Jimmy Bartel's take on the Saints' 2017 season

ctqs

Jimmy Bartel's take on the Saints' 2017 season

Apologies if this has already been posted ...

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/s ... y989r.html

SEPTEMBER 4 2017 - 4:40PM

St Kilda's 2017 season in review: Jimmy Bartel analyses every AFL list

For the clubs that missed the eight, it's time to get serious about wooing free agents, making brutal list decisions and preparing for the trade period and draft. Trade period opens on October 9 and the national draft is on November 24.

There will be all manner of player transactions and rearranging of the draft order before then, as clubs search for the missing piece of the premiership puzzle and players look for opportunities, success, financial rewards or feel the tug of home. Yes, Gary, we're talking about you.

Here, retired Geelong champion and aspiring list manager Jimmy Bartel helps to provide a forensic look at your team at the end of the 2017 season and what it needs to kick on.

ST KILDA

2017 record: 11-11

Position: 11th

Season review: The Saints improved this year, although missing the finals will hurt them. Wins over GWS, Fremantle (at Domain Stadium) and a 67-point drubbing of Richmond were the high points. At the other end of the scale was the last-gasp loss to Port Adelaide at the Adelaide Oval and two meek losses to Sydney. Accuracy when kicking for goal crippled the Saints throughout the year, as did a perceived lack of real class in the midfield despite the emergence of Seb Ross as an A-grade performer. The Saints are close, but not quite there yet.

Grade: C+

Retirements/delistings: Nick Riewoldt, Leigh Montagna, Sean Dempster (all retired), Joe Baker-Thomas, Nick Coughlan (both delisted).

Key draft picks: 7, 8, 61 in national draft

BARTEL SAYS

WHERE THEY'RE AT:

Did they blow a chance to break back into the finals to give a fairytale send-off to two retiring champions in Nick Riewoldt and Leigh Montagna, or were they simply a side displaying the growing pains of going from average to good?

Jack Billings showed why the Saints took him so high in the draft this year with his ability to break games open. Their recruits from other clubs were a success, with Jake Carlisle and Nathan Brown holding down the key defensive posts freeing up Dylan Roberton (another recruit from a few years ago) to play a floating roll to great effect. Jack Steele and Koby Stevens provided midfield grunt to take some pressure off Jack Steven on the inside and allow him to use his outside speed. Their three tall forwards have huge ability. Paddy McCartin, Josh Bruce and Tim Membrey will spend their summer working out who plays what role in the forward structure.

WHAT THEY NEED: You could make a strong case for outside run and bringing in Josh Kelly would make any side better – the guy is a superstar. However, I think some kicking power and rebound out of their back half is just as important. Brown and Carlisle play on the big boys, Roberton plays that floating role, Geary is an underrated shut-down defender and so if Shane Savage and Jimmy Webster can provide that run and carry out of the back pocket/half-back position then some kicking class would complement the defensive unit well.

WHO THEY SHOULD TARGET:

Trent McKenzie. The Gold Coast man isn't called "the cannon" for nothing. His zone-busting kicking ability and flexibility to play tall and small would be a huge asset for a side that plays at Etihad Stadium for the bulk of their season. As the Suns preferred Adam Saad, Kade Kolodjashnij and Jarrod Harrow as their small, rebounding, nippy defenders, McKenzie looked to be retooled as a bigger, bulkier tall defender. I'd like to see the Saints get him back to the body shape of early in his career and be that quarterback type off the half-back line.

WHAT COACH ALAN RICHARDSON SAID:

"The last step is the most difficult one. That's true with most teams ... I think if you look at every team in the competition, with the exception of the Bulldogs last year, it takes a while, and it takes some kicks in the guts. We think our best footy is strong enough to be competitive with anyone, and we think we have proven that. But what we have also proven is that there is a gap between our best footy and our poor performances. That's our focus; to keep making sure that we keep nailing what works for us."

– with Anthony Colangelo

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

Re: Jimmy Bartel's take on the Saints' 2017 season

Well.... he's a hell of a lot more positive than all our doomsday posters... methinks he also may know a little bit more about AFL than some of our " experts " on here ...I'd say he's got it about right, we did better in a more difficult year, I expect when the majority of our group hit the four to five pre seasons, and 50 game mark we will see a sharp uprise.

can we get jimmy as an assistant

Interesting report by Jimmy, but the strengths and shortfalls in our team are pretty obvious to most this season. In the end we went backwards and dropped two rungs on the ladder over last season due to too much inconsistency and basically poor football in many games. A lot of hard work to do over the off season for the coach(s), recruiters and many players.

MickThomas

Trent McK has been around for ages, without attracting much media plaudits.
Is he a GOP in a bottom team surrounded by poor quality?
Or is he just not much good anyways?
Who knows...

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

I think he's right. We need a play maker across half back like a Jason Johanissen 2016 version. Not sure Savage and Webster are up to it.

We also need someone like Kelly and another fast outside mid in the Freeman mould.

We need Trengrove or Goddard to replace Brown

We need Paddy to hit his straps.

We also need a new game plan.

A reasoned, well thought out, and articulated opinion piece on our club. Bartel was a great player and is obviously still a keen student of the game.

SaintPav wrote:I think he's right. We need a play maker across half back like a Jason Johanissen 2016 version. Not sure Savage and Webster are up to it.
That's what DMac is supposed to be for, if we can let him build some consistency.

Far too positive, not all that realistic. Written as though he didn't want to offend anyone. I had to read it again and still don't understand the vanilla positivity.

It's not about being doomsday; it's about identifying the issues we have, the players who need to improve, and the style of play we need to adopt.

What he suggests might help us get into the eight, but I'm more interested in getting into contention for a flag.

shrodes wrote:
SaintPav wrote:I think he's right. We need a play maker across half back like a Jason Johanissen 2016 version. Not sure Savage and Webster are up to it.
That's what DMac is supposed to be for, if we can let him build some consistency.

White has got the kick - we also need someone very fast like the guy with a headband from melbourne no.29 ? the suns guy might be an option if cheap and played back to his original strength as more of a running role as bartel says - but i would think only if we lost roberton

Pretty good review from Jimmy.

Not stating the obvious but the overriding theme in every review of the Saints for 2017 is that we need A grade midfield talent. Lets hope the club can pull something off here.

Refreshing to read insights from a former player who seems to know what he's talking about.

mullet wrote:can we get jimmy as an assistant

That's a great idea. Although the likely scenario would be that he'd learn his stuff with us and then go back to Geelong at some future stage (in much the same way we would all like to see the career path for Mr Leonard Hayes! :lol: )

evertonfc wrote:Far too positive, not all that realistic. Written as though he didn't want to offend anyone. I had to read it again and still don't understand the vanilla positivity.

It's not about being doomsday; it's about identifying the issues we have, the players who need to improve, and the style of play we need to adopt.

What he suggests might help us get into the eight, but I'm more interested in getting into contention for a flag.
"Far too positive"? "Not all that realistic"? Sorry mate, I hate to disagree with an Evertonian, but I reckon he's just about nailed it. Of course only in my opinion.

The_President

We also need someone like Kelly and another fast outside mid in the Freeman mould.

The last thing, and I mean the VERY last thing we need is ANOTHER half back flanker.

thejiggingsaint wrote:
mullet wrote:can we get jimmy as an assistant

That's a great idea. Although the likely scenario would be that he'd learn his stuff with us and then go back to Geelong at some future stage (in much the same way we would all like to see the career path for Mr Leonard Hayes! :lol: )
That's fine.

What we need is top shelf assistant coaches not C grade rubbish we currently have.

Great assistant coaches become senior coaches.

None of our assistants will ever get there.

supersaints wrote:Well.... he's a hell of a lot more positive than all our doomsday posters... methinks he also may know a little bit more about AFL than some of our " experts " on here ...I'd say he's got it about right, we did better in a more difficult year, I expect when the majority of our group hit the four to five pre seasons, and 50 game mark we will see a sharp uprise.
So what has he actually said that is anything that different or more positive from what many have said. And why is he more positive?

The Saints are close, but not quite there yet. is what Bartel said.

This means that we are currently a middle of the road team. The plan was that we were meant to be playing finals this year, and this has not been achieved.

Which is pretty much exactly what many are saying. If we want to play finals we need to improve, and if we want to make Top 4 we need to improve further again. We lack class and we will not be a Top 4 team unless we can inject some more. Relying on this to come players stepping up including from Paddy and Freeman makes we nervous.

There are now many clubs knocking on the door of the 8. Those that got back into it do not look like being sliders (in terms of the 8) next year either. So we will need to improve just to finish 11th again, let alone push up into the 8.

saint6709 wrote:
shrodes wrote:

White has got the kick - we also need someone very fast like the guy with a headband from melbourne no.29 ? the suns guy might be an option if cheap and played back to his original strength as more of a running role as bartel says - but i would think only if we lost roberton
Jaydn Hunt I think it is. Yep would love to get him super quick and committed to the contest. Stick him on the wing.

The_President wrote:

The last thing, and I mean the VERY last thing we need is ANOTHER half back flanker.
Yep, we don't need an elite play maker with pinpoint/precision kicking skills who can create attacking opportunities and break a game open from the back half.

We have plenty of those..

I agree that rebound from our defence is the area of concern

We need dash and kicking power from our back half to break lines and give Mc Cartin, Bruce and Membrey the best opportunities

Freeman plus the continuing improvement in Billings, Dunstan, Acres and Gresham with all impacting in the midfield is the expectation and the hope

If we can not attract exactly the player we seek the preference should be to go to the Draft with our First Round picks and hold our fire for a Free Agent who fits the criteria for 2019 - to expend those Draft Picks just to get someone is not the way to go

What also concerns me along with the inability to rebound from defence as Bartel highlights is the handball to kick ratio of some of our mids which suggests a lack of the clearance dynamic we require - hence seeking pace starting with Steven and Freeman

The transition from Brown to Goddard can take its time

The other issues are urgent

And just to add to the chagrin of some, the days of a "lock down" small defender are as obsolete as a "specialist small forward"

In good sides every player contributes including to rotations which are vital to the maintenance of pressure augmented by skill levels

GregPackhamsHeadband

supersaints wrote:Well.... he's a hell of a lot more positive than all our doomsday posters... methinks he also may know a little bit more about AFL than some of our " experts " on here ...I'd say he's got it about right, we did better in a more difficult year, I expect when the majority of our group hit the four to five pre seasons, and 50 game mark we will see a sharp uprise.
I wonder how many times Jimmy saw the saints play this year? Nothing new or insightful in that. Puff piece at best. I'm sure he put many hours into that in depth analysis :roll: I bet his ghost writer is exhausted.

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

Does anyone here think Jimmy Bartel ACTUALLY writes this stuff?

Read the last line:
with Anthony Colangelo
This is just an old fashioned ghost written footy puff piece article. JB gets paid a small fee for the use of his name.

You guys are so cynical

Haven't we got enough running defenders with supposedly elite kicking, or at least in development?

White
Rice
McKenzie
Newnes
Savage
Webster
Roberton

Say what we like about McKenzie he's not going anywhere and Saints are going to pump alot more development into him. And I don't care what spellcheck tells me I remain stubborn about alot being one word.

Also, think he's talking up our tall forwards a bit, there's no guarantee any of them will get any better, unfortunately Paddy included. This and the midfield slowness is our area of concern imo. We need Marshall to really throw his hat in the ring. Battle still a year or two off.

I reckon that article was ghost written.