A Star Recruit for 2014

Remember at the end of the 2000 season, when the club threw the checkbook and signed the G-Train and the Hammer (not to mention a mercenary scumbag coach)?

Both players proved to be a big hit, particularly G-Train. Whether or not they both played to their full potential is up for debate. I would say G-Train did. They definitely both contributed to getting the club some much needed onfield success.

Anyway, suppose the club has their eye on a star player from another club at the end of the year, as they did back then, which star would you like the club to snaffle, and why? Feel free to fantasise all you like, without going too far into the absurd.

I'll go first...

Patrick Dangerfield

Why?

He'll be just 24 next year. Already an experienced campaigner with still a great future ahead of him. He's originally a Victorian, so moving away from Adelaide may not pose too much of an issue. In some ways, he reminds me of Robert Harvey with his incredible ability to read the play and dexterity with those silky skills. He has a great ability to duck and weave through heavy traffic. Terrific footy smarts and is no stranger to booting the odd goal. Would bring some much needed drive into our midfield.

Over to you.

LENNY LEADS THE WAY

Re: A Star Recruit for 2014

Harry Taylor thanks

100 percent behind the saints 100 percent of the time

Dangerfield is signed. But as this is just hypothetical, would be a get.

We need a shut down defender thats why we went for Brown. A Frawley or a Harry Taylor

FA like a Daisy Thomas to help our young mids.

Heppell from Essendon in a trade

Trade for Toovey (I know ACL)

Trade for a speculator A grader like a Jack Watts (risky, but could come good).

Keep the low dps and use them on the best possible players we can.

Could be possible as we have plenty in the cap to spend.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
Greg T

Jobe watson...turns games on his own..
Jeremy Howe....can take a grab.....

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key

Would take Natinui from the weagles any day., Dangerfiel would be good to

heppell or hibberd from the dons, they will feel the squeeze soon, or they might have to walk if the s*** hits the fan
Love to throw the cheque book at fyfe but hard to budge.
Frawley would be a good get at FB
karnezesis is not getting a fair go at Brisbane after a great preseason

Both Buddy and Daisey as FA's thanks

Only mids if possible.

Carazzo is a free agent and will be available.
Chad Wingard
Heppell
Thomas
gaff
hannerbury
vince

Carazzo wouldn't leave. Not the type of player we need anyway.
Chad Wingard is from SA and is with a young and upcoming team.
Heppell loves Essendon. Essendon supporter.
Thomas. Most Likely but I wouldn't call him a player that improves the whole team. Seems a type of player that plays well in a good team.
Gaff signed a 3 year deal?
Hannerbury looks destined to be a future captain at Sydney so wouldn't think so.
Vince can't even get a game at the Crows. Worth looking at but unlikely.

Fazer

Greg Burns or Bruce Duperouzel

Shuey - West Coast

Only should be looking at guys 22 or younger IMO. Emerging good players. Otherwise, keep the draft picks

Greg T

Another handy pick up.....
Jack Reidwoldt.....
Cyril Rioli

noob wrote:Carazzo wouldn't leave. Not the type of player we need anyway.
Chad Wingard is from SA and is with a young and upcoming team.
Heppell loves Essendon. Essendon supporter.
Thomas. Most Likely but I wouldn't call him a player that improves the whole team. Seems a type of player that plays well in a good team.
Gaff signed a 3 year deal?
Hannerbury looks destined to be a future captain at Sydney so wouldn't think so.
Vince can't even get a game at the Crows. Worth looking at but unlikely.

Goddard loved his club so much he cried until he saw his bank account again. Anyone will look at an offer. the Dons and Sydney like Carlton and the Pies will need space.

Parker from the swines?

no to Daisy Thomas - front runner in a good side and not what we need.

Hannebury would be nice....

Id throw the sink at Jack Watts - reckon he might hit his straps at a decent environment and alongside Riewoldt could be gold with White et al coming through.

Id pick off a few from Pies.......reckon some of the emmerging players all wont get a go....Fasolo.....Sinclair?

Frawley/Watts double would have me excited...

Sainternist wrote:Remember at the end of the 2000 season, when the club threw the checkbook and signed the G-Train and the Hammer (not to mention a mercenary scumbag coach)?

Both players proved to be a big hit, particularly G-Train. Whether or not they both played to their full potential is up for debate. I would say G-Train did. They definitely both contributed to getting the club some much needed onfield success.
How did we actually get them? I vaguely remember that Frase was playing various positions at West Coast and wasn't in great form for a year or two. Why did Sammy come across? Was it just money or was there something else going on?

Following the Gehrig example, maybe we're looking for talented players who aren't quite working at their current club. Roberton worked out this year. So Jack Watts is the obvious one. Bernie Vince, Xavier Ellis, David Ellard, Jesse White, Aaron Cornelius. I've got a mate who rates Josh Cowan, never had much of a go. Plenty of others out there, I'm sure.

busso mick

Teflon wrote:no to Daisy Thomas - front runner in a good side and not what we need.

Hannebury would be nice....

Id throw the sink at Jack Watts - reckon he might hit his straps at a decent environment and alongside Riewoldt could be gold with White et al coming through.

Id pick off a few from Pies.......reckon some of the emmerging players all wont get a go....Fasolo.....Sinclair?

Frawley/Watts double would have me excited...
Dan Hannebery just signed on for another 3 years a few weeks back so he is out of the equation. I am all for Jack Watts as well, he needs to get his head right and have a fresh start away from Melbourne.

Maybe we should concentrate on Victorian boys playing with GC and GWS. I am not familiar enough wwith those teams to suggest any of their mids, can anyone help out?

Has Tony Locket had any sons yet?

PurpleHayes

I personally rate the Jack Watts trade option - but what role are we asking him to fill?

Wouldn't it be a fairytale to see Roo take him under his wing and show him how to train (elite fitness) and work his arse off to become one of the premier CHF's in the league?

Our 2nd round pick will be lowish, say 23-24. Would that pick do it? Or perhaps Farren Ray and our 3rd round pick?

Greg T

Greg T wrote:Another handy pick up.....
Jack Reidwoldt.....
Cyril Rioli
And Joel selwood....

Jack Darling, Rory Thompson and Nat Fyfe

A forward, a back and a gun mid

bergholt wrote:How did we actually get them? I vaguely remember that Frase was playing various positions at West Coast and wasn't in great form for a year or two. Why did Sammy come across? Was it just money or was there something else going on?
Sammy pretty much did a dash for cash. That's why the Scumbagger fans were so upset at him for so long. John Elliot called it "greed and a lack of loyalty" after he left. Biggest whingers in the history of the game. I mean, how many star players did they poach in the past? Diesel Williams, Justin Madden, Rhys-Jones, (our own) Val Perovic etc...

Can't recall how Fraser was going in his last year at the Eagles and what terms he left. I'm pretty sure he wanted to return to Melbourne, which may have been the main reason for him to join us. It did take him a while to fully find his feet as a Saint. He didn't really become a permanent full forward until 2003, if I remember properly.

Cairnsman wrote:Has Tony Locket had any sons yet?
All daughters