Ross presser on 7Two at 2pm EST

Joey

After seeing that press conference I can honestly say that I'm glad he's gone.

he has no loyalty, its just a job to him, and fremantle was the highest bidder.

Good Riddance!

A champion is not defined by a number of wins, but by the courage shown to get up when your down

Sainternist wrote:Disgraceful performance by Lyon in the press conference.

No doubt he will walk out with a sh*t-eating grin :x

I'm glad the media didn't give him an inch.
I thought he answered the questions as well as he could. What should he have said?

matrix wrote: was self evident after syd game it was an end of an era
freo professionally locked and loaded a deal in 72 hrs, where as saints took too long

Thank god we didn't.

I'm more excited now about the Saints than I have been in years!

Johnny Member wrote:
matrix wrote: was self evident after syd game it was an end of an era
freo professionally locked and loaded a deal in 72 hrs, where as saints took too long

Thank god we didn't.

I'm more excited now about the Saints than I have been in years!
You dont like GF's? God we do go over the top.

Leo.J

I thought he answered the questions as well as he could. What should he have said?
I thought he did too.

Since when have the press been the moral compass of the greater comunity.

Pot Kettle Black or something or other

i liked the big gulp when he was asked about loyalty and has never used the word loyalty to any st kilda player

Honesty.

"I saw the kind of money Freo were offering me and my eyes lit up like a farking pinball machine. That is why I am now here"

That's what he could have said, and quite frankly, I would have more respect if he just called a spade a spade.

Heard it on the TV and heard it again from Ross on SEN (1.23pm), that in April, he asked the Saints for a 4 year deal, but it was not offered until last Wednesday (no mention of an agreement to let it run until the end of the year).

The Saints heirachy need to be held accountable for not getting the deal done far sooner, especially when they knew that other Clubs were on the hunt for new coaches - a very poor effort.

No wonder they thanked him at their press conference for his great contribution - they made the mistake of not tying him down sooner :!: :!:

Sainternist wrote:

Honesty.

"I saw the kind of money Freo were offering me and my eyes lit up like a farking pinball machine. That is why I am now here"

That's what he could have said, and quite frankly, I would have more respect if he just called a spade a spade.
Yes because he was going to say that. Are you in Fantasy or Disney land at the moment?

barks will love it
and in a way...he'll be right
he asked for a deal in april of 4 years, he was offered one 72 hours ago

:?

chook23 wrote:Inportant comment by Lyon

Fremantle sorted something in 72 hrs that took St kilda 6 months

WHACK
Yep, that's it in a nutshell.

WHACK
Maybe so.

But after a preseason like ours and at 1.5 and 8 would you, as a boardmember or a ceo, be willing to do anything other than wait and see? arguably it would not be responsible to do otherwise. If I was a coach that's probably what I'd expect. I reckon Lyon's been reading a little too much of his own press...

Besides, if the 'agreement' was to put discussions on hold then so be it.

Clearly Lyon doesn't want to guide a rebuild to win a flag.

Clearly loyalty means little to him.

On that presser performance I'm glad he's gone.

As clever (or not) as he is on match day, the bloke is clearly some kind of weird animal with ego issues.

Ta ta. Turn the lights off when you leave.

Next!

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

markp wrote:

WHACK
Crap - if 2 parties agree to leave it to season end - then that IS the deal.

Junction Oval wrote:Heard it on the TV and heard it again from Ross on SEN (1.23pm), that in April, he asked the Saints for a 4 year deal, but it was not offered until last Wednesday (no mention of an agreement to let it run until the end of the year).

The Saints heirachy need to be held accountable for not getting the deal done far sooner, especially when they knew that other Clubs were on the hunt for new coaches - a very poor effort.

No wonder they thanked him at their press conference for his great contribution - they made the mistake of not tying him down sooner :!: :!:
It would have been inappropriate to have carried on intensive contract discussion during a finals campaign, I would have thought. I think it's clear there was a motivator for the hasty decision by RL, and blaming the club for being 'slow' is a cop out.

Leo.J

Sainternist wrote:

Honesty.

Unconditional was a word used a bit when talking about his saints contract.

His unconditional meant not answering to anyone imo.

The club took their time on agreeing to that... freo threw him a bucket load of money, what's he going to do?

Don't blame him.

Pelchin picks badly and we lose Lyon gets sacked first.

Maklom

Plugger are you in Disneyland? And do you ever venture outside.

How can you defend the undefendable? Pull your head in and stop criticising others on their legitimate opinions!

He could have told the truth.

He never said why he left.

He lied about it not being the money - because he opened by saying he's a career coach that needs to hink about his young family.

He had a 4 year 'unconditional' deal at the Saints offered on Wednesday. So if it wasn't about the cash, why did he leave? The security was there.

But anyway, he's always been terrible in the media. And considering the savaging they were giving him, he never really could have come out looking good anyway. No matter what he said.

St Lenny

My understanding was that he didnt want to discuss contract till the end of the season.

You can not tell me that he was thinking of security and his young family. He knew very well that St Kilda saw him as long term, that is bulls***.

He must have wanted to leave if they were seeking him for 2013 to have mentioned the out clause to them.

The fact that he used the words "head hunted", indicates to me, that they agreed on these words prior to the press conference to take the heat off him.

I am not convinced there was a lot of honesty in the press conference. They all looked rattled and uncomforable at times.
Last edited by St Lenny on Fri 16 Sep 2011 3:40pm, edited 2 times in total.

It was a smart decision for the St.Kilda Football Club to wait for contract talks at the end of the season. If he was willing to stay with the club he would have signed a new contract at any stage of his tenure.

Maklom wrote:Plugger are you in Disneyland? And do you ever venture outside.

How can you defend the undefendable? Pull your head in and stop criticising others on their legitimate opinions!
Thanks i will take that on board and then throw it over. When have I defended RL? People always read what they want to read. I just said he answered the questions as best he could. Are you with him in Fantasy land?

Sainterman

WHACK
Exactly!!!!

This is what has caused all of this to happen. We should certainly look closely at our CEO and those reporting to him and above him. GT is on the money in the article in the HS today, if you have not read it, do so. The board and CEO need to answer some more questions....they ARE a player in this.

BUT, as incompetent as we may be/are at an admistrative level, do we really want a guy like Ross there? I mean after hearing him today, well, the guy is a "career coach" and has absolutely no loyalty to anyone other than himself. Yeah, footy is a business, but there is still some room for a little loyalty.

Good luck at the purple haze Ross, after watching that you are absolutely going to need it.

Leo.J

Pelchin better be good

Johnny Member wrote:

He lied about it not being the money - because he opened by saying he's a career coach that needs to hink about his young family.

He had a 4 year 'unconditional' deal at the Saints offered on Wednesday. So if it wasn't about the cash, why did he leave? The security was there.

But anyway, he's always been terrible in the media. And considering the savaging they were giving him, he never really could have come out looking good anyway. No matter what he said.
Thank you, Johnny!

Once again, plugger66 is WRONG and we are RIGHT 8-)

Johnny Member wrote:

You are a funny person. You knock his coaching and are happy he left but you are angry he left. That is very strange. Shouldnt you be happy he left and not care why how or who.

fingers wrote:
markp wrote:

WHACK
Crap - if 2 parties agree to leave it to season end - then that IS the deal.
What choice did he have but to 'agree' if that was the clubs call?.... seems what he is saying is that's not what he wanted, and if true, that's likely the sticking and tipping point right there.