PREVIEW - Saints v Lions Round 1 2018

SMS

PREVIEW - Saints v Lions Round 1 2018

Stkilda
Webster. N.Brown. Geary
Savage. Carlisle. Roberton
J.Sinclair. S.Ross. J.Billings.
Armitage Bruce. Lonie.
Gresham McCartin. Membrey

Marshall. J.Steven. Dunstan
Acres Coffield J.Steele (Newnes or Clark)

This is the team we will go with.
Lonie has earnt his spot. Sick of idiots not getting the fact he is a gun.
Was out best against carlton and again BOG in sandy match today.

We MUST and SHOULD win his game easily. Kick long to leading targets, no handballing to stationary people or bombing the ball without crumbers there and we should be fine.

Personally want to see tiger style forward entries with lonie gresh armo at the feet of the big boys
Want to see billings smash it with many forward 50 entries.
Most of all want Paddy to get a bag of 5+.
Why waste time on “awkward no tap” hickey and “no run” longer when marshall has it all!! Hope he gets the gig.
Coffield in two praccy fames has already gone past newnes and id be happy for clark to get gig over newnes ... but he wont.

IF RICHO doesnt play coffield, lonie and plays weller & gilbert instead (whoch probably will happen) I WILL SPEW UP!!

TIP: SAINTS by 26 points

Thoughts? Match Ups?

Re: PREVIEW - Saints v Lions Round 1 2018

How does Lonie get in the team ahead of Dunstan, Acres, Newnes, Coffield and Clark?

I like Marshall in the side. He's earned his spot I reckon.

I doubt Lonie will even get a game, let alone start.
Same for Marshall as they will probably go for Longer or Hickey and use Bruce as a 2nd ruck (which I dislike).

Its nice you didn't call McCartin a fat diabetic in this post though and you hope he kicks a bag. Whatever the forward line looks like, it will be dangerous. I also reckon we need to stitch up Hodge and make it hard for him down back.

Coffield will get a game. Clark not sure on and is 50/50.

samuraisaint wrote:I like Marshall in the side. He's earned his spot I reckon.
He's raw, but you can see why they call him The Prospect. Could be a really useful player, not even in the ruck, but as he's quite agile and good overhead, he could be a tall utility that plays many positions, or even plays backup to one of Longer / Hickey and can still be useful.

Lonie wont start IMO. I am not a huge fan of Weller either but I prefer him to Lonie. Gilbo should play for his experience plus he can be a back up ruck.
Not sold on Marshall yet. I am not saying he wont be good but he isn't ready yet. He made a few basic errors in the practice games that cost us dearly and it seemed to be due to nerves. I am not sure if Round 1 is best for him

Kick long to leading targets, no handballing to stationary people or bombing the ball without crumbers there and we should be fine. Couldn't agree more with this statement. Perfect synopsis

Drake Huggins

Marshall must play! I'm hollerin' for a Marshall!

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Drake Huggins wrote:Marshall must play! I'm hollerin' for a Marshall!
Marshall needs to amp it up to 11.

i would jump off a tassie pier naked in winter if richo started all of marshall, clarke, and coffield in our first game.

i was fortunate many years ago to be in tassie, when two footy callers took that dip (clothed) after a similar call on hudson kicking ten in a comeback game for glenorchy (i think) - early 80s. i'm pretty safe.

i'l be happy if he plays just one, but he did give both lonie and sinclair a chance first up in 2015, and the previous year dunstan, billings, and eli all started. gresh the only other one since. becoming more conservative as he ages?

Ireckon Gilbert will play and give a chop out in the ruck,not saying i like it, but what i see happening

Saints by 45

Drake Huggins

No chance the milky bar kid will take a risk. He's tough and strong and can't go wrong!

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Lions by 17

So far we’ve played friendly, bruise free football without a lot of pressure. It will be unsociable football in a fortnight, mark my words.

Bruce G McAbee

bergsone wrote:Ireckon Gilbert will play and give a chop out in the ruck,not saying i like it, but what i see happening
That tactic with Gilbert or Bruce hasn't worked for two seasons.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.
saint-stu

tony74 wrote:So far we’ve played friendly, bruise free football without a lot of pressure. It will be unsociable football in a fortnight, mark my words.
Glad to hear this Tony. Reading between the lines from Richo's comments after the game, sounds like we were experimenting, which means you really can't read much into the performance?

1ac46a38

tony74 wrote:So far we’ve played friendly, bruise free football without a lot of pressure. It will be unsociable football in a fortnight, mark my words.
Cheers T74. As much as I suspected. Saints are just getting ready and really focusing on Rd 1 and the actual season now this AFLX ans JLT garbage is over. Always were. Good and trusted insight again.

Seems that Richo picks a team on who trains well, rather than who can actually play footy. Senior selection should be performance based, and if players are really putting their hand up pre-season, be it JLT or Sandy, then they are the ones who should be rewarded. Apparently Lonie and Battle did pretty well in the Sandy hit out on the weekend, so they should have jumped the queue a bit.. I would be very disappointed to see ordinary performances pre-season, gifted a senior game.

My biggest interest will be to see if Richo is actually able to motivate the team to come out firing on all cylinders in the first quarter...not holding my breathe.

Time to bring it.

Yep, the JLT was relatively bruise free. What it did show was that many of our players have improved and we're bigger, fitter and healthier. Looking forward to the fair dinkum stuff.

While that's nice to hear I'm concerned that the players think they can just flick a switch and turn on the intensity whenever they feel like it.

remboy wrote:
While that's nice to hear I'm concerned that the players think they can just flick a switch and turn on the intensity whenever they feel like it.
I don't think I've ever witnessed an intense JLT match in my life!

Good to hear.

I want to see those pathetic Care Bears bruised and battered like a pulp and sooking like babies all the at way home

OP thinks Lonie is a 'gun' and I am an idiot.
Ffs.

Kelly is a gun. Martin is a gun. Dangerfield is a gun. Wines is a gun. Bont is a gun.

Lonie is nothing near these players. Get a grip.
Sick of fantasists on here.

Lonie is fringe in a mediocre side at absolute best.

SMS

Con Gorozidis wrote:OP thinks Lonie is a 'gun' and I am an idiot.
Ffs.

Kelly is a gun. Martin is a gun. Dangerfield is a gun. Wines is a gun. Bont is a gun.

Lonie is nothing near these players. Get a grip.
Sick of fantasists on here.

Lonie is fringe in a mediocre side at absolute best.
By gun I dont mean best in league.
I meant gun as in top a 10 player for us. Lonies football brain and skill is elite. Id say lonies skill is the best we have. Laser by foot. Hopefully he can get to next level. We need that precision and smarts.