Congrats StKFC !!

Re: Congrats StKFC !!

Fair comment Kris1

PakenhamSaint

Enrico_Misso wrote: - the face in the crowd
...(Never ceases to amuse me all the idiots that wave in Level 3 when they are obviously too stupid to realise the no-one has ever or will ever win from L3 because the prizes are handed out on the boundary - but still the morons wave every week).
- those retards trying to kick goals from 20m out to win some dodgy hardware
- the blonde bimbo asking stupid questions that she obviously hasn't a clue about
- kiss cam (oh how incredibly funny is that!)
- the Chemist Whorehouse thing whatever it is
- load music
- that d'head who screams his every word into the mike to try and generate excitement
- advertising
- more music
- more yelling
- more advertising

MINDLESS STUPID IRRELEVANT INANE NOISE

That Chemist Werehouse thing happens at all games at Etihad now.
saintdooley wrote:If we keep that noise radar thing after every goal I will kill someone, only clubs who are pathetic do that rubbish, surely we can make noise without a tv telling us what to do. Leave that garbage for the Adelaide home games.
Don't go to any North Melbourne game. They have same noise thing. It ticked me off after about 5 minutes.

BakesFan

Enrico_Misso wrote:Don't want to rain on the parade.
And maybe some of this is more AFL than StKFC related ....
But can we just get rid of all the C R A P before the game and during the breaks?

- the face in the crowd
...(Never ceases to amuse me all the idiots that wave in Level 3 when they are obviously too stupid to realise the no-one has ever or will ever win from L3 because the prizes are handed out on the boundary - but still the morons wave every week).
- the blonde bimbo asking stupid questions that she obviously hasn't a clue about
- load music
- that d'head who screams his every word into the mike to try and generate excitement
- advertising
- more music
- more yelling
- more advertising

Has it really come down to Generation X / Y can only enjoy going to the footy if they are bombarded with marketing/noise/"entertainment"?
Because constant noise and things happening means excitement so they must be having fun!
Are they really that pathetic, that incapable of conversation or reflection or absorbing the natural build up to a game?

Do we really have to pander to them?
Can't we just allow a natural build up to the game and allow fans to discuss what might happen, what just did happen, what will happen next, what the coach should do, who should be dropped etc. etc.
All the things that have made going to the footy enjoyable for 118 years.

Footy has gone from an exciting experience you share with friends, to steralised theatre where you are merely an observer making polite noises of support or dissent on cue.
Not hard to see why attendances are falling.
Perfect analysis, E_M!....You need to send that to our mate Gil at AFL House....... The 'Americanisation' of our beloved game is a disgrace..... I actually enjoy suburban/rural footy far more than the 'big league' these days.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)

BakesFan wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Don't want to rain on the parade.
And maybe some of this is more AFL than StKFC related ....
But can we just get rid of all the C R A P before the game and during the breaks?

- the face in the crowd
- load music
- advertising
- more music
- more yelling
- more advertising

Has it really come down to Generation X / Y can only enjoy going to the footy if they are bombarded with marketing/noise/"entertainment"?
Because constant noise and things happening means excitement so they must be having fun!
Are they really that pathetic, that incapable of conversation or reflection or absorbing the natural build up to a game?

Do we really have to pander to them?
Can't we just allow a natural build up to the game and allow fans to discuss what might happen, what just did happen, what will happen next, what the coach should do, who should be dropped etc. etc.
All the things that have made going to the footy enjoyable for 118 years.

Footy has gone from an exciting experience you share with friends, to steralised theatre where you are merely an observer making polite noises of support or dissent on cue.
Not hard to see why attendances are falling.
Perfect analysis, E_M!....You need to send that to our mate Gil at AFL House....... The 'Americanisation' of our beloved game is a disgrace..... I actually enjoy suburban/rural footy far more than the 'big league' these days.

I cant stand that stuff either but im 52 and EM is even older. It doesnt matter what we like, it matters what the young kids like and if they like that stuff then it should continue. I take it you are at least 40 years of age as well. It maybe harsh but mine and your opinion dont matter much at all. As for local footy being more enjoyable well i think crowd numbers at local games and VFL type games show that may not be helping to get people to those games. Reckon hawks and Swans supporters are liking the game at the moment.

30,000 plus at a game when we were 18th on the ladder - fantastic
less than a thousand Bulldogs supporters at the game - great
Feral support for us throughout the game, barracking loudly every time Lenny went near the ball - brilliant
No chance of winning but the joint still packed and everyone screaming right until the end - priceless.

Reckon the last two home games against the Bulldogs and Freo are really positive pointers to the future. We'll probably lose two of the next three by close to a hundred points but can't wait to see who we get at pick number 1 - even if it turns out to be Boyd - or maybe especially if it turns out to be Boyd.
Good game too, plenty of highlights.

The Fireman wrote:being told to make noise .....ffs :oops:
totally agree...........fireman

Thought it was cringe worthy.....................crap
Well It works. So good idea and plus the loud bangs make it..

People complaining about the interactive stuff at the ground, the music and what not.. Are you guys serious. Its about creating an event out of the day. A game of footy these days isn't enough. Its the way it has evolved. You want something to keep kids entertained etc. How boring would it be if it just had a blank screen and no music or anything. How boring honestly.. Cant keep expecting it to be the same as pre 2000. We have more technology now and its part of the future.

We should have more pre game, more interactive pre games and half time. We need to really make going to the footy much much more then just a game...

samuraisaint wrote:30,000 plus at a game when we were 18th on the ladder - fantastic
Feral support for us throughout the game, barracking loudly every time Lenny went near the ball - brilliant
No chance of winning but the joint still packed and everyone screaming right until the end - priceless.

Reckon the last two home games against the Bulldogs and Freo are really positive pointers to the future. We'll probably lose two of the next three by close to a hundred points but can't wait to see who we get at pick number 1 - even if it turns out to be Boyd - or maybe especially if it turns out to be Boyd.

How do we get Boyd. Im still unsure he can be traded but lets say he can. How do we get him then?

samuraisaint wrote:30,000 plus at a game when we were 18th on the ladder - fantastic
The interstate teams get that for all their home games.

Hillbillies get that at all their Kardinia Park games.

We used to get that at all our Moorabbin home games.

We could again... that's just another reason why we need our own home ground.

The kiddies want pregame entertainment? Fair enough too. We could show them what real pre-game entertainment was... we could once again put on our VFL game before the seniors... if we had our own home ground.

clarky449 wrote:We should have more pre game, more interactive pre games and half time. We need to really make going to the footy much much more then just a game...
Why?
What's wrong with footy?
Why do we need American gimmicks?

If Gen Y can't handle silence/blank space then they can get their phones out and update their facebook profile, check out the latest vital revelations on Twatter or play games.
Just allow those of us who want to interact with real people or contemplate in silence to do so.
Everyone happy!

How do we get Boyd. Im still unsure he can be traded but lets say he can. How do we get him then?
Swap to GWS -#1 pick for Boyd - done dirt cheap

samuraisaint wrote:

Swap to GWS -#1 pick for Boyd - done dirt cheap

So they are going to keep him one year and then swap him so they can go into a draft where there is no clear number one. And as you said done dirt cheap so why would they do that?

Dave McNamara wrote:
The interstate teams get that for all their home games.

Hillbillies get that at all their Kardinia Park games.

We used to get that at all our Moorabbin home games.

We could again... that's just another reason why we need our own home ground.

The kiddies want pregame entertainment? Fair enough too. We could show them what real pre-game entertainment was... we could once again put on our VFL game before the seniors... if we had our own home ground.
Even though I am only old enough to remember us playing Fitzroy there as the 'away' side (46 yo), I always preferred the Junction Oval to Moorabbin. Much better ground for watching footy.

it's strange that you need a "manufactured" incentive to get the crowd up and behind the team. Then again, we all know where we are at in 2014.

LENNY LEADS THE WAY

3rd qtr the great Lenny Hayes goes back and slots a goal. The crowd erupts, most portions of the crowd continue to stand and applaud. Was a great moment. Ball goes back to the centre and the crowd finally goes quiet and up comes on the screen "make some noise" really not needed

100 percent behind the saints 100 percent of the time

I concur

seano1

I remember the grand stand at Moorabbin when we scored the people sitting there would make noise it was feared by the other teams and loved by ours....but oh don't make a noise at Eithad...Christ the people in front of us didn`t make one bit of noise through the whole game....ffs get a live...this is what Burke wrote about last week.........you have to try something or the game is dead if a bit of music helps so be it ...this is what we bring money in the door and help our club and the other clubs survive.

LENNY LEADS THE WAY wrote:3rd qtr the great Lenny Hayes goes back and slots a goal. The crowd erupts, most portions of the crowd continue to stand and applaud. Was a great moment. Ball goes back to the centre and the crowd finally goes quiet and up comes on the screen "make some noise" really not needed
Agree but I'm not a kid or a teenie bopper.

My 9 yr old daughter liked some of the gimmicky shyte and I'm sure many youngsters would in general. You gotta pander to a wide range of ages not just us old Internet fuddy duddys!

LENNY LEADS THE WAY wrote:3rd qtr the great Lenny Hayes goes back and slots a goal. The crowd erupts, most portions of the crowd continue to stand and applaud. Was a great moment. Ball goes back to the centre and the crowd finally goes quiet and up comes on the screen "make some noise" really not needed

My 9 yr old daughter liked some of the gimmicky shyte and I'm sure many youngsters would in general. You gotta pander to a wide range of ages not just us old Internet fuddy duddys!
The reason our crowds have dropped off is because the ruddy duddies don't like all that crap. Let's face it 9 year olds are not the demographic that is going to save the Saints!

Actually they probably are bernie, they are the future

SainterK wrote:Actually they probably are bernie, they are the future
Not the ones I know! They get dragged along by the family and in a couple of years they'll be doing whatever tomorrow's teens will be doing.

The reason our crowds have dropped off is because the ruddy duddies don't like all that crap. Let's face it 9 year olds are not the demographic that is going to save the Saints!
My 6 and 8 year olds loved it. You might be surprised, but if they don't want to go to the footy, it's hard for us all to go. One of us had to stay home a few games this year when the younger one flat out refused to go. He didn't want to watch us lose again.

Yes, we all did it tough in the 70s and 80s, and we could insist they suck it up and drag them along, but it's not worth the angst (and the wrath of those sitting around you) to make them go if they're miserable. And if our four reserved seats not used are multiplied out by others in the same boat (coupled with shite late afternoon fixtures) you can understand in part why attendances start to look dismal.

So whilst I couldn't give a continental about the "face in the crowd" or the quiz every week, I can promise you it is the one of the highlights of the game for the kids, who are up their on their toes in their "Eli" wigs just waiting to get noticed. Same for those sitting around us. And when we're likely bottom dwellers for the next few years, any distraction that means they stay focused on the footy and not on my phone is ok in my book.

When they're old enough to be purists, they can complain about the faux American atmospherics to their hearts' content.
Last edited by SemperFidelis on Tue 12 Aug 2014 12:32am, edited 1 time in total.

SemperFidelis wrote:

My 6 and 8 year olds loved it. You might be surprised, but if they don't want to go to the footy, it's hard for us all to go. One of us had to stay home a few games this year when the younger one flat out refused to go. He didn't want to watch us lose again.

Yes, we all did it tough in the 70s and 80s, and we could insists they suck it up and drag them along, but it's not worth the angst (and the wrath of those sitting around you) to make them go if they're miserable. And if our four reserved seats not used are multiplied out by others in the same boat (coupled with shite late afternoon fixtures) you can understand in part why attendances start to look dismal.

So whilst I couldn't give a continental about the "face in the crowd" or the quiz every week, I can promise you it is the one of the highlights of the game for the kids, who are up their on their toes in their "Eli" wigs just waiting to get noticed. Same for those sitting around us. And when we're likely bottom dwellers for the next few years, any distraction that means they stay focused on the footy and not on my phone is ok in my book.

When they're old enough to be purists, they can complain about the faux American atmospherics to their hearts' content.
I know what you're on about, but crap like that is not going to make kids keep going to the footy. You hit the nail right on the head when you mentioned your phone. Don't bring it out at the footy. Another thing, when did kids start deciding they would not go where the family is going?

SemperFidelis wrote:

Yes, we all did it tough in the 70s and 80s, and we could insists they suck it up and drag them along, but it's not worth the angst (and the wrath of those sitting around you) to make them go if they're miserable. And if our four reserved seats not used are multiplied out by others in the same boat (coupled with shite late afternoon fixtures) you can understand in part why attendances start to look dismal.

I know what you're on about, but crap like that is not going to make kids keep going to the footy. You hit the nail right on the head when you mentioned your phone. Don't bring it out at the footy. Another thing, when did kids start deciding they would not go where the family is going?
When my Dad took us to the footy, I was lucky to get a chewed up pencil and a 50 cent footy record. I used to drive him mad because when I didn't know who kicked the goal, I'd stick it in the rushed column. "You can't rush a goal" he'd say, at the same time as telling me to be quiet because he couldn't hear the commentary on the trannie.

The problem was, he was taking me to Essendon games. Mum was a Saint, but we almost never got to go because we were so shite as a team in that era.

FWIW, I don't ever let my kids have the phone (or anything else) at the footy. They get the record and a less chewed up pencil. But even the record has more in it for "entertainment" than back in the so called good old days. Because like it or not, every form of entertainment has to compete these days with the almighty power of the internet. And the kids sitting around you whose parents arm them with an iPad or DS. So my 6yo drives me mad asking for the phone, the same way I drove Dad mad asking which Daniher scored the goal.

And on that theme, just let me know where you're sitting next year, and I'll zip him over to you next time he tires of a 6 goal losing streak on a cold Sunday night.

It's funny. My 9 yr old loves playing minecraft on the iPad but never suggests bringing it to the footy. Having a hot dog and maybe a soft drink is a big incentive also. Remember all kids love the crap food element. Like going to a party and filling up on party food!