5 best kicks on goal

1. billy young
2. jason heatley
3 .tony lockett
4. nicky winmar
5. stephen milne

Re: 5 best kicks on goal

1. Lockett

For set shots reliably:
1. Lockett
2. Heatley

and a gap to the rest, but a lot of good ones in there (and Tom Lee started to show some good technique late in the season)

1. Jason Heatley.
2. Tony Lockett.
3. George Young.

Daylight to the next best.

Capuano

Rooey. 8-)

Daniel Wulf, Justin Plapp and the great Tim Elliot deserve a mention.

"Whoa Doc, this is heavy." - Marty McFly following Ross Lyon's departure
martymcfly_86

As does this:

"Whoa Doc, this is heavy." - Marty McFly following Ross Lyon's departure

5 best kicks on goal.... currently playing for Saints

Adam Schneider (the most obvious now that Milney and Kosi are retired)

Tommy Lee (I think he's laid the foundations with his routine)

Nick Reiwoldt ( the skill with shots on his non preferred taken into account...as well as the volume of career goals )

Lenny Hayes (who could ever forget the bomb from 55 out in the 2010 GF)

Rhys Stanley (similar to Schneids he has the ability to get the job done if his body can just hold up...but imo HE NEEDS TO BE SELECTED as a key forward AND HE WILL SHINE)

....sorry...I know it's not what you meant with OP

Jack Steven and David Armitage both love kicking snags and both equally as good at it too :)

Scollop wrote:5 best kicks on goal.... currently playing for Saints

Nick Reiwoldt ( the skill with shots on his non preferred taken into account...as well as the volume of career goals )

Rhys Stanley (similar to Schneids he has the ability to get the job done if his body can just hold up...but imo HE NEEDS TO BE SELECTED as a key forward AND HE WILL SHINE)

Jack Steven and David Armitage both love kicking snags and both equally as good at it too :)
tha's fine mate...you have added value to the discussion....

PADDLEPOP1001

George Young
Heater
Plugger
Schniderman
Milney on the run

PADDLEPOP1000
resaintlee

Scollop wrote:5 best kicks on goal.... currently playing for Saints

Only include Schneider when not playing finals or in pressure games.

Johnny Favier

IMO from 80s onwards...

1. Heatley
2. Lockett
3. Nicky Winmar
4. G-Train
5. Craig O'Brien

Kicks ***AT*** goal!

Sorry, but that is a pet hate.

Commentators are saying it all the time now, especially Alistair Lynch.
It is not a shot on goal. It is a shot at goal.

And yes, I know it's anal...but it is a pet peeve.
Ranks right up there with the incorrect use of "invite" instead of "invitation".

But my five best shots at goal are:
Plugger. From anywhere.
Heatley. Gun Barrel Straight!
Brent Guerra. I just don't recall him missing.
Brendon Goddard.
Winmar. Very accurate.

Yep, thread needs more Gehrig. At his best in 04 he kicked 103.39 - 72% is pretty solid.

Life Long Saint wrote:Kicks ***AT*** goal!

Sorry, but that is a pet hate.

Commentators are saying it all the time now, especially Alistair Lynch.
It is not a shot on goal. It is a shot at goal.

And yes, I know it's anal...but it is a pet peeve.
Ranks right up there with the incorrect use of "invite" instead of "invitation".

But my five best shots at goal are:
Plugger. From anywhere.
Heatley. Gun Barrel Straight!
Brent Guerra. I just don't recall him missing.
Brendon Goddard.
Winmar. Very accurate.

best shot ON goal i have ever seen bar none was billy young........he never missed ..even from the boundry....

...played 94 games in really crap sides from 1956 to 1961(when we were getting half decent) for 274 goals....he was a 179cm full-forward, 73 k's dripping wet.......

he had an "uncanny feel "for kicking goals......according to russ and jim...

he is credited with inventing the reverse punt shot at :wink: :wink: :wink: ....goal....

bergholt wrote:Yep, thread needs more Gehrig. At his best in 04 he kicked 103.39 - 72% is pretty solid.

yep...i tend to forget the more modern footballers......milne would'nt make my top ten for set shots but around the corner, there were none btter......i also rate nicky and george young....

Kosi was one of the best set shot players at the club in the past decade...

he could be a bit iffy at times...as his last game showed......

martymcfly_86 wrote:As does this:

Amid all the carry-on, gotta' love the G-train's casual mark of that kick (behind the line), and even more casual handball to the ump.

Freeing Fraser up from defence about 2/3's through 2003 was our turning point back then. Mid 2000's... he was damn good!

He didn't enjoy when the flooding came in, but I reckon this last year or two..., with the strict enforcement against holding, arm chopping and high contact whilst spoiling, would having Frase licking his lips again... :D

From another fan of Billy Young. Kicked 56 goals three years in a row. Was the leading goalkicker (Coleman medalist) with just 56 goals, so they were hard to get at that time.
For mine.
1. Plugger
2. Bill Young
3. Jason Heatley
4. G-Train
5. Kevin Roberts

Unforgiven

Not much G-Train love? The carpet snake was one of the best I've seen, you to stream around on that little curved run up, and bam!

Carpe Diem

borderbarry wrote:From another fan of Billy Young. Kicked 56 goals three years in a row. Was the leading goalkicker (Coleman medalist) with just 56 goals, so they were hard to get at that time.
For mine.
1. Plugger
2. Bill Young
3. Jason Heatley
4. G-Train
5. Kevin Roberts

i was going to do another one....best saints field kicks , kevin roberts was to be included there....so here goes

!. dave mcnamara
2. jimmy ross
3. kevin roberts
4. john mcintosh
5. george young

some beautiful left foot kicks there.....the pelican would love them......kevin could kick a dropkick 75 metres......

borderbarry wrote:From another fan of Billy Young. Kicked 56 goals three years in a row. Was the leading goalkicker (Coleman medalist) with just 56 goals, so they were hard to get at that time.
For mine.
1. Plugger
2. Bill Young
3. Jason Heatley
4. G-Train
5. Kevin Roberts

i was going to do another one....best saints field kicks , kevin roberts was to be included there....so here goes

!. dave mcnamara
2. jimmy ross
3. kevin roberts
4. john mcintosh
5. george young

some beautiful left foot kicks there.....the pelican would love them......kevin could kick a dropkick 75 metres......

Stinger Roberts could not drop kick 75 metres at all. If he kicked it 55 metres it would have been a great kick. Unsure how you know McNamara was a great field kick. He may have kicked it long but im unsure place kicks would be good in an actual game. Think he may have been a better coach than a field kick.

Tony Lockett
Jason Heatley