Dylan Shiel

Raph Goat Clarke

Dylan Shiel

Floating the rumour mill from the AFL trade whisperer is that we are going after Shiel with two first round picks and a multi million deal. I personally would love to have him at the saints.

Thoughts?

Re: Dylan Shiel

Raph Goat Clarke wrote:Floating the rumour mill from the AFL trade whisperer is that we are going after Shiel with two first round picks and a multi million deal. I personally would love to have him at the saints.

Thoughts?
He's quite a player, probably on par with Kelly, would be great if we pull it off.

It's THAT time of year and all.

I love the gossip and the intrigue.

Shiel was due to come out of contract at the end of this year but then in April he re-signed until 2019.

If the Saints are offering megabucks then I guess he might re consider his position.

I doubt that the Giants could match our financial offer given their salary cap.

However, the question that always needs to be asked: Does he want to come to the Saints?

If he wants to leave the Giants and come to the Saints then by all means would love to get him.

But until he says that publicly then nothing to see here IMO.
Last edited by damienc on Mon 02 Oct 2017 2:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

Raph Goat Clarke wrote:Floating the rumour mill from the AFL trade whisperer is that we are going after Shiel with two first round picks and a multi million deal. I personally would love to have him at the saints.

Thoughts?
Thought is to ignore the AFL trade whisperer

Their track record is dismal and that of a flog. The AFL trade whisperer posts to just gain attention, rather than to be accurate.

One big issue is GWS don't have a first round pick (Deledio) and also have draft penalties (Whitfield) so I think there is a genuine possibility they will be open to negotiating.

Ironically their list profile is now at risk of getting old so I would not be surprised to see them trade a decent player out.

At the moment it looks like they should trade out Patton for a first round draft pick and retire Mummy.

Will be interesting to see what they do....
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Mon 02 Oct 2017 3:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

I would love him. Total bloody gun is Shiel. He would add polish to a working-class midfield.

The Saints should throw Linton St at him!

Would be the perfect fit but the trade whisperer is rarely right

The_President

Con Gorozidis wrote:One big issue is GWS don't have a first round pick (Deledio) and also have draft penalties (Whitfield) so I think there is a genuine possibility they will be open to negotiating.

Ironically their list profile is now at risk of getting old so I would not be surprised to see them trade a decent player out.

At the moment it looks like they should trade out Patton for a first round draft pick and retire Mummy.

Why would they trade out Patton?

The_President wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:One big issue is GWS don't have a first round pick (Deledio) and also have draft penalties (Whitfield) so I think there is a genuine possibility they will be open to negotiating.

Why would they trade out Patton?
I thought Patton was very poor in the Prelim.

They already have Cameron and that Himmelberg fella looks ok as well.

How many tall fwds do you actually need these days?

When they played 3 tall fwds they were easy to beat and too predictable.

...They also have Zach Sproule - who could be anything.....

http://www.aflplayerratings.com.au/Rati ... ch-SPROULE
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Mon 02 Oct 2017 6:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

MickThomas

Shiel could move into Mav's huge house in Moorabbin.
It's about 350m from Linton St.

They could go to training together,
and encourage each other-
Shiel can drive Mav to all his Zebs games and cheer from the sidelines
:lol: :mrgreen:

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

This is was the trade whisperer's big breaking story on Twitter.

I think it bullsh*t and he sounds like an attention seeking wanker.

If we are going to be talking pie in the sky stuff.

Then how about, Hickey plus 7 & 8 for Shiel?

The Giants score a ruckman they desperately need, we trade our two first rounders and in return we get a gun midfielder.

Probably will never happen in a million years but ......everyone's a winner with that trade I reckon.

MickThomas

damienc wrote:If we are going to be talking pie in the sky stuff.

The Giants score a ruckman they desperately need, we trade our two first rounders and in return we get a gun midfielder.

Probably will never happen in a million years but ......everyone's a winner with that trade I reckon.
Saints have a very poor record of developing young talent, we only rarely have a player becoming a regular.
We have none of the resources of the Filth, Swines, Crows, Injectors-
so picks 7 and 8 are wasted on us,
we should use the 2 picks to get an established player that someone has worked on.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

Ross, Dunstan, Longer, Billings, Gresham, Sinclair, Steele, Acres, White etc.

Yep, we can't develop young players.
Last edited by SaintPav on Mon 02 Oct 2017 8:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lets throw in Bllings as well.

SaintPav wrote:Ross, Dunstan, Longer, Billings, Gresham, Sinclair, Steele, Acres, White etc.

I think White has only played 3 AFL games?

Who is etc?

And we traded for Steele.

SaintPav wrote:Ross, Dunstan, Longer, Billings, Gresham, Sinclair, Steele, Acres, White etc.

I think White has only played 3 AFL games?

Who is etc?

And we traded for Steele.
Steele is still young and developing.

Doesn't disprove anything.

Etc are others who are coming along nicely eg Marshall, Rice.

No offence but your comment is ridiculous and quite frankly mildly insulting.

If we were to make a play for Shiel it would cost us big time.

He is a proven midfield gun and very much a required player for the Giants.

So getting him is almost impossible in my view. But if the impossible were to happen, the Giants would quite rightly want a big ticket.

So at least two first rounders and Hickey.

At the moment Hickey is surplus to our needs and can't get a game. He is hardly the class of Jack Billings and never will be.

So Hickey and two first rounders would get it done in my view. We would be paying overs but we would have no choice if we want quality.

damienc wrote:

No offence but your comment is ridiculous and quite frankly mildly insulting.

If we were to make a play for Shiel it would cost us big time.

He is a proven midfield gun and very much a required player for the Giants.

So getting him is almost impossible in my view. But if the impossible were to happen, the Giants would quite rightly want a big ticket.

So at least two first rounders and Hickey.

At the moment Hickey is surplus to our needs and can't get a game. He is hardly the class of Jack Billings and never will be.

So Hickey and two first rounders would get it done in my view. We would be paying overs but we would have no choice if we want quality.
Two first round drafts picks are enough which was my point. I don't think Hickey is surplus to our needs. What if Longer goes down on Holmes?

Interesting that you found that 'mildly' insulting but more interesting that you admitted it.

Hardly insulting compared to what's posted on here.

But I apologise for offending you.

RUOK?

I do think that the line of us not being able to develop youth is w/o basis

In terms of trading Hickey, the fact is our ruck stocks are pretty bare.

Longer struggles outside of the centre
Holmes is a version of Longer that gets less ball
Pierce just graduated past the Sandy 2s

Only really leaves us with Marshall who seems more a key forward than ruck

Thanks for half agreeing with me on something Skeptic but any reason to have a half crack at me.

You'll keep

Myron Gaines

Re-signed 6 months ago. Not going anywhere. The trade whisperer is a fraud.

Myron Gaines wrote:Re-signed 6 months ago. Not going anywhere. The trade whisperer is a fraud.
Thanks MG. As I suspected.

Wonder who it is?

saint-stu

Myron Gaines wrote:Re-signed 6 months ago. Not going anywhere. The trade whisperer is a fraud.
His "bombshell" was not actually news. He said that the saints are chasing him but based on what Richo and others have said in the media, we're chasing many players. Whether a deal gets done or not is another thing entirely. Jaxons comments make be believe not much will happen for the saints this year.

1ac46a38

Thanks MG. As I suspected.

Wonder who it is?
Ralph Goat Clarke???