Salopek ??????

Burkey 1

Salopek ??????

Seems this guy has dropped off the radar, cheap pick up for a Mid you would think.

Re: Salopek ??????

I think a pick in the 70's would get it done.

We might be able to jag him pick 125 if we still want him.

I think he will get no love on the free agency but if delisted should get a go through the preseason draft and get picked up with a late pick by someone.

andrewg

I have brought Sal up a few times. saints have been very quiet about picking up due to a risk of diluting the Goddard compensation pick as Sal was a free agent. Once we have the compensation pick my mail is we will pick him up as a late pick in draft. Dean Laidly is still keen on him after his time at Port. I think he will add great depth. Can kick a footy and his body is the best it has been after almost a year off.

The Bulldogs are desperate for players...maybe they'll snap him up

Think he was a Saints supporter..bring him home

Bowey Boy wrote:Think he was a Saints supporter..bring him home
Who cares if he can play...as long as he barracks for the Saints...

Send him to the Dogs

He really can play a bit..just playing for Port Banjotown is not providing the motivation.

@ssalopek3: Back in Melbourne after 10 years in adelaide. Surreal feeling! Have to find my bearings again having left when I was 17! #gps

Saintersss

No.

Calais

Served his sister Danielle at work today. Wants a VIC club or will retire. He's hoping Stk pick him up

Back before the '02 draft there were a lot of comparisons between Salopek and Goddard and it looked like we would get one or the other.

It would be ironic if we picked up Salopek and gave him number 18.

busso mick

kosifantutti wrote:Back before the '02 draft there were a lot of comparisons between Salopek and Goddard and it looked like we would get one or the other.

It would be ironic if we picked up Salopek and gave him number 18.
You wonder if we didn't get Goddard gift wrapped (in brown paper) by the Bluebaggers whether we would have drafted him. I like the symmetry there Kosifantutti :idea:

Port used pick 8 (I think ) on Salopek given to them in the masterful trade for Brooks.

Can still remember how excited some Port supporters were on draft day over at BF.

Both worked out well for each respective club.

Oh and a big fat NO.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
Scoop

Pick 6...

Extra! Extra! Read all about it......no I don't want to read about it anymore!!!

Scoop wrote:Pick 6...
Was pick 8 before Carlton lost pick 1 and 2 for cheating. It still brings me joy just to think about it. Double joy in fact.

Not yet. Wait until he is a bit older, a bit more out of form and a bit more injured.

I'd be surprised if we went down this path but Andrewg is adamant that we will. Time will tell but I doubt it.

Wouldnt mind Salopek but would have to be at a rock bottom price. He can defanatley play.

CURLY wrote:Wouldnt mind Salopek but would have to be at a rock bottom price. He can defanatley play.

He was a decent player in his day. he never set the world on fire but he's solid and is an extra rotation through the midfield and can win his own ball so if he took nothing more than a late draft pick in the preseason draft would offer more than heaps of others. He's not getting played because they are in full development mode and he doesn't fit the age profile they are after.

at his best and if he is fit, he is worthy of a spot in any team's 22. So if he is cheap (3rd rounder), I would take him

Tassie Saint
Location: In the wilds of Tassie - Where boys become men, and cousins become wives

I'd take him for sure. Can play a bit. Was rated similarly to Goddard and Wells at the time. Would provide some midfield depth and could just that something extra. Think Stewie Dew at Hawthorn... nobody here would have wanted him or expected him to have an impact... sometimes you have to take the risk

Caaaaaarn you Sainters!!

I just think if he was any good whatsoever, Primus who's career depended on a few more wins, would have played him.

Tassie Saint
Location: In the wilds of Tassie - Where boys become men, and cousins become wives

dragit wrote:I just think if he was any good whatsoever, Primus who's career depended on a few more wins, would have played him.
I have a vague memory of reading somewhere that he'd put on weight in the off season trying to bulk up for more inside midfielder stuff and ended up losing fitness/endurance and being more injury prone this year. Possibly enough to put people off.
Still think he's worth the punt myself. Would come cheap

Caaaaaarn you Sainters!!