Most boring finals series ever ?

Maybe it's just me but i found that to be the most boring finals series ever.
8 out of the 9 matches were effectively over at 3/4 time , some a lot earlier. The one close match was pretty painful to watch .
Scrambly , lots of poor disposals and average umpiring.
The grannie wasn't much better .
I suppose that if your teams winning you could care less but as a neutral supporter i found them hard to watch .
I like to see high intensity football but as long as all the skills are on show .
IMO The skills went missing this year .

Re: Most boring finals series ever ?

Agree. It wasn't great.

Today's game was a woeful standard. A very ordinary game not that Richmond could care. They just got the job done.

silverhalo

mr six o'clock wrote:Maybe it's just me but i found that to be the most boring finals series ever.
8 out of the 9 matches were effectively over at 3/4 time , some a lot earlier. The one close match was pretty painful to watch .
Scrambly , lots of poor disposals and average umpiring.
The grannie wasn't much better .
I suppose that if your teams winning you could care less but as a neutral supporter i found them hard to watch .
I like to see high intensity football but as long as all the skills are on show .
IMO The skills went missing this year .

I've been saying it for a while that because the game has become faster and a lot more defensive, we now have too many players on the field - most games now are not a good spectacle and moving closer to rugby than the game we once loved. I'm a big fan of trialling having 2 less players on the field per team, much like the old VFA where there were only 16 on the field (no wingmen) - this might open it up a bit.

No doubt the most boring final series.
Happy for Tigers but feels like a crescendo never actually happened

Talent spread thin across 18 teams I reckon Tigers got lucky they didn't face a rampant Hawks of seasons gone by or even a Cats side of 09...... or a Saints one

But do they care? Nup they did what we couldn't

Agree.
Very ordinary.
Only close game was port v Eagles and close doesn't mean good. Both s*** teams noone cares about so had no meaning.
All other games were blow outs.

wish we were that boring

Adelaide was atrocious today. No spark, no flair, no workrate. Will it haunt them forever?

The Fireman wrote:wish we were that boring
Amen.
Tigers were ferocious.
Full credit to them.
Tackled and defended like men possessed.
Went fwd with precision kicking.
Well played.

Agree rubbish finals

From a neutral perspective it had nothing on last year's finals series.

Last year the Bulldogs v GWS Prelim and the GF were classic games.
If they come up on the footy marathon in 20 years time you would watch and enjoy them.
But if any of the 2017 finals games were on you would switch over to Danoz Direct.

1965 Saint

Do you get the feeling that really trivial footy can win the flag now? When I think back on the the talent SK had both under Grant Thomas and Lyin, it would overcome what the Tiggers brought today. It really offends me that our talent AND effort went unrewarded. I have painful memories of flying from Perth for the 09 GF and freezing to death watching the better team by far making a complete dog!s breakfast of it. Repeated the dose in 2010 for the draw and stayed (at great expense) for the replay to be served up with a crock. Still reflect depressingly on it but I continue to live in hope.

1965 Saint wrote:Do you get the feeling that really trivial footy can win the flag now? When I think back on the the talent SK had both under Grant Thomas and Lyin, it would overcome what the Tiggers brought today. It really offends me that our talent AND effort went unrewarded. I have painful memories of flying from Perth for the 09 GF and freezing to death watching the better team by far making a complete dog!s breakfast of it. Repeated the dose in 2010 for the draw and stayed (at great expense) for the replay to be served up with a crock. Still reflect depressingly on it but I continue to live in hope.
It's all between the ears. Teams know each other's structures and set plays. It's not so much about innovation but motivation. But you still need some guns.

It's hard from the outside to explain what went wrong with Adelaide. They had a bad day. Their lowest score of the friggin year!

All we needed was Geelong or the Pies to have an off day in 09/10, but alas not to be.

Let's hope next year's Granny will be against two non offensive teams. Sick of this drought busting from nowhere rubbish.

I find all opposition teams offensive.

If I had to pick another team to support it would probably be a team like Dogs, tigers or North.

I would also consider supporting a Tassie based team.

saint64

1965 Saint wrote:Do you get the feeling that really trivial footy can win the flag now? When I think back on the the talent SK had both under Grant Thomas and Lyin, it would overcome what the Tiggers brought today. It really offends me that our talent AND effort went unrewarded. I have painful memories of flying from Perth for the 09 GF and freezing to death watching the better team by far making a complete dog!s breakfast of it. Repeated the dose in 2010 for the draw and stayed (at great expense) for the replay to be served up with a crock. Still reflect depressingly on it but I continue to live in hope.
You and me both 1965 Saint. I made the trip across from Perth both years. Stayed with family in Tassie in between the draw and replay. I was so convinced we would win...

Me too 1965 Saint and Saint64. I had to fly back to Perth after the draw, as I had some commitments.

Paid way overs for a Jet Star flight back to Melbourne on the eve of the replay final. Great long queue of St Kilda and Collingwood supporters waiting to be booked into flight. First we are told there is a delay with the flight. Then 20 mins before take off we are told Flight cancelled.......... a flight attendant had cut her finger & there wasn't a replacement. Due to OH & S rules the plane couldn't fly out. Even though Jet Star is a subsidiary of Qantas they refused their offer of a substitute flight attendant, as the Qantas person hadn't been trained in Jet Star's system! All the other flights that night out of Perth, Virgin, Qantas etc were fully booked. Jet Star magnanimously offered to put on an extra flight the next day, that would have people arriving at about half time of the Grand Final. Why they couldn't let the plane leave early the next morning to get people to Melbourne in time for the match beggared belief.
There was confusion as supporters of both teams were trying to get on flights that were going out of Perth that night & the next morning going to anywhere, Brisbane, Sydney, Darwin, Adelaide and then getting flights from those destinations into Melbourne so as they could get to the game.
I was lucky, another Saint supporter and I got the only two tickets on a Virgin flight out the next morning. The price of the ticket was outrageous, but it was a ticket! And it was pure luck to get the seats. Two Collingwood supporters in the queue in front of us, had the seats, however, when they went to pay, their credit card had maxed out! So this other Sainter & I were able to get the seats.

I then had to have my nephew in Melbourne come out to the airport to pick me (and the other Saints fan) up and disregard the speed limit to get us to the MCG in time for the game to start. I can remember this Saints fan (never got to know his name) on the ride to the MCG, saying to me, "I hope the bloody Saints don't let us down after all the expense and effort we have made to get back to see them win us a flag". And as we know the rest is part of our sad history........ Saints gave up without a yelp.

I felt so sad for some of those supporters from both Clubs that night with the flight cancellations. So many missed out on getting back to Melbourne in time or just couldn't afford the extra expense at such a late time.
Up until the news of the cancellation, it had been fun in the airport lounge, lots of banter gaining on between the opposing supporters in the line - then it turned ugly. Jet Star staff not being very co-operative. Qantas was excellent. They set aside a desk to advise people what flights from all the airlines that had available seats were flying out that night and next morning and to what cities & if connections were available to get people to Melbourne on time. It was a free for all sprint to the Virgin desk when there were some seats available on a flight the next morning that could get one to the game on time. My new found Sainter fan, dragged me along with him and he shirtfronted a few to get us near the front of the queue!! He would have been better if playing for the Saints, that the effort some players put up the next day,
So the only win I had out of that experience was getting a ticket on the flight at the expense of a Magpie supporter who had maxed out the credit card!!!!!!!!
Aaaah one has to be made of stern stuff to support the Saints. I met Mocca (who used to post on here) after the match, we went down to the pub in Richmond where all the S/s had met before the game who were all full of hope - not one of them were there to be seen after our flogging. So poor Mocca and I had to sit like lonely little bar flies crying into our drinks.

Not a good memory

That was the first time I had ever booked a flight with Jet Star........ and the last. They even had the temerity to charge an Admistrative Fee, when refunding the cost of the cancelled flight.

1965 Saint

I flew with Jetstar once and vowed never to again. And I haven't. They are appalling.

loris wrote:
That was the first time I had ever booked a flight with Jet Star........ and the last. They even had the temerity to charge an Admistrative Fee, when refunding the cost of the cancelled flight.
Thanks for sharing your story, Loris. Jetstar are a disgrace. I try to avoid flying with them. Tiger Airlines are the ones I'll never book a flight with.