Brown

Brown

How did people rate his game.

Re: Brown

I can remember him being beaten once.

God he cops some crap for some unknown reason, but he rarely gets beaten and has very few goals kicked on him most weeks.

Assuming he played on Cameron and Patton mainly today. They had 3 goals between them.

Solid citizen each week not to sure how far he will go with us,but doing the job atm

Some absolutely critical efforts.

Solid as a rock.

Happy.

Good. Think he played mainly on Patten who was unsighted in first half.

Both Patton and Cameron did not get much supply today ...67-47 inside 50's.

Having said that, I watched Browny and he worked hard and always stuck close to his man ( it looked like he was on Cameron in the first half)..unlike Jake who has a licence to guard space and 'read' the game. Thought Carlisle was running around like a headless chook at times in the first half and Brown was lucky that Jezza didn't kick straight. Carlisle improved in the second half, and Brown kept doing his job.

I reckon it's more and more 'all about the midfield' in the modern game. When our mids are on and when we bat deep with good numbers from the guys we usually get a decent result.

I like him...

Because he’s a key defender and in our case, THE key defender, people tend to notice his errors more than the countless times he does things right.

St. Paul

He's like the wicketkeeper in cricket. Tends to get noticed only when he makes a mistake. We have three very promising young talls developing in Clavarino (best of the lot, IMO), the almost forgotten Hugh Goddard and the new boy, Logan Austin. Happy to have the experienced player warm their spot for the time being. Let the youngsters battle it out in the VFL for the right to tip the older bloke out. This is good for the team.

"For when I am powerless, then I am strong."

Father Brown - not very sexy, but always gets his man.

St. Paul

Enrico_Misso wrote:Father Brown - not very sexy, but always gets his man.
Not always for criminal offences, I'm told.........

"For when I am powerless, then I am strong."

Enrico_Misso wrote:Father Brown - not very sexy, but always gets his man.
Like!!!!!

Whilst it's good to have somebody to match up on the monster forwards, I don't believe Brown contributes enough.

It's a bit like Longer in the ruck, he may be solid at the contest but offers nothing around the ground.

In today's modern game we cannot afford the luxury of a player who does not contribute offensively.

Shut Patton out of the game. If we had Brown instead of Dawson in '09 and '10 we'd have two more flags. However he's not going to be a part of our next premiership so he needs to stay in top form to justify keeping a younger player like Goddard, Austin or Clavarino from getting game time and experience.

I like Brown being in our defence. Thought he looked pretty solid yesterday arvo. ( IMHO)