Bucky on the Saints

Fair assessment imho.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/t ... 955480e1cd

"'ST KILDA is in an interesting position.

No doubt the club will be disappointed it didn’t make the finals, but this group is still developing.

I think there is going to be a patience about St Kilda — the club will see where the development of its players can get to, rather than turning players over.

While there aren’t many genuine A or B-grade players on the list as it stands right now, there are enough B-to-C-grade players the club will be hoping develop into the upper echelon to push it into finals and eventually into premiership contention."'

Re: Bucky on the Saints

Buckenara?

magnifisaint wrote:Buckenara?
Yes.

Yep spot on I reckon.
2018 we are looking for improvement from players in their 3rd -5th year of which we have many. Could be (and should be) a brutal cull of players at seasons end if we miss the finals badly and some of these guys don’t show more than just a bit.

Love is all you need

Buckenara doesn’t seem to have an intricate knowledge of our list.

Eg both Weller and Lonnie are on thin ice..etc

Goddard has been injured for most of his time etc

Etc

1. Melbourne beat us 2/2 in 2017 and just recruited Lever. Have to be ahead of us on paper.
2. Essendon thrashed us and finished 8th. They just recruited 3 best 22 players. Have to be ahead of us on paper. Carlton are coming though (unfortunately).
3. Eagles finished 6th but should go backwards. Get NicNat back. Behind us on paper.
4. Port finished 7th. Similar to us. Add Rockliff. A little ahead of us on paper.
5. Teams below us. None of them really look like improving dramatically. Stay below us.
6. Crows. Go backwards a little. Still ahead of us.
7. Cats. Go backwards a little. Still ahead of us.
8. Tigers. Go backwards a little. Still ahead of us.
9. Swans. Go backwards a little. Still ahead of us.
10. GWS. Stay the same. Still ahead of us.
11. Saints. Get Armo back maybe. Some upside from plenty of youngsters. Slight improvement. Could get up as high as 6th. As low as 11th.

Con Gorozidis wrote:1. Melbourne beat us 2/2 in 2017 and just recruited Lever. Have to be ahead of us on paper.
2. Essendon thrashed us and finished 8th. They just recruited 3 best 22 players. Have to be ahead of us on paper. Carlton are coming though (unfortunately).
3. Eagles finished 6th but should go backwards. Get NicNat back. Behind us on paper.
4. Port finished 7th. Similar to us. Add Rockliff. A little ahead of us on paper.
5. Teams below us. None of them really look like improving dramatically. Stay below us.
11. Saints. Get Armo back maybe. Some upside from plenty of youngsters. Slight improvement. Could get up as high as 6th. As low as 11th.
We lost 1 star and 1 champion of the game.
No replacements.
We will stay put or go backwards IMO in 2018.
2019 with a gun free agent and another year into our B graders will be our time to rise.

fugazi wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:1. Melbourne beat us 2/2 in 2017 and just recruited Lever. Have to be ahead of us on paper.
We lost 1 star and 1 champion of the game.
No replacements.
We will stay put or go backwards IMO in 2018.
2019 with a gun free agent and another year into our B graders will be our time to rise.
True...but we didn't lose 2009 Montagna and Roo. We lost 2017 Joey and Roo. So not sure we really lost all that much.

"Bucky" sounds like he's angling for Bains's job.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote:"Bucky" sounds like he's angling for Bains's job.
Angling?????? Another take on our ‘big fishing’ expedition?

Bucky massively underrates Sinclair who has A grade potential

saintspremiers wrote:Bucky massively underrates Sinclair who has A grade potential
Absolutely. Think the whole comp underestimates this boys potential. He will be our next A grader pushing for elite as has the complete package of work ethic and skills. Will dominate in the next few seasons. Thank God Billings knew what this kid was about. Sinclair is the icing on the Billings cake.

"If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants." - Isaac Newton.

You know what paper is good for?

Con Gorozidis wrote: 6. Crows. Go backwards a little. .
Why?

Yes they lost Lever, but they gained Gibbs.

Gibbs will have just turned 29 when the 2018 seasons starts and so will be at his prime. He will make their quality midfield even better.
Lever they can cover.

Agree with Con, 2017 Joey and Roo were almost a season too long. We thought we had seen the last of Roo when went down clutching his knee in round 1; in effect he was never the same afterwards. Joey was OK but his face said it all when his hammy gave way against the Swans - knew he was done. Our list is OK and we will have natural improvement next year.

Trev from the Bush wrote:Agree with Con, 2017 Joey and Roo were almost a season too long. We thought we had seen the last of Roo when went down clutching his knee in round 1; in effect he was never the same afterwards. Joey was OK but his face said it all when his hammy gave way against the Swans - knew he was done. Our list is OK and we will have natural improvement next year.
So you reckon Roo should have retired after his 9 goal performance in last round last year?

Drake Huggins

Trev from the Bush wrote:Agree with Con, 2017 Joey and Roo were almost a season too long. We thought we had seen the last of Roo when went down clutching his knee in round 1; in effect he was never the same afterwards. Joey was OK but his face said it all when his hammy gave way against the Swans - knew he was done. Our list is OK and we will have natural improvement next year.
So you reckon Roo should have retired after his 9 goal performance in last round last year?
Up to round 16 this year, Roo was still our best forward. When his form and fitness fell away, so did ours. We looked cooked in those last six games.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

No - but he was mainly playing on a very cooked BrisVegas and an even more cooked D Merrett that day. Roo admitted himself that after his knee against Melbourne in R1 2017 that he completely lost his ability to recover once the ball hit the ground - he was on rails I think was his terminology. He had to mark it or he was out of the contest.

stkfc1 wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:Bucky massively underrates Sinclair who has A grade potential
Absolutely. Think the whole comp underestimates this boys potential. He will be our next A grader pushing for elite as has the complete package of work ethic and skills. Will dominate in the next few seasons. Thank God Billings knew what this kid was about. Sinclair is the icing on the Billings cake.
True. Jack is a cracker of a footballer. Wonderful young player. Thank God Richo and our MC finally picked him against the Dawks in Tassie and left him on a wing all year to use his good decision making and footskills.