A couple of the whipping boys were ok

I thought Dunstan and Savage were amongst our better players last night.

A couple of the whipping boys had a crack.

Re: A couple of the whipping boys were ok

Dunstan was our best by a mile. He will get better and should be part of the engine room. He played well last night against the best midfield in the comp and away from home.

Savage has been good since he has come back in. At least he has great foot skills and can kick to another player most of the time. The stats back that up. 84% disposal efficiency and no 1 at Saints this year.

Importantly, they're both young and have heaps of years left in them. They also provide good list depth. Both are never going to be AA's but will be decent to good players most the time.

They both had a good game, but for the life of me I cant see how Lonie keeps getting selected every week.

Savage's career was virtually on the line and to his credit he has responded very well.

Did Seb get 37, but Richo bagged him for his opponents getting off the chain?

I don't remember much of Seb's game, but were his disposals ineffective ?
Stats show his DE was 73%,
but is "effective" anything that goes to a team-mate, to nobody in particular, and also to a contest? I think "effective" isn't accurate indicator.

Also...Lonie got 4 of each- 4 kicks, 4 handballs, and 4 clangers. He's gonna be back where he bloody belongs next week.

WellardSaint wrote:Did Seb get 37, but Richo bagged him for his opponents getting off the chain?

Apparently he was one of our better players, but he didn't seem to have any impact on the game. You can get 50 touches of the footy, but if you didn't use the ball effectively, that statistic means absolutely nothing.

Joffa Burns wrote:I thought Dunstan and Savage were amongst our better players last night.

Relevance?

Are we now cool with average players being Ok? Is that what we want now?

Sad times.

What a club needs is players who respond to being under pressure, and Dustan and Savage didn't go too bad. Might be a good idea to give Jack Steven a run at VFL to wake him up, and maybe Newnes as well- a player who's decision making under pressure is pretty poor.

Johnny Member wrote:
Joffa Burns wrote:I thought Dunstan and Savage were amongst our better players last night.

Relevance?

Sad times.
Relevance is a couple of players who have been dropped recently and were under pressure responded with good games.
A bit sad you cannot see the positive in a couple of fringe players having a crack on a very dirty night for the club.

Sainternist wrote:
WellardSaint wrote:Did Seb get 37, but Richo bagged him for his opponents getting off the chain?

Apparently he was one of our better players, but he didn't seem to have any impact on the game. You can get 50 touches of the footy, but if you didn't use the ball effectively, that statistic means absolutely nothing.
I was at the game and up until half time, I wasn't sure if Ross was even playing!

37 touches is far from shabby, but they barely dinted the opposition.

Joffa Burns wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

Relevance?

Sad times.
Relevance is a couple of players who have been dropped recently and were under pressure responded with good games.
A bit sad you cannot see the positive in a couple of fringe players having a crack on a very dirty night for the club.
good point,
Richo is happy to drop Acres quite often, but took him ages to drop Baroose, and now Mav
I think he needs to stop playing favourites or he will lose respect of players.
I enjoy seeing Sav doing well, he certainly has the skills
Dunny is much better now that he had time in the Zebs at a lower standard/speed, time to change his game

Savage has been amongst our best players since coming back in and notably in the last 2 games where 75% of his team mates have been poor. His excellent disposal has also been a contrast these last two weeks.

His good form may also be a small reason why Joey may not get another year.

Dunstan probably played his best game ever for the Saints.

saintsRrising wrote:Savage has been amongst our best players since coming back in and notably in the last 2 games where 75% of his team mates have been poor. His excellent disposal has also been a contrast these last two weeks.

His good form may also be a small reason why Joey may not get another year.

Dunstan probably played his best game ever for the Saints.
I hope Savage uses Joey as incentive to stay hungry, like "I have to be the best I can be"
to stay relevant in the backline.
Savage is young, so he is the future (a lot of folks say he's just a GOP) but Joey is part of the old guard and should retire.

Lonie will play out the year at Sandy. No good.

magnifisaint wrote:Lonie will play out the year at Sandy. No good.
If Lonie gets named this week, I swear I will go ballistic.
He had 4 clangers, out of his huge tally of 4 kicks and 4 handballs.
Disposal Efficiency was 50%, exactly same as Billy no Longer (no longer a good ruckman)

Joffa Burns wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

Relevance?

Sad times.
I just don't see the relevance of two ordinary players playing Ok in a team kicks 59 points.

Hardly a positive.

Johnny Member wrote:
Joffa Burns wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

Relevance?

Sad times.
I just don't see the relevance of two ordinary players playing Ok in a team kicks 59 points.

Hardly a positive.
For anyone to play well in a rubbish team performance is pleasing and a positive.

Jacks Back wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:
Joffa Burns wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

Relevance?

Sad times.

Hardly a positive.
For anyone to play well in a rubbish team performance is pleasing and a positive.
Why?

It reiterates that even when they play 'well', their impact on the result is zilch. And it doesn't help going forward regardless.

Lonie.

I'm over it.

Dunny always plays well the first game back after a spell.

The following week he drops down a bit, and the week after he's ineffective and then gets dropped.

It's a pattern.

It shows there is something wrong.

bigred wrote:Lonie.

I'm over it.
Hopefully he can have a couple of decent games before the season is out to increase his trade value.

I disagree on Savage. Might just be me but I reckon he gets it 25-30 times but just isn't savy enough as a footballer to contribute. Feel like he doesn't read the play / link with the team. Ends up being a liability.

Might be wrong. But might not be far off it given he's at his second club and played mostly seconds this year.

Dunstan was terrific! Really like him as a footballer.

Johnny Member wrote:
Jacks Back wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:
Joffa Burns wrote:
Johnny Member wrote:

Relevance?

Sad times.

Hardly a positive.
Why?

It reiterates that even when they play 'well', their impact on the result is zilch. And it doesn't help going forward regardless.
The sky is falling chicken little!
You really are a country member!

I disagree on Savage. Might just be me but I reckon he gets it 25-30 times but just isn't savy enough as a footballer to contribute. Feel like he doesn't read the play / link with the team. Ends up being a liability.

Might be wrong. But might not be far off it given he's at his second club and played mostly seconds this year.

Dunstan was terrific! Really like him as a footballer.
Fair enough, I actually thought he was harder at the contest than earlier in the season and he has penetration in his kicking, something we lack across the ground.