Plugger, good times

My childhood hero. Post videos or images here, I'd love to see them.

On Hey Hey:

He had some massive seasons as far as goal are concerned.
1987, 117 in 22.
1989, 78 goals in 11 matches.
1990, 65 in 12.
1991, 127 in just 17.
1992, 132 in 22.
1993, 53 in 10.
1994, 56 in 10.

70% accuracy. If only we had him on the park longer.

Re: Plugger, good times

and no coincidence we played finals footy in 91 & 92

and nearly in 87 for the first time in 15 odd years

Probably the best footballer of all time, anybody care to argue?

paulski

The best player I've ever seen.

Got interested in the Saints when he was emerging, he got me hooked.

Just kick it anywhere in his region and he'd get it.

now there was a forward presence. dare you to go back with the flight of the ball in your defensive 50 against him.

Toy Saint wrote:Probably the best footballer of all time, anybody care to argue?

Nope. Gablett senior maybe. But Plugger was truly on another plane. For such a big guy his speed off the mark and his leap were amazing.
Video is the last quarter of the Sydney game in '94 where Plugger smacked Caven and we came back from the dead, Plugger also almost decapitating a Sydney cheer squad member with a low trajectory torpedo.

R. Harvey 3 votes!

My hero as well as a kid. We weren't much good for alot of Lockett's career with us but I would go along and if he kicked a bag which he normally always did I had a great day! He was just awesome and I was just blind to all of his reports and bad behaviour. Couldn't do anything wrong in my eyes as a young bloke! Just loved Plugger and was shattered when he went to the Swans.

When Harvey played his first game in 1988, I was a 12yo wearing short pants and struggling with my readin', writin' and 'rithmetic in grade eight. Now, I'm a father of three and a retired AFL player. And he's still going. Amazing! - Michael Voss
kimberly saint

Toy Saint wrote:Probably the best footballer of all time, anybody care to argue?
big call and hard one to answer. Hard not to put carey and up with him he was a freak ???

PADDLEPOP1001

Him and Ablett senior you would change ends for!

PADDLEPOP1000

Brownlow playing FF for a bottom 4 team, best by a mile!

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike
Greg T

My favourite saint of all time.just
Magnificent to watch.greatest goal kicker by a mile.
I like others have said,could never do any wrong in my eyes.
Kicked heaps,gave out plenty,immortalised the no.4 for me.
Rate him with Gary Ablett sr..

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key
Moorabbin Man

Rosco wrote:now there was a forward presence. dare you to go back with the flight of the ball in your defensive 50 against him.
That would end in carnage.

There should be an annually celebrated Tony Lockett day...54 times a year

A freak of a footballer,who also had a mythical religious type aura about him as he trudged down to the goal square.

I know we will never see anyone quite like him again.

Things were never the same after he finished up

Greg T wrote:
My favourite saint of all time.just
Magnificent to watch.greatest goal kicker by a mile.
I like others have said,could never do any wrong in my eyes.
Kicked heaps,gave out plenty,immortalised the no.4 for me.
Rate him with Gary Ablett sr..
Immortalised the number 14 for me, that's what he won his Brownlow in.

Did the great Gabblet Snr ever win his clubs B & F? He was hot & cold.

Simply the most influential footballer & greatest player I have ever seen. Was in complete awe of his aura, his almost disdain for everything other than the 4 quarters on the ground, unlike almost every other legend other than Bob Skilton he didnt play in dominate sides yet he dominated matches consistently. My hero, the greatest talent with G Ablett Senior I have ever seen.

Rob Harvey is my favourite saint and his 97-98 were out of this world

Plugger, if he played 278 games at StK and not nearly 100 at Sydney.... The yes he would be #1.... Instead of #2 in my eyes

I'm not sure anyone could ever match up to Harvey's achievements
8 time All Australian is quite unreal
To be playing in 3 distinct eras over 21 years... At his level... Amazing

Lockett over a period of time was unstoppable
Like others of the modern era like
Ablett, Carey, Williams, Voss, Hird, Buckley, Harvey, Ablett jnr, Judd,

I loved it when he threw the crutch at the journo scum !

mr six o'clock wrote:I loved it when he threw the crutch at the journo scum !
That wasn't journo scum. That was actually Eddie McGuire!

:P :P :P

I assume Eddie called him a big gorilla.

I've always pondered how I would have felt about Plugger if I hadn't of been a Sainter.

Would I have still admired him? I liked Dunstall when he played. I actually kept a tally in my diaries each week during footy seasons as to how many goals both he and Plugger had, a running tally of their career goals. I loved watching Modra p,ay.

Ablett senior I liked though soured on him when he took out Burkey in the 91 EF.

I rate Plugger as the best player I've ever seen. And as someone pointed out earlier, he was kicking goals in an average team sometimes. Abletts, Dunstall and Carey never did that.

Was at the game at Morrabin and was there ( on my way to get a beer) when Tony threw the crutch (like a missile) at Eddie from the ambulance.
Eddie was basically trying to get Plugger to say how he felt about his leg injury and was at the ambulance door.
Pity it just missed!
I remember Plugger was questioned years later and was asked if he had any regrets about his somewhat turbulent relationship with the media , he replied " yeah, missing Eddie with the crutch"

#gosaintas

I thought it was thrown from the front door of the medical centre/hospital. Pretty sure not from an ambo...

#gosaintas wrote:I thought it was thrown from the front door of the medical centre/hospital. Pretty sure not from an ambo...
Correct.

Unless of course he did it twice :wink: