Boring bickering.

The place to discuss issues with administrators and moderators. Suggestions welcome. All bans will be posted here and the banning appeals process will be held in this forum.

Re: Boring bickering.

st.byron wrote:It's pretty harmless and there's some quite witty creativity going on.....why stop it? No-one's really insulting anyone else, except for one post suggesting P66 should be eliminated....and he doesn't seem to be offended.
BackFromUSA wrote:
|Andy| wrote:Thus there are less people to make comments and everyone gets more bored easily… So if it continues, unfortunately the forum will lose another 7 year member due to its inactivity and lack of initiative.
If it was reported then at least we would find and assess it as soon as we logged on rather than during our casual reading time!

Using the report function would make our job easier.

At least we can find the conflict - assess it and either move it to Animal Enclosure by splitting it off and / or issuing warnings.
Pretty common practice for people to threaten leaving… I've had a go myself :D

What do the stats say though?

Are we seeing less traffic and posts over time?

I guess as you say, the sooner people report stuff that they feel is off topic or baiting, the faster you guys can move it or issue warnings.

Overall I think things have been pretty stable and enjoyable on here lately, things were much worse before you got involved Simon - so well done.

i agree with dragit....... :D :D
Agree Facebook and Twitter are the big forum killers.

People like Andy are important. He never posts so carefactor zero

maybe if the place was brought in to this century like we've been asking for for five years it might help
christ sake
NOTHING has been done
admin feel like youre bashing your head against a wall with the owner yet?
he couldnt give a shite about this place
every year its 'we'll do something in the off season'
yeah
sure
thats half the reason people spend time elsewhere
the other half is the thread derailing by king numpty

stinger wrote: i agree with dragit....... :D :D
I must be wrong then… I take it all back :D

stinger wrote: i agree with dragit....... :D :D
I must be wrong then… I take it all back :D
:D :D :D :D

Dave McNamara wrote:
plugger66 wrote:... and you will see the real me and I assure you that you will like me.
Just coz we don't always agree with you Pluggs, doesn't equate to disliking you. :wink:

Besides, this 'boring bickering' has reached its third page, so I'd call that a successful thread. :D
Dave that quote was to one person.
And so was mine Pluggs.

(Onto page 4, and counting... popular thread. :D )

Dave McNamara wrote:
plugger66 wrote:... and you will see the real me and I assure you that you will like me.
Just coz we don't always agree with you Pluggs, doesn't equate to disliking you. :wink:

Besides, this 'boring bickering' has reached its third page, so I'd call that a successful thread. :D
what's with this we dave.....????
It's the 'royal' we Sting. As a supporter of our Constitutional monarchy, you'd appreciate its usage. :wink:

oh will you all just pipe down for a minute
Old Mate cant see that i won the prize

sunsaint wrote:oh will you all just pipe down for a minute
Old Mate cant see that i won the prize

arrh.......no.... :roll:

BackFromUSA wrote:
|Andy| wrote:Thus there are less people to make comments and everyone gets more bored easily… So if it continues, unfortunately the forum will lose another 7 year member due to its inactivity and lack of initiative.
If it was reported then at least we would find and assess it as soon as we logged on rather than during our casual reading time!

Using the report function would make our job easier.

At least we can find the conflict - assess it and either move it to Animal Enclosure by splitting it off and / or issuing warnings.
Pretty common practice for people to threaten leaving… I've had a go myself :D

What do the stats say though?

Are we seeing less traffic and posts over time?

I guess as you say, the sooner people report stuff that they feel is off topic or baiting, the faster you guys can move it or issue warnings.

Overall I think things have been pretty stable and enjoyable on here lately, things were much worse before you got involved Simon - so well done.
Are you on 2 warnings?

jamesmc

Gershwin wrote:I am getting thoroughly fed-up with the boring bickering that happens on so many posts on this forum.
It has become impossible to read what may appear to be an interesting topic.

We all know who the culprits are.

I implore the admins to get serious with these people and let the rest of us enjoy the site. A bit of disagreement is fine but what these blokes do (and I'm sure they are blokes) is childish and selfish.

Draw a line in the sand then get serious. Ban them as soon as they start getting offensive and personnel. No 'but he started it' etc. Take a firm stance and get them to change their behaviour or get rid of them. If they don't change and disappear Saintsational will continue without them and will flourish.

Come on admins. You owe it to the vast majority of us on here who enjoy talking footy.
Grow some

plugger66 wrote: Are you on 2 warnings?
Are you suggesting that I am being a suckhole plugs?

I'm being serious… 6 months ago, things were pretty bad on here, heaps of fighting etc.

I reckon things have been pretty amicable in general lately…

Just read the Milney thread. Wow. Some classy stuff. You shouldn't take drugs then post. It's just plain silly.

matrix wrote:maybe if the place was brought in to this century like we've been asking for for five years it might help
christ sake
NOTHING has been done
yeah
sure
Matrix

What is it you are specifically suggesting now?

We have become Tapatalk compliant
we have added the feature where you can see where you last read a thread
We have taken up your other suggestions where phpBB allows

The only thing rejected is embedding videos and we have good reason for that.

Be specific on what you are suggesting.

Simon

Would rather not have the bickering, doesn't really worry me much though - don't like it when folks get personal with each other.

What annoys me more are the Swampers (attention seekers), Bullies & Trolls. I don't use the Ignore button - but there are a few posters
(less than 10 out of 4800) I Never open threads they start, and dodge their posts in topics I'm reading.....less hassle and angst.

Saints ladder position might have something to do with it.
Last edited by MCG-Unit on Fri 21 Nov 2014 10:56am, edited 1 time in total.

No Contract, No Contact :shock:

Jesus, have just read the now locked thread about Peta Searle.

I knew there were still some throwbacks living in denial in the world, but its so disappointing some are Saints fans.

The best thing that could happen is one day Peta or Misfud or Ahmed Saad might eventually become senior coach of St KFC and drive all these pathetic rats into the desert.

So many posters here are an embarrassment to developed society and especially Saints fans, and you have the nerve to hang it on P66. At least his moral compass works and he has a sense of humour. Far from the worst element of this site, and as you might imagine, that speaks volumes.

By the way, yes I am aware of the irony of someone complaining about sexism using an LMFAO avatar. I'll get round to changing it to A. Jones one of these days.

Austinnn wrote:Jesus, have just read the now locked thread about Peta Searle.

I knew there were still some throwbacks living in denial in the world, but its so disappointing some are Saints fans.

The best thing that could happen is one day Peta or Misfud or Ahmed Saad might eventually become senior coach of St KFC and drive all these pathetic rats into the desert.

So many posters here are an embarrassment to developed society and especially Saints fans, and you have the nerve to hang it on P66. At least his moral compass works and he has a sense of humour. Far from the worst element of this site, and as you might imagine, that speaks volumes.

By the way, yes I am aware of the irony of someone complaining about sexism using an LMFAO avatar. I'll get round to changing it to A. Jones one of these days.
Thank you for that amazing homily. You are clearly socially and morally superior and are not afraid to tell the rest of us. It is that, or you are completely deluded. Or you're a mega-tosser, who lacks the spine and moral fortitude to form your own opinions. I'm going with the final option.

Im unsure that is a compliment for me, matter of fact it isn't but I will take is as a compliment compared to other things I cop on here.

BackFromUSA wrote:
matrix wrote:maybe if the place was brought in to this century like we've been asking for for five years it might help
christ sake
NOTHING has been done
yeah
sure
Matrix

And just so everyone understands the "good reason", the reason is that the mods fear we will all suddenly start posting porn videos on the forum.

Which IMHO is friggin ridiculous.

If not for this ruling we could post all the videos of the draftees and other Saints youtube videos on THIS site (like you can on any other forum), instead of just having links that take you elsewhere.

Is that really the reason?

Don't pictures carry the same potential for abuse?

Pluggs - take it as compliment, he is saying... Love you or hate you, you are a decent human being.

WW I reckon you're being a bit harsh, that thread was an absolute turd.

White Winmar wrote:

Thank you for that amazing homily. You are clearly socially and morally superior and are not afraid to tell the rest of us. It is that, or you are completely deluded. Or you're a mega-tosser, who lacks the spine and moral fortitude to form your own opinions. I'm going with the final option.

:wink: :D...who the f*** looks at avatars ffs...not i...

dragit wrote:Is that really the reason?

Don't pictures carry the same potential for abuse?
That's the reason that was given by BFUSA,
"As for the embedded video ... will ask BUT I am scared about what videos some people will load!"
It's all discussed at the end of the thread in the admin forum/suggestions, the quote comes from that discussion.

It was also suggested that it may not be technically possible on this forum format, but Matrix said that (not Admin) and the mods didn't confirm this.

I am perfection

The Redeemer wrote:I am perfection
So true, Mr Beansy

White Winmar wrote:

You are an enigmatic man Mr Winmar. You are a psychologist from memory working in government but I think you said you used to be a cop for years. You seem to swing wildly between hard right and politically correct at times. Possibly all the excessive manners and political correction in your job means you need a release every now and then. Austin seems to have done nothing too wrong and you have absolutely smashed him. I have a daughter and would hate her to be held back in anything she chooses to do. Attitudes towards women are pretty low ATM and that kind of tongue in cheek macho stuff doesn't really help. I have a high opinion of some of your posts and it disappoints me that you are so passionately anti Searle without giving her much of a go. Also pretty poor form hammering Austin who is one of the more respectful posters on SS. I hope you don't get a warning because the punitive measures don't really help anyone see others points of view. Just try to keep it nice.

BackFromUSA wrote:
christ sake
NOTHING has been done
yeah
sure
Matrix

Be specific on what you are suggesting.

Simon
and the good reason is?
get it into this century for christ sake
true sainters looks and craps all over the ability this place has
im not blaming you, or koz or byron
cleaned this place up well yous have
i blame the donkey that thinks he owns the joint (but asks everyone else for money to run it)
this format is very limited

no hyper links on the main page
no links to saints stuff
no links to facebook saints
twitter saints
west of moorab
etc etc
its just so friggin dated

imo

carry on