Animal Enclosure rules VS Fan Forum Rules here?

The place to discuss issues with administrators and moderators. Suggestions welcome. All bans will be posted here and the banning appeals process will be held in this forum.

Animal Enclosure rules VS Fan Forum Rules here?

Hi all

We feel we have now given the new Animal Enclosure and radical rules a chance to bed down ... And now is the time we are going to take all feedback on the rule options which are:

(A) keep this as it is now

(B) change the name back to General Forum and use the Fan Forum rules (other than posts need to be about Saints) and increase moderation including adding 1 or 2 new moderators just for the General Forum

(C) as per (B) but create a new set of rules for the General Forum that has even harsher warning / banning powers for posts that breach rules

In the case of (B) and (C) we would create a new Animal Enclosure forum where only MODS can create topics (and has the current Animal Enclosure rules ... And threads / posts we feel are appropriate can be moved there from other forums.

Opinions welcome here of via PM.

Simon

Re: Animal Enclosure rules VS Fan Forum Rules here?

A

A,B and C.

BackFromUSA wrote:
(AE) keep this as it is now but use the Fan Forum rules (other than posts need to be about Saints) and increase moderation including adding 1 or 2 new moderators just for the Animal Enclosure.
Simon
Thanks for the effort you're putting in Simon. :)

The new name is appropriate, but the open slather abuse and personal vendettas that most threads degenerate into is unworthy of this site, and unworthy of the posters who get sucked into said abuse.

If that could be moderated out, and maybe the Doc could prescribe the Ritalin to help, then it would be much better IMHO.

People forget the true spirit of the Animal Enclosure back in the day... the animals enclosed understood the concept of using wit to make a point! :idea:

(That said, I miss the Pluggs n' Mart lurve-ins, especially the Sunday sessions... though they tended to be pretty much on the Saint's forum. Shame Mart found the 'foe' button instead of the 'quote' one... :mrgreen: )

Again, thanks for your efforts Simon. 8-)

BackFromUSA wrote:
(AE) keep this as it is now but use the Fan Forum rules (other than posts need to be about Saints) and increase moderation including adding 1 or 2 new moderators just for the Animal Enclosure.
Simon
Thanks for the effort you're putting in Simon. :)

The new name is appropriate, but the open slather abuse and personal vendettas that most threads degenerate into is unworthy of this site, and unworthy of the posters who get sucked into said abuse.

If that could be moderated out, and maybe the Doc could prescribe the Ritalin to help, then it would be much better IMHO.

People forget the true spirit of the Animal Enclosure back in the day... the animals enclosed understood the concept of using wit to make a point! :idea:

(That said, I miss the Pluggs n' Mart lurve-ins, especially the Sunday sessions... though they tended to be pretty much on the Saint's forum. Shame Mart found the 'foe' button instead of the 'quote' one... :mrgreen: )

Again, thanks for your efforts Simon. 8-)

B

Dave McNamara wrote:the open slather abuse and personal vendettas that most threads degenerate into is unworthy of this site, and unworthy of the posters who get sucked into said abuse.

Agree. Discussion and disagreement, but without the abusive nonsense.
It's a forum, not an episode of Deadwood.
Mind you, it's really only one person who uses this language (IMHO), but how you address that issue is up to the mods.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

It is completely disgusting how one poster here has used the relaxed rules to litter the forum with profane abuse.

Obviously the veneer of decency in which he cloaked himself was thin indeed.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

HitTheBoundary wrote:Agree. Discussion and disagreement, but without the abusive nonsense.
Love that Deadwood ref HTB. :lol: Very apt point.
HitTheBoundary wrote:Mind you, it's really only one person who uses this language (IMHO), but how you address that issue is up to the mods.
On this point HTB, if you are talking about the use of thinly disguised expletives, then I'm hearing you. (Note to self: must try and refrain from referring to certain politicians as heartless bastards when they act like heartless bastards.)

However... if you are talking about the very strongly worded (understatement there :( ) personal attacks in general..., then the field widens somewhat.

I still reckon that all the protagonists are way better than this. They all provide so much that is a valuable contribution to this forum..., and it's that content that I look forward to reading/thinking about/discussing/debating/learning from.

so
regardless , we end up with an Animal Enclosure.

one AE (option A) allows the posters to create their own threads ... as is the case now.
the other AE's will be where the mods only can create threads.

what sort of joke is that ?

option B .... give us back our G1 but now with the wediculous moderwation regime
currently failing in the fan forum.

wheres a progressive option to suit the progressive nature of the G1
... which by its very nature needs the room to stretch boundaries / self moderate / anything other than being dictated to by the clowns who dont post here ?

option C is a farce.

instead of bring the progressive option it becomes the regressive option.

lot of effort gone into those options !!! bwhahahaha

dissapointing 'n pathetic leadership , yet again ... imo.

a.......a...and a.... :wink:

seems posters think i have three nicks...so i should get three votes... :wink: :mrgreen:
Last edited by stinger on Tue 17 Sep 2013 6:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

HitTheBoundary wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:the open slather abuse and personal vendettas that most threads degenerate into is unworthy of this site, and unworthy of the posters who get sucked into said abuse.

Agree. Discussion and disagreement, but without the abusive nonsense.
Mind you, it's really only one person who uses this language (IMHO), but how you address that issue is up to the mods.
well...it is okay for deadwood and billy connnelly.....and in the real world...... :wink:

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

stinger wrote: well...it is okay for deadwood and billy connnelly.....and in the real world...... :wink:
In the real world I can punch people in the nose for calling me a fat f***.

BTW..... rumours of my girth have been greatly exaggerated.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Principle of Q'uo wrote:so

one AE (option A) allows the posters to create their own threads ... as is the case now.

option B .... give us back our G1 but now with the wediculous moderwation regime

... which by its very nature needs the room to stretch boundaries / self moderate / anything other than being dictated to by the clowns who dont post here ?

option C is a farce.

Please PM or post here your solution / suggestion. We welcome other ideas.

FYI the new concept for the animal enclosure would be a place where the mods could split or even move threads or posts that become personal slanging matches and leave it to the posters who want to "fight" to do so there away from the general forum. This will allow the original thread to continue without the fighting and the fight can continue in the Animal Enclosure. This will involve more moderation time and effort. But this will help reduce the fighting between posters in interesting threads.

The difference between (b) and (c) is really the harshness of moderation. We have even drafted some rules for option (c) if people want a strictly moderated general forum ...

And I am stunned at your assertion that the new rules and moderation have not improved interactions on the fan forum ... Because most of the feedback has been about how much it has improved. I guess everyone has a different view.

Finally - the General Forum - is NOTHING to do with St Kilda and not a necessary part of Saintsational but was created / exists as an additional feature for the community. If it becomes too much of a problem, what is the value of it? If moderation required totals hours per day just for this General Forum - on topics that have nothing to do with St Kilda - who do you expect to be able to invest the time? We are seeking some solutions that allows the General Forum to exist without it taking up multiple hours per day to moderate.

As per my offer above - please let us know how you see the General Forum running ... And how it can be moderated ... Of course within the constraints of time that we as volunteer moderators can provide fair ongoing and consistent moderation.

Thanks

Simon

GrumpyOne wrote:
stinger wrote:BTW..... rumours of my girth have been greatly exaggerated.
... awwwwww, don't be so modest GO. :lol:

BackFromUSA wrote:
Principle of Q'uo wrote:so

option C is a farce.

Please PM or post here your solution / suggestion. We welcome other ideas.

FYI the new concept for the animal enclosure would be a place where the mods could split or even move threads or posts that become personal slanging matches and leave it to the posters who want to "fight" to do so there away from the general forum. This will allow the original thread to continue without the fighting and the fight can continue in the Animal Enclosure. This will involve more moderation time and effort. But this will help reduce the fighting between posters in interesting threads.

The difference between (b) and (c) is really the harshness of moderation. We have even drafted some rules for option (c) if people want a strictly moderated general forum ...

And I am stunned at your assertion that the new rules and moderation have not improved interactions on the fan forum ... Because most of the feedback has been about how much it has improved. I guess everyone has a different view.

Finally - the General Forum - is NOTHING to do with St Kilda and not a necessary part of Saintsational but was created / exists as an additional feature for the community. If it becomes too much of a problem, what is the value of it? If moderation required totals hours per day just for this General Forum - on topics that have nothing to do with St Kilda - who do you expect to be able to invest the time? We are seeking some solutions that allows the General Forum to exist without it taking up multiple hours per day to moderate.

As per my offer above - please let us know how you see the General Forum running ... And how it can be moderated ... Of course within the constraints of time that we as volunteer moderators can provide fair ongoing and consistent moderation.

Thanks

Simon
i can't see what the softcock socialists are all now whinging about...they voted on the current rules...and got what they wanted.....the problem is they forgot people could now abuse them back...repay them in kind.....they don't like it.????..tough s***....

oh...and the footy forum has improved 100%....good job mate......good job...

Dave McNamara wrote:
GrumpyOne wrote:
stinger wrote:BTW..... rumours of my girth have been greatly exaggerated.
... awwwwww, don't be so modest GO. :lol:

he's a liar too...i've seen photos..... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

errrr
no one voted on any rules
so lets clear that up right now

re the 'rules and the AE'

heres and idea, just a small one, might not be that popular tho
how about you ask for some more moderators and set one set of bloody rules and stick by them??
dont be nazi like and dont be a free for all.

and its been how many weeks since this stared?
how far have you got simon?
you seem to be wanting to do he right thing but NOTHING has moved forward
christ sake the questions asked months ago about the site were all answered by us explaining what we would like as a forum, and not one thin has been done
obviously admin and the owners are too busy
this site is still languishing in the 90s and we're worrying about rules in the general forum, that you guys changed to what it is now.....hows that working out???

should have been:
appoint more mods
get the rules straight (in fact they werent that bad, just not enforced)
update the site

instead you guys changed rules i one area, so now there is two sets of rules, neither followed because there arent enough mods, and now we're discussing these new second lot of rules because they dont appear to be working

i mean.....sereiously????????

matrix wrote:errrr

r?

well....consensus then.....it was my understanding everyone agreed on the no rules policy for the general forum.....

...it was not a case of more mods..or more moderation...my belief is that after the reporting function button was introduced the mods got sick and tired of all the tit for tat reporting.....

...posters trying to score petty points where someone held a different political view....

..so we got what we presently have......personally....i would prefer to go back to where we were 12 months ago...with tighter moderation.....then we would see the real dropkicks banned....

matrix wrote:errrr

r?

well....consensus then.....it was my understanding everyone agreed on the no rules policy for the general forum.....
No, it was imposed, shortly after the suggestion was raised.
I have no problem if the rules for this are the same as the other forums, i.e. all can disagree, but personal abuse is dealt with.
I would suggest there also be a rule about "over reporting" of posts. For example, if 90% of complaints are from one poster, then maybe that poster has issues, and not the forum........

absolutely !

some figures on those ... 30 complaint pm's a week would be an interesting exercise.

although , to be fair , he who posted relentlessly that he was doing so
... did so under instruction from the mods.
(or so he posted , relentlessly)

agreed.
... this AE experiment was imposed ... even after most posters said please dont.

and 12 months ago .. the only mod was HSV
... the G1 worked and needed nothing but a personal pm from him when things edged towards being chaotic.

No threats of bannings ... just an asking for a little leeway.

he had things arranged well ... the sook pm'd him incessantlty whilst the rest of us got
on with it.

theres not much thats genuine ever coming out of your mouth ... is there Stinger.

if the community ever got a chance to self moderate ... i think you'd be the one classed as the shonkiest n most divissive link

coz u just dont give a sh!t about those around you.

BakesFan

Worth a read....

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=82579

...doesn't seem to be a lot of consensus there.......

...you weren't overly enamoured by the proposed changes either, stinger.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)