Finnis says no to Rockliff and Stringer

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/09/27/ ... star-pair/
They obviously have others in mind according to this report.

According to Plough Wallace - Gaff or Hall may fit the Saints though.
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/09/28/ ... nes-worth/

MickThomas

Re: Finnis says no to Rockliff and Stringer

Club not willing to take a gamble on The Package, when he already has gambling problems.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

MickThomas wrote:Club not willing to take a gamble on The Package, when he already has gambling problems.
Maybe a few reasons. :D

Other clubs seem more interested in da Package anyway as is da Package himself.

I don't think it was a no, actually.

I thought it was more - we'll do deals based on what is good for the club (and don't want to drive any prices up).

David-Lee

I would burn my membership if we added Stringer. Culture is what glues talent, hard work and dreams together. This family deserting, addict wanker would assault our culture.

It's like me coming out and saying no to a model.
Wasn't going to happen anyway.

lewdogs

Con Gorozidis wrote:It's like me coming out and saying no to a model.
Nonsense. Given recent events, if we wanted him we could definitely have him.

David-Lee wrote:I would burn my membership if we added Stringer. Culture is what glues talent, hard work and dreams together. This family deserting, addict wanker would assault our culture.
Think she dumped him mate.

Now she has dumped a bucket on him big time. He was screwing a school girl ffs.
No one might want him now.

David-Lee wrote:I would burn my membership if we added Stringer. Culture is what glues talent, hard work and dreams together. This family deserting, addict wanker would assault our culture.

Time for Caro to link Stringer to the Saints
Stringer/ School girl/ StKilda schoolgirl/ Saints = bingo

St Kilda recruit Jake Stringer adopts club culture and has relationship with local school girl.

Apparantly JJ was targeted at the Bulldogs for a reason for a few weeks this season. He wasn't just targeted for his footy ability. Sure anyone can put 2 and 2 together and how it involves Stringer somehow.

Joffa Burns wrote:

Time for Caro to link Stringer to the Saints
Stringer/ School girl/ StKilda schoolgirl/ Saints = bingo

St Kilda recruit Jake Stringer adopts club culture and has relationship with local school girl.
While the Saints embrace his gambling addiction.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/sports-lif ... 9daa31acc7

After reading this. Any of the other 17 clubs can have him.

Ok with rumour getting flung out there by "the recruit"
Are you really Luke Parker and do you want to come to the saints?

Not defending Jake Stringer's actions, however, for perspective...

Along with gambling problems, if the above is his crime (as long as he didn't condone those texts to his fiance), then, he's hardly Robinson Crusoe:
Hird, Waynecarey, SOS (correct me if I'm wrong), Magic Johnson, Imran Khan, Tugger Woods, Beefy Botham, Bubba Clinton, Prince Phillip... the list would be endless.

And at least he didn't hit her like:
A Lovett :evil: , Waynecarey (correct me if I'm wrong), Tyson, Mayweather... the list would be endless.

I'd not be put off. I'd still love to have a 23 year old, AA, elite player in our team for just the cost of one of our first round picks. A steal! (Especially give that some want to use our prime picks on the likes of soft receivers such Gaff, and arguably the softest ever, Jack Watts. :shock: )

This is a real opportunity. Be bold Saintas! Get him Saintas!

However, given the mention of a 17 year old linked to Stringer, and given our club's still too recent 'experience' with Kimmy D... unfortunately I fear we might be a bit gun shy.

lewdogs wrote:
Con Gorozidis wrote:It's like me coming out and saying no to a model.
Nonsense. Given recent events, if we wanted him we could definitely have him.
What recent events?

Wowsers crapping on about family values.
Give me a break.
We are a footy club not family first.
The club should be able to handle some rough young men and help guide them.
Plenty of rough nuts at 23 have matured inside good footy clubs.
We aren't the young Christian club.

GregPackhamsHeadband

Wayne Carey, anyone? Dusty before his behavioural rehabilitation? Plugger early days? Gary Ablett Senior? You'd have them all in your side in a heartbeat. Great and successful clubs manage players of all types and get the best from them. Is he the first bloke in AFL to have cheated on his partner? Give me a spell. Is he the first to have sex with a 17 year old? Of course not. Not a good look, admittedly, but he has plenty of time and support in trying to turn things around.

Can he play? Yes. AA and a premiership player at 23. If he passes due diligence checks, I say get him. We have the picks and money to do it. Maybe he'll end up costing bugger all. Too talented to throw on the scrap heap. If Geelong is interested, then that's a good indication that there is some hope for him. For once, I'd love us to take a chance and make it work. Not holding my breath, though.

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?
GregPackhamsHeadband

Wayne Carey, anyone? Dusty before his behavioural rehabilitation? Plugger early days? Gary Ablett Senior? You'd have them all in your side in a heartbeat. Great and successful clubs manage players of all types and get the best from them. Is he the first bloke in AFL to have cheated on his partner? Give me a spell. Is he the first to have sex with a 17 year old? Of course not. Not a good look, admittedly, but he has plenty of time and support in trying to turn things around.

Can he play? Yes. AA and a premiership player at 23. If he passes due diligence checks, I say get him. We have the picks and money to do it. Maybe he'll end up costing bugger all. Too talented to throw on the scrap heap. If Geelong is interested, then that's a good indication that there is some hope for him. For once, I'd love us to take a chance and make it work. Not holding my breath, though.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Wowsers crapping on about family values.
Give me a break.
No, you give me a break mate.

Any guy screwing a 17 year old schoolgirl and spending all the family's money whilst his pregnant missus sits at home is a low life creep.

Nothing to
do with family values, just general human decency ffs.
f*** me, some posters would defend Idi Amin ffs.

I said on the Stringer post he had some serious issues......
Don't think we've heard everything yet...

MickThomas

Give me a break.

Any guy screwing a 17 year old schoolgirl and spending all the family's money whilst his pregnant missus sits at home is a low life creep.

Nothing to
Con +GPH have made the most sensible comments.
Yours is just a knee jerk reaction based on virtual signalling and political correctness.
Stringer would give us more than Baroose ever has, and ever will, and take pressure off Skunk.
Stringer is a proven performer who doesn't hit the post from 5m out, kick points from easy shots, or cause fans to pull hair out. #baroose

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

MickThomas wrote:
Give me a break.

Nothing to
Yours is just a knee jerk reaction based on virtual signalling and political correctness.
Stringer would give us more than Baroose ever has, and ever will, and take pressure off Skunk.
Stringer is a proven performer who doesn't hit the post from 5m out, kick points from easy shots, or cause fans to pull hair out. #baroose
His mates at the doggies were even pissed off with his behaviour. Stick with what i said and I' m not into PC bulls***.

You have no idea what I think, I,find your post offensive.

Says a lot about you actually.

Last edited by saynta on Sat 30 Sep 2017 5:40pm, edited 1 time in total.

GregPackhamsHeadband

If judged by the standards applied to Jake, the great EJ wouldn't have played a single game. Nor would hundreds of others.

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:If judged by the standards applied to Jake, the great EJ wouldn't have played a single game. Nor would hundreds of others.

Don't know anything about Teddy's private life so can't comment.

I do know about Stringer's because his Missus spilled her guts.

THe fact that Bevo has had enough of him speaks volumes IMHFO.

MickThomas

MickThomas wrote:
Give me a break.

Nothing to
His mates at the doggies were even pissed off with his behaviour. Stick with what i said and I' m not intp PC bulls***.

You have no idea what I think. i find your post offensive.

Says a lot about you actually.

Stay on topic and don't be so lazy as to attack me.
Proves 100% that your grasp of logic is tenuous and fleeting.
PC.
Virtue Signalling is so strong, the crew on the ISS can see you