Frees for and against saints

Lions. 20 to 26 Win

Roos. 16 to 23 Loss

Crows. 17 to 21 Loss

Cats. 23 to 25 Loss

GWS. 18 TO 20 Draw

Total. 94 to 115
Last edited by saynta on Sat 21 Apr 2018 6:40pm, edited 3 times in total.

Re: Frees for and against saints

Big deal!
Just means we give away more frees than our opponents.

Bernard Shakey wrote:Big deal!
Wow, no s*** Sherlock. How insightful of you.

Darth Vader

Agree, but why do we do this? Has been happening for years and I don’t accept it’s because umpires “cheat”. What is going wrong in the way we play and why can’t we correct it?

Darth Vader wrote:
Agree, but why do we do this? Has been happening for years and I don’t accept it’s because umpires “cheat”. What is going wrong in the way we play and why can’t we correct it?
I agree that the focus should be on fixing this glaring statistic rather than abusing those who continually point out the discrepancy.

Milne

The last thing we should be complaining about at the moment is the umpires.

I think you are losing the plot Saynta!

You state “I agree that the focus should be on fixing this glaring statistic rather than abusing those who continually point out the discrepancy”.
Darth Vader wrote:
I agree that the focus should be on fixing this glaring statistic rather than abusing those who continually point out the discrepancy.
In the mean time you are abusing poor Bernard with the below post, no wonder he is Shakey!
Wow, no s*** Sherlock. How insightful of you.
Who is going to fix this glaring statistic and who deems it an issue other than you and Curly?
Most posters here dismiss the Saynta & Curly fantasy that the umpires cheat against the Saints and it is sanctioned by the AFL.

I don’t hear any noise from the club or any of the influential supporters!

How is fixing the glaring statistic (I assume via the AFL) in any way linked to the Saintsational forum and perceived abuse? Is it the abuse you are directing at Bernard Shakey that you refer?

Why did the umpires cheat for us in 2009 when we received an all time record 13.5% advantage in free kicks and how do we get them to return to positive cheating rather than negative?

What’s going on? I don’t know what I am writing, I’m confused, why do I have a persecution complex? Mods, mods, mods I told you!!!

I’ve come to realise that it must be an AFL conspiracy against St Kilda, and couldn’t possibly be biased fans not being able to accurately and fairly judge the quality of umpiring against their own team.

Solution is simple. Some how orchestrate things to get a Saints-man as head of the AFL, because conspiring against your own team would be even more ridiculous than there being a conspiracy in the first place. Now just have to figure out how to do this...

The_Dud wrote:I’ve come to realise that it must be an AFL conspiracy against St Kilda, and couldn’t possibly be biased fans not being able to accurately and fairly judge the quality of umpiring against their own team.

Solution is simple. Some how orchestrate things to get a Saints-man as head of the AFL, because conspiring against your own team would be even more ridiculous than there being a conspiracy in the first place. Now just have to figure out how to do this...
Ross " the boss" Oakley
And I know you jest re the current man in charge.
Don't forget former saint Leigh Fisher conspires against us.

saynta wrote:Lions. 20 to 26

Roos. 16 to 23

Crows. 17 to 21

Cats. 23 to 25

Total. 76 to 95
Bump

If you think we were any where close to being on the wrong end of the umpiring today then you are 100% delusional.

Hell, they did their best to keep us in the game the first half!

The_Dud wrote:If you think we were any where close to being on the wrong end of the umpiring today then you are 100% delusional.

All our shots on goal in the first 1/4 from frees, not the umps fault we can't kick.
The Geelong crowd were going nuts, now I mention that because last week the StKilda crowd booing was apparently proof that the umpires were cheating against us.

Given we were second to most contests I'm surprised the count was that close.
I agree dud, anyone who thinks we were on the bad end of the umpiring today is delusional.
Cue to two old guys from the muppets who bitch about umpires every week on this forum.

footyhead

I think with the frees it's really how you are going as a team. Umpires are human they make mistakes and can be influenced (not just by the crowd). So I think it's probably related to :
- the rules are interpretive,
- team form/perception and
- a bit of luck. Let's face it a lot of contests could go either way. You can look at 10 decisions and 5 of them could go either way.
So I agree umpiring probably has nothing to do with how well the team is going, but when you are going well you seem to get more frees or a better differential. This is my perception, very finger in the air stuff, so checking the AFL website (very quickly) you can say (MAYBE) the differential between "frees for" and "frees against" is probably the stat that helps. But.... it may also be when and where you get these frees too. E.g. for 5 games, 10 frees directly in front of goal to keep you in the game is better than 20 frees in the last line of defence when you are 30 points down in that last 5 mins of those games. So in a nutshell we just need to improve and the frees will even up.

Darth Vader wrote:
We don't have the money to "FIX" the problem.

The_Dud wrote:If you think we were any where close to being on the wrong end of the umpiring today then you are 100% delusional.

Did I say that.? NO. All I did was update the figures, which I will do each and every week.

Bit hard for some of the more low brow self confessed bogans to understand a simple post though.

But you should know better.

ace wrote:
Darth Vader wrote:
We don't have the money to "FIX" the problem.
More than a question of money though mate.

Did I say that.? NO. All I did was update the figures, which I will do each and every week.

Bit hard for some of the more low brow self confessed bogans to understand a simple post though.

Did I say you think that? NO. All I did was make a general statement.

The_Dud wrote:

Nice try to get out of that but much like the saints,you fail.

There are worse things in life than being a self-confessed “internet forum” low brow bogan.

For example:
- Accusing other forum users of being low brow bogans, when your writing style indicates you are intimately describing yourself

- Being an illiterate moron (closely associated with aforementioned point)

- Having anger management issues

- Being a pathetic keyboard warrior that is banned from an internet forum :lol:

- Having delusions of grandeur on an internet forum :roll:

- Bragging about your life on an internet forum

- Claiming you have had some moral victory over other posters on an internet forum :roll:

- Thinking you are intelligent when your writing portrays an IQ of 70 (at best) :oops:

- Being so irrational that you think organisations and individuals conspire to deliberately cheat against your football club, without determining the benefit of them doing so

- Being so pathetic and obsessed that you have to respond to a post within 10 minutes

- Not being able to let something go

- Failing to take responsibility and blaming others for your own poor internet behaviour

- Attempting to gaslight other forum users

Yep, plenty of things worse than being a low brow bogan :lol: :lol: :lol:

The_Dud wrote:

Pretty easy for the forum low brow bogans to understand what you are writing The Dud, but then you have Saynta who makes the low brow bogans of the forum look like the love child of Einstein and Stephen Hawking.

The fact that you wrote “IF you think” and did not make a direct accusation is lost on this internet giant who is the purveyor of the forum.

And lastly, why would you try to "get out of that"?
Is it because the forum god that is Saynta feels you need to bow down and earn the acceptance of the forum matriarch/patriarch?

saynta wrote:Lions. 20 to 26 Win

Roos. 16 to 23 Loss

Crows. 17 to 21 Loss

Cats. 23 to 25 Loss

GWS. 18 TO 20 Draw

Total. 94 to 115
Bump.

We have been on the wrong side of the umpires for almost 15 years now.
Ever since GT bagged them.

Enrico_Misso wrote:We have been on the wrong side of the umpires for almost 15 years now.
Ever since GT bagged them.
Yep. They must have elephant brains inside those puny bodies.
Like elephants they never forget.

GWS gave away a heap of intentional free kicks designed to stop us when we had a sling shot / overlap play ... the free then meant we had to stop / slow down if the umpire didn’t pay advantage ... stupid umpires should just ignore the professional frees and let the game continue.

BackFromUSA wrote:GWS gave away a heap of intentional free kicks designed to stop us when we had a sling shot / overlap play ... the free then meant we had to stop / slow down if the umpire didn’t pay advantage ... stupid umpires should just ignore the professional frees and let the game continue.
That would mean the tv cameras would be on the footy and the players and that deprives them of their 15 seconds of fame. They get their mug on the telly when they stop the play and we notice them do that thing where they tap their bum and make the signal to the other umps. They have a preconceived idea of an outcome at times and there is no doubt more errors are made when you get the second tier of umpires. #24 today was putrid.

Absolutely incompetent and absolutely no sense of watching and judging the game from a footy perspective. Even at times when you think that we mght get a fair crack and they'll give us the benefit of the doubt for the technical frees, they stuff up and give the wrong decision...

e.g. If a player bounces the footy and he is tackled, that player is deemed to still be in possession, however if said player bounces the footy and the footy comes back up and that player fumbles...is that player still in possession? C'mon? Technically is a player in possession if he fumbles? No he f***** isn't!! Jack Steven should have been given the free or it should have been play on.