Massive pressure on Newnes

Re: Massive pressure on Newnes

Myron Gaines wrote:Blokes had 3 tackles all year. He’s coasting. Trade him for whatever we can get.
I don’t know MG... not directing this to you directly but I’m getting a bit tired of the argument that our players aren’t good enough, never will be, and were poor draft decisions.

Dunstan was too slow
Paddy has diabetes
Gresh is too soft
Billings is too small
Newnes’ disposal is too poor
Koby was never good enough
Hickey can’t do anything
Savage isn’t damaging enough
Geary is a poor captain
Membrey and Bruce too inconsistent
Ross not damaging enough

And on and on it goes. I swear the way ppl talk on here the saints haven’t got one draft pick right in the last 7 years.

It’s such a cop out

1/2-3/4 of our list have demonstrated on multiple occasions that they are capable of playing at or above the required standard. Currently they are not.

That’s the issue that until we address we get no where.

This trade every player we have have, write them all off mentality is getting incredibly tiresome

skeptic wrote:
Myron Gaines wrote:Blokes had 3 tackles all year. He’s coasting. Trade him for whatever we can get.
I don’t know MG... not directing this to you directly but I’m getting a bit tired of the argument that our players aren’t good enough, never will be, and were poor draft decisions.

Dunstan was too slow
Paddy has diabetes
Gresh is too soft
Billings is too small
Hickey can’t do anything
Geary is a poor captain
Ross not damaging enough

And on and on it goes. I swear the way ppl talk on here the saints haven’t got one draft pick right in the last 7 years.

It’s such a cop out

1/2-3/4 of our list have demonstrated on multiple occasions that they are capable of playing at or above the required standard. Currently they are not.

This trade every player we have have, write them all off mentality is getting incredibly tiresome
Its why none of these sort of posters are working at and/or are in charge of an AFL footy club like the Saints. Thank god for that! :D

Let me fix that for you..

Dunstan is close to breaking out.
Paddy has diabetes, is fat, unfit and keeps knocking himself out. Could still be anything.
Gresh is waaay out of form.
Billings keeps shirking.
Newnes’ disposal is too poor just like his decision making.
Koby was never good enough to be more than rotation or perhaps a role player.
Hickey can’t do anything, or when he does he does it wrong.
Savage isn’t damaging enough because he turns it over. See Newnes.
Geary is a good captain.
Membrey and Bruce could be a lot more consistent.
Ross is getting a lot more attention and it remains to be seen if he can really, really take that next step.

Half the side or more is just plain out of form.

elizabethr

Geary is rubbish
the leadership group are a protected species..
it's gunna get ugly

nothing to say
congorozides

parkeysainter wrote:
skeptic wrote:

Dunstan was too slow
Paddy has diabetes
Gresh is too soft
Billings is too small
Hickey can’t do anything
Geary is a poor captain
Ross not damaging enough

It’s such a cop out

Its why none of these sort of posters are working at and/or are in charge of an AFL footy club like the Saints. Thank god for that! :D
Thank god indeed.

Best left to the pros. The top operators. Those highly regarded in AFL circles.

Archie Fraser, Coxy, Lethers, Bainsy-Boy, Matty, Pelcho, Trout.

All the lads. All top operators. All sharp minds. The elite.

Best we leave it to them. They've done a bloody good job.

Have faith Sainters. We are in good hands. I've heard whispers from those very high up in the AFL that they are very pleased with those steering the ship at HMS Sainters.
Last edited by congorozides on Sat 21 Apr 2018 12:52am, edited 1 time in total.

elizabethr

Newnes will never get dropped!

nothing to say
congorozides

elizabethr wrote:Newnes will never get dropped!
So he shouldnt. Backbone of the club. A consistent top performer. Under-rated on here but highly rated by those in the inner sanctum.

elizabethr

Perennial failure

nothing to say
St Lenny

Personally I think Jack Newnes needs to get over himself. Thinks he is a little bit better than what he is. Show some heart, you are in the leadership group. Drop him, I don't care if Roberton is out. He's doing nothing any way. Over rated and over paid.

parkeysainter wrote:Can someone clarify if Newnes was injured during pre-season? Sure I read it on here.
It might explain an average start to the year a bit.
Can confirm he was injured and struggled to be fit in time for JLT.

elizabethr

BackFromUSA wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:Can someone clarify if Newnes was injured during pre-season? Sure I read it on here.
Is this an excuse for his abysmal form ?

nothing to say

BackFromUSA wrote:
Yes he had arthroscopic dig around in his knee. Didn’t join in main group for training until last match of JLT series if I recollect correctly

elizabethr

Shouldn't even be considered for selection

nothing to say

elizabethr wrote:
BackFromUSA wrote:
Is this an excuse for his abysmal form ?
Maybe it is. Pre-season Injuries do play havoc with early season form.
Do you ever write a positive sentence and more than one sentence at a time on here?

loris wrote:
BackFromUSA wrote:
Yes he had arthroscopic dig around in his knee. Didn’t join in main group for training until last match of JLT series if I recollect correctly
Thank you. Makes alot more sense now as to why he hasn't been at his best the first 4 games.

congorozides wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:
skeptic wrote:

Dunstan was too slow
Paddy has diabetes
Gresh is too soft
Billings is too small
Hickey can’t do anything
Geary is a poor captain
Ross not damaging enough

It’s such a cop out

Thank god indeed.

Best left to the pros. The top operators. Those highly regarded in AFL circles.

Archie Fraser, Coxy, Lethers, Bainsy-Boy, Matty, Pelcho, Trout.

All the lads. All top operators. All sharp minds. The elite.

Best we leave it to them. They've done a bloody good job.

Have faith Sainters. We are in good hands. I've heard whispers from those very high up in the AFL that they are very pleased with those steering the ship at HMS Sainters.
You got it Mr Con. Leave it to the professionals.

They know how to do a bit more than organise an after match meat tray raffle.

elizabethr wrote:Geary is rubbish
the leadership group are a protected species..
it's gunna get ugly
Geary put the ball onto the chest of a forward in Geelong:
a perfect 35m pass.
Minor problem- it was a Cat not a Saint.
A goal resulted.
Oh, guess who was awarded SOTD for that game?
Yep.
This club is run by 3 blind mice and Mr Bean.
How pathetic; we deserve better than this garbage.

Perhaps this is the wrong thread, but - following on from the excellent post by skeptic - I am becoming heartily sick of all the hate for Geary, both on this forum and the execrable Big Farty.

Geary has worked very hard on all aspects of his game - including his kicking skills - over his career and is a key leader for the club.

If we are going to crucify players for one poor pass made under enormous pressure, then all clubs would have to start recruiting again from scratch.

Our club looks to be in a fair bit of trouble this season, but Geary is not a contributor to that. It's quite reasonable for people to criticise Newnes: he went backwards in 2017 and even further backwards so far this season. Billings is another one who needs a boot up the bum, as does Bruce, who has been rightfully dropped this week.

But Geary has been one of our better performers so far this season IMO.

Newnes is not alone. His knee might have affected him since last year, who knows? Too much focus on a player who has done quite well for us over a number of years, and who was not a top 10 pick.

Look elsewhere - what’s with all the Newnes fixation?

Massive pressure on everyone!!
Last edited by samoht on Sat 21 Apr 2018 9:43am, edited 1 time in total.

meher baba wrote:Perhaps this is the wrong thread, but - following on from the excellent post by skeptic - I am becoming heartily sick of all the hate for Geary, both on this forum and the execrable Big Farty.

Geary has worked very hard on all aspects of his game - including his kicking skills - over his career and is a key leader for the club.

If we are going to crucify players for one poor pass made under enormous pressure, then all clubs would have to start recruiting again from scratch.

Our club looks to be in a fair bit of trouble this season, but Geary is not a contributor to that. It's quite reasonable for people to criticise Newnes: he went backwards in 2017 and even further backwards so far this season. Billings is another one who needs a boot up the bum, as does Bruce, who has been rightfully dropped this week.

Geary has a heart like a Group 1 racehorse and has been in our best 5 players this year. He is lion hearted! A good skipper that is well respected by the group. We actually need his on field leadership right now more than anything. He does make the odd mistake by foot but he is a back pocket/half pocket plugger that keeps small forwards out of the game. He is also getting alot of the footy this year which is suprising and is doing very well in our stats departments.

If Newnes isnt fit then why is he playing.

We have half back flankers out the arse.

Absolutely no excuse.

parkeysainter wrote:
meher baba wrote:Perhaps this is the wrong thread, but - following on from the excellent post by skeptic - I am becoming heartily sick of all the hate for Geary, both on this forum and the execrable Big Farty.

Geary has a heart like a Group 1 racehorse and has been in our best 5 players this year. He is lion hearted! A good skipper that is well respected by the group. We actually need his on field leadership right now more than anything. He does make the odd mistake by foot but he is a back pocket/half pocket plugger that keeps small forwards out of the game. He is also getting alot of the footy this year which is suprising and is doing very well in our stats departments.

He has been playing in the middle.

elizabethr wrote:Shouldn't even be considered for selection

Care to elaborate? This is obviously stemming from something or somewhere...

Saintmatt wrote:
bigred wrote:He really is rolling on down Clogger street.

Coach is backing him in for this one I reckon.

His disposal is just terrible atm...

And he is just going missing.
His disposal has actually been terrible for a very, very long time. One of those bizarre players who looks like he kicks the footy beautifully - except they rarely hit a target (goal or person).

I've been saying it forever - whilst any of Newnes, Geary and Gilbert (let alone all 3) are in our team - we'll not win anything of consequence and certainly nothing with any pressure in it. You simply cannot have 1/6th of your team who are more likely to miss a target by foot (over any distance) than not. Especially when 2 or those 3 play behind the ball.
I agree it’s not just this bad stretch I’m talking bout Newnes is ordinary by and could not agree more we carry to many of them
Lost all patience with him. I cant remember the last time he actually did a neat 20-30m pass to a team mate. Im wondering if the coach has told him, "If you get the ball, kick it as long as you can. Dont even look up, just kick the skin off it". It may explain some of his disposals, otherwise he's a dumb footballer and needs to be replaced asap.

Totally agree with the above comments. We are carrying too many players that cant kick and playing them behind the ball is game suicide. There's a reason the opp like to have the ball in Geary, Gilbo, Newnes hands etc. Why do you think these guys are basically left alone in our kickouts or in our D50. You dont man up players that arent going to hurt you or indeed help your cause.

The Barometer

Newnes off and we are winning?