Changing Numbers?

SaintTom

Changing Numbers?

I remember last year they gave a few of the boys new numbers, Clint Jones, Jack Steven and Zac Dawson being the key ones I remember. What time of the year was that? We have a few numbers free this year, do you think there will be any changes? If so, who do you think should get what number?

Numbers free as far as I can remember are - 2, 8 (probably won't be touched yet) and 9.

Re: Changing Numbers?

SaintTom wrote:I remember last year they gave a few of the boys new numbers, Clint Jones, Jack Steven and Zac Dawson being the key ones I remember. What time of the year was that? We have a few numbers free this year, do you think there will be any changes? If so, who do you think should get what number?

Numbers free as far as I can remember are - 2, 8 (probably won't be touched yet) and 9.
35 as well. Just give them out. i could understand if a player died why they wouldnt give out the numbers but for god sake give them to a player.

Gwilt deserves a higher number but theres something about the spirt of Robert Elphinstone seeing the No 33 charge off half back

usually done early in the year isn't it?

at pre season camps etc.. and then any function held early in the year.

I'd have no problem seeing Gwilt run around in number 8 next year.

SaintTom

Agree they should give them out. I want to see 2, 8 and 9 actually running around next year. Although 9 seems to be cursed, the last two people who Ross gave this number to never actually played...

St Chris wrote:I'd have no problem seeing Gwilt run around in number 8 next year.

Reward for effort.

I will probably be howled down for saying this but I think Eddy will be offered a new number next year.

In numerology 23 is known as the unlucky number associated with bad luck etc...

Reckon it's about time Kosi changed numbers!

His first year with number 24 was a great year for him, then he got handed 23 and it's been downhill ever since!

avid

A pointless discussion, that I am annuallly addicted to.

No one fully deserves a promotion except fot Gwilty.
But I love him in 33 -- ghost of the Eel, as has been said.
(He'd look OK in 9, or 8, I agree)

Luke Miles deserves a new number, because he's earned a place in the senior side -- and 45 isn't a senior number. (I can remember Grant Thomas in No45, playing his 80 or so reserves games.) Maybe they should sneak Miles up to 35, and be done with it.

Eddy and Peake need to develop some convincing skills before I'd want to see them in big-name numbers.

Stanley and Lynch should keep 28 and 29, and work for their much-anticipated promotion.

I would be very happy to see Fisher in 2. He certainly deserves a leadership number.

Ray I'd even be happy to see in 2, but I think his detractors might rightly point out he's maybe still a bit too on the fringe.

Should Goddard take 2? Would seem right to me -- but what's wrong with the Cowboy's ol' No18? (I remember Thomas in that too, come to think of it.)

I'd like to let Raph have his hoped-for No8. Maybe wait another year?

We'd better pick up some high-profile recruits somewhere if these single digits are going to get filled.

barks4eva wrote:In numerology 23 is known as the unlucky number associated with bad luck etc...

His first year with number 24 was a great year for him, then he got handed 23 and it's been downhill ever since!

I guess thats why Michael Jordan and Lebron James are crap at their sport

plus Franklin has done alright... why are ppl superstious about numbers... if you like it... you play in it

Carn Saints

Batnoe wrote:
barks4eva wrote:In numerology 23 is known as the unlucky number associated with bad luck etc...

plus Franklin has done alright... why are ppl superstious about numbers... if you like it... you play in it
Shane Warne and Dermott Brererton weren't any good either

dcstkfc wrote:
Batnoe wrote:

Done forget round ball gods David Beckham and Marco Breschiano

I guess it depends if they want to change, from memory, Armo was offered a new number last year and he wanted to keep #20

personally

chipper gets 2
jimmy gets 8
miles to take 33
Walsh to get 9

Who knows :P :P

#1GILL

Solar wrote:personally

chipper gets 2
jimmy gets 8
miles to take 33
Walsh to get 9

Who knows :P :P
By Chipper do you mean Sammy Fisher? Surely he's well and truley established as 25.

saintjake

I've never understood why low numbers are so important?
I personally play all my sport in number 33, because its my favourite number?
you would think players after playing a few seasons in a number, wouldnt want to change?

Brisvegas saint

What rot. Numerology?? How did 23 work out for Michael Jordan? Shane Warne? Even Buckets? Kosi's problems are to do with talent and athletic ability, not numerology.

True Blue Sainter

Hurricane wrote:
dcstkfc wrote:
Batnoe wrote:

Done forget round ball gods David Beckham and Marco Breschiano

Stewie was crap too!

The Saints are coming!

Wish someone would come and ask for #69.

Brisvegas saint wrote:

What rot. Numerology?? How did 23 work out for Michael Jordan? Shane Warne? Even Buckets? Kosi's problems are to do with talent and athletic ability, not numerology.
Brisvagas,

How dare you even suggest that barks4eva doesn't know absolutely everything about absolutely everything :roll: :wink: !!

if bakes retires

10 to the big solid blonde bloke

chook23 wrote:if bakes retires

Jones isnt big

Or do u mean our Walsh!

Carn Saints

Batnoe wrote:
chook23 wrote:if bakes retires

Jones isnt big

Or do u mean our Walsh!
What do you think!!

saint3d

avid wrote:Luke Miles deserves a new number, because he's earned a place in the senior side -- and 45 isn't a senior number. (I can remember Grant Thomas in No45, playing his 80 or so reserves games.) Maybe they should sneak Miles up to 35, and be done with it.
Nobody should be promoted into number 35. That's way more expectation than just giving it to a draftee.