Is Armo cooked??

Round 1, 1st quarter he had a dozen possessions and was on fire. Clearance king. Finished with a respectable 24 possies.

Since then he’s hardly fired a shot.

I’m thinking it’s a mental not physical thing. He’s lost the drive and passion like most of them.

Is it a full on player revolt of the coach that’s manifest itself in one of our older players/leaders not just the (obvious one) 3-5 year player bracket??

Not sure but my gut says so.

Re: Is Armo cooked??

saintspremiers wrote:Round 1, 1st quarter he had a dozen possessions and was on fire. Clearance king. Finished with a respectable 24 possies.

Since then he’s hardly fired a shot.

I’m thinking it’s a mental not physical thing. He’s lost the drive and passion like most of them.

Is it a full on player revolt of the coach that’s manifest itself in one of our older players/leaders not just the (obvious one) 3-5 year player bracket??

Not sure but my gut says so.
The club still needs an old head around the joint in Armo as we have quite a young list. Gilbert may be going at season's end too which magnifies that point.

For what its worth, I would be playing Steele and Dunny in the middle as those tough inside players ahead of Armo. They are the future and those boys will be playing in our next finals appearances, not Armo. Koby Stevens is a handy backup at this point, but he can play a handy tagging role whilst getting the footy himself.

Bit confused mate.
So he had the drive and passion in week 1 but doesn't have it 2 weeks later and it is because of the coach. From my point of view the coach has backed him all the way and has put him straight into the seniors. If there is a problem with Armo it is that he can no longer match it with the class of midfielders he is coming up against. Give him another 2 weeks and make a call.

Was watching him run around Saturday night and thought the same thing as the OP (that he may be cooked)
Wouldn't have a clue re the coach as that appears as pure speculation to me. What I do know is that he's not finding the footy and bursting through packs like he used to. Right now he's us rather than the opposition.

Another questionable decision by the list management committee giving him 3 years after 2016.
It’s a no brainer to play Dunstan and Steele now, we are not in the premiership window and a 29 year old with a bad back is not the future.

nw7

I really hope he isn't cooked. He hasn't been great the last 2 weeks. I was really impressed week 1 in the JLT, and his hands and vision were really good.

derby Street

If he isn't, he is doing a damn good impression of it.

Yep...cooked.
He had one great year and a couple of good ones alongside.
But it is all over now Baby Blue!
Dylan fans?

derby Street wrote:If he isn't, he is doing a damn good impression of it.
Doesn't matter at this point - Steele and Dunstan need to play - its now a development year Armo can do like Shnieder did in his last year and help mentor the boys

Next year we need to get another mature guy in to help the kids - hopefully Sloane who will be good enough to add to the on field performance as well as the off field. ( yes I know why would he want to come ? - dare to dream)

I think we will probably need to clear out a few old heads next year - Gilbo, brown - although he seems to be a good influence on the young blokes - If Armo is contracted he continues in the shneider role otherwise he would go

So we are probably looking for 1 or 2 free agents to balance the age demographics ( ie older guys who are good enough to make a difference on field) - and hopefully we can get at least 1 young gun from the draft as well

Armitage has missed a lot of footy. He's one of those players who takes a while to get the run back in his legs. it's a fitness thing. I'd give him three weeks at Sandy and tell him to run, run, run. He's not done yet.

Didn't Alan Jeans say " footballers are like sausages "... if he was right Armo is cooked.

DWOODROW

I hope he gets traded.!!!
Last edited by DWOODROW on Tue 10 Apr 2018 9:40pm, edited 1 time in total.

DWOODROW wrote:I hope he gets traded.
Is that cryptic for him not getting looked after properly by the club?

The Recruit

He is absolutely cooked
No longer has a place in the best 24

Have been saying it all pre-season. Dave should be playing as the defensive half forward. Dangerous near goals and would relish hunting down a rebound defender. After a few Armo tackles that rebounder would run just a little more cautiously.

DWOODROW wrote:I hope he gets traded.!!!
Sorry to hear that, but I don't blame you.

Not a chance. Physically he’s the best he’s been for 5 years. Mentally he’s like the rest of them, one quarter, one game from getting it all back.

His disposal efficiency has been 66%, 71% and 68%, no where near that expected of a midfielder, has been a good soldier but he’s finished.

Im in the Ross Lyon camp - I have never thought Armitage was a good player. He wouldnt get games in any other side in the league. He is a poor runner, his kicking is hit and miss and he falls over all the time. Put him in the Saints should have basket. They should have traded him 3 years ago when he had value.

One Eyed Saint

Not cooked but struggle to see how he can play on in 2019.

He has lost a yard of pace (never that quick anyway) and his foot skills are OK but not great.

elizabethr

Carrying a bit of weight i would guestimate but is easily in the best 22.

nothing to say

certainly not in best 22 on form (even with our poor form) and not in our developing best 22. i think he's earning games on e perience and reputation. never that good but tried his heart out and had a few decent years.

repta

Does he know where the goals are? Can't remember him kicking to many. Schneider was good as he could sit at half forward and sneak a couple of goals.

Saying thatSaints are in desperate need of experience and leadership. If all the old heads are gone and we have weak leadership around the club (which we have) we will be destined for the wilderness for along long time.

Armo is a good player and one of the toughest Saints I’ve seen but if we are relying on him to be one of our top 4 mids at this stage of his career we are stuffed.

Our leading mids are Steven, Ross and Dunstan.

What does that say?

elizabethr

repta wrote:Does he know where the goals are? Can't remember him kicking to many. Schneider was good as he could sit at half forward and sneak a couple of goals.

Saying thatSaints are in desperate need of experience and leadership. If all the old heads are gone and we have weak leadership around the club (which we have) we will be destined for the wilderness for along long time.
He has 91....more than Jack Steven.

nothing to say