Best Milne memories

I'll get the ball rolling... that awesome 11 goal haul against Brisbane in 2005. 11 goals straight, no less :D

I'll always have fond memories of his trademark "slipping over, run around, goal" - although the slipping over aspect was more of an early 00's thing! In the really early 00's he was playing as a full forward much of the time too.

Re: Best Milne memories

Love his jumping chest mark. Great mark on the lead for his size.

Milne

In 2001 against Hawthorn he had 2 players against him and the ball was kicked in the air towards him. He jumped and outmaneuvered the first players under the ball, and tapped it to his advantage away from the other player and snapped across his body for the goal.

That was the day he became my favourite player (hope I got the year right)

Loved it when he runs into an open goal then follows through to give heaps to the opposition cheers quad , especially the filth

Milne wrote:In 2001 against Hawthorn he had 2 players against him and the ball was kicked in the air towards him. He jumped and outmaneuvered the first players under the ball, and tapped it to his advantage away from the other player and snapped across his body for the goal
Yeah, that's vintage Milne isn't it... using his body to protect the drop zone.

battye wrote:I'll get the ball rolling... that awesome 11 goal haul against Brisbane in 2005. 11 goals straight, no less :D

I'll always have fond memories of his trademark "slipping over, run around, goal" - although the slipping over aspect was more of an early 00's thing! In the really early 00's he was playing as a full forward much of the time too.

I remember how loud the MILNEY, MILNEY chants were that night. Magic atmosphere !!

Countless

Mark of a champion....

But the broken Jaw game was inspirational.... After GT said he could get a kick in a big game on a decent opponent interstate.... He did it on queue under duress, just to demonstrate courage....

A Star

Hoges

Leading players with passion in singing club song after any & every victory - along with always being one of the first to congratulate a young player for kicking a goal

too many to recall here, will miss the guy bigtime. Will never forgive or forget how he was treated by some on this forum lately.

The home and away game v the Cats in 2010. He was put in the middle for the, I think, third qtr, and we blew a tight game open. I recall Milney running away from a puffing Chappy, lol

Statsman

My fondest memory of Milney is the way he always entertained the crowd. One minute we had our hands in the air in exhilaration and the next minute our hands in the air with exasperation. That's Milney! You just had to ride the wave - marvelling at the mercurial brilliance and laughing off the occassional brain fade.

Despite those highs and lows, Milne's record speaks for itself. There aren't many small forward who have averaged better than two goals a game for as many games as he's played. To continually produce at that level for a 275 game career is outstanding. I rate him as the best pure forward pocket ever to play the game.

The other thing I'll always remember about Milney is that he was my son's first footy hero. I started taking my son to the footy as a baby in 2000 and he's grown up watching Milney and idolising him. The sound of my son screaming "Yaaaaaapper!" is etched in my heart. Milne to him will be as George Young and Trevor Barker were to me - forever part of the fabric of his childhood

"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates." - Earvin 'Magic' Johnson

I always loved one of his earlier highlights

back in 01-2'ish

took a speccy over a Hawthorn player, landed on his feet, played on, ran around and snapped a goal... absolute beauty

then there's this one

skeptic wrote:then there's this one
How that wasn't goal of the year is beyond me.

It must have been the year when Buddy kicked that goal from the boundary line outside 50?

There have been so many Milne goals that were dribbled through from impossible angles; he makes it look so easy that you come to expect it if he's on the boundary line.

The night he trash talked Malthouse and Licuria!!!

The goal in the wet in Adelaide from right on the boundary kick out of mid air...

But so many, many highlights.......

Someone should put together a DVD. "Milne's Best 100." I'd buy it.

Where do I start.. 2005 Eleven goals was amazing. The chant was still an amazing thing to hear. I expect a huge chant this week and cant wait.

I loved the fact in hindsight he was a quality small forward from a young age, something TDL, Milera and Saad can only dream of.

My first memory of him was in 99 or 2000 in a reserves game at Moorabbin.
The ball was kicked towards the goals and Milne was in the goal square with an opponent and he has tried a mid-air soccer to put the ball through. He missed, of course, but the effort and confidence to even try that was astounding. I knew then that we had someone special.

getting cleaned up by roo when roo took that unreal mark against the swans

the snap from mid air against port over here at aami in the wet i reckon
down the cheersquad end

absolute blinder

Greg T

Always loved his absolute commitment to te club song after a win.
Especially hearing his voice over the radio.
Way to many highlights to mention ,
By I always remember his undying love of the st.k FC thru his career.
How could you not love his stirring up of all the other club supporters....
Long live Milney, will miss you pal....

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key

soooooo

who gets the slowed down middle bit of the club song next year?
will it be a vet or a newb?

Both Stephen and Nick are now in the top All Time 40 goal kickers. That's the top 40 of all time! Only three other Saints are on that list (who kicked their Top 40 goals for the Saints, with Barry Hall kicking most of his goals for the Swans) - Tony Lockett, Bill Mohr and Stewart Loewe. My father said that Bill Mohr was the best Saints player he ever saw (he played his last game in Round 1 1940, so I never saw him). Next week is likely to be that last time that we will see two Saints All Time Top 40 goal kickers play in the same team. If that is not enough for Saints fans to come along and lend voice, then I don't what is.

watching today i felt sad that he was going to go soon.. kinda wish he would play one more.

4ever_saint

My favourite will always be his 11 against Brisbane in '05. The "Milney" chant that night was something I'll never forget.