - it's an edited package. He may have rucked 90% of games but if it's not included in the video...

Anyway, fun to discuss at this time of year, but thankfully we have recruiters that see full games and know a players full ablilities/limitations. Lets hope they make good selections.

3 weeks to go.

HitTheBoundary wrote:Using my extensive knowldge of this years draft, i.e. google and the draftmachine, I like these guys as possible rookies;

David Mennen
"Capable of busting games open with his run-and-carry, Mennen can play midfield but Bushies coach Darren Ogler primarily used him on a wing or off half-back. Still 17, Mennen is a smooth mover with the ball, handles it well, has pace, and can deliver from both sides of his body. Ogler says he's a "70 to 80m player" capable of influencing the outcome of games."

Campbell Floyd
"A midfielder blessed with pace and endurance, Floyd has improved immeasurably over the past two years with the Geelong Falcons' TAC Cup team. Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs are among the AFL clubs to have reached out to the 18-year-old, who played 18 games for the Falcons in 2014. Averaging 11 possessions, three marks and two tackles per game, he put in a solid showing at the combine."

Ryan Tester.
"Originally a midfielder at Under-16 level, Tester overcame hamstring problems to grow to 198cm and become a key defender. He played full-back for the Northern Knights this year and kept highly fancied draft prospect Peter Wright goalless in a game. He played full-back for Vic Metro at the Under-18 championships with good success."

From that write up - I would be happy with Tester rookied - if the club had decided he was a guy they wanted - sounds like he is going to have some improvement and development in him

Personally, I like this a midfielder's draft

Scoop

HitTheBoundary wrote:Using my extensive knowldge of this years draft, i.e. google and the draftmachine, I like these guys as possible rookies;

David Mennen

Campbell Floyd

Ryan Tester.

I like them HTB....also check out Christian Buykx-Smith....193, very athletic and skillful...watch for his one-handed pick up and his clean handling of the wet footy...could play midfield...plus love the name!! :lol:

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

HitTheBoundary wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:Reece McKenzie's highlights were disappointing.

You can only beat the player you are on. He is 196cm and over 100kg. Hardly his fault or surprising if his opponents were smaller than him.
As for no ruckwork - it's an edited package. He may have rucked 90% of games but if it's not included in the video...

Anyway, fun to discuss at this time of year, but thankfully we have recruiters that see full games and know a players full ablilities/limitations. Lets hope they make good selections.
I agree with those points HTB. However, regardeless of where big Reece played, and on whom, no possessions won on the deck (was there even a tackle?)... in a highlights passage... is a major concern. :shock:

Anyways, we await what our recruiters will deliver for us. If they can go even close to matching last draft's effort, then we'll be well on the way. I'm still hoping (against the odds) for the Cockatoo. :D