Welcome to St. Kilda - Oscar Clavarino

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqchJar_Oy4

Height: 196cm
Weight: 85kg
D.O.B: 23/10/1999
Club: Dandenong Stingrays/ Vic Country
Position: Defender

CLUBS falling over themselves to winkle Jake Lever out of Adelaide shows just how important intercept marking has become in the modern game.

The out-of-contract playmaker is believed to be weighing up several lucrative offers to return home to Victoria, but for the clubs that miss out on Lever's prized signature, Dandenong Stingray Oscar Clavarino should be a very attractive plan B.

Standing at 195cm, Clavarino will be one of the most sought-after key defensive prospects in November's NAB AFL Draft, with his form this season drawing comparisons with Lever's output at the same age.

The similarities don't end there, as they both captained sides at the Under 18 championships and are graduates of the AFL Academy.

The Crows swooped on Lever with pick 15 back in 2014, and Clavarino's knack of taking intercept marks should see him taken late in the first round of this year's draft.

"I like to think that Jake is someone that is similar to the way I play, because the forward also has a role to stop him being damaging," Clavarino told AFL.com.au.

"It's been good come up against the best forwards, and that's when I play some of my best footy.

"Hopefully I can develop, put on some size and become that player that takes the opposition's best key forward at AFL level.

"I back myself to take a few marks, and I take a fair bit of confidence from that."

Matthew Lloyd is a great admirer of what Clavarino can offer at the highest level, with the Essendon great mentoring him since the age of 16 in his role as an assistant coach at Haileybury College.

After three years of overseeing his protégé's development, Lloyd couldn't be prouder of Clavarino's growth on and off the field.

"I've never a seen a young defender read the play like Oscar can, and he loves the challenge of playing on the number one key forward," Lloyd told AFL.com.au.

"He has the ability to quickly decide whether to stay on his man or go third-man-up, and he's been doing that since he was 16.

"I've always thought he's a top-notch player with his ability to read the ball in the air, his foot skills and decision-making –he can be impassable at times.

"And as a character, he's 10 out of 10."

While being tutored by one of the game's greats is a resource few potential draftees have at their disposal, Clavarino is also fortunate to have a current League footballer as a classmate.

St Kilda's Josh Battle is completing year 12 with him at Haileybury, and Clavarino is constantly leaning on the first-year Saint for tips on how to make a smooth transition from junior footy to the big time.

"Josh has taught me how much hard work AFL footy is, but also how rewarding it is too," Clavarino said.

"He's a role model because I take notice of what he's doing as a professional athlete – like his preparation, his diet, and that will help me if I'm lucky enough to get drafted.

"I ask him heaps of questions that might get a bit annoying but we're really good mates, so I don't think he minds."

49 Oscar CLAVARINO
Key Position Defender (Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country)
22/05/1999 | 195.6cm | 85.2kg

Scouting notes: Key Position defender who should fill out in an AFL environment. His best can be very good and has held down the key post for Vic Country in the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships over the last two years. His intercept work is getting better and has become more sure of himself when dropping off his man. Kicking can be shaky under pressure – but is another element to his game that has improved throughout the season.

Strengths: Intercept marking, endurance, rebounding
Improvements: Confidence, strength

Combine test results: 20m Sprint (secs) – 3.13 | Agility (secs) – 8.63 | Yo-Yo Test (level) – 21.2

Summary: Rebounding defender who fills holes in defence, has good overhead marking and short distance skills.

Strengths:

Solid defender
Strong marking
good short kicking
good handballer
effective ball user
Weaknesses:

Lacks confidence
Overview:

Once touted as a top 10 pick, but has drifted slightly off into the later picks. A player that is similar to Jake Lever and as we know young key defenders are hard to come by. Clavarino will need a solid preseason under his belt to be a first year AFL player to gain confidence but its likely he will be developed more in his first year and played in his second year.

His ability to drop off his opponent and fall back excites suitors and his ball use is mostly effective and consistent. His ability to close down opponents has drawn comparisons to Lever.

Re: Welcome to St. Kilda - Oscar Clavarino

Good pickup.

saint-stu

1ac46a38

saint-stu wrote:Wow he looks great for pick 35!

http://www.saints.com.au/video/2017-11- ... ights-2411
Think we got a major bargain here. Much like Battle last year in the 30's. Then again, look at all the greats that went in the 30's over the years. Big guys tend to go a bit later too.

Third member of the under 18 All Australian team we have chosen Coffield, Paton, Clavarino
Last edited by saintbrat on Fri 24 Nov 2017 9:28pm, edited 1 time in total.

saint-stu

parkeysainter wrote:

Think we got a major bargain here. Much like Battle last year in the 30's. Then again, look at all the greats that went in the 30's over the years. Big guys tend to go a bit later too.
When they mature though, everyone wants to sell the farm to bring them in. Look at Lever this year.

This guy looks like a great intercept mark and good kick.

1ac46a38

He reminds me a little of Dustin Fletcher... really uses his size well, judges the incoming ball and attacks it from the highest point available not unlike Membrey.

Seems to like a quick dish off...

Doesn’t seem overly slow to me off first glance.

Like the look of him

saint-stu

saintbrat wrote:Third member of the under 18 All Australian team we have chosen Coffield, Paton, Clavarino
Interesting. 6 midfielders there but Hunter Clarke doesn't make it :(.

1ac46a38

Saints contact already - 1 of 6 taken from Haileybury
"While being tutored by one of the game's greats ( M Lloyd) is a resource few potential draftees have at their disposal, Clavarino is also fortunate to have a current League footballer as a classmate.

St Kilda's Josh Battle is completing year 12 with him at Haileybury, and Clavarino is constantly leaning on the first-year Saint for tips on how to make a smooth transition from junior footy to the big time.

"Josh has taught me how much hard work AFL footy is, but also how rewarding it is too," Clavarino said.

"He's a role model because I take notice of what he's doing as a professional athlete – like his preparation, his diet, and that will help me if I'm lucky enough to get drafted.

"I ask him heaps of questions that might get a bit annoying but we're really good mates, so I don't think he minds."

Highly rated this boy an excellent pick up.
We have done well.

He looks like he has skills but our major flaw is not enough class and pace in the midfield. And we didn't fix that tonight. We have players that may eventually move into the mid field but what do we do until then? Seriously disappointed after tonight.
Regardless of how people spin it we got 4 defenders. 4. ridiculous.

Tonight’s picks could take up to 5 years to play out.

Hello 2018 free agency.

DJ Higgins wrote:He looks like he has skills but our major flaw is not enough class and pace in the midfield. And we didn't fix that tonight. We have players that may eventually move into the mid field but what do we do until then? Seriously disappointed after tonight.
I would say it’s pretty clear Clarke is a mid
Coffield is a play maker even if he is a defender and that’s okay IMO

Oscar is clearly a defender and long term prospect...

Don’t know enough about Paton

Armo popped out to Oscars place to say hello-- someone reduce this please-- wish I knew what was happening

parkeysainter wrote:

Agreed. Bargain get. :D And being besties with the Battle doesn't hurt either.

skeptic wrote:
DJ Higgins wrote:He looks like he has skills but our major flaw is not enough class and pace in the midfield. And we didn't fix that tonight. We have players that may eventually move into the mid field but what do we do until then? Seriously disappointed after tonight.

Skeptic I disagree with you regarding Hunter Clarke. Virtually all the things I have read have him as a defender that drifts into the midfield. And when he does he plays an inside role. Below is a fair article about him. Kid has talent no doubt about it but IMO and everything I have read on him he is a half back flanker. I am more annoyed at our last 2 picks as Hunter and Coffield were tipped for us unless we got a slider. Why get 2 more defenders?
https://www.afldraftcentral.com.au/player/hunter-clark/

Sorry DJ Higgins, I meant he’ll play as a mid.

Oscar I reckon chose himself and gives us developing depth... but I am miffed about Paton too.

Him I don’t get

Now if Battle and Clavarino can tempt their Brayshaw teamates to leave W.A. and return to the Haileybury fold at St.Kilda we may put together a premiership team.

skeptic wrote:

Please please please no more ClarkEs.
Those EEEEEEEEs represent a hamstring snapping.
X Clarke instead of Bartel and then doubling down with Raph.

We need this guy to remain a Clark

skeptic wrote:Sorry DJ Higgins, I meant he’ll play as a mid.

Oscar I reckon chose himself and gives us developing depth... but I am miffed about Paton too.

Him I don’t get

I was a bit worried about selecting so many defenders as well - albeit two of them also being described as midfielders as well. Who knows, maybe in the case of Coffield he only played a role as a defender due to his height.
I think, and I don't think I'm only here, that the reasoning behind us getting so many of these defenders recently is due to us being opened up so often and so badly in games. Apart from the obvious hidings since 2013 a couple of games in my memory really stand out - the Carlton game in Wellington, the Gold Coast Suns at Carrara in 2016, and the Swans game at Etihad this year. The sides we were playing hadn't won for months and just tore us apart through the midfield and once in the forward line there was zero pressure.
So, I think this is more about getting midfielders with defensive tricks rather than defenders per se.

Regarding Clavarino and Payton - It also has to be said that Goddard really needs to have some luck with injury and start to get some senior games under his belt next season or I fear the worst.

stocking up on backs ImageImage
ImageImage

the dome

Spot on Ace, seconded

The 'E' is silent
& so Hunter's family name is pronounced & sounds exactly like Clark.
Hopefully if he's to be identified by a future nick name it will be a bit more in inventive
than Clark 'EE''
Sainters can do better than this.
I used to cringe @ the nick-name given to Ben McEvoy 'Big Ben'.
C'mon just a few Xtra grams of grey matter needed for something more memorable.

some recently retired nicknames that I thought went ok:
'Dumpster' for Sean Dempster
'Fish' for Sam Fischer
'Spud' for Danny Frawley
'OB' for Craig O'Brien
'Plugger' for Tony Lockett
'Banger' for Robert Harvey
'Joe Blake' for Jason Blake
'Schneiderman' for Adam Schneider

Saints on the march. :wink:

Fisher was chips

When Oscar became a Saint and meeting Armo.

philtee

How good is that footage of the Clavarino clan erupting when Oscar's name is read out !
Kudos to the family and friends, Armo, Oscar himself, and to the Saints for setting it all up.
http://www.saints.com.au/video/2017-11- ... raft-night