Whom would you like to see have a massive 2018?

carn_sainter

Whom would you like to see have a massive 2018?

This is not a thread about realistic prediction. Just imagine through whatever blessed means that you can choose a Saints player to have a huge 2018. Massive! I don't know exactly the percentage increase in output, but you get the point.

Whom do you choose? (For whatever reason...improve team's chances, you like the guy, would make it more entertaining etc)

Me, I'd like to see Ben Long have a breakout year. I picture him terrorising the opposition defenders as they try to clear the ball; pouncing on everything that hits the deck; sprinting clear in open space; taking a hanger or two; setting up goals and spotting up targets with his good vision and neat passes. I love the idea of a creative (with the ball), dangerous enough to make the opposition worry (ball in dispute) and fierce (without the ball) guy causing positive chaos in our forward line.

Re: Whom would you like to see have a massive 2018?

Billings 23 g 36 b and Gresham 30 g 30 b: For both to just improve their goalkicking accuracy would make a large difference

Billy to earn a few more disposals and to drag in some more marks per game. He needs to be more than a tap ruckman.

Josh "Iron Hands" Bruce to hold a few more.

Acres to arrive as a dominant mid.

Richo to hone the gameplan so that we are not so exposed to quick movement down the middle and over the top. (Think the games against the Crows and the Dons).

Just the above all occurring should win us more games.

Acres #1
McCartin #2
Freeman #3

If that happens we play finals.

If Billings goes at 60% in front of goal and plays 20+ games, we play finals.

McCartin for me. 1, 2 & 3.

1. McCartin - So much invested in him
2. Freeman. His line breaking pace is the missing piece
3. Acres - He is the Cirpps, Fyfe, type thst makes a midfield complete

St Loxton

Draft picks 7 & 8

Both have strong debuts.
Forcing selection pressure.
Collectively raise the class and competition amongst our squad..

Drake Huggins

BringBackMadDog wrote:1. McCartin - So much invested in him
You read my mind, MadDog. If those three come good, people will quickly forget about Stringer, Motflop, Smith, Saad, et al........

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

These three need to do better in 2018- Bruce, Weller and Newnes. I would like to see Steven get back to better form too. The experienced players need to be more consistent and lead by example- something we missed this season. I am expecting Acres, Sinclair and Gresh to all step up. Paddy is lagging in development, but hopefully will have no more concussion issues and have an injury free season.

spert wrote:These three need to do better in 2018- Bruce, Weller and Newnes. I would like to see Steven get back to better form too. The experienced players need to be more consistent and lead by example- something we missed this season. I am expecting Acres, Sinclair and Gresh to all step up. Paddy is lagging in development, but hopefully will have no more concussion issues and have an injury free season.
I couldn't disagree with you there. Armitage will make a huge difference imo.

Freeman. It just has to be him. We need his best (whatever that is) so badly.

He alone could propel us into a different-looking team - once you have to counter his outside run, it probably opens up more opportunities for others.

But the list is long. Very long.

McCartin and Goddard (or Austin) would be two more.

We know Armitage can do it. We know Acres can get there. But the above three really are three critical pieces - and if we don't get two of them up and rolling, we're a long way back.

Acres, Gresham, Sinclair and Billings.

BringBackMadDog wrote:1. McCartin - So much invested in him
= top 4, probably a premiership if these guys add to what we already have

McCartin, Freeman, Goddard, Long & Hickey smashing it would completely transform our side. I'd take any two of those though…

Hemi Baxter

Before improvement I'd like to see Steven, Armitage and Freeman fully fit all year.

Then I'd like to see:
Sinclair beat Geary in the pre-season time trial and keep going all year to improve his effort at the contest
Connellan find more of the ball and play firsts football

But above all Brandon White, we need his elite disposal and composure

McCartin, Bruce, Membrey. If they all have a big year it means we're probably top 4.

Actually I think Richo needs to have a massive year as coach. I hope he learns a bit from this season..just didn't get the guys firing on all cylinders

Carlise AA season

Membrey 50-60 goals

Steven BF season again

That will drag with rest along

carn_sainter

Lots of hope invested in Freeman. He looks good but, based on the 3 times I saw him in the VFL this year, I don't think he's going to be the Dangerfield type that people saw him being when he was 18. Freeman looks like he can be a good contributor, but to me, his ceiling at the moment is to be very similar to Newnes - in position, style and how good he is.

Not a knock, I just reckon that's where it's at for him. He has shown he can lower his eyes a little better than Newnes.

tony74, was it, said that Connellan looks like he'll have a massive improvement in 2018.

Also, someone I'd forgotten is Brandon White. Would love his composure and ball use in the D50. He needs to improve strength, fitness and one-on-one play, all of which are very likely at his age/size.

Good points made about Richo needing to lift too.

On that point, my concern with McCartin is that if he gets fit, we'll not play him in a role that uses his strengths. We'll see, I guess. He does have a lovely field kick...maybe Dixon can help him turn it into a lovely set shot.

Jack Lonie to have 20+ touches a game and average 2 goals.

Just to see the reactions on here. :wink:

jack Steele and Blake Acres.

Massive upsides on both. I've seen them both do amazing things.

They need to turn into winning their own footy, which they both can do, line breakers.

They both have the size and the skills to do well at the contest. So turn a defensive tackle into a go forward advantage.

My personal belief is that our search for an elite midfielder has to come from within.

I don't think we are going to get one through free agency.

Of course there is work to do on both. I hope they have a massive pre season and can dominate in season 2018.

milney044

Dunstan. We lack class A grade mids and i reckon he's got what it takes to be our A grade gun mid. If he can it'll be huge for us. I rate his disposal better than others and like his in and under skills and quick hands. If he can start averaging 25+ disposals a game and snag a couple of goals here and there, look out.
I just feel like he's got potential to do that #7 proud, and hope more than anything he does!

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

McCartin
Hickey
Freeman

need dunstan to continue where he left off from, acres to step up, sinclair to continue to improve, seb maintain - maybe do more with it, steele to get even better, steven to return to earlier form, armo back to his best, gresham to get more of it, billings to kick more goals, freeman to fulfill his promise, roberton to continue onward, carlisle as is, mccartin to become serviceable, hickey to regain form or longer suddenly do something around the ground, bruce to hold onto marks, membrey to take more marks, someone to replace dempster adequately, stevens to become more consistent, and richardson to come up with a better game plan. Once we're back to everyone hating on gilbert as a liability we'll know we're on track.
No worries!

desertsaint wrote:need dunstan to continue where he left off from, acres to step up, sinclair to continue to improve, seb maintain - maybe do more with it, steele to get even better, steven to return to earlier form, armo back to his best, gresham to get more of it, billings to kick more goals, freeman to fulfill his promise, roberton to continue onward, carlisle as is, mccartin to become serviceable, hickey to regain form or longer suddenly do something around the ground, bruce to hold onto marks, membrey to take more marks, someone to replace dempster adequately, stevens to become more consistent, and richardson to come up with a better game plan. Once we're back to everyone hating on gilbert as a liability we'll know we're on track.
No worries!
I have nothing else to say.