Saints by 10 goals

Re: Saints by 10 goals

Beno88 wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
WellardSaint wrote:
Beno88 wrote:This weekend, Round 21, we need to defeat Melbourne to remain a realistic chance of making the finals. This will be the 4th time in the last decade that we’ve needed to win in Round 21 to keep our finals hopes alive.

The bad news, on the three previous occasions we’ve lost.

Round 21 2016 vs Sydney – A tough ask against flag favourites, but we had to win to keep our finals hopes alive. We stuck with them for a half but we were blown away by 70 points in the end. We ended up 9th.

Round 21 2012 vs Geelong – We’d sat between 7th and 11th all year but by Round 21 we had to win our last three to make the eight. On a Friday night at Etihad we got within a point of Geelong in the final term before falling in a heap and losing by 42pts. We ended up 9th.

Round 21 2007 vs West Coast – We were charging towards finals after a slow start but still had to win our last two games. West Coast was a tough ask but we lead by as much as 40 points before going down by 8 points. We ended up 9th.

Time to change this run.
Comparing this year to any other year is futile.
Different players, different setups, it's totally irrelevant.
It's like saying that on the 9th of August 2007, the weather did this or that...and compare it to today's weather
Spot on, as far as making comparisons with the past is concerned. I expect a very hard game this week. "10 goal win" ? Yeah! Right! Predictions like this, in my humble opinion, are as far off the mark as those who predict ten goal floggings. This weeks game has to be taken on its merit, prepared for on its merit, and executed on its merit!

As I've said elsewhere: I'm going into this three match period with nothing but a determination to barrack completely for the Saints, and our retiring champion! Let the rest take care of itself! Go Saints! GO!
Sorry for wasting your time. If you look a little closer you'll see my post is not a comparison, it's the stating of actual events, a collection of events that are similar to what we face this week. It's no different to saying we've won our last 4 games at the MCG, it's not a comparison, prediction or forecast, it's just purely stating the facts. Facts that some (obviously not all) readers may be interested in.

No need to get precious mate.

The teams are very close and it could go either way. We need to prepare well, plan well, mentally set ourselves, play well and importantly, coach well on the day. Oh, I forgot - kick well would be a very big help too ! :P

It's the small things on the day that can make a big difference.

Junction Oval wrote:The teams are very close and it could go either way. We need to prepare well, plan well, mentally set ourselves, play well and importantly, coach well on the day. Oh, I forgot - kick well would be a very big help too ! :P

It's the small things on the day that can make a big difference.
Spot- ON!

Don't know why but really nervous about this game. Very glad Hogan is out. He always kicks a few against us.

And <say it quietly of course> we all hope Petracca has a shocker.

Sainternist wrote:MC Gusto had better not jinx us again.
When did I jinx - last few calls have been bang on

Predicted the gws win
Predicted jack to kick 4 - he ended up with 5
Predicted the bombers loss
Predicted the west coast win
Predicted the Melbourne thumping!

thejiggingsaint wrote:
WellardSaint wrote:
Beno88 wrote:This weekend, Round 21, we need to defeat Melbourne to remain a realistic chance of making the finals. This will be the 4th time in the last decade that we’ve needed to win in Round 21 to keep our finals hopes alive.

The bad news, on the three previous occasions we’ve lost.

Round 21 2016 vs Sydney – A tough ask against flag favourites, but we had to win to keep our finals hopes alive. We stuck with them for a half but we were blown away by 70 points in the end. We ended up 9th.

Round 21 2012 vs Geelong – We’d sat between 7th and 11th all year but by Round 21 we had to win our last three to make the eight. On a Friday night at Etihad we got within a point of Geelong in the final term before falling in a heap and losing by 42pts. We ended up 9th.

Round 21 2007 vs West Coast – We were charging towards finals after a slow start but still had to win our last two games. West Coast was a tough ask but we lead by as much as 40 points before going down by 8 points. We ended up 9th.

Time to change this run.
Comparing this year to any other year is futile.
Different players, different setups, it's totally irrelevant.
It's like saying that on the 9th of August 2007, the weather did this or that...and compare it to today's weather
Spot on, as far as making comparisons with the past is concerned. I expect a very hard game this week. "10 goal win" ? Yeah! Right! Predictions like this, in my humble opinion, are as far off the mark as those who predict ten goal floggings. This weeks game has to be taken on its merit, prepared for on its merit, and executed on its merit!

As I've said elsewhere: I'm going into this three match period with nothing but a determination to barrack completely for the Saints, and our retiring champion! Let the rest take care of itself! Go Saints! GO!
Merit plays for the bummers

MC Gusto wrote:

Predicted the gws win
Yep, not a fan of this clairvoyance crap. Instead of plucking tarot cards, could you please bring some logic into your predictions?

MC Gusto wrote:

Predicted the gws win
What is your prediction for the Trump presidency?

We will be the hunters as the underdogs with a point to prove.
I can feel an upset against the bookies odds.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
MC Gusto wrote:

Predicted the gws win
What is your prediction for the Trump presidency?
Impeachment or World War 3? Or both?

Sainternist wrote:
MC Gusto wrote:

Predicted the gws win
Yep, not a fan of this clairvoyance crap. Instead of plucking tarot cards, could you please bring some logic into your predictions?

Footy is 99% above the shoulders

Melbourne have lost their confidence, their mojo is gone, they're finished for the year

We are brimming with confidence and have a champion of our club who the young brigade are determined to ensure he rides out on a high

Saints by 10 goals

Wow!

Gotta love this forum! :lol: :lol: :lol: Three weeks ago we were facing an almighty pasting at the hands of Smelbourne (according to some :roll: ) now, (on the strength of an 8-point thrashing of West Coast) we;re gonna dish out a flogging! :lol: :lol:

thejiggingsaint wrote:Gotta love this forum! :lol: :lol: :lol: Three weeks ago we were facing an almighty pasting at the hands of Smelbourne (according to some :roll: ) now, (on the strength of an 8-point thrashing of West Coast) we;re gonna dish out a flogging! :lol: :lol:
LOL - it is all relative

Our trajectory seems to have gone in an upward direction (in it up to our eyeballs against PA when we were expecting a flogging, tough well fought win against decent opposition (WCE)) whilst Melbourne's seems to have dipped and their shoulders dropped.

However be wary of the wounded - they may galvanise this week in the face of media criticism.

If we play hard football, we should be able to crack them - kick 2-12 and they will get their tails up and we could be on the (unpleasant) end of a 10 goal thrashing

Sainter_Dad wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:Gotta love this forum! :lol: :lol: :lol: Three weeks ago we were facing an almighty pasting at the hands of Smelbourne (according to some :roll: ) now, (on the strength of an 8-point thrashing of West Coast) we;re gonna dish out a flogging! :lol: :lol:
LOL - it is all relative

Our trajectory seems to have gone in an upward direction (in it up to our eyeballs against PA when we were expecting a flogging, tough well fought win against decent opposition (WCE)) whilst Melbourne's seems to have dipped and their shoulders dropped.

However be wary of the wounded - they may galvanise this week in the face of media criticism.

If we play hard football, we should be able to crack them - kick 2-12 and they will get their tails up and we could be on the (unpleasant) end of a 10 goal thrashing
It will be what it will be.

dals_da_bomb

I hope you are right Gusto

Lord knows we need to %.

But im leaning to another very close game to be decided in the last 5 minutes - again.

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

dals_da_bomb wrote:I hope you are right Gusto

Lord knows we need to %.

But im leaning to another very close game to be decided in the last 5 minutes - again.
It will be, what it will be. However, a close game decided in the last 5 minutes....in favour of US, will suit ME just fine!

Proph3t of egan

Melbourne will look like they will flog us with a dominant first quarter before on the final play of the quarter, Hayden Hint attempts to do a big run and tries to evade Longer and Longer tackles him. Siren goes and saints come out and dominate the rest of the game.

Koby Stevens to have a ripper

Fortius quo Fidelius means Strength through Loyalty. . . I think

The Dreamons will fancy themselves as a big chance in this game.

They have been Rooey's bitch for many, many years now and, for once, they don't have to contend with him.

Plus it's at their home ground. I'm puzzled that we are apparently favourites.

We'd better bloody turn up and do the great man proud. That's all I ask.

bigcarl wrote:I'm puzzled that we are apparently favourites.
We are currently 2.35 on Crownbet, so they are favourites.

Sainter_Dad wrote:
bigcarl wrote:I'm puzzled that we are apparently favourites.
We are currently 2.35 on Crownbet, so they are favourites.
Ah, okay. It's only on here that we appear to be favourites.

We're the underdogs in the betting. Good.

Saints by 10 goals

MC Gusto wrote:

Predicted the gws win
Is that Bluthy in your avatar?

MC Gusto wrote:Saints by 10 goals
I would have thought 15, at the very least. :wink: