Club explanation

ss1986

Re: Club explanation

Im sorry- I didnt realise that I needed to be an experienced poster to make that determination.

Goes to show though- for an inexperienced campaigner, it didnt take me long to determine that you have the intellectual capability of a two-year old.

Sincerely,

Numbnuts

Working in the "corporate world".

Does selling The Big Picture qualify?

Some of the responses on here should not be allowed to sit absent a response

In terms of Whitlam, we had universal health care, education including higher education iniatives, the Family Law Act and a raft of other iniatives including sewerage to suburbs in our cities

If you want a full list I will provide same

Plus there was the iniative to "buy back the farm" being our mining future, an industry which has seen vast wealth accumulated in private hands courtesy of putting stakes on Crown land

We had the First Global Oil shock in 1973, spiking inflation and interest rates which are a factor of the cost of funds and inflation globally and impacting the Global economy

Then we had the 1974 Stock Market crash - again impacting Global economies

In terms of the 1975 election, having been dismissed by the Queens representative in a Monarch forelock tugging Nation, Whitlam had no chance going to the electorate as the dismissed prime minister instead of the elected prime minister which he was

So, if you are going to resort to the chosen preference of Conservatives being 3 words and denigrating there are others who would present differently including by referring to facts, not invented fiction

I note that Bains is to remain in the employ of St Kilda until December but not in on field responsibilities

No doubt his responsibilities will include the negotiation with the AFL and Docklands where Essendon being satisfied with the outcome they have achieved but the other 3 tenant Clubs are left in the position they are in courtesy of their tenancy

St Kilda is the most indebted Club in the AFL owing $6M

The other Clubs remaining in limbo are WB and NM

And, of course, there is the redevelopment of Moorabin

But Bains will have nothing to do with on field matters

No doubt those contributing on here will attack the Club for removing Bains from any on field matters because his work place status is of no consequence - being that he is CEO elect of a RIVAL Club in an industry measured by premierships exclusively, so on field performance

The debt burden of St Kilda no doubt impacts on operations which are run on the proverbial shoe string so no succession planning noting succession planning is a risk factor to all Corporations - hence the reliance on retaining Bains until a replacement is recruited which is, in my view, an incovienent truth of circumstances

Perhaps we need an ANZAC Day game at the MCG - or a Queen's Birthday game to attract sponsors because of exposure

But that is another story

As is Essendon being satisfied with the Docklands resolution whilst 3 Clubs without the "clout" of Essendon languish

And all this feeds into St Kilda being a desired Club in Free Agency negotiations

We can not say what Maguire said to Riewoldt

So continue your purile and juvenile attacks which I would suggest house jealousy by those descriptions of vocation, your 3 word responses, your misrepresentations and your abject ignorance displayed in regard the subject matter of this thread, which is confidence in process and probity

Why do you think the banks are copping what they are copping, and correctly so?

They lack process and probity and we see the result which is a world of self serving "cowboys" totally out of their depth - as certain contributors to this thread are

Enjoy!!

Some of the responses on here should not be allowed to sit absent a response

In terms of Whitlam, we had universal health care, education including higher education iniatives, the Family Law Act and a raft of other iniatives including sewerage to suburbs in our cities

Plus there was the iniative to "buy back the farm" being our mining future, an industry which has seen vast wealth accumulated in private hands courtesy of putting stakes on Crown land

We had the First Global Oil shock in 1973, spiking inflation and interest rates which are a factor of the cost of funds and inflation globally and impacting the Global economy

In terms of the 1975 election, having been dismissed by the Queens representative in a Monarch forelock tugging Nation, Whitlam had no chance going to the electorate as the dismissed prime minister instead of the elected prime minister which he was

So, if you are going to resort to the chosen preference of Conservatives being 3 words and denigrating there are others who would present differently including by referring to facts, not invented fiction

I note that Bains is to remain in the employ of St Kilda until December but not in on field responsibilities

No doubt his responsibilities will include the negotiation with the AFL and Docklands where Essendon being satisfied with the outcome they have achieved but the other 3 tenant Clubs are left in the position they are in courtesy of their tenancy

No doubt those contributing on here will attack the Club for removing Bains from any on field matters because his work place status is of no consequence - being that he is CEO elect of a RIVAL Club in an industry measured by premierships exclusively, so on field performance

The debt burden of St Kilda no doubt impacts on operations which are run on the proverbial shoe string so no succession planning noting succession planning is a risk factor to all Corporations - hence the reliance on retaining Bains until a replacement is recruited which is, in my view, an incovienent truth of circumstances

Perhaps we need an ANZAC Day game at the MCG - or a Queen's Birthday game to attract sponsors because of exposure

As is Essendon being satisfied with the Docklands resolution whilst 3 Clubs without the "clout" of Essendon languish

And all this feeds into St Kilda being a desired Club in Free Agency negotiations

So continue your purile and juvenile attacks which I would suggest house jealousy by those descriptions of vocation, your 3 word responses, your misrepresentations and your abject ignorance displayed in regard the subject matter of this thread, which is confidence in process and probity

They lack process and probity and we see the result which is a world of self serving "cowboys" totally out of their depth - as certain contributors to this thread are

Enjoy!!

To the top wrote:Some of the responses on here should not be allowed to sit absent a response

Enjoy!!
So essentially you are satisfied that there was no threat to the trade period and your 'indicative question' on the timing and manner of Bains' engagement with the Dogs and concerns for the lack of probity and protocol was satisied appropriately and in due course as the club has now and only now taken measures, in the off season, for him to oversee only off field operations until December and his credibility is restored. Sounds fair to me. Im certainly glad you asked and evetually answered the question.

I was confused the whole time and being the simpleton I am thought that it might have been probity and protocol that inhibited the trading in of Stringer and Schache. Maybe in your analysis of Bains' situation you missed that.

Could you please contact the Essendon Football Club and give them the same lecture. I understand that accountability, probity and protocol might be lacking over there.
Last edited by CQ SAINT on Mon 23 Oct 2017 10:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

Saintly66

MickThomas wrote:
I do remember telling the it's time peeps that they would regret it, and regret it they did
No they didn't!
You are wrong there wobblyone. They got the arse pretty quickly and the libs were returned in a landslide thankfully.

Corrupt as all hell. Only some of it ever came out. All that crap about Murphy is true and a lot more of it is still to come out.
Pretty much every politician is dodgy n shady.
They mostly come from successful business backgrounds,
where greed is good, and winning isn't everything, it's the ONLY thing.
They know how to cross the blurred line between honesty/morality and illegality,
and have safety nets ready in place, in case they are in danger of being caught.

Gough tried a deal with Khemlani for huge loans n got shafted by ASIO with help from CIA n MI5.
Now the liberals- they let 5 Aussies get murdered in Balibo n didn't say a word to warn them or try to make the bastard Indo army accountable.
Covered up.
Recently, they got ASIO or ASIS to conduct illegal surveillance on Timor gov officials during oil contract negotiations, not for national security, but PURELY for commercial reasons.
It's like getting your cop mates to give you info on a business rival so you have a stronger bargaining position, but on a grand scale.

So don't go saying Liberals are above board.
Lol one thing the liberals aren’t is above board, people over board, Costello saying he has paid labor’s debt (foreign debt actually ballooned from 190 billion to over 500 under his watch) which he didn’t...which 40 billion of it was from Howard from 1983 then people like idiots voted that fool in. Then he agrees to increase the super contribution then changes his mind once elected. As for the NBN world class my arse.

The one point where we are in agreement is your identifying of yourself as a simpleton.

Nuff said, really!

I note Bains today has been available to the media addressing issues at WB including that the appointment process was professional at WB

More questions than answers really.

To the top wrote:The one point where we are in agreement is your identifying of yourself as a simpleton.

Nuff said, really!

I note Bains today has been available to the media addressing issues at WB including that the appointment process was professional at WB

More questions than answers really.
Ha ha. That was humour right?

But please. No more indicative questions.

groupie1

this is gold

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

groupie1 wrote:this is gold
That's 3 words

And let us never forget that Whitlam stopped Conscription, Conscription which had cost over 300, 20 year old Australians their lives in Vietnam because their names were drawn from a barrel - and multiples of that number problems for life

And withdrew Australia from the Vietnam conflict where the Americans uttimately fled with their tails between their legs

So, 50 years on, what was the impact of those 20 year olds at the commencement of their lives being conscripted and sent to their death in Vietnam?

Whoever came up with the NBN initially and signed up for it deserves jail time.

It is quite ironic that wireless technology that will come into the market in 5-10 years time like the new 5G will easily outspeed it. There are companies and governments around the world already working on better wireless tech than 5G.

parkeysainter wrote:Whoever came up with the NBN initially and signed up for it deserves jail time.

It is quite ironic that wireless technology that will come into the market in 5-10 years time like the new 5G will easily outspeed it. There are companies and governments around the world already working on better wireless tech than 5G.
That would be that little creep Rudd.

[quote="To the top"]And let us never forget that Whitlam stopped Conscription, Conscription which had cost over 300, 20 year old Australians their lives in Vietnam because their names were drawn from a barrel - and multiples of that number problems for life

And withdrew Australia from the Vietnam conflict where the Americans uttimately fled with their tails between their legs

So, 50 years on, what was the impact of those 20 year olds at the commencement of their lives being conscripted and sent to their death in Vietnam?[/quote ]

Oh ffs, get over it. They were crooks and the Australian public gave them the arse.

Stop talking crap on the footy forum. Take your s*** over to the general forum with the rest of the lowbrows.

parkeysainter wrote:Whoever came up with the NBN initially and signed up for it deserves jail time.

Isn't that the four eyed popsicle head that said "Fair shake of the sauce bottle mate" a couple of times in an interview.

...good grief

This is off topic but the NBN initially proposed should have proceeded, ie fibre to the home/business, but it was derailed by the Abbot Govt in changing it to a piecemeal approach, ie fibre to the node, using Pay TV fibre, etc. Was never going to work and will cost more in the long run. Do it properly.
4 corners program last night illustrated that.

parkeysainter wrote:

Isn't that the four eyed popsicle head that said "Fair shake of the sauce bottle mate" a couple of times in an interview.

...good grief
\

Yeah, the little creep was trying to be ocker. Fail, like his shitty NBN

takeaway wrote:

This is off topic but the NBN initially proposed should have proceeded, ie fibre to the home/business, but it was derailed by the Abbot Govt in changing it to a piecemeal approach, ie fibre to the node, using Pay TV fibre, etc. Was never going to work and will cost more in the long run. Do it properly.
I think you should read this article instead of swallowing crap from the ABC.

http://www.theage.com.au/business/media ... z5s33.html

NBN Co had to shell out more than $40,000 to connect some hard-to-reach properties, in one case spending more than $90,000 when it was compelled to provide fibre to a property near Townsville in Queensland, according to figures to be released on Monday in a bid to counter a push to have it revert to the Rudd government's original target of 93 per cent fibre to premises.

The list of the 10 most expensive to connect locations in each state shows it spent $41,304 connecting a business in Strathfield in Sydney that needed concrete and bitumen broken to install a new conduit. It spent $51,464 connecting a business in Ballarat than needed 10 metres of bitumen broken and relayed.

"It's all very well to say leave no home left behind when it comes to fibre as was the original Labor requirement," NBN Co chief Bill Morrow told BusinessDay, "But boy, some of those homes are bloody expensive; you've got heritage homes and rock to drill through and they've often already got infrastructure in place you can use to get good speeds."

Mr Morrow was appointed in 2013 as the incoming communications minister Malcolm Turnbull abandoned the 93 per cent target and allowed NBN to deliver city connections by a mix of technologies including fibre to the node, fibre to the curb and the so-called HFC cables installed to deliver pay TV.
Last edited by saynta on Tue 24 Oct 2017 10:23am, edited 1 time in total.

parkeysainter wrote:

...good grief
\

Yeah, the little creep was trying to be ocker. Fail, like his shitty NBN
Not that I am a great fan of Rudd, but it certainly is not his NBN. Totally changed by Libs at behest of Foxtel, etc. Now we are trying to tow a bogged vehicle out of the mire with good tow rope which is not quite long enough, so we wack a bit of string on the end.

Read the article I posted above.

takeaway wrote:

Sorry mate but the NBN was a disaster from the beginning. By the time its actually finished, new wireless technology like 5G will replace it. Waste of time. ADSL2 is quicker than it for some people. It cost taxpayers 100k to connect a single home in Tassie this year.

I have read the age article - no problems with it. To fix the NBN now will cost over 100bn - better to have done it properly the first time, even if it cost 80bn.

parkeysainter wrote:
takeaway wrote:

Sorry mate but the NBN was a disaster from the beginning. By the time its actually finished, new wireless technology like 5G will replace it. Waste of time. ADSL2 is quicker than it for some people. It cost taxpayers 100k to connect a single home in Tassie this year.

Seems to be going OK in NZ where it was done properly

takeaway wrote:I have read the age article - no problems with it. To fix the NBN now will cost over 100bn - better to have done it properly the first time, even if it cost 80bn.

Here is the rest of that article.

""""It cost an average of $4400 to connect premises purely by fibre and only $2300 using the multi-technology mix.

Mr Morrow rejected comparisons with the $3000 it costs the New Zealand provider Chorus to deliver fibre direct to premises.

"We are required to connect every premise. Chorus doesn't need to because it can leave the existing network in place," Mr Morrow said.

By submitting your email you are agreeing to Fairfax Media's terms and conditions and privacy policy .

"In fact, they've told us, they struggle to get people to go over the fibre, because people are happy with the fibre to the node they've got and don't want any more."

"Our rules require us to force people off. That means we have to supply every premise. Unlike Chorus which owns the existing network, we have to pay Telstra about $1000 for each of its customers we disconnect."

The Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman's annual report shows a sharp increase in the number of complaints about the NBN, often relating to delays in connections and missed appointments by retailers.

Bill Morrow says fibre to the premises would cost an extra $10 billion.

Mr Morrow said one of the reasons for consumer frustration might be that for most purposes, ultrafast broadband provided little more than standard broadband.

"Much of the emotion geared around some of the poor experiences people are having relates to their expectations. They can't help but think this comes back to policy-based decisions and therefore technology-based decisions and that the government made the wrong decisions deploying the wrong technology and the whole thing's a mess.

r

"I've done tests in my own house. I have two kids that are on internet constantly, I have two university students in my house and there's two professionals. We're on the internet all the time."

"I said, alright you Stan users and Netflix users and YouTube users, I want you to get on and go for your maximum. I have a 50-megabit per second product. I tested it and we were using maximum of 10 megabits. So if I had just the 12 megabits, the basic low service, l would have felt no difference within my house."

"The only difference, and this is valid, is that if I've got a 100-megabit service versus a four-megabit or five-megabit, and I try to download a movie, it clearly is going to download faster. But my argument to those people who say they could get files faster is to say – great, you can download the National Library in an hour, but then what? What are you going to do with that 100-megabit service thereafter?"

"What's lost on a lot of the fibre zealots out there is that this isn't a free product provided with taxpayer money. We have to make a modest return. The more we charge, the harder it will be to get people connected.

"There are these small circles who say 'I want more fibre and I want it faster'. My reply is that it's not just about you, it's about everybody in the country. If everybody in the country had 25 megabits we would be far better off than you having a gigabit."

Asked how much more it could have cost to deliver fibre to 93 per cent of Australian premises as originally required, Mr Morrow said it would have been at least another $10 billion. Some of that would have been the extra expense, and some the lost revenue because it would have taken at least four more years to build, meaning delivery well beyond the current target date of 2020.

Mr Morrow rejected the suggestion that fibre to the premise would have been cheaper in the long run because of lower running and maintenance costs.

"It craps me up. You've got to remember we are talking millions of homes you have to spread the cost of electricity and extra technicians over. It's nothing. You would never be able to spend enough money on operations and maintenance to make up the cost difference, not over 50 years, not over 100 years."

Nor was it true that the Telstra pay TV hybrid fibre-coaxial being repurposed by the NBN was more expensive to get right than would be new fibre.

"HFC is probably the most invested in infrastructure around the world and the most deployed infrastructure to provide superfast broadband to people's homes. People are employing it in brand new greenfield applications. We are seeing speeds of tens of gigabits per coming down, very low fault rates and very maintenance costs."

"Yes, it is true that the HFC network we got from Telstra is requiring far more of an upgrade than we originally envisioned. That was an oversight, or a lack of data that we had. But it still a far cheaper and far faster to deploy than putting fibre to every home."

To the top wrote:And let us never forget that Whitlam stopped Conscription, Conscription which had cost over 300, 20 year old Australians their lives in Vietnam because their names were drawn from a barrel - and multiples of that number problems for life

So, 50 years on, what was the impact of those 20 year olds at the commencement of their lives being conscripted and sent to their death in Vietnam?
Now, now let’s put things into perspective.

YES, Whitlam did end conscription, which I feel most Australians were truly grateful.

However, withdrawal of Australian troops from Vietnam commenced November (may have been December) 1970. It was a ‘phased withdrawal’. More troops were withdrawn in April 1971. In July 1971 the Prime Minister Bill McMahon, advised Australian operation would cease in October that year. The last Australian battalion left Vietnam in December 1971.

The forces who remained were ‘Advisors’, training Vietnam troops.

Whitlam only finished off in 1973 what had already been commenced by the previous conservative government. So don’t let the truth get in the way of a good story TTT.

Also I think you’ll find your statement , “Conscription which had cost over 300, 20 year old Australians their lives IN Vietnam.....”, to be out by 100 conscripts.

202 conscripts were killed. IMHO, that was one conscript too many, but that is only my opinion. I’m just pointing out facts to you.

I think if you wish to continue to lecture us Saintsational dunderheads (on a football forum) on politics, corporate governance/ethics or military history, please try to provide us with facts, not jaundiced opinions. Otherwise if we repeat your claims elsewhere, we may be shown up as pedaling half baked claims, which will make us look complete dunderheads!

I do appreciate and like reading your opinions on football matters, even though I disagree with your opinions on Geary; however, opinions are just like ar$eholes we all have them, some are not as odious as others!!!!