We could be 1-11

Currently sitting 1-2 here is our fixture:

Geel (A)
GWS (H)
Haw ( Tas)
Melb ( H)
Freo ( A)
Coll( H)

Geel, GWS, Haw, Melb to me Loss
Chance Freo , Coll

After that gets no better

Rich(A)
WC (A)
Syd (H)
GC(A)

So leading into the BYE a neutral supporter would have us perhaps 3-11

Unlike others i don't think the coach is to blame i just think we have a pllayers who we have in our top 10 players who would be in top teams 15-25 players. We had the 2nd youngest team out there tonight so that say to me the powers that be see us as still a couple years away - therefore Richo Safe .

Will they hold their nerve?

Re: We could be 1-11

Lucky to win the 1

Sounds like our typical halftime score!

axcellence

2-10 is what I think. But then I am an optimist... :P

axcellence wrote:2-10 is what I think. But then I am an optimist... :P
This. We’ll beat Collingwood. But thats all.

St Chris wrote:
Will we? If the game was played next week, Collingwood would start favourites.

We could end up 20-2.

kosifantutti wrote:We could end up 20-2.
Yeah. Nah.
Have you seen us play?
We would need to increase pace and kicking skills and then sustain it for multiple weeks.
Not sure we can turn that around in an instant.

Drake Huggins

Back to the days of timid. 2-20 is realistic. A couple of upsets might get us to 4-18. At least we'll get the number one pick, which Elshyte will waste on a dud who comes from a great family.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

kosifantutti wrote:We could end up 20-2.
Yeah. Nah.
Have you seen us play?
We would need to increase pace and kicking skills and then sustain it for multiple weeks.
Not sure we can turn that around in an instant.
It wasn’t meant as a prediction. I just can’t see the point of predicting we’ll lose all these games and feeling bad about it in advance.

Geelong A - Loss
GWS H - Loss
Hawthorn - A - Win
Melbourne - H - Win
Freo - A - Loss
Collingwood - H - Win
Richmond - A - Loss
West Coast - A - Loss
Sydney - H - Loss

I reckon 4-8 is more realistic.
We'll improve a bit after the bye when we start to settle in to life after Riewoldt, Montagna, Shinner, and probably Gilbo who seems to be playing the reserves captain support role.

In the second half of the season allowing for inuries I think we'll beat:

Carlton H
Bulldogs H
Hawthorn H
North Melbourne H

8 wins minimum is very achievable, even allowing for narrow losses due to interstate umpiring, injuries, etc.

At the beginning of the year I thought we'd win at least 11 matches and as many as 12, but I probably underestimated the loss that Nick and Joey would have on our team.

samuraisaint wrote:Geelong A - Loss
GWS H - Loss
Hawthorn - A - Win
Melbourne - H - Win
Freo - A - Loss
Collingwood - H - Win
Richmond - A - Loss
West Coast - A - Loss
Sydney - H - Loss

I reckon 4-8 is more realistic.
We'll improve a bit after the bye when we start to settle in to life after Riewoldt, Montagna, Shinner, and probably Gilbo who seems to be playing the reserves captain support role.

In the second half of the season allowing for inuries I think we'll beat:

Carlton H
Bulldogs H
Hawthorn H
North Melbourne H

8 wins minimum is very achievable, even allowing for narrow losses due to interstate umpiring, injuries, etc.

At the beginning of the year I thought we'd win at least 11 matches and as many as 12, but I probably underestimated the loss that Nick and Joey would have on our team.
I like your optimism SS but I just can't see how we'll beat both Melbourne and Hawthorn. Melbourne beat us twice last year and have now even managed to crack the North hoodoo. They slaughter us for class all over the ground except perhaps for defence. That could help us except our mids can barely get the footy let alone hit up our forwards (to then make Frost and O McDonald look like the spuds they are). They're also developing that habit that good teams have of doing what's needed to win. And save for Gawn's miss - they'd be 3-0. Petracca to kick 6 and have 37; 20 uncontested.

The Hawks? They're waaaaay better than I thought and their run and cleanliness of disposal is their strength (i.e. the complete opposite of us). Can you imagine McEvoy down to T Mitchell 60 times in that game? I can - poor Marshall will be buggered in a month and it's not like our mids will be challenging TM for possession of the pigskin. They also fought hard to run the Premier to two goals; by comparison - we turned up our noses when it all got a bit hard against the runners up to get thumped by 49. McEvoy to have 60 hit-outs, 10 marks, 15 possessions and kick 2.

Also - the Dogs will now improve markedly. They're a reasonable team who just needed to click. They're also well coached. By comparison, we ....

If we are 1-11 Richo is def gone...

We'll sneak a few though. More 4-8 which isn't ideal.

Funnily the wheels all fell off after the Richmond game... Been issues with performances over the last two years, not just this year.

Going to be an interesting situation that unfolds now. Could completely turn around, could completely destruct.

Spinner wrote:If we are 1-11 Richo is def gone...

Funnily the wheels all fell off after the Richmond game... Been issues with performances over the last two years, not just this year.

Going to be an interesting situation that unfolds now. Could completely turn around, could completely destruct.
I’d almost prefer 1-11 to 4-8 IF it means the end of Richo. The sooner the better IMO

Starting to fel that way myself. I know we'll improve and get on a roll at some point. But it will just paper over the cracks. Our players have stagnated or gone backwards. I'm only going to be happy though if the f$%kwit in charge of recruiting goes with him. Otherwise - it'd be like Smith, Bancroft and Warner copping their ban but still leaving Lehman in charge.

Yep, without want to lose. 4-8 is a terrible result but won't enforce change.

Our financial position makes it interesting. Coupled with Richo's extended contract. He'll only go if 1-11 or 2-10. Anything more, probably pushed to end of season.

Our crowds are doing the talking.

Yep, without want to lose. 4-8 is a terrible result but won't enforce change.

Our financial position makes it interesting. Coupled with Richo's extended contract. He'll only go if 1-11 or 2-10. Anything more, probably pushed to end of season.

Our crowds are doing the talking.
Assume Geelong flog us - be lucky to get 15K vs GWS

repta

4 -8 ...SOLD. iat the present standing i would be wrapped with that result.
Tough run ahead. But as we are playing like donkeys they would struggle against a VFL side.

Forecast 1-11 & Richo head in the noose but in good news Lite and easy and Spec savers picked up as major sponsors for a future then and now ad campaign.

SydneySainter wrote:
St Chris wrote:
Will we? If the game was played next week, Collingwood would start favourites.
Very firm favourites!!

Another team has passed us Collingwood

Under the pump, the Pies adapted their game plan and fired up the players.

Over to you, Richo.

Molly said Richo couldn't inspire a bloke to put the kettle on.
Mr Fairy Dust has had long enough, and has destroyed the team now.
He needs to get the ar*e and if we are 1-11, well he should bloody walk away.

WellardSaint wrote:

Molly said Richo couldn't inspire a bloke to put the kettle on.
Mr Fairy Dust has had long enough, and has destroyed the team now.
He needs to get the ar*e and if we are 1-11, well he should bloody walk away.
And how many games of VFL/AFL did Molly play? Didn't realise he had trained and been in meetings with Richo the last 5 years!

Still love molly though, but please stick to the red wine and wall murals.

How do we go from missing the finals by 1 game to this complete rabble?

Impatient Sainter wrote:How do we go from missing the finals by 1 game to this complete rabble?
It’s called not having Roo, Monty, Fisher, Dempster and an in form Gilbo as massive wallpapers.

Also, in 2016 teams didn’t spend much time on strategy to play us - we caught them all on the hop.

Last year they worked us out, and now we are screwed as we have Mr One Dimensional ala-GT when he was found out by other coaches.

I’ve never seen Richo/match committee make so many unforced changes two weeks in a row. What we’ve done selection wise would be standard at most clubs not the usual “I’ll back the players, there are lots of positives”