Leave your tributes here for Blakey - to be printed

Re: Leave your tributes here for Blakey - to be printed

Jason Blake, thank you. You will be remembered as the quintessential "Everyman" of club, worth so much more than any Brownlow vote.

We asked everything of you, and you delivered. Every number 27 hereafter will have very big boots to fill.

thesaint3

Well done all the best in the future...

mightysainters

A terrific clubman and good stopper, thank you for your cocntribution of the years.
Your fitness and athleticism was legendary. Wishing you all the best in the future.

SuperSaint66

Blakey - Always played your heart out in any position you were asked to play. So versatile & super fit.
An embodiment of our motto, "STRENGTH THROUGH LOYALTY". Thank you #27.

chermie

Well done Jason Blake. Congratulations on a wonderful AFL career!

baf

the unsung hero you bleed red white and black thanks for the memories

oldie60

Blakey, one of yhe most underated players in the comp. Another mate who performed his roles for the good of the side. The true mark of a sportsman.Well done and great to see you finishing off your career the way you've always played, a true selflesss player.

Megamaguire

Sad to see Jason leave the ranks of wonderful St. Kilda players. The countless times Jason Blake put his body on the line to prevent the opposition teams scoring against us is now legendary. Looking back now we were lucky i think to have had the great Maxie Hudghton play in the red, white & black and for a real dedicated professional like J.Blake to carry forward a great defensive spirit which continued to growinto the era of the dual grand final appearances. In otherwords Blake brought the consistency that helped the Saints almost get to the holy grail.

I will always be thankful for the mighty efforts Jason brought on matchday.
Simply a beauty.

BEST OF LUCK IN THE FUTURE BLAKEY

G O S A I N T S !

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.
sainterinsydney

You weren't blessed with the super talents of a Riewoldt or a Goddard, but you had a heart as big as any Saints player to put on the jumper. You were always brave and gave it your best. Best of luck, Jason!

St Michele

All the best Blakey, you have been a wonderful role model at the club and inspiring in the way you go aobut playing footy.

Michele
Goals are dreams with deadlines!!

Dear Jason, thank you for your years of service, I feel privileged that I saw you play your first game for the Saints and I'll get to see your final game.
Your heart beats red white and black, there is no doubt of that and that every week you do the best you can.
You have been our Mr Fixit man and a champion of the club.
Somehow, I get the feeling that we may still see you out there as a runner or in some other form to help the club.
All the best for the future and may the future bring the best to you and your family.
PS: how you didn't get a Brownlow vote for that 2008 game against Hawthorn is beyond me, you were simply on fire that day mate.

Hoges

Jason, to me you are the epitome of the team player - who played the role chosen by the coach to benefit the team without flinching - even through it often meant 'sacrificing' your game. You are great example of what is needed to excel at this level to all of our young players and i hope you will continue to have a role in the team. If i was ever to be stuck in a trench with someone waiting to 'go over the top' to battle - i could think of no one better to have alongside than J BLake.

Plenty have mentioned THAT game against Hawthorn and THOSE Brownlow votes.

But Saints fans will always remember you for the selfless and courageous way you played the game.

Always in the right place, doing the right things, punching the ball away, shepherding for a teammate, putting you body on the line, running to position to provide a linking option, playing the percentages, reading the play, getting to a contest as the extra man, running to create an option, filling in as a ruckman against bigger opponents, running your guts out to stick with an opponent.
Always working.
Always thinking.
Always concentrating.
Always executing.
Never flashy, just 100% committed. Knowing your limitations and playing smart. Bringing the game plan to life.
100% reliable.
Yes a miserable bag of Brownlow votes, but you won our admiration and respect.
If only everyone put in like you did.
You got the absolute best out of yourself and you did yourself and the club proud.

All the best for a long and healthy retirement.

Jason,

What a great career, fantastic clubman, honest and tough player who maximised every possible god given talent.
The utmost respect of your peers and self sacrifice for team goals are attributes that are second to none.

I will forever remember my 4 year old son at the time, jump up in the air when you took a mark on the wing in the first couple minutes of a game in 2011. It was the first time he showed any interest in the footy. Made me laugh.

Be very proud of your career, and keep these posts of adulation, because I know they will embarrass you, but in years to come for you and your kids they will become precious memories.

You have provided great moments of joy to many thousands of St Kilda supporters, and to play over 200 games and 14 seasons of top flight footy is a magnificent career.

Absolute club champion.

Good luck in life after footy.

Cheers.

Thanks for the memories, Jason. You will always be remembered as "The ultimate Clubman"

Congratulations Blakey on a terrific career with the Saints. Durable, versatile and vastly underrated, I reckon you could easily go around again if we were contending. All the best in life after football

Jason,

Thank you for magnificent years of service to our club. Your courage, determination, tenacity and selflessness are what epitomise "Fortius Quo Fidelius".
If every player attacked every minute of every game the way you have, we would need a bigger trophy cabinet.
The mark of a great player is not measured by the recognition of the broader football community, but by the sadness their departure brings to the supporters of the club, the ones who truly appreciate a player's worth. It is with great sadness we say farewell and thank you.

saintbeth

Thanks for the memories Jason. You have played red, black and white with total courage and committment. Good luck with the rest of your life.

Saintbeth
saintkellerm

Blakey, thanks for the wonderful memories. You have been a great club player for the STKFC. You have played in many roles and you have always given your all to the team and we wish you all the best for the future.

Thanks Blakey. Top clubman top bloke all 100% St. Kilda.

99% perspiration 1% ability made you the champ you are.

Thanks Jason for being such a loyal and dependable clubman. We all appreciated your selfless dedication and you were so close to being a premiership player. Congratulations and good luck for the future.

Jason Blake - a footballer's footballer. Tough, courageous, reliable, resilient. You have gotten everything out of yourself mate. You have given it your all every single week. Trevor Barker would be proud of what you have done and how you went about it. Loyalty personified just like Barks. Well played "Joe" Blake.

I don't think there's been a position you haven't played in at some point during your career at St Kilda! It's a testament to your ability that you are so versatile and competent in whatever role you are asked to perform. It's been a pleasure to watch you take the field over the last 14 seasons.

thefatdork

Thanks Jason - you've always put the team first and have tackled all the challenges thrown at you with determination and strength.
Your years at the mighty Saints can be defined by 2 words - courage and loyalty.
Thanks mate.

PS we need a few father-son picks in the future!

oh when the

Jason the quiet achiever.

your dedication to the saints is appreciated.

best wishes

ric