Saints fans in MCC members.

Luckily got ballot seats this year. I reckon the MCC will reach capacity at the start of the game. Hasn't happened since 2000 Granny in GF's.

Anyone queuing? What time??

outside66

Re: Saints fans in MCC members.

Not meaning to sound smart but I think it's selfish for neutral supporters to attend grand finals when their own team is not playing as it takes away a seat from a true supporter. I'm an MCC member and if the Saints aren't in it then I'll offload the ticket to someone who is desperate for cost price. It's a joke how the GF tickets are allocated

outside66 wrote:Not meaning to sound smart but I think it's selfish for neutral supporters to attend grand finals when their own team is not playing as it takes away a seat from a true supporter. I'm an MCC member and if the Saints aren't in it then I'll offload the ticket to someone who is desperate for cost price. It's a joke how the GF tickets are allocated
How does that work?
Are you just giving someone your membership card? Sounds risky.

Personally I’ve only been waiting 25 years so I’m not a full member yet. Saturday was my last game for the year.

outside66 wrote:Not meaning to sound smart but I think it's selfish for neutral supporters to attend grand finals when their own team is not playing as it takes away a seat from a true supporter. I'm an MCC member and if the Saints aren't in it then I'll offload the ticket to someone who is desperate for cost price. It's a joke how the GF tickets are allocated
Good on you for your sentiments, but not sure about on-selling your ticket mate
Last edited by thejiggingsaint on Tue 26 Sep 2017 12:39pm, edited 1 time in total.

kosifantutti wrote:
How does that work?

Personally I’ve only been waiting 25 years so I’m not a full member yet. Saturday was my last game for the year.
I've been a full member is 1979 and it is very risky giving your membership card to someone else.
They al have photo ID and they can cancel your membership for doing this.

longtimesaint wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:
How does that work?

I've been a full member is 1979 and it is very risky giving your membership card to someone else.
They al have photo ID and they can cancel your membership for doing this.
Then I guess outside66 the best thing to do would be not to take up the option of a GF ticket. I must confess, that I find it curious that Saints supporters who probably resent the heck out of another Victorian team making it to the GF, then take the option of going to the game :? :roll: unless of course it's to barrack for the Crows? Still, each to their own I guess.
Last edited by thejiggingsaint on Tue 26 Sep 2017 11:44am, edited 1 time in total.

You can't do that. The membership is not transferable and if you are selling it that is even worse.

1966 wrote:
You can't do that. The membership is not transferable and if you are selling it that is even worse.
+1 And your final four words ....... so, so correct, where is outside66 moral compass? :roll:

loris wrote:
1966 wrote:
+1 And your final four words ....... so, so correct, where is outside66 moral compass? :roll:

+10k Loris! The correct thing to do (IMHO) if another Victorian club is a participant, is not to take up the option. Leaves more chance for an MCC member who also supports that club getting to see THEIR side. After all: Who wants to be " neutral " at a GF?

The difference in price between a restricted member and full member is about $140. So you're basically paying that much for a Grand Final ticket whether you go or not. Why wouldn't you go?

Neutral supporters shouldn't be allowed to attend grand finals ahead of supporters of the two teams participating who couldn't get tickets.

kosifantutti wrote:The difference in price between a restricted member and full member is about $140. So you're basically paying that much for a Grand Final ticket whether you go or not. Why wouldn't you go?
See above reply.

thejiggingsaint wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:The difference in price between a restricted member and full member is about $140. So you're basically paying that much for a Grand Final ticket whether you go or not. Why wouldn't you go?
See above reply.
As I stated in the OP the MCC members hardly ever reaches full capacity in a GF so you aren't depriving a fan of the competing clubs a seat.

Also, I pay about $730 a year for my membership, which gives me the right to go to any and/or every GF if I do choose.

The MCC by and large funded the Great Southern Stand and the new members stand and Ponsford Stand redevelopments.

The debt this has incurred is hundreds of millions of dollars, which MCC revenue (which is largely membership subs), helps pay off over a long period of time.

So as members, we have the god given right to a seat - we built the stands! Yes, we would be nothing without the AFL choosing to play games at MCG, but the AFL would be stuffed without the MCG also!

I always have a chuckle to myself at this time of the year from the ignoramuses (not yourself Dave - you're not in that league!) that think MCC members don't deserve to be at the GF.

Anyway, Go Crows. Richmond's drought can go a bit on longer. Not that I'm a huge fan of the Crows.

My favourite non Saints granny was seeing Freo and Toss Lyon lose.
Last edited by saintspremiers on Tue 26 Sep 2017 3:24pm, edited 2 times in total.

IanRush

I'll pay good coin for a ticket if anyone can scam it.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

IanRush wrote:I'll pay good coin for a ticket if anyone can scam it.
How much Rushie?

thejiggingsaint wrote:
See above reply.
As I stated in the OP the MCC members hardly ever reaches full capacity in a GF so you aren't depriving a fan of the competing clubs a seat.

Also, I pay about $730 a year for my membership, which gives me the right to go to any and/or every GF if I do choose.

The MCC by and large funded the Great Southern Stand and the new members stand and Ponsford Stand redevelopments.

The debt this has incurred is hundreds of millions of dollars, which MCC revenue (which is largely membership subs), helps pay off over a long period of time.

So as members, we have the god given right to a seat - we built the stands! Yes, we would be nothing without the AFL choosing to play games at MCG, but the AFL would be stuffed without the MCG also!

I always have a chuckle to myself at this time of the year from the ignoramuses (not yourself Dave - you're not in that league!) that think MCC members don't deserve to be at the GF.

Anyway, Go Crows. Richmond's drought can go a bit on longer. Not that I'm a huge fan of the Crows.

Fair comment SP.

outside66

I only hand over the card to good mates or friends of friends that are vouched for! Face value for the ticket seems reasonable (especially when scumbags are selling them for 1000s!). Made a 30 year dogs member very happy last year which was more rewarding for me than watching someone elses team go about it!

Each to their own I guess and of course people have every right to utilise their memberships how they see fit!

Go Crows!

outside66 wrote:I only hand over the card to good mates or friends of friends that are vouched for! Face value for the ticket seems reasonable (especially when scumbags are selling them for 1000s!). Made a 30 year dogs member very happy last year which was more rewarding for me than watching someone elses team go about it!

Each to their own I guess and of course people have every right to utilise their memberships how they see fit!

Go Crows!
I did the same in 2008 for a mate who was a Hawks fan. Also face value. But I regret it now. He didn't get checked (we had a few things in place to help him if he did). I spent the whole prematch time hoping it was clear. Imagine getting caught out before 2009/10? What a waste. Silly to risk it unless you're either old or don't really value your privilege

outside66

I did the same in 2008 for a mate who was a Hawks fan. Also face value. But I regret it now. He didn't get checked (we had a few things in place to help him if he did). I spent the whole prematch time hoping it was clear. Imagine getting caught out before 2009/10? What a waste. Silly to risk it unless you're either old or don't really value your privilege[/quote]

Yeah fair enough. I'm a bit fortunate in that I've got a few back up options and if we were to make it then I probably wouldn't want to be sitting in the MCC!

The_Merchant

In response to the original post, I am thinking of heading in about 7ish. If the queues for the previous finals rounds are anything to go by it will be very busy.

I am very lucky in that I get to go to every grand final, and every final at the G. I also go to about 15-20 games a year where the saints aren't playing, including 7 or 8 tigers games this year. I am a saints fan first, but I am a footy fan in general. I feel sorry for Tigers fans who can't go, but I am not risking my membership.

If it wasn't for neutral supporters, there would be half empty stands at plenty of grand finals. If GWS had won, how many people would turn up?

Every year we have the same argument. There have been plenty of games this year that the MCC has been practically full and the AFL members had plenty of empty seats (Anzac eve was one)

If at first you don't succeed, sky diving is not for you.
MickThomas

Bring a cheese platter...
and don't come back unless you've snagged a Big Fish

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn
repta

Grands final for club supporters.... hahaha... that's a novel idea.
Grand final is for corporate sponsors.

I Was in MCC for prelim. They were doing spot checks on membership cards. With a 40 year wait you would want to sell the card for a decent amount. If you get caught you aren't getting it back in this life time.

thejiggingsaint wrote:
See above reply.

I'm with you SP.
We (MCC members) have paid for the stadium so we deserve to go.
Got a seat in the ballot.
This will be my 49th Granny.
Like you I couldn't bear a Tigers win so I guess that means I am passively supporting the Crows.

Basically Adelaide have proved themselves the best H&A team and with the Phil Walsh/Dean Bailey stuff I would be quite happy to see them win.

thejiggingsaint wrote:
See above reply.

Don't need to explain yourself SP - the members areas are non-transferable and usually only people that are not even members of their own club feel entitled to the rights of both MCC and AFL members at GF time. We are not taking up seats of others, they would not have access to them regardless.

And let's not forget the contribution of AFL members in all that as well...

And if I may - going by the last prelim, it would be good if the MCC would turn up in capacity, pretty disappointing to see lots of free areas once again from my side of the field.

IanRush

IanRush wrote:I'll pay good coin for a ticket if anyone can scam it.
How much Rushie?
PM me mate.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.