Who should we target in the draft?

This unofficial St Kilda Saints fan forum is for people of all ages to chat Saints Footy and all posts must be respectful.

Moderators: Saintsational Administrators, Saintsational Moderators

Moods
Saintsational Legend

Who should we target in the draft?

For mine, Jayden Stephenson. (Fwd/mid) I will declare my bias early as I know the family. I'm not one to normally pay a lot of attention to the youngsters coming through and whilst I rate my footy knowledge I also acknowledge I'm no professional recruiter.

The reason I say Stephenson is the following. He has almost ALL the attributes to make it at AFL level. He's tall (190cm) lightening quick off the mark and has a great tank. He is lightly framed at the moment but has that V frame, ie wide shoulders and thin hips which the best athletes have so that they can gain muscle but not lose speed. He has a great pair of hands and a very big leap. People forget that before this year he was touted as a certain top 3 pick. The reason he's dropped down the ranking a little is because he's been pushed into the midfield which is uncommon ground for him. I wasn't aware at TAC cup level but they're basically told to play certain roles. One week they may be asked to be an outside mid the following week they may be told to be an inside mid. It's really just a 20 week exhibition games for recruiters. He struggled with the transition a little to the midfield which is why his ranking dropped. He was also played in the midfield in the Teal cup games, dominating one game, but not having much impact in the other games.

Basically I reckon potentially he's our best best. He could turn into anything. His kicking skills are good (not elite) but he certainly knows how to kick a goal. He's a long kick as well. He is expected to go between 7-20.