Our Report Card Is In And We Got An F

This is not about being churlish or mean spirited.

It's about taking off the rose coloured glasses and seeing our footy team for what it is.

We are not playing finals footy. Nor should we. Nor do we deserve to be. We were simply not good enough this year.

Not good enough pretty much sums it up for me. There were opportunities and moments. Especially when we had the chance to determine our own fate.We didn't take any of them. In fact we went backwards.

It's not all doom and gloom. It never is. Some players came on. Ross, Acres, Gresham, Steele, Stevens.

Carlisle and Brown were pretty good for us down back. Savage pulled his finger out.

Some really went backwards: Weller ( possibly carrying an injury), Lonie ( I've decided he isn't going to make it and is surplus to requirements), Minchington ( likewise. Such a shame because he could be really good if he wanted to be. Just too inconsistent), Hickey couldn't get a game, Holmes ( likewise).

Disappointed we never played Rice or O'Kearney, especially O' kearney who averaged 30 plus possessions for the zebs.

We go into 2018 with question marks over Bruce ( not a good year by his standards), Membery again just ok when judged by his lofty standards set last season, McCartin (gets injured too often. I am a fan but hasn't played enough games to warrant being a number 1 draft pick). We need a superstar from elsewhere but I don't think we are going to get one.

Kelly will probably stay at GWS and Dusty I reckon will stay a Tiger.

I am not getting too excited about two top ten draft picks in a draft that seems a bit shallow on real talent. All in all not looking that flash from where I am seeing it. Happy to be proved wrong of course.

I am all for drawing a line under 2017 but big changes need to happen at our club if we are to be serious about a premiership and quite frankly I am not seeing it at all at this stage or in the near future.

Why should I be surprised? Barracking for St Kilda goes hand in hand with disappointment. Make that extreme disappointment. Am I bitter about this year? Damn right I am.

Proph3t of egan

Re: Our Report Card Is In And We Got An F

It sure is a fail if the club came out and said that this year we were going to play finals, but they didn't.

Some.players have gone backwards, but some have advanced really well.
Billings had a phenomenal year, and if he straiten up, is an all Australian contender in the years to come
Seb Ross really took a step up and had to carry the midfield with both Arms out and Steven playing sore
Carlisle really has fixed up getting monstered by tall forwards and has hit his straps late in the season
Roberton was a great general and has played really well now that he doesn't have to play on key position players
Dunstan and savage went to the VFL and Came back with some of their problems fixed
Sinclair has been A revelation
And Longer showed what his potential is

It's alright to be bitter, but we're you expecting a premiership at the start of the year?

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think

I give the Saints a C and 6/10 this season.

The biggest issue here damo is your expectations… a month ago you were starting threads suggesting that we could go all the way after playing a good half of football.

Yes we failed to win the flag, but won 11 games with a tough draw.

A couple of good wins and a few really disappointing losses.

It's an average list. 8th - 12th side.

C-

Our target was to make the 8.

But for a moment if madness against Port when Acres decided to "wander off" we would be in a final.

If we could only improve our kicking from being the WORST to average we will improve dramatically.

So C-

MickThomas

Enrico_Misso wrote:Our target was to make the 8.

But for a moment if madness against Port when Acres decided to "wander off" we would be in a final.

If we could only improve our kicking from being the WORST to average we will improve dramatically.

So C-
And missing so many goals in THAT game and others had cost very dearly.
Each behind cost more than 5 points- they resulted in deflated morale, a kickin by the oppo who could go up the middle because we're rubbish at closing down...and extra incentive for the oppo due to relief that we missed a goal.
Costly errors

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn
GregPackhamsHeadband

parkeysainter wrote:I give the Saints a C and 6/10 this season.
As the doctors say, "I concur". A disappointing year on the whole, especially the last seven games, where we had our chances and flopped badly.

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

damienc wrote:This is not about being churlish or mean spirited.

It's about taking off the rose coloured glasses and seeing our footy team for what it is.

We are not playing finals footy. Nor should we. Nor do we deserve to be. We were simply not good enough this year.

Not good enough pretty much sums it up for me. There were opportunities and moments. Especially when we had the chance to determine our own fate.We didn't take any of them. In fact we went backwards.

It's not all doom and gloom. It never is. Some players came on. Ross, Acres, Gresham, Steele, Stevens.

Carlisle and Brown were pretty good for us down back. Savage pulled his finger out.

Some really went backwards: Weller ( possibly carrying an injury), Lonie ( I've decided he isn't going to make it and is surplus to requirements), Minchington ( likewise. Such a shame because he could be really good if he wanted to be. Just too inconsistent), Hickey couldn't get a game, Holmes ( likewise).

Disappointed we never played Rice or O'Kearney, especially O' kearney who averaged 30 plus possessions for the zebs.

We go into 2018 with question marks over Bruce ( not a good year by his standards), Membery again just ok when judged by his lofty standards set last season, McCartin (gets injured too often. I am a fan but hasn't played enough games to warrant being a number 1 draft pick). We need a superstar from elsewhere but I don't think we are going to get one.

Kelly will probably stay at GWS and Dusty I reckon will stay a Tiger.

I am not getting too excited about two top ten draft picks in a draft that seems a bit shallow on real talent. All in all not looking that flash from where I am seeing it. Happy to be proved wrong of course.

I am all for drawing a line under 2017 but big changes need to happen at our club if we are to be serious about a premiership and quite frankly I am not seeing it at all at this stage or in the near future.

Why should I be surprised? Barracking for St Kilda goes hand in hand with disappointment. Make that extreme disappointment. Am I bitter about this year? Damn right I am.
I hear your disappointment Damien but an 'F' is extreme. An F would be bottom 4. We are a C to C- I reckon. We stagnated this year and a few teams who I expected to be better than have gone past us. Dees, Bombers especially. Despite their ladder position the Dees really have a lot more to look fwd to next year than we do. As do the Bombers who have lost players to the drug scandal, players have returned and lost form and yet they are still better than us.

The ladder position is the only indicator, and in that case, compared to last year we have failed. We needed to go up a rung or two to be on the right track. It's a C in my book.

We never seemed totally switched on this season- too inconsistent, too many bad losses, some good wins, a few players showing signs of improvement, some players not stepping up, tactical and game-plan question marks, overall lack of leadership by example on-field.

I think there would be a lot of serious points raised at a review of the season by the club, and a lot of new KPIs to be met for next season.

MickThomas

spert wrote:The ladder position is the only indicator, and in that case, compared to last year we have failed. We needed to go up a rung or two to be on the right track. It's a C in my book.

We never seemed totally switched on this season- too inconsistent, too many bad losses, some good wins, a few players showing signs of improvement, some players not stepping up, tactical and game-plan question marks, overall lack of leadership by example on-field.

I think there would be a lot of serious points raised at a review of the season by the club, and a lot of new KPIs to be met for next season.
If the club is totally honest (and I don't believe they will be)
the review should point a finger at Hamill and the other support staff
for inability to develop players
for inability to address goal kicking debacle
for inability to win close games
for leaking goals with consummate ease

I don't believe in their honesty because they keep giving Seb SOTD just for getting many possessions
but they ignore the fact that his handballs go to a player standing still or about to be crunched
and his kicks are just sprayed without thinking or aiming to send to advantage.
He is NOT A-Grade and never will be, unless and until he is able to actually provide damn QUALITY and not just quantity

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn
GregPackhamsHeadband

A few on here predicted preseason that we'd stagnate a bit this year. Wise words as it turns out. I wasn't one of them. I genuinely thought we were good for 13 wins and a spot in the lower half of the eight. More injuries, a tougher draw, the absence of any element of surprise and some very ordinary selection decisions conspired to have us stall. Still, such years can kick start improvement.

Had we made the eight, we may have drunk even more of our own bath water and crashed in 2018. This season has put everyone on notice. Players, coaches, recruiters and fitness staff. I gave us a C which in all the circumstances is not good enough for this group. Hopefully, AR gives some realistic and direct feedback as to what he requires from everyone in the club as a whole.

If there was a honeymoon period for the club, it is well and truly over now. This year we woke up and found the relationship is flawed, but not fatally. We have plenty to look forward to, with players to return from injury, a slightly softer draw next year and hopefully we snare that much needed elite talent in the trade/draft period. 2018 is the genuine make or break year. It was always thus. Over to Alan and the boys.

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

So much to fix, so little time (I don't want to wait until I'm 120 yo for the next premiership)

Going on the old school grades D just a pass 50%, C - 60% etc i would give us a C-

Few "experts" had us in the 8 considering the harder draw and aging stars . Losing Dempster before the start of the year hurt, although allowed Webster and Robertson opportunity.

That said really across the whole league many teams would be around the same mark - Melbourne D+, WB E, Collingwood D, With Geelong, Adelaide, Port Sydney and GWS B+ and Richmond A-

The Pinch Hitters

An F is a short sighted rating of the season.

Was it a fantastic season? No

Was it completely empty of positives? No

In 2014 we finished last and were at rock bottom. This year we finished 11 & 11, our best was better than it was last year and so was our worst.

We received greater contributions from the likes of Seb Ross and got a glimpse of what kind of player Jack Billings could be.

We can also probably raise our expectations of what Jade Gresham and Jack Sinclair can become.

In the end, because our best was so good (like it was against Richmond and GWS) the end result is more disappointing, but it is a fair reflection of where we should have realistically expected to be.

I would definitely rate the season a C, and waver between 5 & 6 out of 10.

Big strides need to be taken next year and we are a long way off the elite teams, but it was a pass mark season.

I'm not disappointed. Compare this year's draw against last year (an easy run home in 2016) and our injury list this year against last year - no, not disappointed. Yes, we have plenty of room for improvement, much of which has been identified and acknowledged.

I am stumping up for my 2018 membership with anticipation.

There were actually some educated predictions that we'd miss out on the finals this year, given our tough fixture and that we're still building a team.

In my mind, we MUST get Josh Kelly. I think we will. It has been a long time coming since we've reeled in a big fish. Our time has to come. There's been talk s of our "war-chest" for the last couple of years so it has to be put to use at some point. If we can snare Kelly, our midfield will go from average to dominant. We also need to be more efficient up forward. As EM mentioned, we were dreadfully wasteful in front of goal. If those two areas can be sorted out, we'll be playing finals footy next year, without a doubt.
Last edited by Sainternist on Tue 29 Aug 2017 7:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

I feel our season was where I had us at start of year. Never thought we'd make the 8 this year.

Happy that some players progressed - Sinclair, billings, Roberton, Webster, Ross

Happy Carlisle proved he was worth it

Disappointed some players reversed - hickey, Lonie, Weller the standouts Steven less so but still not as good as last year

Very sad a couple of players couldn't get on the park - freeman, paddy,l

Disappointed with match selections - white? And would've liked to have seen rice and more of Marshall

Very disappointed with losses to Essendon and Melbourne twice
Last edited by MC Gusto on Tue 29 Aug 2017 8:47pm, edited 1 time in total.

Also note that when joey and roo were out we were the 2nd? Youngest list

Perspective

But....

When they were out we didn't win a match...

Reality

MC Gusto wrote:Also note that when joey and roo were out we were the 2nd? Youngest list

Perspective

But....

When they were out we didn't win a match...

Reality
We were the 3rd youngest side for one week out of 22.
Most weeks were were kind of middlish aged.

Yeah but most weeks those guys were in the side

What is our average without roo and joey?

The Recruit

B+ for me

Easy draw in 2016 harder in 2017 and were much better

We lost teo guns early in Arno and Dempster

We Improved our losing margin interstate but a lot (actually won two nearly 4)

Memory was outstanding and will be a genuine star

Growth from all our players apart from maybe Bruce and Steven and Paddy definitely not Weller.
Dunstans improvement was enourmous
Robertons improvement was excellent
Seb took the next step
Gresham is going to be amazing
Carlisle a big +

Beating GWS and West Coast and Tigers were very nice wins

Our ability to beat teams that arnt better than us consistently is very good

We finished exactly where I though we would at the start of this year.
If we get Kelly we will finish 4-6 in 2018

We don't.... then we we might scratch to 8th but will be in a similar spot this time next year.

If we made 8th that would have been nice but any expectation of us finishing higher than that this year were just delusional.

Kicking - F; Handballing - C; Running - B; Tackling -C; Picking up ball - D, Marking - D, Shepherding - B; Ruck work - C; Spoiling - C; Side step - C; Dummy: selling C ; buying A; coaching to stop opposition run on - F (hoping is not an answer); inspired selection moves - deferred. Overall as kicking is most important Little Sainter team gets an F but if s/he can learn composure and get on better with class mates a C is not out of the question. Concentrating during games especially last 10 minutes would also improve results markedly. Suggest Tech school rather than Uni at this stage (note tradies get more money). Hopefully House Prefect Alan will provide more skills guidance and better lesson plans next year. Recommendation: hold back for another year.

David-Lee

Yeah I hear it. C- from me because we did improve in a few very important key areas and a few people have mentioned them things like the membership growth. That one really gripes me that people who aren't even members get on here.

No excuses. The schedule was harder for sure. Roo's knee going for good hurt as he was key in the CF. Stevens lung ( which effects aerobic capacity for up to 8 weeks - and it did) and Armo's groin surgeries really rattled the stability of our midfield. But several players improved in the last 6 games, regardless of the losses. The wayward kicking and lack of strategy to move the ball against the modern defense structures was alarming. I can get very upset and sometimes I do and post very negative like - I don't see a future with Paddy or Goddard but hope I'm wrong. I think Richo isn't the guy and that bothers me because it means a roster redo and maybe a wasted season in 2019. But I have been wrong very wrong before.

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:A few on here predicted preseason that we'd stagnate a bit this year. Wise words as it turns out. I wasn't one of them. I genuinely thought we were good for 13 wins and a spot in the lower half of the eight. More injuries, a tougher draw, the absence of any element of surprise and some very ordinary selection decisions conspired to have us stall. Still, such years can kick start improvement.
Just saying

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=91917

C for me.
Youngsters all improved as season wound down - Dunstan, Steele and Billings especially.
Sinclair and Acres also. Gresh got through the second year blues well.
Longer improved.
Carlisle very good, Roberton very good. Webster good. Stevens handy.
Seb had his best year. Gilbert good.

Geary okay, Brown okay. Savage ended up well.
White showed real promise.

Roo good, then fell away. Steven likewise.
Joey slightly down, then injured.
Newnes, Bruce and Membrey slightly down.

Weller poor, DMac, Wright, Minch poor. Lonie poor.
McCartin disaster year. Armo also.
Nothing from Long, Marshall, or Battle - too early.