The "Meltdown Phenomenon"

Harvey To Hayes

Re: The "Meltdown Phenomenon"

Johnny Member wrote:
Honestly, what do you think when you see grown men on the TV at the footy in their colours, going nuts like madmen?

Seriously, I find it utterly embarrassing.
I reckon there's a good chance that a lot of those guys would find someone making 4K+ posts on a footy club fan forum utterly embarrassing too, but each to their own.

Judging from your posts in this thread if/when we eventually win the flag you aren't going to enjoy it very much which seems a shame...

The future's so bright I've got to wear shades...

fugazi wrote:Johnny wants to be seen as a cerebral supporter rather than an emotional one.
He rightly questions why people become so attached to the outcome of a game played by 22 strangers, however, is not quite cerebral enough to ignore the whole AFL or in fact team sport thing...which seems the natural extension of his purported position.
The idea of following a club , its colours, its song....is that it stirs a pretty tribal side of us. A vestigial tribalism which triggers us at a much more base level than the one Johnny imagines he occupies. He likes to pour scorn on supporters for caring so.much while denying his own emotional attachment to the outcomes.
It's a bit like the person saying he reads Penthouse for the articles or watches pornography for the storyline....doesnt quite ring true.
Absolutely, 100%, spot on.

Cut the pseudo-intellectual crap, Johnny!

Harvey To Hayes wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:
Honestly, what do you think when you see grown men on the TV at the footy in their colours, going nuts like madmen?

Seriously, I find it utterly embarrassing.
I reckon there's a good chance that a lot of those guys would find someone making 4K+ posts on a footy club fan forum utterly embarrassing too, but each to their own.

Judging from your posts in this thread if/when we eventually win the flag you aren't going to enjoy it very much which seems a shame...
If they're over the age of 50 they might.

Which makes them old, emotionally unhinged lunatics. At which point I wouldn't be overly concerned about their thoughts on me. Not much different from the nutters hanging out down the front of the abortion clinic in South Melbourne.

As for the Saints winning a flag? I'd probably enjoy the it about the same as I enjoyed the Warriors winning the NBA last season. Did I enjoy it? Thoroughly. Did it change my life? No. Did the achievements of other people that I've never met before and have no influence over make me feel better about my own lot in life? Of course not.

You see, there is middle ground. It's not that hard to understand.

Sainternist wrote:
fugazi wrote:Johnny wants to be seen as a cerebral supporter rather than an emotional one.
He rightly questions why people become so attached to the outcome of a game played by 22 strangers, however, is not quite cerebral enough to ignore the whole AFL or in fact team sport thing...which seems the natural extension of his purported position.
The idea of following a club , its colours, its song....is that it stirs a pretty tribal side of us. A vestigial tribalism which triggers us at a much more base level than the one Johnny imagines he occupies. He likes to pour scorn on supporters for caring so.much while denying his own emotional attachment to the outcomes.
It's a bit like the person saying he reads Penthouse for the articles or watches pornography for the storyline....doesnt quite ring true.

Ok, but if you expect me to dumb it down to the 'my mate barracks for Richmond and reckons Paddy is fat and that's his problem' level, then sorry dude - but I don't think I can possibly achieve that level of idiocy.

Just the 80-odd, totally detached posts in two days following the game on sunday… :D

Johnny Member wrote:
Sainternist wrote:

Ok, but if you expect me to dumb it down to the 'my mate barracks for Richmond and reckons Paddy is fat and that's his problem' level, then sorry dude - but I don't think I can possibly achieve that level of idiocy.
I didn't say that! I was merely asking of people's view on whether he was overweight. Nothing wrong with that.

As for your posts, they are headache inducing. Most of the time it is absolute waffle. You could at least make an effort to pare it back.

dragit wrote:Just the 80-odd, totally detached posts in two days following the game on sunday… :D
Just being polite and replying to people who ask me something.

That's the kind of guy I am.

MORE!!!

CQ SAINT wrote:
desertsaint wrote:
suss wrote:Very interesting post on twitter this morning. The Saints have kicked more behinds than goals on 13 occasions this season, more than any other team.

If we had of kicked straight, there's every chance we wouldn't be 11th on the ladder and in fact much higher up. So while people vent and rant and melt about us not progressing, I think we are, we just need to put it on the scoreboard.

Bring on 2018 if you ask me.
We said the exact same thing last year ( and in 09).
Poor kicking is poor footy.
We play a scramble style of footy that leads to points.
last year we were the fifth most accurate team.
Dont confuse emotion with facts. It our s*** players and s*** coaches, and we ssid the same thing in 09. 09????
Oh pardon me.

Last year we were ranked 7th.

In 2015 we were ranked 18th for accuracy.

In 2017 we are ranked 16th

There is your facts.

http://www.afl.com.au/stats

Joe Bloggs

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:I always watch with interest when reality hits the site, as it most certainly did yesterday. The so-called meltdowns that our frowned upon by the usual suspects, our self appointed moral and intellectual superiors, apparently get a giggle and schadenfreude from peoples' suffering. Strange individuals, but I digress. For the rest of us, yesterday drove home how ordinary we really are, and after years of pain and suffering, and 51 years without a flag, we are faced with yet another year of failure and disappointment. The "melt downers" have every right to be angry. This club has sold us yet another pup. As if losing one of the best coaches in the business and replacing him with a complete muppet wasn't bad enough, we are now stuck with a merry band of Clouseaux who after four years, still couldn't find a clown in a circus. Anyone with half a brain, who puts their time, effort, emotion and money into this cause should be angry. Imagine if this club was responsible for your super, or savings and consistently let you down, year after year.

Most people have no idea how ordinary the people are who run the place. The coaches and assistants are in it mainly because they've never known anything else. Most of them have been in the protective bubble of AFL clubdom since the age of 18. They couldn't get paid anywhere near as much as they do, if they had to hoof it in the real world. They also do SFA in comparison to what us working slobs do. Most of them just repeat and follow. Very few are innovators, such as Clarko. Most are overpaid sheep, who quickly disappear.

I don't know why we have such high expectations of them. Maybe it's because some people on here are pretty bright, see through the crap, wonder why simple strategies aren't implemented and how the same mistakes are repeated over and over again. It's simple really. They're nowhere near as smart as we think they are. For goodness sake, John Barker is touted as one of the next great coaches in the game. From personal experience, the guy can't fart and chew gum at the same time, but he's good, just ask him. A typical FIGJAM that the AFL industry breeds.

If you're any good at what you do, you don't waste your time in the AFL. You make your mark elsewhere and get duly rewarded. It's the gullible and the hopeful that keep AFL clubs like ours going. That's why these meltdowns we have occur. It's a small window of reality that shatters the myth that our club is competent. History and results indicate it's not. The fury rages temporarily, then settles, as the well of hope refills. The sychophants on here give me a good giggle. Nothing wrong with it, just stop preaching to the rest of us that things are ok. They are not. We're 11th in the fourth year of a rebuild. Let that sink in for a moment. 11th. That's reality, something a club like ours wants you to ignore. Pleasing.
Please ...spare us your dribble. You are stilled pissed off you were let go by the club cause you didn't make any positive change when your psychoanalysis crap didn't work. You're sour and depressing. There were good moments this year and there will be more next year . Go barrack for Sydney.

So why did you claim we were 18th last year? you didn't have a clue, you just made up facts to suit your narrative, and now you're trying to twist them to suit. five is a fair bit closer to seven than eighteen is - why? because it was an educated guess based on memory, not a complete fabrication based on bias.

Johnny Member wrote:
Sainternist wrote:

You know, since moving to Perth from Melbourne a few years ago, I have come to realise that Perth folk are dumb and all-knowing idiots like that "Richmond mate"
Looks like some folks in Victoria are dumb as well.
Perth people are like the ubiquitous cabbie, that has a solution for global warming, the refugee problem, ISIS, the economy, and the Apex problem in Melbourne.

It's all so simple for simple-minded folks who have no common sense.

Proph3t of egan

WellardSaint wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:
Sainternist wrote:

You know, since moving to Perth from Melbourne a few years ago, I have come to realise that Perth folk are dumb and all-knowing idiots like that "Richmond mate"
Perth people are like the ubiquitous cabbie, that has a solution for global warming, the refugee problem, ISIS, the economy, and the Apex problem in Melbourne.

I think there were a couple of other cities you didn't generalise as being stupid.

You know, there is Brisbane, Sydney, Hobart, and Darwin.

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think

dragit wrote:I only come here for the melts.
Cadbury?
GOLD ! Pure GOLD ( among some guano ) :lol:

Proph3t of egan wrote:
WellardSaint wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:
Sainternist wrote:

I think there were a couple of other cities you didn't generalise as being stupid.

You know, there is Brisbane, Sydney, Hobart, and Darwin.
Don't forget Glen Eira! There's a good boy! :lol:

GregPackhamsHeadband

Joe Bloggs wrote:
GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:I always watch with interest when reality hits the site, as it most certainly did yesterday. The so-called meltdowns that our frowned upon by the usual suspects, our self appointed moral and intellectual superiors, apparently get a giggle and schadenfreude from peoples' suffering. Strange individuals, but I digress. For the rest of us, yesterday drove home how ordinary we really are, and after years of pain and suffering, and 51 years without a flag, we are faced with yet another year of failure and disappointment. The "melt downers" have every right to be angry. This club has sold us yet another pup. As if losing one of the best coaches in the business and replacing him with a complete muppet wasn't bad enough, we are now stuck with a merry band of Clouseaux who after four years, still couldn't find a clown in a circus. Anyone with half a brain, who puts their time, effort, emotion and money into this cause should be angry. Imagine if this club was responsible for your super, or savings and consistently let you down, year after year.

Most people have no idea how ordinary the people are who run the place. The coaches and assistants are in it mainly because they've never known anything else. Most of them have been in the protective bubble of AFL clubdom since the age of 18. They couldn't get paid anywhere near as much as they do, if they had to hoof it in the real world. They also do SFA in comparison to what us working slobs do. Most of them just repeat and follow. Very few are innovators, such as Clarko. Most are overpaid sheep, who quickly disappear.

I don't know why we have such high expectations of them. Maybe it's because some people on here are pretty bright, see through the crap, wonder why simple strategies aren't implemented and how the same mistakes are repeated over and over again. It's simple really. They're nowhere near as smart as we think they are. For goodness sake, John Barker is touted as one of the next great coaches in the game. From personal experience, the guy can't fart and chew gum at the same time, but he's good, just ask him. A typical FIGJAM that the AFL industry breeds.

If you're any good at what you do, you don't waste your time in the AFL. You make your mark elsewhere and get duly rewarded. It's the gullible and the hopeful that keep AFL clubs like ours going. That's why these meltdowns we have occur. It's a small window of reality that shatters the myth that our club is competent. History and results indicate it's not. The fury rages temporarily, then settles, as the well of hope refills. The sychophants on here give me a good giggle. Nothing wrong with it, just stop preaching to the rest of us that things are ok. They are not. We're 11th in the fourth year of a rebuild. Let that sink in for a moment. 11th. That's reality, something a club like ours wants you to ignore. Pleasing.
Please ...spare us your dribble. You are stilled pissed off you were let go by the club cause you didn't make any positive change when your psychoanalysis crap didn't work. You're sour and depressing. There were good moments this year and there will be more next year . Go barrack for Sydney.
Champagne posting. Fairly typical. I don't do psychoanalysis. Do you even know what it is? Your ignorance is staggering. I'm sour and depressing, am I? After you just posted that uninformed drivel. I think I might be able to recommend someone who might be able to help you. It will be touch and go, though. You come across as very disturbed.

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

LOL.