Suggestion Box

The place to discuss issues with administrators and moderators. Suggestions welcome. All bans will be posted here and the banning appeals process will be held in this forum.

Suggestion Box

Please use this thread for suggestions to improve Saintsational.

Suggestions only. No commentary or debate on a suggestion but counter suggestions welcome.

e.g. Suggestion: we need Tapatalk

Counter suggestion might be an alternate mobile device option.

Thanks

Simon

Re: Suggestion Box

Simon,

Log In - even though I tick the box to 'stay logged in' to SS, once I close the window it loses that logged in status and I have to log in afresh every time I want to view the site. Time consuming. Can the log in process be streamlined?

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

SENsaintsational wrote:Simon,

Log In - even though I tick the box to 'stay logged in' to SS, once I close the window it loses that logged in status and I have to log in afresh every time I want to view the site. Time consuming. Can the log in process be streamlined?
I don't have that problem SEN..... could it be a setting on your computer?

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Apply SIGNIFICANT bans on posters who serially hijack threads, causing them to degenerate from an interesting discussion to a petty personal squabble.

GrumpyOne wrote:

I have that problem sometimes and I am not sure why. Possibly because I am logged in on so many devices constantly (a rare compliment for this site this week!) SEN, if you happen to have a computer that can remember logins and passwords as well (e.g. Mac), that saves time if you have to re-login.

Rather than continually trying to plug a leaky ship (this seemingly broken hosting platform) why not consider migrating the whole site to something modern that works, and is far more user friendly for both the admin and posters.

If the current site can't even allow new people to join, why stay with this platform?

For example, bigfooty now uses xenForo, which uses responsive webdesign (so it automatically resizes for any browser site - including mobiles) and is very easy to style - so we could have SS with a totally Saints look on a platform that actually works.
http://xenforo.com/

Rather than have to add all the suggestions people will list in this thread - just go to a modern platform which already has all these things. A big shift perhaps, but in the long run it could mean less work and a better user experience for all.

GrumpyOne wrote:

Could be! That's a language I struggle to understand!!

"At least one new post has been made to this topic. You may wish to review your post in light of this."

Why would anyone bother taking notice of this message on a fan forum. It's a fan forum. People want to post their point of view.

magnifisaint wrote:"At least one new post has been made to this topic. You may wish to review your post in light of this."

Why would anyone bother taking notice of this message on a fan forum. It's a fan forum. People want to post their point of view.
This annoys the crap out of me during match threads. Generally people post in a cluster, after goals or incidents. So most posts get postponed, meanwhile a game is continuing on. Last thing you want is to wait and check to see if your post successfully came through.

Could we have an option to like posts? So you effectively don't have to post to show someone you agree.

SainterK wrote:Could we have an option to like posts? So you effectively don't have to post to show someone you agree.

Good idea....plus maybe a dislike as well

Not a suggestion but a tech prob: since joinng I have never been able to set an avatar hence why I have a photo in my sig.

Tried all the options but none ever work

Hi Simon, sure, there's lotsa' issues,
but IMHO by far the two most important
are getting new members onto Saintsational and getting the Saintas onto the Junction Oval.

Any help on these issues would be greatly appreciated. 8-)

A 'general AFL' stickied thread on the main board to discuss non-st kilda footy. It would save non-st kilda threads being created and I find he opposition forum is hardly used.

Keep the bans coming.

That might bring back a few posters that gave up in disgust.

SainterK wrote:Could we have an option to like posts? So you effectively don't have to post to show someone you agree.
like!

magnifisaint wrote:
like!
BF has that.

Simon is trying to turn SS into another BF.

axcellence

Agree with a lot of suggestions above.

- same problem with staying logged in should be fixed.
- escalating penalties. So if a banned poster comes back and starts the same old stuff, a longer ban.
- easier ignore poster buttons. I don't know how many people here know about the friend/foe system on SS.
- peeps who avoid swear filters by misspelling penalised
- Ability to post polls (hello big footy)
- kill the quote in quote in quote system. Single quote system please.
- repeat on other features noted above, particularly xenforo or equivalent, likes and tapatalk.

Like the idea of a 'like' buton.
Agree with others who advocate longer bans on abusive posters or just outright banning for good for serial abusers.
We definitely need more posters. Top priority should be fixing the joining up process.

st.byron wrote: Agree with others who advocate longer bans on abusive posters or just outright banning for good for serial abusers.
not arguing right / wrong of proposition.

execution of that 'proposition' would need careful consideration.

imo ... community wide participation in that type of decision making would be key.
... strengthens the community as it makes 'big' decisions
via the responsibility of having partaken in the decision making.

Old Mate wrote:A 'general AFL' stickied thread on the main board to discuss non-st kilda footy. It would save non-st kilda threads being created and I find he opposition forum is hardly used.
Great idea.

Principle of Q'uo wrote:
st.byron wrote: Agree with others who advocate longer bans on abusive posters or just outright banning for good for serial abusers.
not arguing right / wrong of proposition.

execution of that 'proposition' would need careful consideration.

imo ... community wide participation in that type of decision making would be key.
... strengthens the community as it makes 'big' decisions
via the responsibility of having partaken in the decision making.
I get what you're saying. Concentration of power is open to abuse.
Nevertheless. Abusiveness has no place here I reckon. If playing the man and an unworkable joining process are the two key factors turning people off SS then they both need to be fixed.
Need to note here that IMO, BFUSA has done an excellent job of applying the rules in the past 6 months or so and since then, the abuse on the site has significantly reduced.

Yep.

community or fuedal loyalties i suppose.
one is based on unity the other on seperation.

nonetheless ... "concentration of power IS open to abuse"
... even accidently.

(re the context of permanent bannings of a poster ... not just his current id )

Hi Simon, can be please have this post stickied?
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=85535&sid=399eeac75 ... 8#p1457330

Ta.

Dave McNamara wrote:Hi Simon, can be please have this post stickied?
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=85535&sid=399eeac75 ... 8#p1457330

Ta.
Why hide it in the stickies?