Paige Cardona latest phantom draft

http://boundforglorynews.com/paige-card ... draft-5-0/

I think we are all 99% sure we are going the Pet Man with pick 1.

So I just left in the relevant possibilities for our picks 21, 22

Pick 17: Essendon – Jordan De Goey

Position: Midfielder
Height: 187 cm, Weight: 82 kg, DOB: 15/3/1996
Club: Oakleigh Chargers
Projected draft range: 10-20
Plays like: Jack Ziebell

Are you after a hard-nosed, contested ball-winning freak with an incredible overhead mark who can go forward and bag multiple goals? Then Jordan De Goey is your man. The cool De Goey made a fistful of his opportunity throughout the carnival, stamping himself as a favourite among draft experts. De Goey, a tough on-baller with a polished outside game, oozes class and x-factor: on top of that, he is the type of player who his teammates draw inspiration from. You need not look any further than his defining moment against Western Australia. De Goey hit an opponent player at full tilt with sheer ferocity, knocking the ball to ground level, before cracking in with a second effort to win the ball back and kicking a goal from outside 50 off two steps. The amount of energy in that piece of play personified exactly the type of player he is, and is why clubs are salivating over him as a draft prospect. De Goey has an impeccable sense of timing, a strong set of hands in close, and great ability overhead. He has a deep, penetrating kick that is dangerous around the arcs, and he runs through the middle where he can rack up a number of disposals in quick succession. He is a competitive beast who – although physical – has a sense of finesse and an array of sublime attributes that make him a unique prospect in this year’s draft. He was arguably the difference in Oakleigh’s Grand Final win, bagging three goals, taking eight marks and laying five tackles playing forward.

Pick 18: Sydney – Isaac Heeney (Academy Selection)

Pick 19: Carlton - Tom Lamb

Position: Forward/midfielder
Height: 192 cm, Weight: 83 kg, DOB: 19/10/1996
Club: Dandenong Stingrays
Projected draft range: 6-25
Plays like: Brendon Goddard

Lamb has catapulted up the draft rankings after a scintillating combine, where he ran a sub-10 minute three-kilometre run and a 15.7 beep test. On the back of that, Carlton look best placed to take the dreadlocked star whose season has been more of a shadow in comparison to his bottom-age year in 2013. As much as it separates the cream of the crop on offer towards the pointy end of the draft, the national carnival also has a habit of exposing areas of weakness in players. For Lamb, it showed us a frustrating conundrum in his game, where he could pull off something stunning, but follow it up with a butchered kick, a stray handball or simply an inability to apply himself for four quarters. Despite these inconsistencies, he still offers plenty. At ground level, Lamb is solid, given he tracks the ball well for a player of his size and uses the ball well by hand. His marking game, particularly contested, mirrors that of what key forwards are offering up this year. He reads the ball well in flight, and although he can sometimes double grab a mark rather than take it cleanly, he still marks well both overhead and out in front. Ideally, Lamb will become a full-time midfielder, where he can really influence a game: however, he could start his career at either end of the field. What I love about Lamb is that he often plays on when he can, backing his speed, athleticism and thumping kick to propel his team into attack. Above all, the big tick for Lamb is his versatility.

Pick 20: Essendon – Corey Ellis

Position: Midfielder/defender
Height: 185 cm, Weight: 76 kg, DOB: 09/10/1996
Club: Western Jets
Projected draft range: 10-25
Plays like: Andrew Gaff

The type of player who just makes things happen, Corey Ellis is a productive and busy midfielder who can really have a say in the outcome of a game. The blue collar midfielder is easily underrated, merely because there’s nothing flashy about him. He has an uncanny way of pulling off some unrealistic things with the way he can slip out of a tackle, spin through congestion, let fly of an elegant handball through the thickest of congestion and effortlessly kick the ball on either side of his body, regardless of the degree of difficulty. Ellis can really hit some tackles and win his own inside ball: however, he’s very much a playmaker. His marking around the ground is superb, as is the way he uses the ball going inside 50. He is a quality kick on both sides of his body, which is rare for a left footer. He has a great mix of inside and outside capabilities, and loves to get on his preferred left side where his slick ball use finds targets short or deep.

Pick 21: St Kilda – Jarrod Garlett

Position: Utility
Height: 177 cm, Weight: 72 kg, DOB: 18/08/1996
Club: South Fremantle
Projected draft range: 20-40
Plays like: Brad Hill

Arguably the draft’s biggest bolter after what was an incredible draft combine from the South Frematle product, where his endurance and speed were on full display, Jarrod Garlett is very similar to Hawthorn’s Bradley Hill. Although he’s the cousin of former Hawk Dayle Garlett, the pair are polar opposites. Garlett is lightning quick, albeit lightly framed and a fraction undersized. He is damaging, polished and is full of excitement, with his bread and butter being his dash, disposal efficiency and defensive work. He breaks lines with his run and carry, and is good enough around goal to cause headaches for the opposition. His National Championships games really threw him into the spotlight and onto the board for draft enthusiasts: subsequently, his combine results put him into late first-round calculations, looking a monty to be taken inside the top 30. More importantly, he overcame a calf injury just in time for the carnival – despite being a touch underdone – to really stamp himself as one of Western Australia’s best and most consistent. The carnival outlined his ability to play a number of varying roles, while also highlighting his vision and awareness at the top level. Equally as impressive was his desire to work back hard, focusing on the defensive side of his game. He uses the ball well off both sides, but his consistency in the game is something that he’s worked hard on to improve.

ROUND TWO

Pick 22: St Kilda – Reece McKenzie

Position: Key forward/ruckman
Height: 196 cm, Weight: 100 kg, DOB: 28/03/1996
Club: Northern Knights
Projected draft range: 25-60
Plays like: Travis Cloke

Reece McKenzie has his fans as much as he has his critics. His fans will say he’s a pack-crunching, contested marking monster who relishes the opportunity to throw his weight around, dominating marks inside 50 and kicking bags of goals in his sleep. Meanwhile, his critics will say he lacks agility, is a flat track bully who has only turned it on against weak opposition, relies too heavily on his strength and height at TAC Cup level to beat his opponent and has poor recovery capabilities. The upside is certainly worth talking about, particularly given McKenzie has played just the one year at TAC Cup level since making the permanent switch from basketball. His natural leap as well as his clean hands featured in the top 10 of the combine, while his speed of 2.97 seconds was the equal-second quickest during testing. McKenzie is still largely raw in facets, but his body positioning, contested marking and his nous to kick bags means he can turn a game on its head. He’s filled out for his age, and for a guy who wears his heart on his sleeve, he’s going to become a fan favourite with his passionate approach. Ideally, he’ll have to strip some weight to bring about his agility, allowing him to roam further up the ground which needs improvement. In turn, this will aid his ability to recover form a contest. He won’t be someone who comes on right away, so be prepared for a few years of development.

Pick 23: Greater Western Sydney – Alex Neal-Bullen

Height: 182 cm, Weight: 77 kg, DOB: 09/01/1996
Club: Glenelg
Projected draft range: 20-40
Plays like: Dane Swan

There’s plenty to love about Alex Neal-Bullen, who’ll slot in just nicely among the Giants’ ever-impressive midfield stocks. Unrighteously overlooked for an All-Australian jumper off the back of a super National Championships, Alex Neal-Bullen is one of the more fancied inside midfielders that offers bang for buck. Forced to play predominantly forward with cameo appearances through the midfield in 2013, Neal-Bullen has since stamped himself as a bonafide ball-winning machine for Glenelg. It’s difficult for some players to find another level post-championships, but that is exactly what Neal-Bullen has done. Coming into the championships, Neal-Bullen averaged 15 disposals per game, but has since averaged 24 per game on return. Neal-Bullen is a competitive beast: he hunts the ball, he’s assertive at the stoppages and his repeat tackling efforts – which usually stop the opposition in their tracks – makes him a coach pleaser. He is deceptively quick, and has a lot of Dane Swan about him in the way he collects the ball and arches his back, creating separation to break away from a contest. He is versatile enough to play off half back and half forward, and has a big tank that allows him to cover so much of the ground. He rated among the best in his endurance, running a third-best overall 3 km time trial of 9:54 at the combine, whilst he came equal-fifth with a level 15.2 beep test.

Pick 24: Greater Western Sydney – Jack Steele (academy selection)

Pick 25: North Melbourne – Nakia Cockatoo

Height: 188 cm, Weight: 84 kg, DOB: 23/10/1996
Club: NT Thunder
Projected Draft range: 15-40
Plays like: Daniel Wells

Nakia Cockatoo has been largely off the draft boards for the majority of the year, particularly given a horrible number of injury set backs this year. The bubbly AFL-AIS Academy member toured Europe with the squad, but was unable to partake in games given injury. He did however make a massive statement during the Allies vs. AFL Academy on Grand Final Day, winning best afield honours and kicking two impressive goals that was really a tasting platter from a base fitness level. Cockatoo rivals only Jarrod Pickett as the most explosive line-breaker on offer. Cockatoo can run and carry the ball for over 40 metres if you let him, and with a thumping and accurate kick on both sides of his body, he’s a bazooka amongst handguns. He’s blessed with fantastic evasiveness, either sidestepping opponents with ease or simply opting to run past them. His energy and urgency with the ball in hand means he can change games, but importantly he has the finesse to finish in front of goal that really weighs in on his productivity as a player. His combine results further pushed him up the order, finishing first overall with 29/30 for the kicking test, fourth overall in the 20-metre sprint (2.90 seconds), first overall in the repeat sprints (23.93 seconds), fifth in the standing vertical jump (73 cm) and sixth in the running vertical (89 cm).

Re: Paige Cardona latest phantom draft

I'd be very happy with the Cocky & McKenzie. Pick 41 could see any number of sliders or value for money investments, I like the sound of young bloke from SA with one eye (apologies I forgot his name, Pirate???) & of course Capiron but more for personal reasons plus his disposal & decision making are exceptional (& he did train with the Saints last summer)

1. Petracca
21 Cockatoo
22. Garlett.

That'll do me. Forget picking up young talls, we can always target Tomlinson or others in the next few seasons, we need midfield outside speed to blend with our inside grunt.

If McKenzie is still there you would imagine the Saints would grab him with pick 21/22 as we lack exactly that type of player...despite that some have him him going slightly later if you rank purely on talent.

White and Lee are both lighter types whereas McKenzie is a power forward "Hawkins type". Bruce is in-between.

1 on Petracca and 21/22 on another mid (or at least someone that can rotate through the midfield) given there still should be a good choice of such players there abouts, and as our midfield stocks still need boosting.

41 a luck dip re type based purely on what we see as value that is left.

Reece needs a year or two to develop...so that means that Lee and White can face off over the next season or two for a key forward/third forward role.

Sort of happy with Petracca as no. 1 but a but a little suspect about his short legs and his scope for improvement - bit of a man child

God I hope am I wrong but cant help think there is a couple of gems in the draft whose scope for improvement is more than the Petman - ie: Pendlebury like as in Laverde

Would be more than happy to take some speculative KPP like Oscar McDonald with one of our later picks (21 or 22) - that said if a Cockatoo is available with one of those picks then grab him - we need a bit of a XXXX factor

Really counting on Acres to come good - sick of other teams getting that speculative 15 to 40 draft pick becoming a champion ie: Fyfe/Mundy or Bartel/Kelly/Johnson or Sloane or Parker type

We are St. Kilda ..... we are the Saints .... So seriously F*** you footy gods how a bit a bit of friggin luck our way...............Please farkin pretty please ......... For once .....,...... You bastards .......... Please ............. You nice people ...... for once ....... pretty farkin please ........ you arseholes just in case you dont give a s*** .....,.. but please for what it is worth ........... Cheers!!!

sasaint

Can't see us not going for McKenzie as as others say, he's the type of player we haven't got. Would love to pinch Cockatoo but think he will be long gone. If not him then the best available, either defender or line breaker.

Patience young grasshopper

She doesn't know any more than any one else on here. What happened to the big statements she made about the huge trade that the Saints were going make at the draft. Ill take her wih a gain of salt. She has no idea of what Elshaugh is thinking.

magnifisaint wrote:She doesn't know any more than any one else on here. What happened to the big statements she made about the huge trade that the Saints were going make at the draft. Ill take her wih a gain of salt. She has no idea of what Elshaugh is thinking.
Jaxons ...... Likely ........ Likely .............. Likely ............. :roll: :roll:

magnifisaint wrote:She doesn't know any more than any one else on here. What happened to the big statements she made about the huge trade that the Saints were going make at the draft. Ill take her wih a gain of salt. She has no idea of what Elshaugh is thinking.
Extremely harsh.
Its one thing to know about trades (thats about inside connections with clubs) - completely another to know about the draft (she watches heaps of junior footy).

Her expertise is in the draft and young players - not trades and club politics.

I suggest you have a read how her predictions from last year turned out - She was a huge wrap for Lewis Taylor for instance. Showed up a few clubs recruiters on that one.

http://www.scpaige.com.au/phantom-draft ... r-edition/

Add to that - this post isnt about her predictions on who will go where - its about her assessment on players abilities.
The question is who sounds good?

Of course we cant know what Elshaugh is thinking.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 18 Oct 2014 12:25pm, edited 1 time in total.

Extremely harsh.
Its one thing to know about trades (thats about inside connections with clubs) - completely another to know about the draft (she watches heaps of junior footy).

I suggest you have a read how her predictions from last year turned out - She was a huge wrap for Lewis Taylor for instance. Showed up a few clubs recruiters on that one.

How many did she get wrong though?

Extremely harsh.

What do you mean by right or wrong? Its impossible to predict where every player will be chosen.
Arent we discussing players strengths/weaknesses and what our club need?

She puts in loads of work to assess players and write these reports and all certain people can say is 'how many are right or wrong'.

In any case - she got the first 13 right apart from switching Schara and Aish at 6 and 7. Not too friggin shabby.

The object and weight of the exercise is the player assessment - not the lucky dip.

Extremely harsh.

Yes .... Reckon she was a wrap for most of the top 30 players ......... Like most tendefoot (and professional) pundits

Devilhead wrote:
Extremely harsh.

Yes .... Reckon she was a wrap for most of the top 30 players ......... Like most tendefoot (and professional) pundits
Like to see you you knockers do better.
Cant handle a woman in footy?
Shes not even professional.
And its not about right or wrong or good or bad - she goes into detail about each players strengths and weaknesses. Something that takes time effort and watching games.
But hey easier to just slag her off from the couch I guess. :roll:

Yes Con some people just have to critisise.

Sounds a bit like jealousy for some reason. How many got wrong in a Phantom Draft :roll:

Anyways

Garlett

Neal Bullen

McKenzie

Cockatoo

Any two of those four would be good. Tom Lamb would probably be my pick but probably gone by then.

Well everyone sounds like an absolute champion in the making. Reads like a horoscope, bit there for everyone.
Adds a bit of fun to the debate but I know nothing more than previously, certainly aint going to cross my fingers based on that, just have to trust the club to know what they're doing, no doubt they know a bit more than her, or god help us.

desertsaint wrote:Well everyone sounds like an absolute champion in the making. Reads like a horoscope, bit there for everyone.
Adds a bit of fun to the debate but I know nothing more than previously, certainly aint going to cross my fingers based on that, just have to trust the club to know what they're doing, no doubt they know a bit more than her, or god help us.

well...they would all be pretty good footballers...the elite of the competition.....best 60- 70 young footballers in the country....state representatives....ais academy players amongst them...

Ghost Like wrote:I'd be very happy with the Cocky & McKenzie. Pick 41 could see any number of sliders or value for money investments, I like the sound of young bloke from SA with one eye (apologies I forgot his name, Pirate???) & of course Capiron but more for personal reasons plus his disposal & decision making are exceptional (& he did train with the Saints last summer)
You only need one eye to see, but you need two eyes to judge distance using parallax.
If you can't judge distances accurately you can't hit a target except kick goals.
He would have no peripheral vision to one side.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

desertsaint wrote:Well everyone sounds like an absolute champion in the making. Reads like a horoscope, bit there for everyone.
HE has not helped his saints since 1966.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

ace wrote:
HE has not helped his saints since 1966.

the lord helps those who help themselves.... :wink:

Assuming all were still available, from those assessments (for the fun of the exercise)...

De Goey for sure... a cheaper Petracca maybe...,
then Lambikins or Cockatoo. :?:

McKenzie could be pretty much anything, or pretty much, well, not much... :?:
but I'd probably go the on-ballers, coz we have plenty of forwards to sort through, but we need to get more quality into the midfield to keep Pluggs happy.
But gee, McKenzie would have to be a strong temptation... :lol:

Oh, and Garlett looks too slight... I'd prefer young Caleb... and he should be way 'cheaper' too.

ace wrote:
Ghost Like wrote:I'd be very happy with the Cocky & McKenzie. Pick 41 could see any number of sliders or value for money investments, I like the sound of young bloke from SA with one eye (apologies I forgot his name, Pirate???) & of course Capiron but more for personal reasons plus his disposal & decision making are exceptional (& he did train with the Saints last summer)
You only need one eye to see, but you need two eyes to judge distance using parallax.
If you can't judge distances accurately you can't hit a target except kick goals.
He would have no peripheral vision to one side.
Perhaps, I'm no optometrist but young Keenan appears to have made a mockery of that by his transition from forward to defence. Stiff to miss out on the AA full back position. Sounds like the kid has worked extremely hard to overcome this & compete with and beat some of the best.

Gartlett - can we handle an aboriginal from WA?

Whilst I love watching a bit of black magic do we have the support staff to handle their special needs???

<PM sent to poster re this comment>

Devilhead wrote:
Extremely harsh.

Like to see you you knockers do better.
Cant handle a woman in footy?
Shes not even professional.
And its not about right or wrong or good or bad - she goes into detail about each players strengths and weaknesses. Something that takes time effort and watching games.
But hey easier to just slag her off from the couch I guess. :roll:
Didn't see anyone mention her gender apart from you. She rates everyone. You will get a few right that way. By the way Emma Quale knows here stuff. I used to think she was a woman. maybe im wrong.