Official Saints Trade thread

Re: Official Saints Trade thread

ace wrote:
BackFromUSA wrote:Watched the videos of top 25 that Herald Sun rated.

See why the club wants 3 in top 20 or so.

Would be happy to convert pick 1 into 2 picks in top 12.

Gold Coast a likely target.

I prefer some of the other midfielders by foot rather than petracca who is more the strong bullocking type who is strong above his head and knees. Will be a gun. A+ grader. But not as good for our team overall as two A graders in the midfield. Or even an A grader and a b+ grader for the team.

Add 3 midfielders from inside the first 25 picks gives is 6 quality midfielders inside 2 years to add to Armitage and Steven (who each have 5+ years left of quality footy) with support from a bunch of guys picked on the 30s like Newnes. Murdoch, Saunders, Wright and rookies like Weller, Templeton etc.

Anyway that is what I would do this year.

3 early draft picks before 25 and pick up Membrey using pick 38-40.

Bank some salary cap and next year go hard $ wise at some gun free agents and out of contract players and keep our 2 early picks next year.
We traded pick 47 for the 2012 draft to acquire Trent Dennis-Lane from Sydney.
Sydney used that pick 47 to select Membery who can't force his way into the Sydney side.
We should be offering pick 60 for Membrey or if we offer pick 41 also swap our pick 22 for Sydney's pick 18.
I totally hear what ur saying but dont they have to use 18 on Heeney?
And Membrey is only 20yo. But 60 seems like the best outcome agree.

Sounds like we have a bidding war for pick 1.
Well done to the team!

Based on nothing more than 'gut feel', I reckon Port Adelaide will offer us their 1st round draft pick + a young midfielder for Stanley.

MC Gusto wrote:Sounds like we have a bidding war for pick 1.
Well done to the team!
Agree.

We have another week to go for them to all get into a big feeding frenzy.

Bit like springtime auctions in Melbourne - let's hope someone is irrational and gives a deal too good to refuse.

If essendon continue to be muppets and the Ryder deal falls over I can see this happening toy saint

now theyre saying he could retire then move then essendon get a comp pick
or some rubbish?
someone explain it...

BOMBSHELL

Ryan Griffin requests trade to GWS. GWS may get 1 from us and pass it to the Woofers!

Things cannot be right at the Kennel. Griffin, Higgins and The Coon Dog all want out. Massive rumours the coach is sh*t.

"G'day Armo, hope your holidays are going well, how would you feel about playing alongside your good mate Dusty?"

Well done to the team!
Well the Griffen move just lessened the demand for pick 1...and in particular how much GWS may have been willing to play overs.

Well done to the team!
Well the Griffen move just lessened the demand for pick 1...and in particular how much GWS may have been willing to play overs.
No sweat.

They can have the old gun mid; we'll settle for the young gun mid 8-)

Port Adelaide's Cam O'Shea could find his way to St Kilda in exchange for the Saint's second round pick, currently pick 22 the age reports. (12 October).

Red_White_Black

Gershwin wrote:Port Adelaide's Cam O'Shea could find his way to St Kilda in exchange for the Saint's second round pick, currently pick 22 the age reports. (12 October).
That facebook page have spun around the words.

"The Power also looked at including defender Cam O'Shea into a trade that would have seen him join St Kilda in exchange for the Saints' second round pick, 22.

That trade appeared unlikely on Sunday, with St Kilda wanting to strengthen its draft position, not weaken it, and the Power not trying to force the contracted O'Shea out."

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/e ... z3FvmnQ2le

Gershwin wrote:Port Adelaide's Cam O'Shea could find his way to St Kilda in exchange for the Saint's second round pick, currently pick 22 the age reports. (12 October).
If we are getting O'Shae for 22 it tells me we must be trading pick 1. How else can we get 3 picks under 22? Either that or its just another made up rumour. His name keeps bobbing up though. What is the Pelican up to?

Latest rumour:
Steven & pick 1 for picks 2 & 3

dragit wrote:Latest rumour:
Bad deal, I would be unhappy with this.

Surely they'd have to include pick 12 (from Tigers for Trengrove)....

Fidelis

So let's get this straight.

We lost our best midfielder and the best midfielder in the draft for two speculative picks, albeit 2 & 3.

Have to give more than that Dees

Faithful Even Unto Death

Cannot see that as true....that would have us with our pants down and bent over.

Absolutely shocking deal for the Saints.

It also does not multiple the picks.

LOL
id laugh in their face

unreal
crap deal

Cannot see that as true....that would have us with our pants down and bent over.

Its seems like a very fair deal to me. I wouldn't do it but it basically rates Steven as about a top 4 or 5 pick which seems pretty fair I would have thought.

But its not fair to the Saints

And its not official

Fair trade on paper but seems completely pointless.

I wouldn't do that trade.

Doesn't improve our overall list situation. Just swaps two good young players for two good young players. Sideways move.

They'd need to throw in pick 12

St Loxton

Bulls#!t trade rumour, No Deal, No Way. Maybe for Montagna.