Time for Wayne Hughes to earn his keep.

GregPackhamsHeadband

Time for Wayne Hughes to earn his keep.

The pressure is on our recruiting and list management teams. Picks 7 and 8 don't come along as a package (unless you are a Frankenstein's monster type club) very often. Wayne Hughes was brought on board to identify and target "gettable" uncontracted players and FAs. He's getting paid around $300 K for the privilege, so it would be reasonable to expect he will deliver. In fairness to Wayne, so far, not bad. Carlisle, Steele, Stevens and Brown. Two potential elites and a couple of cheap, GOPs.

This year is the acid test. We are in a strong position if we decide to trade. Picks 7 & 8 are tempting candy for those who don't normally get access to the early picks. Who are the players we should be targeting from the likes of Geelong, Adelaide, Swines, Ninthmond and GWS. The trick here is to find the "next Dusty", not the current one. I know some of you will howl me down, but Jake Stringer is worth the punt. Watts, Gaff, Salem are all good types that we could use, but they will never be elite. I'd be looking at Taranto, Gallucci, Greene, Lynch, Thompson and (gulp) Ablett. There are plenty of others, even if they are contracted. Deals need to be done. What would you do?

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

Re: Time for Wayne Hughes to earn his keep.

$300k to turn around and say 'we missed Kelly'

Reckon I could do that for half the price

Can we pick up anyone good AND hang on to our 2017 and 2018 first round draft picks?

fugazi wrote:$300k to turn around and say 'we missed Kelly'

Mate, Kelly was never going to leave GWS.

MickThomas

$300k.
For doing a job similar to an economist- it's insane.
What a waste of money

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

If Kelly didn't want to go then so be it. Its not anyone's fault at the Saints. They offered him heaps more money and a number of years.

Same as for North and any other club.

The kid wanted to stay in Sydney. Stiff s***.

Plus...there are plenty good players that will crop up in trade period that we could potentially nab. I would still like to keep either pick 7 or 8 though and get a speedy mid/wing type with top notch skills.

thejiggingsaint wrote:
fugazi wrote:$300k to turn around and say 'we missed Kelly'

Mate, Kelly was never going to leave GWS.
The point is , the ridiculous figures paid out for these roles.

But as the OP said, it's time for him to earn that money....if it ends up being a shrug of the shoulders and something that amounts to ...'well Motlop is available'...then I reckon that role looks pretty redundant.

I am amazed we ever offered Hughes a job. His record is appalling.

noddy04

How does everyone know Wayne is being paid $300,000 Is there a site that has these payment figures on them?. As for trying to get Ablett....are you insane the guy is just about washed up. IMHO

I doubt Wayne Hughes is even earning six figures.

Recruiting is not a highly paid job unless you're the head honcho.

Wayne Hughes does alot more than just chase free agents. Hope people realise this.

Also, his record at the Blues wasn't that bad (in hindsight).

Gibbs, Murphy and Kreuzer were logical number 1 choices.

He chose Josh Kennedy at pick 4. Nailed that one.

He also took Garlett, Carazzo, Jamison and Betts in rookie drafts.

Yes, he had a few failures in the top 20, but no more so than other clubs (including ourselves).

parkeysainter wrote:Wayne Hughes does alot more than just chase free agents. Hope people realise this.
Looking at half the posts in this thread, nope, I don't think people do.

GregPackhamsHeadband

Legendary wrote:I doubt Wayne Hughes is even earning six figures.

Recruiting is not a highly paid job unless you're the head honcho.
I know someone who put in for the job and that was the money on offer.

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:He's getting paid around $300 K for the privilege, ?
If he is getting $300K in that role Bains is incompetent.

GregPackhamsHeadband

parkeysainter wrote:Wayne Hughes does alot more than just chase free agents. Hope people realise this.
Indeed, PS. His task is to target players we might be able to lure to the club, whether they are FAs or uncontracted. Even the contracted ones aren't off limits. A deal can always be done if the respective parties agree. I think, so far, so good. He's done ok. This is the acid test though. 2017-8 are critical. We need a bit of polish and we've never been better placed to get it.

GregPackhamsHeadband

noddy04 wrote:How does everyone know Wayne is being paid $300,000 Is there a site that has these payment figures on them?. As for trying to get Ablett....are you insane the guy is just about washed up. IMHO
I reckon Ablett has 2-3 good years left in him. He would come at a bargain price for someone who's still elite. Washed up? Did you see him play this year? Still chalked up several 40+ possession games. He would improve our group. The quality is still there. Might just be the difference between mediocrity and genuinely challenging. Think outside the square.

MickThomas

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:
noddy04 wrote:How does everyone know Wayne is being paid $300,000 Is there a site that has these payment figures on them?. As for trying to get Ablett....are you insane the guy is just about washed up. IMHO
I reckon Ablett has 2-3 good years left in him. He would come at a bargain price for someone who's still elite. Washed up? Did you see him play this year? Still chalked up several 40+ possession games. He would improve our group. The quality is still there. Might just be the difference between mediocrity and genuinely challenging. Think outside the square.
someone mentioned his connection to a god-bothering cult community in Langwarrin or somewhere in Melbourne's eastern rural sector,
so the Saints could be well placed.
Also he might want to avoid the Cats as the old "catching up with an ex-partner" reluctance?

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn
GregPackhamsHeadband

MickThomas wrote:
someone mentioned his connection to a god-bothering cult community in Langwarrin or somewhere in Melbourne's eastern rural sector,
Also he might want to avoid the Cats as the old "catching up with an ex-partner" reluctance?
I've heard the bit about the church as well, MT. He's very short odds to go to the pussies, but they're not offering him much in terms of salary, sources say as low as 250k per year. This will be supplemented by local sponsorship deals and incentives. We could throw a fair bit more at him. I reckon he could pay for himself in increased membership and sponsorship alone. It's a bit of a pipe dream ATM, but you have to dream, don't you?

MickThomas

MickThomas wrote:
I've heard the bit about the church as well, MT. He's very short odds to go to the pussies, but they're not offering him much in terms of salary, sources say as low as 250k per year. This will be supplemented by local sponsorship deals and incentives. We could throw a fair bit more at him. I reckon he could pay for himself in increased membership and sponsorship alone. It's a bit of a pipe dream ATM, but you have to dream, don't you?
$250k p.a. plus the Visy-esque added cream is far too low, for someone of his pedigree.
But if he rebuffed the lure of the pussies :shock:
would that have a long-term impact on his earning ability in Sleepy Hollow, when he retires,
as local businesses might be miffed that he spurned their club?

Or could he just like other former players and buy a pub, restaurant, motel,
buy large units in an industrial estate and lease those to businesses;
be a silent partner in an accounting firm, etc etc
It wouldn't matter if he didn't finish his playing days at Kardinia Park, then.

MickThomas wrote:
I wonder what G. Ablett thinks about this SSM vote given his godly background. Will the AFL deregister him if he says "no". :shock:

They changed their logo to "Yes" after all.

way off the mark here
he is not coming back to Vic for the money - he left for money
he is coming back to finish his career at Geelong (and another shot at a GF - imagine a forward line of Ablett and a resting Dangerfield)

Saintly Passion

Absolutely no way known. Would be lucky to be getting six figures! Role is mid-level and reports into Elshaug

GregPackhamsHeadband

Saintly Passion wrote:
Absolutely no way known. Would be lucky to be getting six figures! Role is mid-level and reports into Elshaug
How do you know what he's getting? Most people would be horrified to learn how much most of the hangers on earn. It's a gigantic boys' club that looks after itself.

Long Term Injury

If I remember correctly he was pretty central to getting the Irish boys to the club... I think the next few years will tell us how successful that part of his role was. I know Tony74 was pretty bullish about one of them