Boss for the month

Ok - staying within the basic parameters of the game (salary cap, drafting etc) - but with no other limitations.....

....What would you do if you were the Saints boss for a month (October). You are CEO, Coach, List Mgr and Head Recruiter all rolled into one wild Sainter!

Go for it!

Re: Boss for the month

organise a lot of working dinners at good restaurants and loan myself a million.

I like this thread. :D

Ok, here it is. The long (longer?) overdue seven points to fix the Saints, and make us great. Permanently!!!

The Manifesto.

1/ Finances:
Why has this always been a problem for our club? Other clubs have always had wealthy 'benefactors'. We have wealthy supporters too. It's time to get them laundering their money through our club!

2/ Identity:
Return to JO!!! (Item 1 can be used to help leverage this.) The eventual aim being to also play boutique home games there. JO will also eventually fix the finances issue.
(Oh, and 'the chant' is bloody brilliant! We need more of that sort of thing. Time to start leveraging what makes the Saints so unique!)

3/ Identity 2:
The jumper!!! We only wear the fabulous tri-panel as our home jumper. For the (mythical) 'clash' games, the tri-panel with either the black or the white back panel, or the heritage jumper, are all acceptable.
All copies of the horrible 'cross' monstrosity to be burnt. And throw Archie bloody Fraser on top for good measure!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: (Sorry about global warming, but this is an important exception.)

4/ Identity 3:
Further expand our already pretty damn good social outreach initiatives into the community - both local and wider community. We are more than just a footy club. :idea:

5/ The blot on our history:
I don't know the amounts involved, nor the practicality. However I would be looking at making (at least) some reparation to our past players and staff, who took that financial hit to save our beloved club back in the 80's.

5/ The (smaller) blot:
Pokies. :evil: Out!!! More trouble than they're worse, both financially and morally.

6/ Playing list:
Saintsational's very own kalsaint to be put in charge of the recruiting department, and desertsaint in charge of the fitness and skills development.

See, that wasn't so hard. Dave for Pres'! :mrgreen:

I would set up a meeting with Jaimie Cox and the first question I would ask him is this:

" I don't mean to sound rude but, what the f*ck do you actually do"?

Dismiss the coaching panel- if they were a bunch of managers in a business, they would all be gone by now. As CEO I would be looking at ladder position as my business success indicator, and this points to failure by the coaching/ football dept.

Get high on cocaine and drunk , then make decisions on people's futures. Sack my best mate as coach because he didn't approve of my extra marital affairs...Bring the club down on its knees .
Hang on ... I've already been there and done that , this time I think I'll pass (out!)

* Add midfielders to the List, priority 1. My preference would be Kelly, I wouldn't touch Martin at the going price. Kelly has about 4 more years than Martin in him and is a solid citizen. However, I would be mindful of the fact that in a couple of years other Clubs will be circling and offering crazy deals to Billings, Gresham and perhaps Acres. There is no point in getting Kelly, if you lose one or two of them in a couple of years. Therefore, I would only pursue Kelly if it left enough in the kitty to accomodate and keep our future stars. I'd also be looking at other midfielders, i.e. Whitfield in case we don't land Kelly or he's too expensive.

* Acknowledge our poor finishing as a pattern and take steps to identify the reason (probably psychological), then look at how we may better prepare/train in that regard. Whether that be a goal kicking Coach or other measures.

* Get Tony Lockett involved at the Club. Fly him down once a forttnight to spend time with our forwards and show the team how to kick for goal. Plugger is one of our greats and it is sickening to see Sydney continue to hijack him.

* Given our investment (No.1 Pick) and his disrupted development, McCartin (assuming fitness) would play every game possible next year, regardless of form. That's what Bomber Thompson did with Hawkins.

* Dismiss for now and forever, these ludicrous notions of playing in New Zealand. Might want to sack whoever thought of it. Perhaps we should look towards Ballarat.

* Get up Gillon's arse about our stadium revenue and pressure him until we get a good deal, making the terms of the deal (old & new) public to shame the AFL. If the AFL is underwriting our losses that's fine but not good enough. You shouldn't only be breaking even with a crowd of 30,000!

* Do a bit more work embracing the St Kilda area.

* Change 1 or 2 Asst Coaches (no more) to bring fresh ideas.

* After what was apparently said to our players on the field against Melbourne "What are you doing in September?" albeit idiotically premature. I'd demand a pledge from the playing group that they never lose to that rabble again (as Geelong players did with Hawthorn) and that the Melb players that said it, get monstered everytime we play them.

* I would not delist Lonie.

* Jake Carlisle to be put straight into the leadership group.

dals_da_bomb

Training tops - gone.

Start advertising for availability in almost all positions - might not hire anyone - but i want to see who is out there and who is best for the job. Those already in the role will need to also apply.

Retract statements about making finals/flag 2020.

After reading others responses It turns out I would not make a good boss.. and would want to inappropriately abuse my position of power. I would hire someone to work over me to keep me in check.

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

Probably have a David Brent style dance competition.
(I wish I knew how to post video gifs)

Well, we've been talking up this free agency window for years…

Time to go all in and actually use the cap that we have sitting there doing nothing.

Pick up free agents
Dustin Martin & Tom Rockliff

Trade in
Jake Lever for Hawthorns first and Webster

---------------
> 3 million

Retired
Dempster, Riewoldt, Montagna,

Delist
Holmes

Trade out
Savage, Weller, Wright - for nominal picks

----------------
< 2 million

2018 last chance for
Pierce, Hickey, Lonie, McKenzie, Minchington, Freeman, Rice, Goddard > needs to be able to squeeze Brown out of the side.

Geary Brown Lever
Roberton Carlisle Newnes
Steven Rockliff Sinclair
Billings Bruce Martin
Gresham McCartin Membrey

Foll
Longer Ross Steele

Int
White Dunstan Gilbert Acres

Get some fresh assistants in: Montagna, Hodge, Bob Murphy whoever - just cough up for good ones.

Default to Knightmare's phantom draft guide if Trout starts talking about character or contradicting common medical knowledge.

Do similiar to Collingwood have an independent assessment of the Coaching team and structures.

SaintPav wrote:I would set up a meeting with Jaimie Cox and the first question I would ask him is this:

" I don't mean to sound rude but, what the f*ck do you actually do"?
SP, he informs (feeds) we chooks each week on what the injury list is. Is that the major role he plays in the establishment??

Actually I preferred the physio guy who gave us the injury list last season, so much more informative - plus he was a nice bit of eye candy!!! By any stretch of the imagination I couldn't say that about Jamie Cox :(

Install Con in every post at the club because he knows everything.

parkeysainter wrote:Install Con in every post at the club because he knows everything.
Install me as the social club and canteen Mgr.
I'll make sure there is always cold beer and hot pies.

parkeysainter wrote:Install Con in every post at the club because he knows everything.
I don't eat meat pies Catering Manager Con, can you provide some veggie pasties? Much appreciated :wink:

GregPackhamsHeadband

fugazi wrote:Probably have a David Brent style dance competition.
(I wish I knew how to post video gifs)
That's genius, fugazi. What more do we need?

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

At least that is useful.

Will you do a weekly presser?

MickThomas

Con would do a better job than some of the numpties at Seaford

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

dals_da_bomb wrote:Training tops - gone.

Start advertising for availability in almost all positions - might not hire anyone - but i want to see who is out there and who is best for the job. Those already in the role will need to also apply.

Retract statements about making finals/flag 2020.

After reading others responses It turns out I would not make a good boss.. and would want to inappropriately abuse my position of power. I would hire someone to work over me to keep me in check.
:shock:

Install myself as interim coach till "a better credentialed candidate" comes along - only to advise later there is no one
Take players to movies/Sth Africa at clubs expense to build rounded young men
Develop up "Training Services" as a corporate department within a footy club
Con my depressed, drugged boss into thinking that I'm his mate .....hit him up for $1m and later claim that's not a loan but a gift....
Exit Rob Harvey in
Take no leave, eat pressure for breakfast, later claiming I want stress leave paid in lump sum from club I love
Answer phones and all media contact for younger players - assuming a true dictator position
Hire a Russian weight loss guru as I get busy getting fat of the land....
Work on my belief cloud

Invite Rodney Eade and/or others recently out of the game around for dinner. Pay them an
off-the-record fee. Ask for an off-the-record assessment of the Saints and what's going wrong.

Ask yourself: What would Rod do?

Sainternist wrote:Ask yourself: What would Rod do?

Have a drink and a coke!!!!!

ConnieBoy, if you were in charge, you'd be chasing new players every second week, cause you would have sacked all our current ones after another loss!!!!!!

stonecold wrote:

ConnieBoy, if you were in charge, you'd be chasing new players every second week, cause you would have sacked all our current ones after another loss!!!!!!
Con would be blowing lines off the back of a different hooker every night.

Sainternist wrote:
stonecold wrote:

Con would be blowing lines off the back of a different hooker every night.
Yeap, one would be replaced by another after a bad performance the night before!!!!! ;-)