Patrick McCartin

Re: Patrick McCartin

borderbarry wrote:Who was the forward that kicked ten goals in the TAC cup last weekend? Pretty sure it was not one of the big names.
Reece McKenzie from the Northern Knights.

brett anderson's phantom draft

1. saints...mccartin
2. lions...wright
3. dees...petracca
4. gws...brayshaw
5. doggies...durdin
6. blues...marchbank
7. tiges...ahern
8. west coast...pickett
9. crows..lever
10. suns...laverde
11..roos...weller
12. filth...moore
13. suns...ellis
15. freo ... lamb
16. port...goddard
17. hawks ...dugga
18. swans...heeney
19. cheaters...blakely
20. gws...wigg

mckenzies fortunes may well rise...but goddard, lamd and clem smith have all dropped out of the top ten....

spot on

I saw a bit of the last champs game. Did some great things that make you think his gonna be a gun. I like the look of him. Does look a bit chubby atm but once he gets into an afl system that's only gonna improve him. I havent seen any paracca but would be happy with him too. Anyone have any links to any highlights of the boys? About the only thing to look forward too atm

lloyd21

[quote="Old Mate"][quote="borderbarry"]Would it pay the Saints to ignore McCartin, Wright.

I personally dont see us ignoring McCartin if we end up with pick 1 as it looks we will. I certainly wouldn't be against picking 2 x key forwards in this draft. We could have our next Roo/Kosi or Buddy/Roughy combo for the next decade plus. It will just depend on how we and other clubs rate the talls. McCartin clear pick 1 so that's a no brainer.

Think the whispers i have heard around club are McCartin would have to test poorly not to be no 1 pick. 8-) Old Mate.

Will depend on how trade period goes too personally would like Petracca but McCartin is a very impressive kid.

Dave McNamara wrote:I realise that everything is hypothetical till a bloke is well into his career, but aren't there meant to be better key forwards coming up in the 2015 draft??? Anyone able to shed some light on that?

Also, the GWoganS will be struggling to hang onto all their big key forwards come 2015's draft.

I really want Petracca (though am open to Con being able to convince me that he's already peaked) and would love to snare the wild child Lamby (perfect replacement to spark things up on Mad Monday once CJ is gone).
There are no certain or clear stand outs.
burton from sa looks good as does Dodge from tassie but still a long way off.
My theory is see how they test at draft camp but reality is plugger may not have tested awesome.
Still half a season to play. Lets see how they play out the season I guess.
What do you mean. Plugger would have broken all the records.

And the CD's, the turntable and the CD player.

damienc wrote:He's exactly what we need. A big bodied, aggressive KPP. A natural tall forward who is not afraid to push opponents out of the way. If we got him and Petracca then we will have done well. One and two in the draft I reckon. They will both be on the club's list. We might have to settle for just McCartin which would be a shame.
I think we should just tell the AFL that we need to build a new team like Gold Coast and GWS and then take picks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15.
And then take the 12 best kids aged 17.67+ at this years draft, ahead of the next draft.

I am sure Andrew Demetriou would agree that is what is needed to build new team.

ace wrote:
damienc wrote:He's exactly what we need. A big bodied, aggressive KPP. A natural tall forward who is not afraid to push opponents out of the way. If we got him and Petracca then we will have done well. One and two in the draft I reckon. They will both be on the club's list. We might have to settle for just McCartin which would be a shame.
I think we should just tell the AFL that we need to build a new team like Gold Coast and GWS and then take picks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15.
And then take the 12 best kids aged 17.67+ at this years draft, ahead of the next draft.

I am sure Andrew Demetriou would agree that is what is needed to build new team.
Sad thing is they would be all over it on the condition of relocation.

creepypolar

Paddy kicked 7 today! :D :D

creepypolar wrote:Paddy kicked 7 today! :D :D
Like. :D

creepypolar wrote:Paddy kicked 7 today! :D :D
okay then....he's signed sealed and almost delivered.... :D :wink:

spot on

I know a midfielder seems safer but we really need a talented tall forward. sounds like the next years draft has top talented mids. im sure we will having another early selection

Heidelberg_Saint

Petracca kicked 5 and best on ground. These two surely are neck and neck.

Heidelberg_Saint wrote:Petracca kicked 5 and best on ground. These two surely are neck and neck.

good to know...thanks...

Dear Gil, can you please give your beloved Saints Petracca and McCartin? Sincerely, St Ick

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-05-14/t ... s-to-watch

some prospect player summaries including McCartin and Petracca

interview with Petracca and some footage

spot on

millarsaint wrote:http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-05-14/t ... s-to-watch

some prospect player summaries including McCartin and Petracca

interview with Petracca and some footage
thanks mate, he looks very impressive too

Given the first pick is ours for the taking maybe we should ask the AFL if we can pick him next week.

He looks impressive but in AFL he looks a tall goal kicking mid type (which would be great) but I do wonder given our so called tall forward back up options to Riewoldt aren't exactly starring if we just need the best genuine tall forward??

Teflon wrote:He looks impressive but in AFL he looks a tall goal kicking mid type (which would be great) but I do wonder given our so called tall forward back up options to Riewoldt aren't exactly starring if we just need the best genuine tall forward??
Don't worry, if reports are true, we've signed on Tom Lee for 2 years. And we have Siposs and Stanley. Do we need anything more than that lol?

Surely at the start of the season they would have taken Petracca with hopeful development of Stanely, lee and siposs and glimpses from White

Unfortunately Stanley continues to tease ( although has been better) Siposs and Lee major disappointments ,especially Lee ( we gave up pick 12 for him)
Therefore as the last month has shown we need McCartin

older saint wrote:Surely at the start of the season they would have taken Petracca with hopeful development of Stanely, lee and siposs and glimpses from White

Unfortunately Stanley continues to tease ( although has been better) Siposs and Lee major disappointments ,especially Lee ( we gave up pick 12 for him)
Therefore as the last month has shown we need McCartin
Please dont say we gave up pick 12 for Lee. Sheesh that really gets to me

SMS

NO. Pick this bgrade player and we will be again the laughing stock of the comp. So many GREAT midfielders this year ... not the year for KPPs so why get them? We can trade later or get KPPs when they are awesome in a draft!

SMS wrote:NO. Pick this bgrade player and we will be again the laughing stock of the comp. So many GREAT midfielders this year ... not the year for KPPs so why get them? We can trade later or get KPPs when they are awesome in a draft!

And you have seen these players play exactly how many games?