Lethlean going to Saints?!

Re: Lethlean going to Saints?!

Look at it this way, imagine it’s a company that some bad shyte happens and it’s share price plummets 50% very quickly, but the bad stuff won’t actually effect the economic output of the company, but the market overreacted.

So you buy in Simon at a cheap price, well below his market value.

It’s a good move.

Good appointment. I wish him all the best.

desperation on both sides :(

Some people seriously live in a bubble.....
This is a great pick up for the Saints and we picked him up due to his recent issues...
It's not too dissimilar to the Bombers picking up Stringer, his currency has obviously gone down and we have profited.

degruch wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:If he's right for the job then he should get it. It takes two to tango.
Of course, we all said that about Lovett as well. *cough*

Consenting adults? I can't remember anyone saying that.
Certainly not the young lady pressing charges or the players that allegedly threatened to walk out if he wasn’t sacked

Good move by the Saints - very good administrator/manager. His problem & depature from the AFL was good luck for the Saints - otherwide he would not have been available.

Harvey To Hayes

iwantmeseats wrote:This is just part of the reason, or symbolic of it, that we are such a piss ant club with such a shockingly poor history.
Personally, I would have NEVER entertained the thought of employing this grub. How can you trust him ??
He is a low life, aint no changing that,
Very disappointed in St.Kilda.
But you get used to that.
So he is a low life for having a consenting affair? I suppose you're some paragon of virtue who's never done a thing wrong in your life? By your reasoning we shouldn't pick someone we deem the best candidate for the job in case one past indiscretion - and a far from serious one at that - happens to annoy some current-day PC warriors and causes some keyboard activists to have a melt? Certainly glad you ain't steering the ship...

The future's so bright I've got to wear shades...

If you're going to have an affair you should (at least) be discreet enough to avoid getting caught!

Someone I know well worked with Simon and rates him highly, plus believes he has learnt from his past mistake

So who reports to him now ? ... does he now have recruitment reporting up to him ?

Love is all you need
philtee

Absolutely no issue with it.

Where's Mary Magdalene?

That harlot should be stoned.

Drake Huggins

degruch wrote:
Let’s just say they fell on their swords ... so to speak
:lol: Men in their position often do.
They fell because of their swords.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Now that he's put his pecker back in it's holster, let's see what he's got.

Then we can make a judgement.

Will the Saints ever have a quality midfield ?

Good luck to him....he's been publicly pilloried for his mistakes....now let him get on with his new role.

Gee whiz, so much hyperbole over this bloke. He had a consensual sexual affair with a woman of legal age and now people have put him in the light of being some type of predator. According to smug opposition fans, Lethlean and St.Kilda are a perfect match. Typical, we're always ridiculed for something.

Zed wrote:So who reports to him now ?
I believe he will personally recruit a specialist team of ex grid-girls to help him achieve his goals.

evertonfc wrote:Look, nobody is tougher to please than me when it comes to the club making decisions.

But this is a real win for the club. We need some people who can pull strings inside the AFL.

Simon's best mate is Gil. They will work very, very closely to make sure the Saints get a good run - and nobody knows the AFL's numbers better than Lethlean.

I reckon he'll turn up with a point to prove. How good will it look on his CV if he gets the Saints to a flag?
We havent even made a finals appearance once sing G McCOCKlin took over.

Seriously get a grip.

McCOCKlin was put there by CROWN and SPOTLESS.

End of story.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Sat 16 Dec 2017 1:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

This just reminds me of when I see or hear Carey, Lyon or Hird on TV or radio for example. I'm instantly reminded of the s*** they got up to every time. They have a permanent s*** stain halo that will hang around them for the rest of their lives. Same with this corporate big wig in Lethlean. Its very hard to take them serious, respect and ever look at them the same again. I'm sure there are many others out there that think the same.

evertonfc wrote:Look, nobody is tougher to please than me when it comes to the club making decisions.

But this is a real win for the club. We need some people who can pull strings inside the AFL.

Simon's best mate is Gil. They will work very, very closely to make sure the Saints get a good run - and nobody knows the AFL's numbers better than Lethlean.

I reckon he'll turn up with a point to prove. How good will it look on his CV if he gets the Saints to a flag?
We havent even made a finals appearance once sing G McCOCKlin took over.

Seriously get a grip.

McCOCKlin was put there by TABCORP and SPOTLESS.

End of story.

ss1986

I totally understand why we got him.

But this is St.Kilda, and we have a reputation. I'm not particularly concerned by the opinions of sheep, but boy does it make it hard work to be a supporter when you see our club being trolled in social media incessantly.

Our supporters need a break. Just wish the club could stay out of politics, PR disasters and other divisive issues for even just 12 months.

resaintlee

amusingname wrote:
DJ Higgins wrote:
HarryM wrote:
spert wrote:Probably not the wisest appointment
What a coup for us, getting a guy that 4 Clubs passed on!
Which 4 clubs?
Essendon, Carlton, Hawthorn and Collingwood were all searching for CEO's or high ranking positions this off-season. All were rumoured to have considered him and passed. Carlton were most prominently mentioned, with the talk being that he did not present well to the board as he had been told the job was basically his and the presentation was a formality, obviously it wasn't.

On having him at the club, I don't really mind and would trust Finnis (as well as the AFL who would sign off on the appointment) to make the correct decision. I suspect he would have a pretty strong morality clause in his contract so any hint of an issue would see him gone quicksmart, as he would have had at the AFL hence his departure there.
Essendon and Carlton can hardly think they can take the high moral ground.

Judge him on the job he does for our club. Our success depends on his.

Every person deserves a chance at redemption.

He just needs to come to work each day and do his job as well as he can. He also needs to prove himself as we don't have the resources of the almighty AFL.

Drake Huggins

He broke the 11th Commandment. Thou shalt not get caught. Going on some of the tripe on social media, the guy is in the class of Jack the Ripper. I welcome his appointment. He has the skills and track record to suggest he's a sharp operator. It's exactly what we need. Ameet left a significant hole. Let's hope Lethlean can fill it and then some. If we win a flag while he's in the chair, no one will remember his indiscretion, nor care.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Linton Lodger wrote:
iwantmeseats wrote:This is just part of the reason, or symbolic of it, that we are such a piss ant club with such a shockingly poor history.
Personally, I would have NEVER entertained the thought of employing this grub. How can you trust him ??
He is a low life, aint no changing that,
Very disappointed in St.Kilda.
But you get used to that.
What on earth?

If Lethlean had not fallen on his sword, the AFL would have had real problems sacking him, because they had no lawful/reasonable reason to do so!

The AFL would have been reamed in Unfair Dismissal or Breach of Contract proceedings. He had an affair, that does not make him a grub or a predator.

It is a private matter between Lethlean, his wife and the woman with whom he had the affair.

The suggestion that he deserved the sack and should never be employed is a disgrace.
How do you know?
For all we know he was using the company credit card to book flights and hotels so he could have the affair.
May very well have been work related.
That would be more along the embezzlement line and there is not the slightest suggestion of that. He was pushed because he had an affair with someone reporting to him. Not a sackable matter unless the AFL had very specific policies forbidding affairs with Reports, which I very much doubt.