St Kilda set to hand coach Alan Richardson contract extensio

Re: St Kilda set to hand coach Alan Richardson contract exte

WellardSaint wrote:well, isn't that the best news this year, by far.
The club will stand by its coach
Looking for a new coach means getting a whole new plan from scratch,
so long term recruiting plans will have to be redrawn.
Stability is great.
We know what we're getting.
9 wins in 2016
Maybe 10 this year if we're lucky
2018- treading water while others overtake us (i.e. we go backwards really- see Demons, Tigers, Hawks)
and...expect to see Carlscum, Hawks n Norf win more than us next year and push us down the pecking order
2019- priority draft pick as we tied with Lions for wooden spoon in 2018.
Don't get TOO excited about 2018, Colleague! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

thejiggingsaint wrote:
Stability is great.
9 wins in 2016
2018- treading water while others overtake us (i.e. we go backwards really- see Demons, Tigers, Hawks)
and...expect to see Carlscum, Hawks n Norf win more than us next year and push us down the pecking order
Don't get TOO excited about 2018, Colleague! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Comrade, my first 4 lines are totes positive!!!

Maybe Moses will perform a Softwick, and after grabbing some talent in the draft+ FA, and dumping Lonie,
the faithful will climb into the top 4 just like Richturd did this year !!

Go Saints!!! To Purgatory with the rest !!

Don't really have a problem with this.

Club has invested pretty heavily in Richardson for the long run.

Would like him to fix the goal kicking a tad.

Well, let's see how the remainder of the season pans out as his performance over his four seasons up to now is not great, and we can't just blame the players.

WellardSaint wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
Stability is great.
9 wins in 2016

Maybe Moses will perform a Softwick, and after grabbing some talent in the draft+ FA, and dumping Lonie,

:lol: :lol: :lol:

PremiershipSaint

Stability is great! Just like what the Dogs did with McCartney, sacking him and getting someone like Beveridge would have been a disaster!

WellardSaint wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
Stability is great.
9 wins in 2016

Well Lonie's dumped, what's next?

Jack's Back asked now that Lonie is dumped, what's next?
Well, in the short term, get Marshall in so he can go 2nd ruck.
Asking Baroose to be 2nd ruck, is ruining him.

I would like to see the back of Hamill and Skrobalak
at the end of the season.
That's my long term hope.

Jacks Back wrote:
WellardSaint wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote:
Stability is great.
9 wins in 2016

Well Lonie's dumped, what's next?
I'd imagine by the end of the day all the players have dumped.

PremiershipSaint wrote:Stability is great! Just like what the Dogs did with McCartney, sacking him and getting someone like Beveridge would have been a disaster!
Beveridge can share a lot of the credit for that flukey Premiership with McCartney. The Bulldogs learnt an uncompromising defensive mindset under McCartney and were really hard to play against. Beveridge inherited that and they seem to have lost it this season, hence their slide.

Three best and worst coaching performances this season? Worst: possibly Game 1, healthy lead and run over, could not contain Goodwin's tactics; Out west, had West Coast on toast and could not close up the game; Sydney in Sydney - Saints were always going to lose but looked completely outclassed and clueless. Last week wasn't too flash either but it was only for a place in the 8. Best coaching: GWS, Carlton and Freo? Main strategy A this year was to have Roo play on the wing and groom a replacement CHF. Seems to have been abandoned. Main strategy B improve mids performance, not sure there has been any improvement. Main strategy C have aggressive small forward trap the ball in fwd 50 - how's that going Mav. Can't remember too many tactical coups - but perhaps bad luck has intervened too often.

Yorkeys wrote:Three best and worst coaching performances this season? Worst: possibly Game 1, healthy lead and run over, could not contain Goodwin's tactics; Out west, had West Coast on toast and could not close up the game; Sydney in Sydney - Saints were always going to lose but looked completely outclassed and clueless. Last week wasn't too flash either but it was only for a place in the 8. Best coaching: GWS, Carlton and Freo? Main strategy A this year was to have Roo play on the wing and groom a replacement CHF. Seems to have been abandoned. Main strategy B improve mids performance, not sure there has been any improvement. Main strategy C have aggressive small forward trap the ball in fwd 50 - how's that going Mav. Can't remember too many tactical coups - but perhaps bad luck has intervened too often.
Putting your hand up for an assistants job, Yorkeys?

All the assistance I can get

:lol: :lol: nice one mate! You make some very interesting points, by the way. FWIW, I thought the game ( V Crows ) in Adelaide was THE worst performance all year.

There's only a few people left on the whole planet who aren't currently head coaches of an AFL team, or part of a coaching team, and had previously been assistants to or part of the coaching structure under Alastair Clarkson. Why don't we target Ratten who has also been a senior coach? Another forgotten assistant who is right up there in my opinion would be Matthew Knights - former Essondon coach

I'm not saying that they should take over because I'm not qualified or have enough info to provide an opinion, but I'd love to have either one of them as assistants to Richo

Scollop wrote:There's only a few people left on the whole planet who aren't currently head coaches of an AFL team, or part of a coaching team, and had previously been assistants to or part of the coaching structure under Alastair Clarkson. Why don't we target Ratten who has also been a senior coach? Another forgotten assistant who is right up there in my opinion would be Matthew Knights - former Essondon coach

I'm not saying that they should take over because I'm not qualified or have enough info to provide an opinion, but I'd love to have either one of them as assistants to Richo
Matthew Knights! Gee how quickly we forget, I'd forgotten about him! I think that a great, constructive suggestion Scollop! Good on you companero!

Linton Lodger wrote:
PremiershipSaint wrote:Stability is great! Just like what the Dogs did with McCartney, sacking him and getting someone like Beveridge would have been a disaster!
Beveridge can share a lot of the credit for that flukey Premiership with McCartney. The Bulldogs learnt an uncompromising defensive mindset under McCartney and were really hard to play against. Beveridge inherited that and they seem to have lost it this season, hence their slide.
Bingo. There's a lot of us I reckon, that were thinking exactly the same thing last year, but we would be ridiculed on here if we said McCartney was one of the most influentual people in setting up the foundations for that premiership. The sycophants in the media like to simplify things and just make out that Beveridge is somehow responsible for both the VFL and the AFL premierships that they won.

I'm happy with Richo so far but I think I'd only give him 1 more year before deciding he is capable of taking us to a premiership.

Scollop wrote:
Linton Lodger wrote:
Bingo. There's a lot of us I reckon, that were thinking exactly the same thing last year, but we would be ridiculed on here if we said McCartney was one of the most influentual people in setting up the foundations for that premiership. The sycophants in the media like to simplify things and just make out that Beveridge is somehow responsible for both the VFL and the AFL premierships that they won.

I'm happy with Richo so far but I think I'd only give him 1 more year before deciding he is capable of taking us to a premiership.
Great points there ( re: the " media sycophants ") scollop. For what it's worth, I'm of the opinion that Alan Richardson has probably needed five years to get us anywhere near to being contenders for regular finals footy. While it may not please every one, I'm happy to see the guy be given an extension, in order to continue with the build.