Merge with Gold Coast?

Re: Merge with Gold Coast?

sunsaint wrote:
The Fireman wrote:lets move Victoria to the Gold Coast.
always figured if we towed Tassie up to the coast of QLD it would be awesome for tourism
that way when the saints relocate to Hobart Im still a winner!!!
Go and contact Elon Musk, he's the man who can make it happen.

Park Tassy near a nudist beach, so when a fella tells his missus he's heading off with his mates
to "have a look at a map of Tassy", she won't be suspicious

Johnny Member wrote:Would merging with Gold Coast double our shitness? Or negate it by half?

f*** it - let's do it anyway!

If we're going to be s*** anyway, let's do it big time and be the shittest thing this comp has ever seen it's life!!!!

ARE YOU WITH ME!!!!??
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: good one JM! ( keep taking the medicinal compound lad!) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

A 16 team comp makes way more sense than an 18 team comp.A top 8 and a bottom 8. every team plays each other once, and based on the previous years ladder the top 8 teams play each other again, and ditto for the bottom 8 teams. Gives you 22 games. Logically you have to fold 2 Melbourne clubs - or merge them.

carn_sainter wrote:Johnny, you're normally a great poster but this is trolling

Discuss? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

WellardSaint wrote:
sunsaint wrote:
The Fireman wrote:lets move Victoria to the Gold Coast.
always figured if we towed Tassie up to the coast of QLD it would be awesome for tourism
that way when the saints relocate to Hobart Im still a winner!!!
Go and contact Elon Musk, he's the man who can make it happen.

Park Tassy near a nudist beach, so when a fella tells his missus he's heading off with his mates
to "have a look at a map of Tassy", she won't be suspicious
:lol: :lol: GOLD! :lol: :lol: ( just what this thread needs!)

Oh, sorry!........ DISCUSS? ( :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: )

GregPackhamsHeadband

Watch it, WS. Humour with sexual overtones will get you banned. Funny, but dangerous in these times of politically correct censorship.

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:Watch it, WS. Humour with sexual overtones will get you banned. Funny, but dangerous in these times of politically correct censorship.
Discuss? :? :lol:

If the saints ever merge then my support for them will end in this life and the afterlife if there is one.

parkeysainter wrote:If the saints ever merge then my support for them will end in this life and the afterlife if there is one.
Sounds pretty final to me mate!

thejiggingsaint wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:If the saints ever merge then my support for them will end in this life and the afterlife if there is one.
Sounds pretty final to me mate!
Yes it is. The Saints have nearly killed me over the long years. Maybe a merger will save us all.

Saints, Gold Coast and North all look very vulnerable.

merging is the same as folding, no true support would think it is a good idea, ridiculous thread.

ausfatcat wrote:merging is the same as folding, no true support would think it is a good idea, ridiculous thread.
The footy equivalent of voluntary euthanasia?

SMS

Amazing to think a ball bounce or a toepock goes the other way wed be a powerhouse. If we won the flag wed have 60k members and massive sponsors. Stkilda has hige support its just no success they are well hidden.

Although the OP was obviously facetious, personally for me, 'the Saints' folded about 11 years ago.

The 'club' was replaced with an AFL franchise. Like all clubs were.

I was bitter about it for a while. But then as I found myself really enjoying other sports more, I realised that the 'sport is entertainment' thing isn't too bad.

So I was able to start to enjoy AFL footy for what it had become - entertainment.

Like the movies, you have your favourite characters and you barrack for them. But the emotional connection is long gone.

So although many shudder at the thought, I personally wouldn't be bothered one iota of the Saints were based on the Gold Coast. Or Tassie, or New Zealand or even somewhere even more outrageous like, say, Seaford.

As long as the writers of the show don't kill off my favourite character I couldn't care less.

Pathetic supporter
You have no team spirit

Any underachieving Victorian club is always a potential target for relocation. In that context, I think we are less of a target that the Roos, because they can't even attract a crowd when they are playing well, and they also don't have much in the way of a geographic region in Melbourne that can truly be said to belong to them.

Relocating the Saints (or the Roos, or anyone else) to New Zealand is the worst idea imaginable. Relocating us to the Gold Coast is the next worst. The Gold Coast is an elephant's graveyard for sporting teams. This was a good recent article on the subject.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-08-11/g ... le/8793608

Tassie is a better idea, and an active one for the Roos. But the island has a small and dispersed population, and there are multi-generational allegiances to the whole range of Victorian clubs (plus the Swans and Lions for that matter). If the Roos were to move here, I don't think most people would quickly switch to them from their family club. It seems to me that there are far more Saints fans in Tassie than for any other club, so the Saints could make a better go of it than any other club. SO it's probably the second best option for us but, while a move to Tassie would suit me personally, I reckon staying put is easily the best option.

The other idea that can never be ruled out is an amalgamation with another Victorian club: most likely the Demons. It's a terrible idea: the only amalgamated club in any Australia sporting code that seems to have worked out ok is the Wests Tigers NRL team, but this was an amalgamation of two clubs with relatively similar cultures. No two Melbourne clubs have cultures as similar as Wests and Balmain RL clubs: maybe the Dees and Blues would come close, or perhaps the Bombers and the Dogs. But I really can't see Victorian footy fans buying any such amalgamation: being an AFL fan is as much (if not more) about hating other teams as about loving your own.

Let's stay on the south side and try to put down really strong roots into that community.

Would no longer follow the AFL if we relocated to the Gold Coast.

Sainternist wrote:Would no longer follow the AFL if we relocated to the Gold Coast.
Well it wouldn't be St Kilda anymore Sainternist, so I can well understand your feelings. I can remember WAY back in the early nineties asking one of my workmates who he barracked for, he replied; "Sydney, Dave" I said; " oh I didn't know you were from Sydney Jack" Jack, says " no mate, the swans were South Melbourne before they moved"

I was amazed that he'd not let go of his loyalties, but then partly understood why: that the Swans hadn't been merged, but simply relocated

May I just say that I find it curious to see some former Fitzroy supporters, barracking for the Lions. Fitzroy died in '95 (I think?) and many Fitzroy fans allowed it to happen. And ( for me ) it's the same story with Sydney. South Melbourne DIED when the Swans moved north. Simple as THAT.

It's the same for Fitzroy, they can have as many " family days " at the old Fitzroy Oval as they like, the fact is they are BRISBANE.

dals_da_bomb

I have tried really hard to avoid this thread.
But ive enjoyed in some part the discussion.

Im not convinced it couldnt one day happen. (merging in general)

I cant imagine my love would travel as far as Gold Coast.

Can we not discuss it now?

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

dals_da_bomb wrote:I have tried really hard to avoid this thread.
But ive enjoyed in some part the discussion.

Im not convinced it couldnt one day happen. (merging in general)

I cant imagine my love would travel as far as Gold Coast.

Can we not discuss it now?
Good call!

You need to take a break mate!!

Vazelos wrote:You need to take a break mate!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: OR....... medicinal compound!