Should we try and become "Family Friendly"?

and request a lot more day games, similar to what the Hawks did many years ago?

We really need a new younger generation of supporters coming through.

For the past three seasons (including 2012) we have had very few day games in Melbourne, making it
difficult to take young kids along and get them brainwashed into all things St. Kilda.

There seems to be little interest by our club though in this issue.

And yes I have young kids so have a vested interest in this.

Sure, TV ratings are often better at night, but if we slip down the ladder, the interest in all things St Kilda in TV land will dimish, especially as our stars taper off/retire.

Also, if the boys behave themselves, we will no longer be tabloid-friendly, which draws in public TV interest....

Re: Should we try and become "Family Friendly"?

FIXturing & being Family Friendly are two entirely different matters. We control whether we portray our club as being Family Friendly. We DO NOT control the FIXture. On the subject of FIXturing, I'd like to know what contracts are in place and what EVERY club requests each year. I know we will NEVER see these !!

I'd be interested to know the attendance figures for all of the night games now that thanks to Channel 7 has had their wished fulfilled with 740/750 starts. This means a finish around 1015 pm and it is just after 11pm that I arrive at Caufield. So for those who have to travel onto Frankston/Pakenham/Cranbourne must be getting home closer to midnight.
Not good for parents with young children and not good for the senior citizens who do not wish to travel that late at night.
I'd be all for more day games and Saturday twilight games.
But what Channel 7 wants, Channel 7 gets and bad luck to family friendly policies

ozrulestrace wrote:I'd be interested to know the attendance figures for all of the night games now that thanks to Channel 7 has had their wished fulfilled with 740/750 starts. This means a finish around 1015 pm and it is just after 11pm that I arrive at Caufield. So for those who have to travel onto Frankston/Pakenham/Cranbourne must be getting home closer to midnight.
Not good for parents with young children and not good for the senior citizens who do not wish to travel that late at night.
But what Channel 7 wants, Channel 7 gets and bad luck to family friendly policies

Does 30 minutes really matter. friday has alway been around 7.40 anyway and it is 30 minutes later on Saturday night. Big deal.

ozrulestrace wrote:I'd be interested to know the attendance figures for all of the night games now that thanks to Channel 7 has had their wished fulfilled with 740/750 starts. This means a finish around 1015 pm and it is just after 11pm that I arrive at Caufield. So for those who have to travel onto Frankston/Pakenham/Cranbourne must be getting home closer to midnight.

Maybe buy a car and the kids can sleep on the way home? There is no good time for anyone. I hate Friday nights but I know I am in the minority.

Saturday afternoon is disrupted by people who actually play football locally... While Sundays are usually the juniors - So all those kids that like football and play cant attend. It usually means parents cant either.

There are no good times. What can be certain though, is that once our performance drops off more, we will be offered the worst timeslots financially because we fail to rock up to games regardless of the time. Thats why we get no blockbuster games... But it doesnt stop us complaining that Collingwood get the best fixture.

What annoys me is that Sat (and Monday) games which used to start at 7:10 are now pushed back 1/2 an hour.
Makes it a late night.

Kate

Monday night is one thing. Monday night before NAPLAN is just stupid.

I dont have tin lids so i cant comment.
but id need to see some stats? i suspect the OP might have an issue worthy of discussion
what is the saints % night games versus AFL average in last 5 years?
I can say I was introduced to the saints because my dad would take me to day games at moorabin.

Liam_G

Con Gorozidis wrote:but id need to see some stats? i suspect the OP might have an issue worthy of discussion
Hey Con, this is Very rough, and I apologise if there are slight inconsistencies. Don't shoot me. At least it's a guide 8-)

Last 5 years, 2008-2012, all clubs have played 110 H&A matches (obviously haven't included GCS & GWS).
St Kilda have played 65.5% of their matches (72) at night, ranked 1st in the comp. The competition average is 43.3%.
Brisbane are 2nd on 59.1% (65 matches), with Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton the only other teams playing over 50% of their matches at night over this 5 season period.
Melbourne rank last, with only 22.7% of their matches at night.

Further, for the Victorian fans/matches:

Last 5 years, 2008-2012, all Victorian clubs have played between 70 (Hawthorn) and 89 (Collingwood) matches in Victoria.
St Kilda have played 71.3% of their VIC matches (57 of 80) at night, ranked 1st out of the 10 Victorian teams. The average for the 10 Victorian teams is 47.1%.
Essendon are 2nd on 62.1%, with Carlton, Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs the only other teams playing over 50% of their Victorian matches at night over this 5 season period.
Melbourne rank last, with only 20% of their Victorian matches at night.

I like numbers. But It's up to others to determine if the numbers are worth discussing. Obviously, with the past 5 years being a rather "successful" period for our club, the likelihood of playing more Friday Night (prime time) matches has been higher etc. but that's just one of the reasons why/why not this has been occurring. Just wanted to share the numbers Con asked for.

EDIT: numbers slightly changed late as those pesky "byes" were accidentally included as a match.

Family friendly always strikes me as something that small-time clubs do.

Hawthorn notably ditched the "family" label in the early 2000s in exchange for bigger timeslots, a bolder vision and better crowds. The end result has seen them charge into being the second biggest Victorian club by way of memberships.

I'd probably rather day matches now but I wouldn't call it a family friendly vision. A day match frees up my valuable Friday-Sat night - which is when I like to see family and friends.

That said, going to a game at night is an infinitely more "exciting" proposition. The buzz around town on a Friday is sensational.

Liam_G wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:but id need to see some stats? i suspect the OP might have an issue worthy of discussion
Hey Con, this is Very rough, and I apologise if there are slight inconsistencies. Don't shoot me. At least it's a guide 8-)

Last 5 years, 2008-2012, all clubs have played 110 H&A matches (obviously haven't included GCS & GWS).
St Kilda have played 65.5% of their matches (72) at night, ranked 1st in the comp. The competition average is 43.3%.
Brisbane are 2nd on 59.1% (65 matches), with Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton the only other teams playing over 50% of their matches at night over this 5 season period.

Last 5 years, 2008-2012, all Victorian clubs have played between 70 (Hawthorn) and 89 (Collingwood) matches in Victoria.
St Kilda have played 71.3% of their VIC matches (57 of 80) at night, ranked 1st out of the 10 Victorian teams. The average for the 10 Victorian teams is 47.1%.
Essendon are 2nd on 62.1%, with Carlton, Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs the only other teams playing over 50% of their Victorian matches at night over this 5 season period.

I like numbers. But It's up to others to determine if the numbers are worth discussing. Obviously, with the past 5 years being a rather "successful" period for our club, the likelihood of playing more Friday Night (prime time) matches has been higher etc. but that's just one of the reasons why/why not this has been occurring. Just wanted to share the numbers Con asked for.

EDIT: numbers slightly changed late as those pesky "byes" were accidentally included as a match.
Thanks Liam.

Clearly, the numbers show we play too many night games as I suspected.

It's a tough road getting the kids interested.

Liam_G wrote:

Thanks Liam.

If we played day games on Sunday you either couldnt go or your kids couldnt play footy. Saturday games are dead for exposure so if you play them then expect even less sponsorship. And another thing you tell people to toughen up when people abuse players well I suggest you thoughen your kids up and just take them at night. Worst they can do is fall asleep or they may surprise you and still watch the game. My Daughter has gone to the footy pretty much every week since she was 10 days old. Something has effected her but I doubt its the late nights.

Liam_G wrote:

Thanks Liam.

If we played day games on Sunday you either couldnt go or your kids couldnt play footy. Saturday games are dead for exposure so if you play them then expect even less sponsorship. And another thing you tell people to toughen up when people abuse players well I suggest you thoughen your kids up and just take them at night. Worst they can do is fall asleep or they may surprise you and still watch the game. My Daughter has gone to the footy pretty much every week since she was 10 days old. Something has effected her but I doubt its the late nights.

Spot on.

Liam_G wrote:

great stats liam! well done!.
excellent work!
So OP does have a point.

Plugger, you must be losing your touch. Like spinner I agree with your post !!

Theres no good or bad times to play footy now. Whats perfect for one is a pain for another...plus people will always find something to have a whinge about. We get more day games..people will sook that were not getting another primetime TV coverage so we'll have trouble attracting sponsors

Cant have it both ways.

Maybe buy a car and the kids can sleep on the way home? There is no good time for anyone. I hate Friday nights but I know I am in the minority.

Saturday afternoon is disrupted by people who actually play football locally... While Sundays are usually the juniors - So all those kids that like football and play cant attend. It usually means parents cant either.

I live in Caulfield too and it is heaps easier to jump on a train and lug the kids than drive into the city and pay $30 for parking.

There are no good times. What can be certain though, is that once our performance drops off more, we will be offered the worst timeslots financially because we fail to rock up to games regardless of the time. Thats why we get no blockbuster games... But it doesnt stop us complaining that Collingwood get the best fixture.

saint66au wrote:Theres no good or bad times to play footy now. Whats perfect for one is a pain for another...plus people will always find something to have a whinge about. We get more day games..people will sook that were not getting another primetime TV coverage so we'll have trouble attracting sponsors

Cant have it both ways.
Sure. But how about a bit more of a balance.

I don't expect nor want 16 day games in Victoria each year. I like night games, but not at the current rate!

Plugger - as for taking my kids to night games - well, they are very keen on the idea. Problem is they're not known to sleep in on the next day and are generally very cranky and tired the following day after a late night. As for your Daughter - if she's not 100% perfect you've clearly failed as a Father. Don't you understand women/girls yet? :lol: :wink:

We should try and win a flag

bobmurray wrote:We should try and win a flag
Bob, whilst I hope to live for another 50 odd years, I'd prefer a few changes (day games and a move back to Moorabbin) before I cark it.

They are more achievable in the above timeframe than premierships.

Just being realistic!

saint66au wrote:Theres no good or bad times to play footy now. Whats perfect for one is a pain for another...plus people will always find something to have a whinge about. We get more day games..people will sook that were not getting another primetime TV coverage so we'll have trouble attracting sponsors

Cant have it both ways.

I don't expect nor want 16 day games in Victoria each year. I like night games, but not at the current rate!

Plugger - as for taking my kids to night games - well, they are very keen on the idea. Problem is they're not known to sleep in on the next day and are generally very cranky and tired the following day after a late night. As for your Daughter - if she's not 100% perfect you've clearly failed as a Father. Don't you understand women/girls yet? :lol: :wink:

If you understand women give me a call. I need all the help I can get.

Cant have it both ways.

If you understand women give me a call. I need all the help I can get.
Don't wait by the phone plugs, could be a while.

If any bloke has the answer to your question they'd make a billion faster than Zuckerberg!

i wonder how many more members we would get if we played more day games at our own ground down Frankston way. and then sponsors? and then wins? saints versus crows in a huge stadium sunday night miles from the peninsular. if you're 70 plus you're not going to be chomping at the bit to wave the flag are you?

millarsaint wrote:i wonder how many more members we would get if we played more day games at our own ground down Frankston way. and then sponsors? and then wins? saints versus crows in a huge stadium sunday night miles from the peninsular. if you're 70 plus you're not going to be chomping at the bit to wave the flag are you?

What? Move games to Frankston.

Let's move even further from the CBD. What else is down there? Lakes Enterance?