Saints fans in MCC members.

Re: Saints fans in MCC members.

Spinner - the MCC reported that around 1,500 seats were vacant in BOTH the AFL members and MCC members at the Tigers game, so both areas guilty!

Re the MCC area, they should sell tickets to Provisional members at the last minute if restricted and full members don't fill the stands at finals

I think MCC members find it hard to find those empty seats way up on the top level.
Certainly levels 1,2 and 3 where they have a ticketing system were absolutely full.
Don't forget a heap of members just wind up watching it from the bar.

Ellaandjohn

I go every year into the mcc or afl members. This year the mcc because I pay my way and deserve a ticket. Gave my afl members ticket to a tigers mate. By the way the person who said the mcc members is hardly ever sold out is wrong. Sold out every year for many years. My mate is the membership manager so I reckon he knows. By the way sold out is probably the wrong word. Capacity.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

outside66 wrote:Not meaning to sound smart but I think it's selfish for neutral supporters to attend grand finals when their own team is not playing as it takes away a seat from a true supporter. I'm an MCC member and if the Saints aren't in it then I'll offload the ticket to someone who is desperate for cost price. It's a joke how the GF tickets are allocated
I like your style man.

I reckon if you've been gouged tens of thousands of dollars over the years to enter a ground that your team doesn't even play at, then you can do what you like with your pass.

Being kicked out of the MCC wouldn't be the end of the world at the end of the day, the hobknobbery and fart cupping in there is pretty oppressive.

outside66 wrote:Not meaning to sound smart but I think it's selfish for neutral supporters to attend grand finals when their own team is not playing as it takes away a seat from a true supporter. I'm an MCC member and if the Saints aren't in it then I'll offload the ticket to someone who is desperate for cost price. It's a joke how the GF tickets are allocated
I like your style man.

I reckon if you've been gouged tens of thousands of dollars over the years to enter a ground that your team doesn't even play at, then you can do what you like with your pass.

Being kicked out of the MCC wouldn't be the end of the world at the end of the day, the hobknobbery and fart cupping in there is pretty oppressive.
"Fart cupping"! GOLD! Ha Ha Ha Ha! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

avid

[/quote] My favourite non Saints granny was seeing Freo and Toss Lyon lose
I'm with you SP.
We (MCC members) have paid for the stadium so we deserve to go.
Got a seat in the ballot.
This will be my 49th Granny.
Like you I couldn't bear a Tigers win so I guess that means I am passively supporting the Crows.

Basically Adelaide have proved themselves the best H&A team and with the Phil Walsh/Dean Bailey stuff I would be quite happy to see them win.[/quote]

One better than you EM -- this will be my 50th!
I don't think I particularly deserve it, but my dad put me on the waiting list when I was 6 months old, and I absolutely treasure my membership.
I think footy is the greatest thing ever invented, and I love being at its grandest event.
My heart bleeds that we, the Saints, have so seldom played a part in it.
The '65 grand final was my first ever game, and the '66 GF my 4th. So I've seen almost every scrap of our historic contribution.
Couldn't tolerate Adelaide winning on Saturday. Still have to bang my hands on my ears every time I hear their song.

Enrico_Misso wrote:I think MCC members find it hard to find those empty seats way up on the top level.
Certainly levels 1,2 and 3 where they have a ticketing system were absolutely full.
Don't forget a heap of members just wind up watching it from the bar.
Agree. They do that for the granny - not sure why they couldn't have done it also for the Tigers finals games. It is uncommon to have close to capacity at pre GF finals but it does happen if you have a big team in it. I think the MCC are just a bit lazy about it and want to save staff costs as per usual.

You don't sound like a full member of the Melbourne Cricket Club.
First you would have been extremely optimisitc to expect the Saints to make the grand final with only two games left in the season.
If you don't enter the MCC reserved seat ballot, you don't get a reserved seat.
You can not give any reserved seat to anyone other than a full member who does not have a reserved seat.
No-one else can use you membership card without you risking a long term suspension.
You are treated like an Essendon drug cheat.

As for the cost price for your entry, it is included in your recent membership payment of $675 whether you use it or not.
You only pay Ticketek $5 to enter the ballot and then the reserved seat costs $25 if you are successful in the ballot.
If you are unsuccessful the $5 is returned but you are still eligible for a unreserved walk up seat on the day until full.
In practice that means queuing before 6 AM for an 8 AM opening when you can get a free reserved ticket.
You can then go home and return in time for the game.
All of this you seem to have missed.

The Melbourne Cricket Club is elitist in that we don't like people of dubious honesty.

Sainternist wrote:Neutral supporters shouldn't be allowed to attend grand finals ahead of supporters of the two teams participating who couldn't get tickets.
The MCC retains approximately 23,000 seats in the ground and pays the AFL for the football entertainment, the remaining approx 77,000 are distributed at the discretion of the AFL.
The MCC is unable to dictate how the AFL allocates those 77,000 seats or how much they rip off the general public.
But if anyone wants to attend they can shell out around $2,000 for a sausage and receive a free ticket through an AFL club.

The Melbourne Cricket Club is the lessee of the land on which the MCG sits.
It is responsible for the construction, maintenance and management of the MCG.
The members share a debt of multiple hundreds of million dollars to service and maybe one day pay back.
The full membership fee of $675 mostly goes into servicing the construction of the stands that both the members and the public use.

Last time the lease came up for renewal the Cain Labor government had no hesitation in awarding it to the Melbourne Cricket Club.
The choice was between
1. A democratic MCC where anyone can arrange for two full members to nominate them and then wait eons for their nomination date to come to the top of the waiting list.
They get to move through three classes of membership based on nomination date.
Provisional membership - can enter MCC enclosure for lightly supported matches.
Restricted membership - can enter MCC enclosure for all games except the grand final.
Full membership - can enter the MCC enclosure for all games including the grand final unless the enclosure is already full.
OR
2. The dictatorial AFL who do not have a true membership structure at all.
Instead a structure whose rules are dictated and changed by AFL HQ and a waiting period that can be queue jumped by money as happened with the creation of the Medallion club.

When you choose to boo the Melbourne Cricket Club members remember to stand up because the grandstand and seat you are sitting on was paid for by the Melbourne Cricket Club members.
The AFL only provides the entertainment.

ace wrote:When you choose to boo the Melbourne Cricket Club members remember to stand up because the grandstand and seat you are sitting on was paid for by the Melbourne Cricket Club members.
I'm pretty sure the taxpayer has paid for a fair bit of the stadium development.

To me it's a shame that MCC/AFL members who barrack for St Kilda only deliver a fraction of their football spend to the Saints. We're broke in case they didn't know.

Saints43 wrote:
ace wrote:When you choose to boo the Melbourne Cricket Club members remember to stand up because the grandstand and seat you are sitting on was paid for by the Melbourne Cricket Club members.
I'm pretty sure the taxpayer has paid for a fair bit of the stadium development.

To me it's a shame that MCC/AFL members who barrack for St Kilda only deliver a fraction of their football spend to the Saints. We're broke in case they didn't know.
Some of us still buy a Saints membership even though we use our MCC membership to buy a seat in the Access One area at Eithad.
Not the cheaper club supporter pack.
Effectively paying for two seats but only using one.

Those contemplating breaking Melbourne Cricket Club rules by giving their MCC card to someone else need to remember:
1. the card has photo I.D.
2. the minimum age of a full member and hence of anyone eligible to attend the grand final in the members reserve is now 26.
3. every full member was once a restricted member for a number of years and therefore knows their way around the reserve.
A non member who does not belong is so much easier to spot when there are no member's guests present.
They will not move like they own the place.
If someone appears lost they will stick out like a sore thumb and you will be caught out.

Every full member was nominated before December 1990.
That means that the minimum age of the youngest full member is 26 years 10 months.
At the rate of upgrade to full membership of 4 months to the nomination date per calendar year, the minimum age will rise by 10 years in the next 15 years.
The minimum age will be 36 and rising.
The club has a serious problem of gentrification and the world largest waiting list for membership makes a solution near impossible.
Placing restrictions such as excessive fees to limit applications will only alienate governments who control the granting of the lease.
They respect the democratic nature of the MCC membership structure over the dictatorship of the AFL central committee.

ace wrote:Those contemplating breaking Melbourne Cricket Club rules by giving their MCC card to someone else need to remember:
1. the card has photo I.D.
2. the minimum age of a full member and hence of anyone eligible to attend the grand final in the members reserve is now 26.
3. every full member was once a restricted member for a number of years and therefore knows their way around the reserve.
A non member who does not belong is so much easier to spot when there are no member's guests present.
They will not move like they own the place.
If someone appears lost they will stick out like a sore thumb and you will be caught out.

Every full member was nominated before December 1990.
That means that the minimum age of the youngest full member is 26 years 10 months.
At the rate of upgrade to full membership of 4 months to the nomination date per calendar year, the minimum age will rise by 10 years in the next 15 years.
The minimum age will be 36 and rising.
The club has a serious problem of gentrification and the world largest waiting list for membership makes a solution near impossible.
Placing restrictions such as excessive fees to limit applications will only alienate governments who control the granting of the lease.
They respect the democratic nature of the MCC membership structure over the dictatorship of the AFL central committee.
You need to factor in Guest Cards that replaced the old Ladies Ticket that was abolished in 1986. Anyone can use a members Guest Card remember, even on Grand Final day. Unfortunately I missed out as I became a full member in 1995.

https://www.mcc.org.au/about-the-club/m ... uest-cards

1965 Saint

ace wrote:
You don't sound like a full member of the Melbourne Cricket Club.
First you would have been extremely optimisitc to expect the Saints to make the grand final with only two games left in the season.
If you don't enter the MCC reserved seat ballot, you don't get a reserved seat.
You can not give any reserved seat to anyone other than a full member who does not have a reserved seat.
No-one else can use you membership card without you risking a long term suspension.
You are treated like an Essendon drug cheat.

As for the cost price for your entry, it is included in your recent membership payment of $675 whether you use it or not.
You only pay Ticketek $5 to enter the ballot and then the reserved seat costs $25 if you are successful in the ballot.
If you are unsuccessful the $5 is returned but you are still eligible for a unreserved walk up seat on the day until full.
In practice that means queuing before 6 AM for an 8 AM opening when you can get a free reserved ticket.
You can then go home and return in time for the game.
All of this you seem to have missed.

The Melbourne Cricket Club is elitist in that we don't like people of dubious honesty.

When they do the headcount for the GF crowd, do they count two for every MCC Member?