The Truth about Tommy Walsh

Re: The Truth about Tommy Walsh

thought this might be the case

Generally money is the motivating factor.....then they think of an excuse other than money. It's the way especially for those involved in TEAM sports.

He's on the other side of the world, has an unsympathetic coach and a mate from home says "Come to Sydney, we'll look after you".

What would you do?

as stated Tommy went to Sydney because of the presence of Tadhg Kennelly (ex-Kerry team mate) - the Irish connection was all that mattered - money was secondary re: advancing his career

Believe what you want

Im pretty sure he had a live-in gf from Ireland and got to go to work everyday and hang out with 30 blokes. Cant be that friggin lonely. Jesus.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Mon 27 Feb 2012 1:12am, edited 1 time in total.

if true, TW is psychologically weak

skeptic wrote:if true, TW is psychologically weak
Not necessarily - Tadhg has been in exactly the same situation as Tommy - it's got nothing to do with loneliness rather Tadhg knows what it takes to go from playing Gaelic to playing top flight Aussie Rules- his experience would be gold to Tommy - obviously Tommy is serious about making the grade and he is giving himself every opportunity to do so

Is Kennelly still there?

Sounds like a bit of post decision justification to me. He left for the money.

groupie1

From the China-based member on this forum I reckon home-sickness (especially between two white, western countries) says 'guy who hasn't grown up'. Its a terrible reason to cite for why things are hard, including the use of it as an excuse to leave an interstate team and go to another one. Mitch Clarke is insightful here. Homesick, wnated to go to Perth, until the Melb money came along.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

groupie1 wrote:From the China-based member on this forum I reckon home-sickness (especially between two white, western countries) says 'guy who hasn't grown up'. Its a terrible reason to cite for why things are hard, including the use of it as an excuse to leave an interstate team and go to another one. Mitch Clarke is insightful here. Homesick, wnated to go to Perth, until the Melb money came along.
can't compare as eveyone is different but the money would have made his decision easier.

anyway, targh Kennelly is a knob.

Bernard Shakey wrote:He's on the other side of the world, has an unsympathetic coach and a mate from home says "Come to Sydney, we'll look after you".

What would you do?
Well put...

Shame we still didn't have what's his name on the list, the defender from Brisbane, was it Begley?

If he makes it or not, I actually don't have resentment towards him. Lynch either, I'd say the moves towards them both were made long before Ross left.

SaintPav wrote: anyway, targh Kennelly is a knob.
I'm prepared to hate him just in case this story is true. :D

SainterK wrote:Shame we still didn't have what's his name on the list, the defender from Brisbane, was it Begley?

If he makes it or not, I actually don't have resentment towards him. Lynch either, I'd say the moves towards them both were made long before Ross left.
and their collective decisions were made before they found out RL was leaving
Colm would not have been a great mentor for Walsh...

groupie1 wrote:From the China-based member on this forum I reckon home-sickness (especially between two white, western countries) says 'guy who hasn't grown up'. Its a terrible reason to cite for why things are hard, including the use of it as an excuse to leave an interstate team and go to another one. Mitch Clarke is insightful here. Homesick, wnated to go to Perth, until the Melb money came along.
This.

Why would any athlete, footy player or not, want to live in another man's shadow? I lived overseas for years too and never felt the need to move somewhere to be closer to someone else just because they came from the same country as me.

At least the club got this one right and got a couple of darft picks out of it.

samuraisaint wrote:
This.

Why would any athlete, footy player or not, want to live in another man's shadow? I lived overseas for years too and never felt the need to move somewhere to be closer to someone else just because they came from the same country as me.

At least the club got this one right and got a couple of darft picks out of it.
we won't know whether tommy was right to leave until the end of this season.!! If longmire plays him in round 1 and plays him all year like he promised and he improves, well tommy was right to leave!

sunsaint wrote:
SainterK wrote:Shame we still didn't have what's his name on the list, the defender from Brisbane, was it Begley?

I was thinking more BFF :wink:

As they say in Ireland....."feck him".

sunsaint wrote:

I was thinking more BFF :wink:
Well if we hadn't given up on Dermot McNicholl back in the early 90s he may have been our senior coach by now and Tommy may have been our new captain  :P

Megsie

some of the 'irish' guys seem to think they can "go away & come back" as they feel like it.
Some go home & are lured back. Others like Walsh are lured by friends & money.
Hope he doesn't return to saints as we have other young kids now with furtures
greater than him.

VFL forum.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
citywest

What picks did we get for Walsh? And more importantly, which 2 players did we get for those picks?
Does anyone remember?

I'm tipping Walsh will struggle to be a GOP....

We have a shortage of quality Key Position players at the Saints...

If Walsh had have stayed we'd still have a shortage of quality Key Position players at the Saints

citywest wrote:What picks did we get for Walsh? And more importantly, which 2 players did we get for those picks?
Does anyone remember?
picks 35 and 68
35 was markworth and 68 was beau wilkes

Quixote wrote:VFL forum.
Why he plays AFL.