Bains vs. Finnis

Bainsy was never going to last long with us so long as Finnis was in charge.

I couldn't/can't see how we could've moved on Finnis for Bains at this stage. Finnis was doing a good job and
was probably waiting for offers at HQ if he was going to jump ship.

Problem was that we had two people equal at the top, but you can only have one CEO!

Lots of clubs sniffing around for Bains, but was anyone sniffing for Finnis??

Time will tell if we have the right structure in place.

Re: Bains vs. Finnis

My intel at St Kilda FC is Matt Finnis is throwing his considerable influence around the place and some are not happy.
This current board and structure has 3 years to make things happen otherwise you will see a new group coming in of recently retired Saints greats, board and football department.
I can tell you one thing, the noughties boys are very angry they did not win a premiership and want to do everything to get our 2nd.

The dirty Dogs just stole all our draft/ recruiting /player payments knowledge.
But worse is it leaves Elshaug leading us to in this year's draft.
With hindsight it is a pity Bains did not get the AFL operations job.
Last edited by ace on Sun 22 Oct 2017 8:59am, edited 3 times in total.

Darth Vader

Vazelos wrote:My intel at St Kilda FC is Matt Finnis is throwing his considerable influence around the place and some are not happy.
This current board and structure has 3 years to make things happen otherwise you will see a new group coming in of recently retired Saints greats, board and football department.
I can tell you one thing, the noughties boys are very angry they did not win a premiership and want to do everything to get our 2nd.
Milney for president!

Vazelos wrote:My intel at St Kilda FC is Matt Finnis is throwing his considerable influence around the place and some are not happy.

Makes sense to me.

Love to see Lenny, Cripps, Banger, Kosi, Nicky dal, Roo, Joey, Schneids, Hammil and Dempster running the place

In three years, you could also toss in Bally and BJ.
Last edited by saynta on Sun 22 Oct 2017 3:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

Vazelos wrote: This current board and structure has 3 years to make things happen otherwise you will see a new group coming in of recently retired Saints greats, board and football department.
Hopefully not like the “Focus On Footy” group...

Richmond board spill: prominent members, premiership players call for challenge

Or this deadly duo...who had us wastaway!

MickThomas

ace wrote:The dirty Dogs just stole all our draft/ recruiting /player payments knowledge.
But worse is it leaves Elshaug leading us to in this year's draft.
With hindsight it is a pity Bains did not get the AFL operations job.
Having Elshaug running our draft process
is like having a plumber running a restaurant.
No bloody idea
No clue
No knowledge
Prepare to be middle tier for the next 5 years
after 'Trout' picks up all the 'fish' that John West has rejected.

His fav movie is "The Castle", and just like that funny lawyer, he just reckons "ahhhhhh it's the vibe, mate!"
What a brilliant, insightful, cutting edge assessment process...

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

Oh for pity's sake guys. Give all the negative s*** a rest ffs.

MickThomas

saynta wrote:Oh for pity's sake guys. Give all the negative s*** a rest ffs.
How's our famous #1 Pick travelling so far?
Thanks 'Trout'...
maybe you should have thrown that one back into the water.
Not undersized at all, no.
But very poor eating, bad bad choice.
Plenty of other fish in the sea that would be far more appetising.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

MickThomas wrote:
Thanks 'Trout'...
Will have a fantastic year in 2018 and, I hope, have you eating humble s***.

Drake Huggins

Who's that guy second from the left in the Richmond Board challengers phot? He looks like Gary Oldman's weird character out of the Fifth Element film.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."
MickThomas

Drake Huggins wrote:Who's that guy second from the left in the Richmond Board challengers phot? He looks like Gary Oldman's weird character out of the Fifth Element film.
Well the lady is certainly NOT the redheaded actress from the movie- Milla Jovovich if I recall correctly.
The guy in the middle is either a funeral director or has just been told his teenage son just got done DUI...very morose

Thought I'd have a look and see if there had been any common sense posted here.

Nup, just the same rubbish disguised as opinion. I'll go away for another week. Roll on round 1.

ctqs

Hopefully we'll have one before then but I love the sound of St Kilda people running the club. I really admired the way Brendon Gale spoke about the Tigers in the lead up to and after the grand final. I can't imagine Finnis showing that sort of emotion/passion when we break through.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

ctqs wrote:
Hopefully we'll have one before then but I love the sound of St Kilda people running the club. I really admired the way Brendon Gale spoke about the Tigers in the lead up to and after the grand final. I can't imagine Finnis showing that sort of emotion/passion when we break through.
Good in theory but we don't have a former player-administrator in the Gale league

We were such a basket case after the Lyon/Nettlefold era the AFL sent in two Accountants (Bains and Finnis) to steady the ship and sort the books out.
Both are accountants. Simple as that.
That is what went down in the last 5 years.
Bains only role was to fix our TPP position. That's it.
Finnis role is to make sure we arent pissing the money the AFL gives us up the wall or blowing it all on coke and dodgy deals.
That's it.
Its like sending in the administrators to a company facing liquidation.
That is what has happened.

derby Street

Con Gorozidis wrote:We were such a basket case after the Lyon/Nettlefold era the AFL sent in two Accountants (Bains and Finnis) to steady the ship and sort the books out.
Finnis role is to make sure we arent pissing the money the AFL gives us up the wall or blowing it all on coke and dodgy deals.
That's it.
What utter Bullsh!t Con you are now looking even more stupid. What in the hell has happened to you, are you OK?

derby Street wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:We were such a basket case after the Lyon/Nettlefold era the AFL sent in two Accountants (Bains and Finnis) to steady the ship and sort the books out.
That's it.
What utter Bullsh!t Con you are now looking even more stupid. What in the hell has happened to you, are you OK?
Yes. Very good question. Is this guy for real?
Probably not even a Saints supporter.

Finnis has been exceptionally good for the club. That anyone could think otherwise I think quite surprising.

Wastaway and Nettlefold left a mess.

So remember that Finnis came to the club when we were pretty much rock bottom onfield and off.

Saintly66

MickThomas wrote:
Thanks 'Trout'...
Will have a fantastic year in 2018 and, I hope, have you eating humble s***.
Watched some highlights on YouTube from 2016 on the weekend, gee I hope he can get it right the kid is a gun.

Jeez there are some absolute flogs on this forum.

Flogs.

What a load of horseshit.

We could win the flowering flag and you would still come on here bleating about some petty little agenda.

You only get 2 things on forums..

Fiction or Friction. :lol: :lol: :lol:

parkeysainter wrote:
derby Street wrote:
That's it.
Which part do u dispute?

Bains is an accountant not a football person.

While I'm at it I think our list is too tall.

Four ruckmen and five tall fwds.

No way can we play Paddy, Bruce, Membrey and Battle together. Let alone Marshall. We are top heavy and slow.

parkeysainter wrote:
derby Street wrote:
That's it.
Which part do u dispute?

Bains is an accountant not a football person.

While I'm at it I think our list is too tall.

Four ruckmen and five tall fwds.

No way can we play Paddy, Bruce, Membrey and Battle together. Let alone Marshall. We are top heavy and slow.
It's not that we're too tall it's that everyone else is too short.

Matt Finnis is a lawyer with a psychology major in his Arts degree.

Ameet Bains is a regulatory and marketing lawyer with a long history in amateur football.

Neither of them are accountants. Neither of them are finance people.

Ameet Bains was employed a couple of weeks after we lost the replay in 2010 and had just broken membership records.

Please don't let your story get in the way of the facts though...