The Dope Fiends Were Quick to Recover

Looks like Essenscum will be heading for September only a year after the club was in football limbo.

Any other club (apart from maybe Collingwood) would be facing the next decade in AFL limbo, or worse, be on the brink of extinction. I reckon a scandal like that would have ruined St Kilda FC.

Those bastards have apparently done the time after their crime. Meanwhile, we're still stuck in perpetual rebuild mode.

God, it makes me sick :evil:

Re: The Dope Fiends Were Quick to Recover

It's something in the way the Saints operate,
for some reason, mediocrity and failure is part of the DNA
As Con said, we were seduced by the Power of 2013
and thought that if we grabbed their director of coaching, we could be like Port Adelaide

It's like a struggling Formula One team grabbing the head guy from Ferrari or McLaren
the people in power at the Saints are doing the wrong things
Last edited by WellardSaint on Sun 23 Jul 2017 6:12pm, edited 1 time in total.

The last few years should not have given the cheats the opportunity to rebuild.

Unfortunately, Essendon are considered untouchable and I'm not talking about individuals.

Some clubs are just considered more equal than others.

Too big to fail.

their draw was easy this year

SaintPav wrote:The last few years should not have given the cheats the opportunity to rebuild.

Unfortunately, Essendon are considered untouchable and I'm not talking about individuals.

Too big to fail.
They shouldn't have been able to profit from crime!
They should not have been allowed no 1 draft picks due to their drug suspensions.

longtimesaint wrote:
SaintPav wrote:The last few years should not have given the cheats the opportunity to rebuild.

Too big to fail.
They shouldn't have been able to profit from crime!
They should not have been allowed no 1 draft picks due to their drug suspensions.
Absolutely. Carlton lost their priority picks after they were penalised. I thought that would have been the standard punishment for any club trying to rort the system.

IanRush

3aw today talking about spat with Caro and Liz lukin, mick warner have attack at afl as well mentioned Essendon saga and how the afl bullied the story and lukins involvement .... Caro and others saying she is bullied

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.
Darth Vader

IanRush wrote:3aw today talking about spat with Caro and Liz lukin, mick warner have attack at afl as well mentioned Essendon saga and how the afl bullied the story and lukins involvement .... Caro and others saying she is bullied
That's easy for you to say.

It almost looks like a lock in for them now. Can't believe the cheats didn't even have to endure a rebuild :evil:

Right now BJ gets to play finals and Roo and Joey don't.

Didn't have to be that way, despite the half-hearted penalties,
if only the Saints had better development.

goods

I agree why reward them with number 1 draft pic after the sanctions! Its completely illogical! However if we kicked straight, and actually had our own #1 and the other 2014 draft players on the field in 2017 we would be top 4.

oh when the

Essendon expect to play finals every year
We hope

Putrid.

And if they play the Power they could win that also. Sickening

They say that cheats never prosper. In fact they flourish. Bombres in the finals, Goody on the good stuff, and heaps of cash for all involved....hoorah!!

Saint_J

what pissed me off last year is they got pick one, they should not have been rewarded for being punished.

other than that they have a strong team and play a good brand, some of the pick ups they found have worked out well for them. Kelly Tippa ect. Woosha is a good coach and has run with the B grade boys that showed something, developing them further.

bar the pick 1 bullS%$t they've done an enviable job and recovering and makes think why the f%$k can't we do it?

Saint_J wrote:what pissed me off last year is they got pick one, they should not have been rewarded for being punished.

other than that they have a strong team and play a good brand, some of the pick ups they found have worked out well for them. Kelly Tippa ect. Woosha is a good coach and has run with the B grade boys that showed something, developing them further.

bar the pick 1 bullS%$t they've done an enviable job and recovering and makes think why the f%$k can't we do it?
Just a real disappointment for the Saints that we have had some kind of stability for almost four years- same coach, yet the druggies come out after oblivion and play a top brand of footy to get in the finals. We should have been in the eight now, but too many systems have failed this season. They basically have developed their players quicker, and developed and implemented their team game quicker than us over a short period.

I hate Essendon more than anyone but they were building a pretty decent list prior to the saga, so we shouldn't be too surprised that they have won a few games this year.

They lost 1st and 2nd round picks for both 2013 & 2014, with one pick added at the end of the 1st round in 2014.

drafted really well in 2013
zach ferret with 26 (crameri trade)
fantasia with pick 55

If you finish bottom the you get pick 1, not sure what we can complain about there.

I wouldn't worry too much, plenty of their core will retire before long.

Kelly, Watson, Goddard, Stanton, Baguley, Hocking, Leuenberger, Howlett, Bird - all past their best. Hooker will be 30 next year, Bellchambers 29.

They will be mid table for a few years to come IMO.

spert wrote:play a top brand of footy to get in the finals. We should have been in the eight now, but too many systems have failed this season. They basically have developed their players quicker, and developed and implemented their team game quicker than us over a short period.
We have the same amount of wins from a much harder draw.

Relax.

Selhurst Saint

dragit wrote:I hate Essendon more than anyone but they were building a pretty decent list prior to the saga, so we shouldn't be too surprised that they have won a few games this year.

They lost 1st and 2nd round picks for both 2013 & 2014, with one pick added at the end of the 1st round in 2014.

drafted really well in 2013
zach ferret with 26 (crameri trade)
fantasia with pick 55

If you finish bottom the you get pick 1, not sure what we can complain about there.

I wouldn't worry too much, plenty of their core will retire before long.

Kelly, Watson, Goddard, Stanton, Baguley, Hocking, Leuenberger, Howlett, Bird - all past their best. Hooker will be 30 next year, Bellchambers 29.

They will be mid table for a few years to come IMO.
Pick 1 is designed too give the club with the worst list the opportunity to pick the best talent. Essendon were bottom because they cheated AND were always going to have the addition of 12-16 seasoned AFL footballers coming back to their list.

In the words of Mike Fitzpatrick..."We need to make Essendon strong again".

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

Selhurst Saint wrote:Pick 1 is designed too give the club with the worst list the opportunity to pick the best talent. Essendon were bottom because they cheated AND were always going to have the addition of 12-16 seasoned AFL footballers coming back to their list.

In the words of Mike Fitzpatrick..."We need to make Essendon strong again".
Yeah banning them from the draft in the year where they were missing all of the players would have made more sense I guess.

Look I would have preferred for them to be completely de-registered as a club, but once they have served the penalties that were handed down then they are back in the draft like everyone else.

Essendon had a very easy draw due to their crap ladder position last year. Then all of a sudden they get a dozen ready made and expierenced players back that have been injury free and rested for an entire season.

When you look at the above and they barely scraped into the finals this year...they will get a reality check next year I believe.

Yeah they may win the first final depending who they play and where but that will be it. Good riddance

They were smart enough to drag the saga on long enough to have minimal damage .
34 players were suspended only 12 were still on their list at the time to be penalized . Only the good ones had contracts for 2017 .

Roland

Looks like your right Essendon will make the 8 while we miss out but why blame them.
Why not Melbourne didn't they tank some years back to get draft picks.
Or maybe Sydney for being allowed extra salary cap space for years.
And so on.
Hey we have a great coach and a fantastic young team.
That's what Richo's mates in the media keep tellin us (Taylor, M Richardson, Carey etc.)
I noticed we had the second least amount of injuries (by rankings) for the season.
Yet we still can't make the 8
Hoping Richo will get us there in say 7 years just like Hardwick :roll:

You're right, we should have doped too.