GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

Re: GWS now have 4, 6, 7 to trade for pick 1

jaxons wrote:
chook23 wrote:gone from likely to may occur...jaxons
The only way we are dealing 1 chook is with 4,6,7.
If GWS don't agree we won't be dealing it.
Is that likely or it may occur ffs!
I'm getting confused jaxons. If my maths is correct we will only use 4 live picks in the draft however being reluctant to give back 21/22 to GWS gives us 5 picks, if we include 4, 6 & 7. This suggests to me we are looking at bundling 21 & 22 for a lower pick?

Something like:
1 for 4, 6 & 7
21 & 22 for 15(ish)
41 for Membrey

Use picks 4, 6, 7 & 15(ish) in the national draft.

(Excluding rookie elevations).

jaxons

fugazi wrote:
jaxons wrote:
Jaxons...are they interested in pick 21/22 in the deal?

1 + 22 for 4,6,7 would seem ok to me

how many will we take in the draft?
Already commented on this earlier in this thread.
Either 4-5 picks.
Last edited by jaxons on Wed 15 Oct 2014 11:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

jaxons

jaxons wrote:
I'm getting confused jaxons. If my maths is correct we will only use 4 live picks in the draft however being reluctant to give back 21/22 to GWS gives us 5 picks, if we include 4, 6 & 7. This suggests to me we are looking at bundling 21 & 22 for a lower pick?

Something like:
1 for 4, 6 & 7
21 & 22 for 15(ish)
41 for Membrey

Having 5 picks inside 22 will cause a reshuffle of our primary list Old Mate.
Let's see what happens by deadline tomorrow.

jaxons wrote:

Something like:
1 for 4, 6 & 7
21 & 22 for 15(ish)
41 for Membrey

yes...two more players will have to be given the flick......you're the only one mentioning that...

I wouldn't mind keeping 41 for Caleb Daniel....maybe we'll take him earlier! Surely he won't last 'til the rookie draft!

Razzledazzle

If GWS want to cough up those draft picks I say in the blink of eye lid...sold. But we live in a real world and seems incredible that such a dream trade could materialize. Would also soften the loss of Rhys. Go Sainters !!

karnaby

If more players have to be delisted to hasten the influx of talented kids into the club then so be it. I trust that Pelchen etc are working with the best of intentions.

Stuffed if I want us to be propping up the ladder for any more time than is absolutely necessary.

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful
Red_White_Black

jaxons wrote:

Something like:
1 for 4, 6 & 7
21 & 22 for 15(ish)
41 for Membrey

on a scale 1-10 how likely do you think this deal will occur?

at some point tomorrow the GWS are going to ask themselves: do we go all in on Petracca?
If the main guy nods his head we'll pull off the round 1 heist of the decade....only gws of all of the 18 clubs would do the deal, no-one else could or would contemplate it.
Really interesting few hours tomorrow.

fugazi wrote:at some point tomorrow the GWS are going to ask themselves: do we go all in on Petracca?
If the main guy nods his head we'll pull off the round 1 heist of the decade....only gws of all of the 18 clubs would do the deal, no-one else could or would contemplate it.
Really interesting few hours tomorrow.
I reckon they are stupid enough to do it

I hope we don't leave it to the last minute........... like we did with Heath Black, when we were trying to trade him back to Freo
Freo & Saints finally agreed, but it was too late to get the paper work signed and in. So Blackkie had to remain another year as a Saint
Last edited by loris on Thu 16 Oct 2014 12:30am, edited 1 time in total.

I prefer to keep no 1 and have a superstar

Scoop

Interesting:

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

Scoop wrote:Interesting:
she makes s*** up.

magnifisaint wrote:I prefer to keep no 1 and have a superstar
Well that is the true Sainter tradition :D

Sadly we only have 1 flag to show for it :cry:

magnifisaint wrote:
Scoop wrote:Interesting:
she makes s*** up.

Im a big fan of her work ranking young players etc... But her tweeting/predictions are a little off the mark.... A week ago she said we were going to do a Buddy Franklin style deal... Now that aint happening. Nows she changed her tune to us doing a deal for picks... Im taking it with several doses of salt :D

jaxons wrote:

Something like:
1 for 4, 6 & 7
21 & 22 for 15(ish)
41 for Membrey

yes...two more players will have to be given the flick......you're the only one mentioning that...
Would the right honourable Stinger kindly quit his moaning?

I remember you blabbing on in a thread a few weeks ago about you not giving a stuff about one of your client's(!) "flowering" principles, you were only interested in cold hard facts.

But it seems that you do respect some principles after all and you are a big sentimental softie, when it is YOUR principles of course: to hell with others'.

Facts, eh? I'll give you facts:

Fact. We won under 5 games this year with our current list.
Fact. The other 17 AFL teams are using this period to improve their list.
Fact. Rhys Stanley has been on the list for many years and played under 3 different coaches without cementing a spot.
Fact. He is one of a handful of players on our list with any allure to other clubs.
Fact. We currently have 3 young ruckmen on our list, plus a wild ruck prospect who looks alright. Their upside is less known than Rhys'.
Fact. We have hired the list managers to improve our list.
Fact. We started the trade period with 2 picks under 40, meaning 38 of the best prospects in the country go directly to our opposition, who are already better than us.
Fact. All the players on the list - including the aforementioned Stanley - want to win more games than they did this year, as does the club, as do most of the fans.

I'd have prefered him to stay and I definitely think he'll improve at the cats. I also think there are mitigating circumstances with many of the above facts. I don't particularly like the idea of spending so many resources on a player, only to get rid of him when he starts coming good.

However drastic situations call for drastic measures, and I'm quietly confident that whoever we pick at 21 will have more positive and immediate influence at our club than Rhys did. Rhys was a late pick that has the tools but not the desire. No shame in that. If you consider different player types and roles, I'd say if we kept Rhys we'd have to have let Spencer go, or Jason H. Rhys would fetch the most at trade time without being a required player so it's him.

By the way don't feel sorry for him, he hasnt been delisted, hes been traded. He'll do alright out of this trade too. And if he doesn't, then he's never going to make it anyway. I reckon the Saints the Cats and Rhys all win.

Today's the day!!!

I must say that if we did give up one for 4,6 and 7 then it certainly makes sense that we wanted McCartin all the time so we get 2 bonus picks of 6 and 7. Speaking to an assistant coach of Melbourne at the races yesterday suggested to me they will pass on McCartin and Wright and will certainly take Brayshaw and probably Lever. Wouldn't give much away on Lever but just feeling. That leaves us with McCartin and if we wanted him anyway its a huge bonus to get 2 extra picks.

SEN repotredat 7am that GWS have offered pick 4 for Paddy Ryder, that may suitthem rather-than gunning for

As a contracted player Ryder would have to agree to go to GWS.

BackFromUSA wrote:As a contracted player Ryder would have to agree to go to GWS.

Even uncontracted players have to agree to a trade.

supersaints wrote:SEN repotredat 7am that GWS have offered pick 4 for Paddy Ryder, that may suitthem rather-than gunning for

Smokescreen. GWS are trying to bluff us into accepting less than 4, 6 & 7. The same as they did to the DOgs - "we will not trade Boyd under any circumstance!!!" ---- "Oh, if you're including pick 6 then"......

Sit tight, they don't want Ryder.....

Agreed
Smokescreen
This trade will happen (if it happens) at 1:59 me thinks!

Hang tough sainters

If pelican pulls off 4,6,7 even if a downgrading / shuffle of later picks occurs he has more than earned his wage this year